DRIVEN: Nissan Teana 2.0XL – mid-spec, top choice?

Nissan Teana 2.0XL 1

Range-topping models tend to be the ones that grab the headlines. And with good reason – they’re the best representation of the car as it sits on the showroom floor, whether it be in terms of looks, gadgets, performance and, in some cases, road manners as well. Money no object, they’re almost unquestionably the one to get.

But of course, “money no object” rarely, if ever, exists. This is particularly true with D-segment models, as the highest trim levels of these cars tend to come uncomfortably close to the RM200k mark, and therefore well out of reach of all but the most well-heeled company car buyers. Below that, lesser models are far less desirable, losing out on much of the toys and, unfortunately, safety equipment.

The new Nissan Teana seems to have bucked this trend, with smaller differences in kit between variants. Only a few feel-good gadgets are reserved for the top-spec 2.5XV (this may also betray the relative paucity of equipment on the range-topping model, but that’s a different topic altogether). More importantly, all Teanas come as standard with a full complement of six airbags and stability control.

This particular model we’re testing is the mid-range 2.0XL, which features a few must-have items over the base 2.0XE (powered seats, reverse camera, Bluetooth), but still comes in at a cool RM20k under the 2.5XV. Is this actually the sweet spot, then – the Goldilocks of the range, if you like? Read on to find out.

Nissan-Teana-2.0XL-15

Doubtless you’d be familiar with the current L33 Teana on this site – aside from the comprehensive launch report, we’ve also driven it before in 2.5XV form. Additionally, eagle-eyed readers will also have recognised this Bronze Gold WA 3880 C test unit as the exact same 2.0XL that sparred against the Honda Accord and Kia Optima in the second season of the Driven Web Series, and won.

Thus, you’d know that we’ve sung praises about Nissan’s contender, from the highly competent handling to the smooth CVT and extremely comfortable ride. But will the lower amount of kit on offer and smaller, less powerful engine sully the driving experience on closer inspection? We’ll soon find out.

Coming in at RM143,318, the 2.0XL doesn’t appear to lose much over the considerably more expensive top-spec model, at least from the outside. The curvaceous, dynamic, almost piscine body still has oodles of presence, with arrow-shaped projector headlights (halogens instead of xenons here), large chrome grille, undulating swage line and elegant LED tail lights. You do get 16-inch wheels instead of 17’s, however, which does take a bit out of the Teana’s confident stance.

Inside, the middle child feels very nearly as posh as its more well-to-do cousin – apart from the aforementioned items, there’s also leather upholstery, auto lights and a five-inch colour screen in the integrated head unit that differentiate it from the cheaper 2.0XL. Only the sunroof, rear sunshade and nine-speaker Bose sound system are reserved for the 2.5XV.

Compared to the similarly priced Accord 2.0 VTi-L, the Teana loses out on LED daytime running lights, 17-inch wheels, rear door sunshades and navigation, but don’t forget that the Nissan has six airbags over the Honda’s two.

The equivalent Toyota Camry 2.0G is near as dammit RM12k more expensive, but doesn’t even get auto lights, Bluetooth or a reverse camera, let alone the Teana’s four extra airbags. Punt for the bare-bones 2.0E (that’s still costs RM2k more than the Nissan) and you drop powered seats, leather, cruise control and, shockingly, stability control as well.

Gadgets aside, the Teana is a lovely place to be, with a simple, clean design, judicious use of soft-touch materials and sumptuous leather surfaces. It’s very grown up and sophisticated in here; only a few jarring hard plastics and a weird mesh patterned trim on the transmission tunnel and gear knob (I personally would’ve preferred the same gloss black that’s on the centre console) disappoint slightly.

The third-generation L33 has grown significantly in width compared to the previous J32 – growing 35 mm to 1,830 mm – providing it with a newfound sense of airiness, which the broad centre console only serves to amplify. There’s also plenty of space on offer – both front and rear – in terms of leg- and elbow room, even though the sloping roofline does cut into rear headroom quite a bit.

It’s a large car, however – measuring 4,885 mm long, the Teana is 35 mm longer than the Camry and 15 mm longer than the already sizeable Accord. This can make it quite an intimidating machine to manoeuvre around urban areas, a situation further compounded by the rising beltline and smaller windows than the competition. It’s enough to make you wonder if the reverse camera is really more of a necessity than a luxury.

