GALLERY: 2015 Mazda 3 CKD – Sedan vs Hatchback

2015_Mazda_3_CKD_Sedan_vs_Hatch_ 006

The C-segment sedan, once a staple, is now losing ground. Unsurprising, since Civic/Corolla money can now buy one a trendier-looking SUV, or a B-segment sedan that’s almost as spacious (roomier even) with enough change for a decent family holiday. But why, when such a well-equipped sporty sedan is now available, some might ask. And there’s even a hatchback!

The locally-assembled Mazda 3 was launched last month in three variants – GL Sedan, high-spec Sedan and mid-spec Hatchback, all with the same 2.0 litre SkyActiv engine and six-speed auto combo. The high-spec Sedan, seen here, has all the kit the previous CBU car had (215/45 R18 alloys, auto bi-xenon headlamps with AFS, LED DRLs, LED tail lamps, auto single-zone air-con, navigation, shift paddles, keyless entry and start), except for only two things: i-Eloop regenerative braking and a sunroof.

High-spec meter panel (left) has the rev counter in the middle, with a digital cutout and HUD in support

Two things lost, so much gained, including a power-adjustable driver’s seat, auto wipers, cruise control, auto-dimming rear-view mirror, head-up display, “high-spec” instrument panel (central rev counter with digital speedo), aluminium trim and leather seats, which were added to the CBU at a later point.

That’s not all – the high-spec Sedan now boasts features under the i-ActivSense active safety umbrella. You get High Beam Control, Smart City Brake System (autonomous braking, 4-30 km/h), Rear Vehicle Monitoring and Lane Departure Warning. Sounds amazing for a RM121,105 (OTR with GST before insurance) car, no?

The mid-spec Hatchback gets some of the goodies from the high-spec Sedan – 18-inch alloys, auto air-con, navigation, shift paddles, auto bi-xenons, LED DRLs and tail lamps, AFS and keyless entry/start are all given.

2015_Mazda_3_CKD_Sedan_vs_Hatch_ 009

What’s shared with the base GL Sedan are manual fabric seats, manual wipers, no i-Activsense, normal rear-view mirror (no auto-dim) and no HUD. The instrument panel is also of a different design – the central dial is a speedo instead of a rev counter with digital speedo cutout. You pay a premium for the five-door body – the mid-spec Hatchback goes for the same RM121,105 as the high-spec Sedan.

This comparo gallery we put together here shows all the above in detail, side-by-side. Kit aside, you’ll also see that both bodystyles are identical from the nose up to the C-pillar and rear doors, which have the same shape; ditto the glass area. The hatchback loses the sedan’s stubby boot, of course, but it features prominent twin pipes as opposed to the sedan’s no visible pipes.

Like what you see? Will it be the sedan or hatchback for you?

2016 Mazda 3 CKD Sedan

2016 Mazda 3 CKD Hatch

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Steven on May 12, 2015 at 4:36 pm

Danny,
    I noticed that the latest photo galleries of cars do not include the photo of the rear legroom. Photo angle from backseat to front seat. Any reason for this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • Sawwie on May 12, 2015 at 4:52 pm

That’s how Preve and Suprima supposed to be. Ah, keep on dreaming.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
      • Sagat on May 12, 2015 at 5:24 pm

Preve and Suprima looks like pondan cars compare to this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 10
        • Hor Shen Hau on May 12, 2015 at 7:23 pm

Pondan car?I think you are the one who is pondan.Check down there,got or not.^_^

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 30
          • Pandan Hor on May 12, 2015 at 8:21 pm

Ahh, you’re the one using Suprima to smoke Vios right? I bet you don’t have what a real man has down there, pondan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
          • Same L0rrrr on May 13, 2015 at 11:26 am

Proton are all Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok. And so does the Proton fanboys.

They feel so excited to smoke Toyota CHEAPEST model with Proton MOST EXPENSIVE model! How hilarious!

But they can’t smoke the Vios always (once in 6 months then ok), else they end up in garage often to fix this fix that.

