Toyota TNGA modular platform to spawn better cars

Toyota-Ever-Better-Cars-1

Toyota has announced a new modular product architecture on which it aims to build half of all its new models worldwide by the year 2020. The Toyota New Global Architecture (TNGA) has been developed to enable the Japanese multinational behemoth to more efficiently produce the myriad of different cars it sells across the globe that at the same time feature higher levels of performance and appeal than ever before.

Through this new initiative, Toyota aims to group vehicle development through the strategic sharing of parts and powertrain elements – reducing the consumption of its resources by over 20% – and work more closely with its suppliers to bring down costs, spending those savings on advanced technologies and increasing product appeal.

The new powertrains built on this new architecture will be around 25% more powerful than before while also delivering around 15% better fuel economy, thanks to improvements in thermal efficiency in the engines and energy relay efficiency in the transmissions. Hybrid systems will also be upgraded through a revamped drive unit layout and smaller motors, inverters and batteries, netting a 15% improvement in fuel consumption.

These engines and transmissions will be jointly developed with new platforms, which will feature improvements to the underbodies and suspension systems. Powertrain components will be repositioned to lower the centre of gravity, enabling future Toyotas to have more attractive low-slung designs, better handling and improved crash performance.

Toyota-Ever-Better-Cars-2

That’s not all – redesigned body structures are set to increase overall rigidity by as much as 30-65%, with the implementation of laser screw welding technology to join body components expected to stiffen the shells still further.

The first car built on TNGA, set to be unveiled later this year, will be a midsize front-wheel drive car – it should be the next Prius, already confirmed to be based on this. It will be followed by dedicated new platforms for compact and large front-wheel drive cars, as well as rear-wheel drive vehicles.

Toyota has been working on improving production efficiency to strengthen its competitiveness – it froze the development of new plants in order to make full use of its existing facilities (it now utilises 90% of its global plants, up from 70% in 2009). It is also aiming to cut investment in the production in new models in half – and the initial investment in new plants by as much as 40% – from where these figures stood in 2008.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Modular.. kopycat vw.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
    • What a dumbass. The whole world is going this route, so you’re gonna call everyone else a copycat?

Merc, BMW, Nissan(Renault) and Toyota are all going the modular platform route.

• Kopycat good thing. WHy dumb dumB?

• Same L0rrrr on Mar 27, 2015 at 2:07 pm

I have 2 hands, so do you, so your mum is a copycat?

When things are good, everyone embrace it, as simple as the smartphone and Internet.

That’s why i always said, you won’t go wrong with Toyota.

Comfort, fuel saving, reliable, good RV, status… Toyota can give you everything you need.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • alldisc on Mar 27, 2015 at 4:12 pm

late to the party, but better late than never. right?

• Better. Faster, Cheaper on Mar 29, 2015 at 7:18 am

That’s Toyota for you. Let people of first, ensure the tech is feasible and then follow. And when you follow, don’t repeat the mistakes of others. And do it better, faster and cheaper than the competitor. Make it reliable and wallah, $$ kah ching!

• Abu Sayur on Mar 27, 2015 at 11:55 am

I wonder if Proton engineers even think of things such as thermal efficiency and energy relay efficiency. I can imagine them saying “aiya whatever lah”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
    • Of course they did.

But will Malaysian buy it? Or will you yourself buy it?

If don’t then don’t talk cock.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
      • Abu Sayur on Mar 27, 2015 at 1:16 pm

no i wouldnt, because it’s rubbish to begin with

• abusayurrubbish on Mar 27, 2015 at 2:55 pm

Why rubbish? I believe your comment is

• Idon'tcareaboutRV on Mar 28, 2015 at 6:18 am

Proton very impressive, pushing brand new model every one or two years… but is that necessary ?

• Abu Kangkung on Dec 26, 2016 at 5:08 pm

I believe those engineers know about that. Otherwise Proton cars might all explode by now.

There was a discussion on why Proton insisted to use iron engine instead of aluminium. It was the thermal efficiency thing.

Please Mr. Sayur. Read. Educate yourself.

• AVH (Member) on Mar 27, 2015 at 11:58 am

Finally Toyota caught wind on this modular trend. Ask any big companies, PSA, VAG, Volvo or Ford on how to lower development cost and time while increasing productivity and ‘modular platform’ word will be amongst the first thing you hear.

Its a right move from Toyota and thou much more expensive to develop, PSA and VW are experiencing success with their decision to go modular and the Scandinavians agree with them. I’am expecting the next generation Camry and Corolla to be based of this ‘TNGA’ concept thou not sure about the next gen ASEAN cars like the Vios or the Avanza as these two are kinda in a world of their own.

• dewaSemut on Mar 27, 2015 at 12:11 pm

The new modular platform will never land to our shores… since the old platform will still be used for Toyotas here in Malaysia for the next 50 years :)

• Lance on Mar 27, 2015 at 12:14 pm

This one sounds very much like Mazda Skyactiv. Yes its a complete package of engine, transmission, chassis, body.

• In my personal opinion, Toyota is the only car manufacturer who put quality into priority.

Whether modular or not modular doesn’t really matter much to them, cuz their quality will always be much superior than those dual clutch car.

• Yes, we can read reports about the quality of Toyota’s shrapnel airbag from all over the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • Idon'tcareaboutRV on Mar 28, 2015 at 6:16 am

what is your meaning of quality? If quality means durability, then those Lambo and Ferrari are super low quality? Agree?
      If quality means safety, Toyota Tin Can with 2 air bags….
      If quality means Resale Value, please la……
      If quality means performance, 4 speed auto vs 6 speed dual clutch…. i rather had manual also wont take that dinosaur gearbox

• Nathan Ferdinand on Mar 27, 2015 at 2:38 pm

TNGA would be useless if Toyota don’t put adequate safety features. At least UMW must give ABS, TCS, VSC and 6 airbags or more as standard for all Toyota lineups here.

Please learn from kimchi, how they put safety features for their cars. Mazda and Honda did it so well, their products sold like hot cakes.

Toyota keep moving forward, UMW moving coffin.

• Idon'tcareaboutRV on Mar 28, 2015 at 6:22 am

How they dare to put, more feature more issue more recall, some more spoilt their reputation, they will continue to sell dinosaur models here. RV high ma

• just nw i tot TGNA..