Nissan-Teana-2.0XL-23

At least the size means the boot space is competitive; at 516 litres it’s just as big as the Camry’s (515 litres) and a whopping 55 litres larger than the Accord’s (at 461 litres, it’s even smaller than the B-segment City’s). The load space is deep and the sill low, but the aperture is a bit narrower than the competition.

In place of the range-topping 171 hp/234 Nm 2.5 litre QR25DE four-cylinder engine sits the 2.0 litre MR20DE making 134 hp at 5,600 rpm and 190 Nm at 4,400 rpm. That’s 20 horses down on the Accord and a full 31 hp less than the new direct-injected VVT-iW mill in the facelifted Camry; both the Nissan and Honda also give nine Newton metres away to the Toyota. The ubiquitous Xtronic CVT sends power to the front wheels.

Compared to its two rivals, the 2.0 litre Teana does feel down on power – out the gate, it definitely needs to be worked harder to pile on the speed. The deficit is particularly apparent next to the new Camry, which will effortlessly cruise`up to highway limits and then sail right past them.

Drive it in isolation, however, and you’ll notice that it doesn’t actually feel slow at all. Masking the shortfall on output is the brilliant CVT, with quick step-off response and an almost complete elimination of the “rubber-banding” effect that blights competing systems – the Teana accelerates linearly and smoothly, responding naturally to throttle inputs. There’s no irritating whine, too.

Flinging the big Nissan reveals a chassis that has been expertly set up to tackle bends with aplomb. Yes, generous amounts of body roll are on the menu (this is a large, comfy sedan, after all), but it responds deftly to every flick of the steering wheel. It really does shrink around you, this thing, and it stays planted even through mid-corner bumps, no doubt a result of the sophisticated multi-link rear suspension design.

But it’s the Active Understeer Control function that takes things to a whole new level entirely. As the name suggests, the system works as an extension of the Vehicle Dynamic Control (VDC) to reign in understeer by braking the inside front wheel, helping the car swing into a bend.

Nissan Teana 2.0XL 51

Sounds good on paper? Well, you’ll be happy to know that it works very well in practice, too; its operation imperceptible, but the result uncanny. Accelerate mid-corner, and where you’d expect the front to wash wide, the Teana clings resolutely to the chosen line as it powers out of the bend. It’s mightily impressive, and hugely, giggle-inducingly fun.

But for all its dynamic prowess, you do get a sense that spirited driving doesn’t quite show the Teana in its best and brightest light. You feel it in the aforementioned roll into the corners, the steering that weighs up nicely but is vague and lacking in feel, as well as the slightly flat seats; you hear it through the sometimes strained, if not entirely unpleasant engine growl when you pin the throttle.

The latter can be particularly intrusive as the CVT holds onto higher revs under hard acceleration for maximum power; even the transmission’s stepped-ratio Ds mode doesn’t really help matters. It’s clear that the Nissan, while more than game to play servant to your wildest exploits (and is more than capable of handling them, don’t get me wrong), is a little bit outside its comfort zone here.

Nissan-Teana-2.0XL-13

Instead, hang back and settle into a cruise, because the Teana plays the chauffeur game very well indeed. It’s here where the Nissan really stretches its long, long legs, the CVT dialling the revs down a few notches, at which point the engine becomes remarkably hushed and incredibly smooth. There’s very little wind and road noise too; for the first time in a while, the phrase “quiet as a library” isn’t such a hyperbole after all.

Those 16-inch wheels may not do anything for the looks, but the tyres’ thick sidewalls certainly do wonders to take the sting off the Teana’s taut, actually slightly firm ride over larger bumps. The impressive body control, on the other hand, takes care of minor surface imperfections with ease, allowing the car to traverse undulating tarmac with nary a flinch.

The combined effect is really quite something. Climb in after a rough day and the Teana will welcome you into the daftly-named-but-hugely-comfortable Zero Gravity Inspired seats, cosset you through the supple, quiet ride and terrifically smooth drivetrain, and relieve you of every last knot in your nerves. At the end of the day, isn’t that what you want in a car like this?

Nissan-Teana-2.0XL-1

Really, if it’s serene waftability you’re after, the Teana takes the cake. It’s arguably more comfortable than the too-soft Accord, and even the markedly-improved Camry can’t quite shade it in terms of ride – and definitely not when it comes to cabin noise.

