GALLERY: Isuzu MU-X – more photos of the interior

Isuzu_MU-X_Malaysia_ 004

Not long more before the Isuzu MU-X makes its market debut in the country – first sighted in camo form, we snapped photos of the seven-seater SUV at its preview at Alamanda Putrajaya last month, but today’s the day it’s being officially introduced.

Pricing and full details are due to be announced later this evening, so stay tuned for our upcoming post on that. In the meantime, here’s a brief photo gallery of the vehicle, with a clearer look at the interior and the rear-most seating row.

The MU-X, which is based on the D-Max pickup, is powered by a 2.5 litre VGS turbodiesel that offers 136 PS and 320 Nm on the latter. The SUV will be available in 4×2 and 4×4 forms, equipped with a five-speed auto transmission with manual mode.

Kit includes leather seats, a touchscreen DVD-based infotainment system with navigation, cruise control and 17-inch alloys for the higher-spec 4×4 variant. The MU-X is set to go up against the likes of the Toyota Fortuner, Mitsubishi Pajero Sport as well as the third-gen Ford Everest, which will arrive here later this year.

Isuzu MU-X preview at Alamanda Putrajaya

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Sam L0rrrr on May 11, 2015 at 11:35 am

This like the Pajero the other day la. Myvi is safer!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 42
    • Same L0rrrr on May 11, 2015 at 6:21 pm

You can’t go wrong with sushi cars.

But at least you need fasten your seat belt.

• karam singh on May 11, 2015 at 9:32 pm

like toyota have better safety spec ?
        list me Toyota cars that passed 5star EURO NCAP
        and IIHS top safety rating.. pleaseee
        pleaseee

• It is not even launched yet, how do you know it’s way better than that of your glorified Fortuner in term of safety kits?

• wiwiwiw on May 11, 2015 at 12:16 pm

The D-Max is equipped with ESP, but this one I can’t find the button below the driver’s aircond vent. If it is true, I am very disappointed. For the money, I will go for the six airbag and better on the road seven seated Santa Fe.

• r u blind or wat? it has esp, see that button near signl/head lamp stick.

• wiwiwiw on May 11, 2015 at 1:17 pm

Oh sorry. Good that this car has traction control that saves life.

• Deus Ex on May 11, 2015 at 12:46 pm

Those seats look mighty uncomfortable.

• To all former troopers fans …standby your bookings

• urzu3 on May 11, 2015 at 2:55 pm

so.. when will chevy trailblazer coming to bolehland? saw few in cambodia recently.. and i bet in the land of smile also have one. direct competitor to everest maybe?

• body on frame = easily flip in an accident, if you really want a suv, go for monocoque chassis like a scooby

• sudonano (Member) on May 11, 2015 at 5:11 pm

The weird thing is for the rumoured price, close to the Santa Fe diesel, there’s not much going for it. The Santa Fe is way safer and drives better.

• roxas on May 11, 2015 at 11:52 pm

looks better than fortuner at least. but the santa fe is the best ~