Proton mah! What do you expect?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
          • Raymond Lee on Jul 03, 2015 at 2:44 pm

I won’t say that Proton is a pondan car but it definitely can be better. And you know that Proton ain’t cheap to maintain considering they are ‘affordable’.

• Back seat cramp…no ESP…better get suprimau or preve. ESP with 6 airbag..safer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 34
      • Yup…i’ve experienced it…not advisable for long journey…always bring my mother outstation..might give her terrible experience if i buy this..

• Lance on May 13, 2015 at 7:09 am

There is la. Mazda call it DSC and it comes with 6 airbags also. On top of that is a 5 star Euro ncap car. You want to compare Suprima and Preve with this?? No one will even consider a Proton if they decided to buy this car. Is amazing they can always compare Suprima with just any car including of course BMW.

• driver on May 13, 2015 at 7:36 am

duh…
        http://s1.paultan.org/image/2015/05/2015_Mazda_3_CKD_Sedan_Malaysia_-040.jpg

• zohai on Jul 02, 2015 at 3:19 pm

sohai… even BMW is using the term DSC !!!

• Raymond Lee on Jul 03, 2015 at 2:52 pm

Haha! what a joke! Everything is good but then suddenly you realised no sufficient rear leg room… so you decided that it is a bad car?

• Stupid Is What Stupid Does on May 12, 2015 at 9:19 pm

Maybe it’s because rear legroom is to be experienced rather than judged from a set of photos that do not give any accurate perspective of roominess whatsoever.

Besides, do you intend to spend most of your time in the backseat of your car or in the driver’s seat?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
  • sudonano (Member) on May 12, 2015 at 4:55 pm

Seriously great value for money, though I wish there was an option for a top spec hatch. Personally I prefer hatches, and I find the hatch (especially in Soul Red) looks really good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
  • Areyousure on May 12, 2015 at 5:08 pm

I find the sedan is nicer than the hatchback in this round.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
  • ProminentWife on May 12, 2015 at 5:12 pm

this car is Fugly…especially the rear of the hatch..skip!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 64
    • BYDer on May 13, 2015 at 10:13 am

the butt is indeed ugly…even the hairdresser wouldn’t like it much…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu! on May 12, 2015 at 5:21 pm

Honestly,rear seat is cramp and limited spaces. i find my family members sitting at rear, and they have difficulty to carrying for the kid of 3 years old for comfortly sleep at their desire position. The family guy should not really consider m3, its not practical to use it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 17
    • lazyf on May 12, 2015 at 5:35 pm

Yup the rear seat is cramp.

• Lololol on May 12, 2015 at 5:52 pm

Different expectation lar. Space u have to go Altis or civic or even city. U want style and great handling then only Mazda 3. U need to choose one or the other. U can’t have both

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • Mozilla Chrome on May 12, 2015 at 5:56 pm

Kids should be sitting in their designated child car seat, not sleep at their “desired position”. It’s dangerous for them!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 2
      • janji najix tidak ditunaikan on May 12, 2015 at 10:18 pm

Back seat oled cramp sommemore out child seat for more crampy,wake up,dumber.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
    • kadajawi (Member) on May 12, 2015 at 6:52 pm

You want your kids to die like the one in the Pajero? Use a child seat for crying out loud… and get them used to seatbelts early. They won’t even be bothered after a short while, and will feel uncomfortable without seatbelts. I know from experience, I wore a seatbelt as a child. Many others who did so agree, they mind it if they are not wearing a seatbelt in a car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
  • sepul on May 12, 2015 at 5:43 pm

Sadly, the hatch don’t get the HUD with central rev counter and cruise control.

I wonder why we don’t get the dual zone aircon instead?

• Jim Chan on May 12, 2015 at 6:24 pm

Just booked the sedan high spec last 2 days.

Test drove this car and definitely this is best performance one compared to the Altis and Civic.

I don’t feel that the Mazda 3 gear box is slow to react as Harve said in Driven#5, probably the CBU and CKD has difference?

The Altis is considerable, just that for safety wise.. You have to pay extra for the safety package and is kinda overpriced.

The Civic.. Well.. Don’t wanna comment much as I’m not here to flame any Honda fans.