The few faults it has – ungainly looks on the smaller wheels, some hard interior plastics, an engine that lags behind more powerful rivals – pale in comparison to the way the Teana ferries four adults in the smoothest, most soothing way possible. And of course, its impressive safety credentials – particularly in comparison to the Accord and Camry at this price range – are difficult to overlook (and really shouldn’t be).

Which trim level to go for? Certainly, this 2.0XL strikes a great balance between kit and price; it feels generous enough to justify the RM10k extra over the base 2.0XE, while the extra kit and bigger engine of the 2.5XV – although nice to have – are things most buyers can easily live without. Regardless of the variant, however, one thing is clear: the Nissan Teana is a superb machine that’s more than competitive enough to take on the class best.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• The back seats on this car is like sitting on a cloud, i would say better than some cars costing twice or even three times as much.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 25
    • normal_user on Apr 23, 2015 at 12:48 am

I found the rear seat base is quite short, even for a short person like me. Those who have long thigh and six footer may feel exhausted if they sit for a long time. Even City & Iriz have longer seat base that fits people’s thigh very nicely. I dont believe it at first but after several times trying & comparing, I am sure about this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 22
      • abnormal_user on Apr 23, 2015 at 12:57 am

common trick to save cost and make the car’s “legroom” look bigger.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
    • JB_KIA on Apr 23, 2015 at 12:45 pm

xhabis2 ngan keta2 ahpek Nissan….ello, TCM mane Qashqai, Note, Juke….???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • Jimmy on Apr 23, 2015 at 1:58 pm

If you have sit in or drive vehicles much more expensive than 150K, then you will agree with me that the car’s refinement is: good.

• Now nissan teana comes with 8 inches GPS promo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
  • mike chan on Apr 23, 2015 at 12:02 am

I still prefer Camry hybrid 2.5

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 76
    • DonkeyKong on Apr 23, 2015 at 12:53 am

Are the Camry 2.5 Hybrids that we have here the same as the ones in Australia? I was driving one just a couple of weeks back and it felt like totally crap in terms of NVH and overall driving feel compared to a VW Passat that I drove within the same time frame..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 29
    • sam destroy Umw reputation on Apr 23, 2015 at 9:15 am

Toyota ia a good car, unfortunately it has destroyed by junior uncle sales man like Sam. UMW under estimate power of Internet. They shall fire Sam or whoever this guy is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
      • Err…Its not nice to fired ppl from their job.
        Besides Sam (Clown) can be a bit entertain even not that useful to have around :P

• Kvsual on Apr 23, 2015 at 12:17 am

Yes I’m proud owner of New Teana. Has been driven this gorgeous for more than 8 months since last year July. Just done my 20k mileage today and so far so good no complaint. And its leather seat is definitely BEST in its class after I’ve compared most of the car seats from every segment. Shame on other more expensive car yet poorer quality of seat.
    Nways thanks for the good review ;) thou it’s not much New Teana on the road but We Teana owner definitely more than satisfied with our choice ;D

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 15
    • Kvsual. May i know your Teana is 2.0 or 2.5?

• shhhh on Apr 23, 2015 at 9:10 am

try volvo seat..
      they were designed by doctors…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
      • kvsual on Apr 23, 2015 at 10:05 am

Never try on Volvo seat yet, sure wil get the chance.
        But almost every weekend I can try on bmw 5series, mazda6. Dont really like the mazda6 leather seat, the side of the seat make it cramped and not comfortable, more to sporty feel n look. When sit on it, like the side of seat block u from sitting nicely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
        • kvsual on Apr 23, 2015 at 4:46 pm

Hey, did i ever compared the volve and teana?
          it’s different Class and segment peeps.
          How funny the forumers on Paultan always so senseless!
          Ofcuz I’m compared with the same segment or even lower bro. Volve and even Lexus is more luxurious class

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
          • tokmoh. on Apr 23, 2015 at 11:57 pm

No one can tell what more expensive car you’re referring:

“Shame on other more expensive car yet poorer quality of seat.”

Sorry la, most of us don’t have CGPA 3.85, so we believe Proton is as good as BMW, and as safe as Volvo. Syukur proton ke arah kuasa besar dunia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
          • JapanCar on Apr 24, 2015 at 1:24 pm

Yes this guy is so desperate to justify how good his Tuina is to the whole world. Adding on to what you said he even contradicts himself and compares his super wonderful Tuina to a 5 series BMW and Mazda 6. He obviously doesn’t know and understand how to compare vehicles in the right class segments. What a dumb duck!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 26
          • kvsual on Dec 09, 2015 at 5:20 pm

Hey Dummie,

I never ever try to compare my Teana with other upper segment cars though, I was just giving my review on the new Teana (already drove 1year plus, still in perfect condition!).

Ofcuz I do know the BMW, Lexus, Benz in my home r totally different Segment & incomparable with my Teana la. haha!

• Yes should try volvo seats. Think its one of best. Long distance dont feel tired. But o hate volvo drivers… met a few kurang ajar, came across 3 who parked to block the one way lane btw shops..

• CarFan on Apr 23, 2015 at 12:07 pm

You are on the right track. Volvo makes the most comfortable and supportive seats as they were design by a Chiropractor.

There is no way the Teana can beat Volvo on this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • tokmoh. on Apr 23, 2015 at 12:18 pm

Aye, those who tried Volvo seats will know this.

Unfortunately, Volvo being European/Chinese scared the hell out anyone concerned about resale value, so not many know that aside from being world’s safest car, Volvo is also most comfortable car in their class.

• CarFan on Apr 23, 2015 at 3:30 pm

Yup. The problem is all about market perception. In Malaysia people prefer Mercedes and BMWs….. viewing them as the German best and a more luxurious car. This is what brands like Audi and Volvo have to contend with. This is why like what most people grovel why BMW Malaysia gives only 2 years warranty and yet they don’t care and their cars still sell.
          But look at other parts of the world you find in places like Canada, China and Northern Europe it is the reverse, Volvo and Audi are perceived to be more luxurious and able to command a higher premium.
          Take for example, I once saw a documentary by Jezza on the Japanese about cars, to a top Yakuza head a Mercedes will always be perceived as more prestigious and desirable even when compared to a Rolls Royce! Their first choice will always be a black Mercedes S class left-hand drive of course ;)

• tokmoh. on Apr 23, 2015 at 11:45 pm

Yes, it’s a damn shame the state Volvo is in now in Malaysia.

In Europe generally, Volvo is perceived to be the most sensible buy if one wants a great family car. They’re safe, comfortable, and more reliable among non-Japanese brand. Due to that, Volvo tend to hold their RV quite well.

Here, there will be nutheads bs about Volvo’s windscreen here is made in China, so Volvo = Chinese junk. What a twat, if they really think Volvo is junk, why not crash a Volvo and their Toyota with them inside. If they’re convinced their car is safer than the Chinese junk, they’d be willing to do it. FEAR THE SWEDISH BRICK.

BMWs should be about ultimate driving machine, but some people refuse to admit they made some crappy junks that’s not a driving machine at all. An ultimate driving SUV that’s overweight, too tall, fuel guzzler, and shitty interior? And their attempt to make it ultimate driving SUV makes it uncomfortable, unnecessarily harsh, a PITA. Lol, these noobs don’t know ultimate driving machine until they try an E30 manual, now that’s what I call BMW. Today’s BMW are mostly shit to milk suckers as much as possible, hence only 2 years warranty.

• Owner on Apr 23, 2015 at 12:20 am

I love my Teana.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 15
  • Josh Ling on Apr 23, 2015 at 12:33 am

if only it had a more sorted out exterior design. the look just doesn’t work for me. way too messy and cluttered for my liking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • kvsual on Apr 23, 2015 at 10:28 am

Personal preference. we pay for our likings.
      Honda accord looks too ordinary for my liking too.
      perhaps would consider New camry hybrid if it launched last year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
      • kvsual on Apr 23, 2015 at 4:44 pm

those who Likes, glad that you are open minded enough to accept that statement which every individual has their own preference and know how to spend wisely with their own money.
        Those who dislike, Please learn to respect. beauty is in the eye of beholder.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • dear owners, how is ur teana FC? especially on the 2.0 models.
    many complain on high fc on teana, is it true?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • also on the cost for servicing?

• kvsual on Apr 23, 2015 at 10:47 am

Since you never own this new teana, so guess you wouldnt know the real fees of the servicing.

My payment for 7-8months Now 21K mileague (roughly, receipt not with me)
        1st 500km – 90RM
        2nd 1000km or 5000km forgotten – less than around 110
        3rd 10,000km – ard RM250-300
        4th 20,000km – ard RM600

According to them, every 20k, 40km, 60km would be more expensive. hence the next service 30KM would be ard 300 or lesser.