Cheers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 8
    • carCaarcAArrr on May 12, 2015 at 7:56 pm

How many will be sold this year I wonder… Mazda should give Jim Chan a certificate of appreciation, as he will be 1 out of a total of 100 people to have bought this car this month in the whole of Malaysia. Very exclusive car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 23
      • medic on May 12, 2015 at 9:52 pm

Probably as rare and exclusive as your grey matter…

• carCaarcAArrr on May 12, 2015 at 10:56 pm

Ah such a spciy comment from mr.medick.
          Obviously a habitual curry eater. The only grey you have, is the 50 shades on your unsatisfied wife’s book shelf.

• DonkeyKong on May 12, 2015 at 11:16 pm

Not as exclusive as the Fluence.. and I like the Fluence, quirks and all!

• BeemerFreak on May 13, 2015 at 7:21 am

You must either not be a Malaysia or just completely ignorant. Every CKD model that Mazda has introduced in Malaysia has had its sales taken off like a scalded cock. Heck even the new Mazda2 cbu has sold so well. No doubt that this would rule our roads. Don’t bet against it

• Ismail Haji on May 13, 2015 at 7:51 am

Hey Jim! Congratulations on owning your new car. Have fun finding workshops to service your car, or even worse, getting stuck in service centre! In case you need to burn ur free time while waiting for ur car, do drop by any of our traditional Bali massage centres to relief your stress.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
      • I think SCS in KL area still OK, but Azam Motors in JB sucked! Tried to book 60k service on 11/5, guess what, I was told to go on 29/5….

• John X on May 15, 2015 at 2:19 pm

Unfortunately, your comment is an uneducated guess at best. I personally can tell you, I’ve gone in to service my car without an appointment, and got it done fairly quick. Actually as quick as sending it to an independent workshop. And funny you mention trying to find a service center. From my workplace in the center of KL to where I live, there are 3 workshops along the way. Very convenient for me. Unless of course you don’t live in KL. That’s your issue.

• 4wheeler on May 13, 2015 at 2:22 pm

Hi Jim,
      Congrats on your new ride! Just wanted to know how do you find the rear seat space,adequate or is it really that cramp like some comments!

• janji najix tidak ditunaikan,Penipu Rakyat on May 12, 2015 at 10:23 pm

Mazda is good looking but none practical daily use car.altis is balance up between what we needed always.kimchi k3 is improving to achieve what user want too,however Mazda still always focus on what driver want only and never improve passenger ride quality,so this generation m3 I must conclude it is FAIL again. Thump me up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 16
    • Lololol on May 13, 2015 at 6:48 am

If improve passenger only you will end up with an altis which comfy and lacking features. And we even seen Honda lose its racing heritage to this as the Civics of yester years were sporty fun to drive and handles well. Now they are just family cars…. just good for space and gadgets. Not flaming Honda. Its just different perks for different quirks. And you cannot have both. In the end, we have to think that all car companies have a similar fixed cost amount to develop a car. Some choose on reliability and space, some on gadgets, FC and safety, some on handling, safety and FC…. cannot give all. Hence we just have to choose the one which suits us best.

• BYDer on May 13, 2015 at 10:16 am

what kind of mentality is this? we cannot have both? u sure? i tell u, all depends whether they want to do it or not…lame excuse lar cannot have both…

• anyno on Jun 11, 2015 at 2:11 pm

you can get all with bmw 7 series

• Lance on May 13, 2015 at 7:15 am

You guys are so smart and should be at the world car of the year panel. Go and correct them why they awarded this Mazda 3 as Top 3 world car of the year.

• Old dog on May 13, 2015 at 7:52 am

First line very correct, the HRV kill all this range of cars..

• Mazda Lover on May 16, 2015 at 8:28 pm

It will be good to have a new review on the ckd mazda 3.

• Ahmad on Aug 03, 2015 at 7:41 pm

KL getting more more people driving M3. I just booked 1. If u interesting on M3 u can go to YouTube search there are many professional from many countries review this M3, and answer your question… Anyway I love it.