Evenmore cheaper than my bloody forte from KIA service.
        More importantly, the after sales service from Tanchong is topnotch, I just send in for any repair/checking and service without the need to make appointment. Exclusive service for New Teana Owner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
    • DonkeyKong on Apr 23, 2015 at 2:38 am

Heard that the poor FC is on the V6 version.. apparently it’s hard to even get 8km/L on that one.. wonder if it’s true

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
      • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Apr 23, 2015 at 10:51 am

The Teana has No V6 version this time, even the 2.5 litre is a 4 port.

• DonkeyKong on Apr 23, 2015 at 5:23 pm

I’m talking about the previous one. Seems that it’s one of the reasons why they moved to a 2.5 inline-4 this time around due to efficiency.. too bad there’s no more V6 smoothness

• JapanCars on Apr 23, 2015 at 9:14 am

Ha ha ha. With an overworked small engine with rubbish HP coupled to a dismal CVT gbox to pull such a heavy car it is no surprise that the FC is very high with crappy performance.
      The Japanese are smart people and able to fool Malaysian’s into buying all these garbage (Accord and Camry included)! They sugar coat all sorts of supposedly nice stuff on the car to lure these idiots into buying without realizing that underneath it is a complete dog’s meal. Some will probably realize this after owning the car for a while. Even the 2.5 performance is crappy, come on <180BHP for a 2.5 litre car in this current age? Only the 3.5 V6 which is the engine that was given a world class award is the only one worth shouting about and they are mostly reserved for the infiniti classes. Even the Q50 doesn’t use these garbage engines and sources their 2litres from Mercedes and uses the 7G tronic instead of the CVT (both V6 and 2litres).
      Basically this is a car for wannabies who can't afford a proper E segment or a European luxury D segment car but want to tayang as if they are successful taikos.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 68
      • Balls on Apr 23, 2015 at 10:52 am

Still better than VW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
        • JapanCars on Apr 23, 2015 at 12:00 pm

And the basis of your single line stupid remarks?
          Btw those of you who put thumbs down it is clear you know I am right and you can’t stomach it. Ha ha ha please continue to enjoy the craps and garbage that Japan has to offer for you idiots!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 36
        • LarvaChan on Apr 24, 2015 at 12:17 pm

i prefer VW than japan car since vw is the German car. not that confidence on using Japan product

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
      • Jimmy on Apr 23, 2015 at 5:30 pm

This is not an arguement with kids.
        In order not to let others be misled, I would like to show you different perspectives.
        Open eyes and see, there are people around you who bought detached bungalows with cash. They buy luxurious vehicles with cash.
        To them, E-class is so so only, soup-soup water (sap-sap soi), if you like.
        Lower down the yardstick, at the price point of 150k, can everbody please go and test drive various vehicles of similar prices and then comment.
        Vehicles are for (many of) us to sit in daily, for example 2 hours per day, and you only look at it for ? 15 minutes per day. So for many people who do not have the luxury to enjoy buying and possesing vehicles, safety/comfort/refinement/reasonable drivability is ultimately what we are looking at.
        By the time you are able to own a D-segment (people driving luxurious British & German vehicles do not count on their monthly petrol spendings), small difference in monthly petrol expenditure is probably not significant (additional RM60 per month is it a lot?), and please I did not comment on Teana fuel consumption and I did not say it’s poorer.
        In short, go and have a look and test drive this Teana, you may be surprised.
        * I have a friend who earned 6-figure monthly and drive a Teana.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
        • JapanCar on Apr 24, 2015 at 1:36 pm

Are you a Teana Salesman or kvsual in-disguised.
          Please open you brain and think before you talk/write, you sound like a sour grape and indirectly indicating you can’t really afford expensive luxury cars so you try to low ball and give pathetic justification that car is for point A to B, rich people don’t care about E class, blah blah blah.

Any why is it there are always cowards saying that they have a friend or know a friend who owns this and that and has 6 or 7 figure salary blah blah blah. No balls to commit they have the car or not themselves. It also show that they have pathetic lives that they have to use their friends success to justify themselves.
          And if you believe so much in the Teana why not buy one yourself. Why you must say you know a friend who has X amount salary who owns one.

Please lah open your brain lah you not the only one who has friends lah other people can also claim have friends who has 9 figure salary driving Ferrari.
          Bah what an idiot!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 31
    • kvsual on Apr 23, 2015 at 10:32 am

No complain so far on the FC.
      Fulltank RM95-110+ for a week, daily work & heavy travel during weekend. 14-15km/litre (so far the best FC on my usage)
      average daily should be 9-10KM/Litre only.

Much better than my previous forte..forte really love to drink petrol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
      • Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 23, 2015 at 11:11 am

Great that you have woken up and got rid of the Celaka Forte

• Areyousure on Apr 23, 2015 at 2:02 am

In a nutshell. Buy the Honda Accord.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 33
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 23, 2015 at 4:48 am

As long as it’s not a kimchi, it will have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 20
    • Chicharito on Apr 23, 2015 at 12:16 pm

Sekejap u say kimchi, sekejap u say french, u win liao lor. All no RV except toyota. Satisfy mei?

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 23, 2015 at 8:55 am

For me, the Teana has now become one of the best choices you can get. Especially if you are looking at a 2.0l Jap sedan, I’d say it has to be this or the Mazda 6. The Camry and Accord both only have 2 airbags, the Optima is old now and the Sonata is pathetic in terms of braking and power.

While I will miss the VQ series engine, job well done to Nissan. Let’s hope the next Teana won’t be delayed so long before it arrives.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 14
  • All the new nissan model including Slyphy, serena, Xtrail has failed miserably because of pricing strategy which is on par with Honda and Toyota.

Only the below priced Almera/Livina able to get some sale for Nissan.

No matter what, the new L33 curvy external design for Teana cant beat the Accord/Camry especially the backside dont really blend well with the overall of the car.

Accord will be the King for D segment car if no new design from T & N.

Well, If you are able to take the high depreciation/spare part cost then Nissan car will be your choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 31
    • kvsual on Apr 23, 2015 at 10:56 am

honda sales man?

Why the Teana need to priced it down inorder to match the competition with honda & toyota? well it might be good for Tanchong if it priced it low to attrach customers. but as owners, We buy for the comfort and safety. Nowadys consumer not just blindly choosing brand H&T, but more to the value for the bucks. No comments on other kimchi cars, but Teana is defnitely on par or better than both Accord & even Mazda.
      As a proud teana owner, I’m super happily to seat on the comfortable teana whenever depart to & return from work.
      After Sales service is surprisingly goods and service charges is quite reasonable. Experience it before judge, we wont know the service charges and costs if we never get served personally by Tanchong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 16
      • Japancar on Apr 23, 2015 at 3:16 pm

The answer is simple. Because your Teana is perceived to be a shitter car than the other two. It doesn’t matter whatever sweets/packages TC and Nissan tries to cramp into your car, it will always be perceived to be lousier and less prestigious than a Honda and Toyota in the eyes of Malaysians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 31
        • kvsual on Apr 23, 2015 at 4:50 pm

Your personality even shitter than the shit.
          Im paying for what we love, and Car only last for few years then will be another upgrade to better car.
          What so big deal to judge on other decision? Oh my, dont even know if you able to afford even the Honda city in malaysia. Shitter car? look at the reviews from here and other website and also real owner like me. bro. My home got a mazda 6 and bmw, merz. our decision must be shit in your opinion. How funny the forumer here.
          No worries, I come here just found Teana review here.
          Property forumer are arrogant,but it’s even worse in the Car forumer! perhaps different standard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
          • JapanCar on Apr 24, 2015 at 1:56 pm

I find this most amusing and how childish you are. (I shit, you shiter and so on.)

From your writeup in this forum it really show just how pathetic and desperate you are to justify you purchase and how small minded you are.
            Now you are trying to justify you have BMW, Mazda. mercs at home. Face it lah people can see through you and the heap of rubbish that you come with.

The fact that you said your last purchase was a Kia and this Tuina is an upgrade clearly show that you contradict yourself that you now suddenly claim you own mercs and BMWs. Why not you also say you own Rolls Royce, Ferrari (better isn’t it).

Also the fact that you owned a Kia before shows how poorly your decision making is. Everyone knows Kia has lousy RV and you yourself admit that FC was high and cost was high and why you end up changing to a Tuina because the KIA is crap. So yes your and your whole family makes shitty decisions. That part I really completely and totally agree with you :)

Now you trying to show how superior you are and criticizing people on this car forum and trying to disassociate yourself…. So who is the arrogant one now.

Basically you came here in hope of getting recognition and justification on your pathetic purchase and become so defensive when people don’t agree with you and tell you the truth. Look around how many people you have been trying to be defensive too.
            Ha ha ha point its you can’t stomach the truth that you have a shitty purchase.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 38
      • Japancar on Apr 23, 2015 at 3:20 pm

No matter what bs you are trying to kid yourself the sales numbers speak for themselves. Besides Teana for safety pleazeee… it doesn’t even come anywhere close to the european cars and further more a Volvo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 29
    • Jimmy on Apr 23, 2015 at 5:39 pm

You didn’t bargain, do you?
      Do you know how much discount you can get for, say, Teana?
      Tan Chong is run by Chinese and they are good businessmen.

• JapanCar on Apr 24, 2015 at 2:06 pm

I have no idea who you are directing this statement too. Sorry my england not that powderful as yours. :)

However I always believe in numbers and data often speaks for themselves. No need to go far just look at Paultan link
        http://paultan.org/2015/01/12/mai-malaysian-new-car-sales-expected-grow-700k-units-2015-local-brands-market-share-increase/

“Toyota leads the way with a 15.3% market share, followed closely by Honda (11.6%) and Nissan (7.0%). Honda is the biggest gainer of 2014, increasing its market share by 3.7% with the help of new models (City and Jazz). Nissan, meanwhile, suffered a market share drop of 1.1%. ”

So Nissan market share has drop by 1.1% and worst then Honda and Toyota.

And the fact that you say TC gives a lot of discount means that their cars can’t sell and are crap. :)

Hmmm selling things cheaper with huge discount…. Is this good business??

Also I wonder just how much you know about the current internal situation in TC…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 29
  • kenot on Apr 23, 2015 at 9:31 am

some said don’t buy D-segment car with 2.0L NA engine…You will feel underpower. is it true?

• kenot2 on Apr 23, 2015 at 10:13 am

Those are people who are still driving kancil. Why listen to them. The worst is if u believe that axxshole Sam Loo.

• JapanCar on Apr 23, 2015 at 12:10 pm

And for those who own a E segment car (5 series, E class, S80, A6) will say those people are still driving crappy japanese D segment cars. Why listen to them rave about their pathetic rubbish shit cars.
        Ha ha ha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 22
        • e-cgi on Apr 23, 2015 at 12:36 pm

Luxury cars or low torquey turbocharged cars you dun have to push pedal as much as n/a engined cars. It’s light and relaxing driving.

• wether its true or not it depends on one’s driving behaviour. Generally a passionate and spirited driver will agree to that statement whereas a simple point A to point B kind of people will say the NA 2 litre engine is sufficient enough

• kvsual on Apr 23, 2015 at 4:53 pm

Nways, Good write up Paul Tan. Appreciated ur efforts.
    But any website from yourside need an owner reviews, please email to me (you got my email). Every cars has its Pros and Cons.
    It’s better to provide real review from a genuine owners rather that acting keyboard warrior here to shout and yell. As always, feel disgusted on the discussion in Paultan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • JapanCar on Apr 24, 2015 at 2:09 pm

Ha ha ha

With owners like you doing bias and desperate writeup for Paultan. Habislah this website. Please Paultan don’t do it in order to preserve your website credibility.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 28
  • kangkong on Apr 23, 2015 at 5:41 pm

Just clocked 26000km after driving since August 2014. Proud to drive my storm blue 2.0XL. My friends from Spain also surprise with the car outlook and the comfort of the seat and ride.

I can even hit up to 170km/h on highway without much notice as the wind noise is really low even at that speed. The the car is still feel so stable at that speed. I have no regret at all on my choice to go for this Teana! I just love it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • james on Apr 23, 2015 at 9:57 pm

Paultan.org is an informative website, please dont use this platform to spread rumours, hate and harash wordings especially those who only drive viva/ myvi/ persona to criticise D-segment car ie teanna is underpowered, lousy quality etc. In actual fact, you are just driving a small little viva or myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
    • JapanCar on Apr 24, 2015 at 2:20 pm

Ha ha ha

I am not sure who you are referring too but for your info safe to say I drive a car that cost 3 times the price of this shitty Teana.

The thing is I can’t stand listening to these pathetic losers who go on whining why their Camry no VSC, no airbag etc… Why their Honda and Nissan like this like that complaining about UMW and government etc… and looking down on Proton and Perodua users like yourself.

The point is you get what you pay for and frankly as far as the car industry in Malaysia is concern Malaysian lives are cheap especially for the Japanese car makers. That is why they are soooo slow to implement VSC, 6 airbags etc…

The european has been introducing all this features in Malaysia that now theses pathetic losers are say woooo so important nearly 2 decades ago. As an example BMW already had DSC even in the E46 and Volvo already had side airbags in the 850 in 1996.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 63
      • Daniel on Apr 25, 2015 at 11:24 pm

Obviously your messages are rude and show disrespectful attitude toward people views. Nobody care if you are driving a half of million dollar car (or not) please stop the nonsense attacks here. Thanks.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 2
        • JapanCcar on Apr 26, 2015 at 6:59 am

Sour grape. Nobody cares what you say numb nuts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 73
          • Daniel on Apr 30, 2015 at 11:48 pm

Hahaha, good comments! Be honest and look yourself in the mirror. You look sour than anyone here…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 2
          • As i mentioned always, figures/data tell the truth. See how many dislike u got compare to the ‘like’ (which i believe mostly ticked by yourself..lol).

Dumb Ass !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Wayne on May 06, 2015 at 3:48 pm

Just feel it is shame for someone who dunno abt car and dunno how to respect ppl making so much noise, giving wrong information and rubbish comment here, and dirty this place. There are many OKA ppl in the world, but some just afraid ppl dunno they are OKA, and keep barking.

• zorop on Jul 17, 2015 at 12:49 am

like all other forums, one cant be expecting only commends and not comments. in teana case here, beauty is in the eyes of the beholder, period.

• Mark Chan on Aug 26, 2015 at 3:47 pm

Im currently using Teana 2014 new model. My advise is if you are using Nissan model car pls don’t go Batu cave service center. The services there is poor and told them car problem they never even manage to find the problem. Always come back to you the answer is no problem or no manage to find it.

• Simon Lim on Sep 06, 2015 at 8:05 pm

Same problem, service center at Johor Bahru, Plentong. The old service center, not the new service center. Haven’t walk-in to the new service center so I don’t know they can solve the problem or not.

• Used my Teana 2.5 for past 10 months. Till date I’ve clocked about 32k. I have no complains so far. I would say it has a good value for money. I was very concerned on having a problem free car (cant afford breakdown and months stranded in service centers)- hence i chose the Teana. So far it has live up to it. Oh yeah – me no uncle just a 29 year old guy.

• I have 2.0XL ( with a kenwood compact subwoofer and infinity reference tweeters and two-way speakers on four door – powered only by factory head unit), and I found that I like it over my camry hybrid (which I attains by trade in a prius)

• Wolfpack on Apr 19, 2016 at 10:30 pm

I wish to have D segment car next, hopefully is Teana

• Bought 2.0XL has a lot of problem and the service centre are not very helpful in solving problem.

Air cond compressor replace 2 no for 3 years old car and the most problem is Tan Chong service team always ask to change the whole parts which cost more money where only small problem are detected

Will be the last for me.

• Honda Fan on Nov 03, 2017 at 5:19 pm

Are you genuine owner? 2 questions here:
    – There should be warranty for 1st 3 years, why you need to pay for parts replacement? Unless your car is 4 years old when this issue appeared.
    – If your car is out of warranty, why must you send back to TCM service? It is better to fix it at the professional aircond workshop outside.

• ALEX CHONG on Jun 11, 2018 at 1:49 pm

I bought one Teana 2.0XE last December 2017, so far clock 2.7K km, so far so good except the water seeping in thru door rubber gutter during heavy downpour, contact Tan Chong Balakong branch and they are indeed very helpful ( thumbs-up ), came to my house to rectify the problem, a new set of rubber gutter is replaced without having to folk-out a single cent, I also possess another Nissan build – Sylphy 1.8 V approx 18 months ago, battery ” kong ” after 6 months replaced FOC, radiator fan kong, replaced FOC, now the engine mounting also kong, oredi inspected and I was assured it’s FOC as well, the quality control of Tan Chong needs to be improved, albeit parts are warranted FOC but time spent unnecessary is a headache for us as consumers, service wise so far so good.

Hope TC can look into all these……

• Since no more Teanna after 2019 (TC discontinued) and used Teanna price is quite attractive, I plan to buy one. ANyone has any inputs what are teanna common problems that I need to aware of?