Polestar Performance Optimisation programme cranks up Volvo V40, S60, V60 T4 to 200 hp for RM5,944

Volvo V40

Every now and then you get individuals who still firmly believe that a Volvo is nothing more than a safe, practical, vanilla-flavoured runabout vehicle – and they’re right. See, for some, it’s all they ever need (and expect) from a Volvo. Performance isn’t the first word that comes to mind and Volvo knows this.

That’s where Polestar steps in. The racing arm of Volvo has been pretty busy, as one can see with its involvement in the Scandinavian Touring Car Championship (STCC) and the V8 Supercars series. Not content with track duties however, Polestar has also turned its attention to tuning road-going Volvos.

Which leads us on to Polestar’s Performance Optimisation programme, now available in Malaysia for models such as the V40, S60 and V60, equipped with the T4 engine. In a completely stock Volvo V40 T4, the 1.6 litre B4164T turbocharged four-cylinder mill pumps out a respectable 180 hp at 5,700 rpm and 240 Nm at 1,600 to 5,000 rpm. Paired to a six-speed dual-clutch gearbox, the hatch sprints from 0-100 km/h in 8.5 seconds.

Volvo_V60_Polestar_855_T-5R_01

Optimised with Polestar’s touch however, and performance figures include 200 hp at 5,750 rpm and 285 Nm of torque from 2,000 to 4,250 rpm. The century sprint gets cut down to 8.2 seconds while economy remains as is – 12.6 km/l on city runs, 19.6 for highway runs and 16.3 km/l on the combined cycle.

On the optimised S60 and V60 T4, the figures are identical with the same 200 hp and 285 Nm of torque touted at the exact same engine speed range as the optimised V40 T4. The century sprint gets dispatched in 8.7 and 8.9 seconds, respectively. Transmission is that of the six-speed dual-clutcher variety.

Prices for the Polestar Performance Optimisation programme for the V40, S60 and V60 T4 begin at RM5,944. More recently, Polestar has announced the same programme for Volvo’s new range of Drive-E engines – including the T5 and T6 petrol units as well as Volvo’s D5 and D6 diesel mills.

GALLERY: Volvo S60 and V60 Polestar

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Ah Beng ProtonFan on May 12, 2015 at 11:17 am

Hahaha lousy Volvo waste time for Malaysia to spend this stupid money.

Proton equally to BMW and Volvo no need spend additional money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 49
    • Sawwie on May 12, 2015 at 11:49 am

Still far better than Suprima inside out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
      • Sam L0rrrr on May 12, 2015 at 12:18 pm

Suprima turbo needs about 11 seconds to reach 100km/h. Our Vios can do better than that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 30
        • Ah Beng ProtonFan on May 12, 2015 at 2:32 pm

Vios for stupid pondan.

Suprima for real man.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
          • Suprimau Sotong on May 12, 2015 at 5:15 pm

Suprima can only used to smoke B segment cars, same segment cars it does not dare to smoke. Only stupid pondan drive Suprima S(Sissy), real man drive real BMW or Volvo

• Liar, Suprima turbo can get 0-100km/h in less than 10 sec. Comparing single charger with twinscroll or more advanced engine is mind boggling.

Get your fact right.

• Hor Shen Hau on May 12, 2015 at 7:30 pm

Bro,are you kidding me?Suprima S reached 100 km/h in 7.5 seconds.Way fast than your Holy Vios.Get the fact right

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
          • Polestar on May 12, 2015 at 8:33 pm

Are you kidding? You think your Suprima is faster than this Volvo? Get your facts right

• Annoynimouse on May 12, 2015 at 12:27 pm

I welcome the good news. I love the unique looks of Volvos, the hum of the engines and the ergonomic interior. It’s nice to add performance to their cars. Handling can be better especially in their big cars. The smaller cars like the V50 actually handles quite well. I would prefer a stiffer suspension and better feedback to the steering wheel. Not to make it handle like a BMW, but only slightly sporty and I hope Polestar addresses this.

• Does the package also involve upgraded suspension & brakes? No point increasing power without the ability to slow down in time or corner safely. Any polestar upgrade for the V40 T5?

• How’s about the “Helco” also performance tuner for Volvo, I would prefer make the comparison in the same car’s that after Tuning, where from that BHP, torque & others parameters would tell, however most important points safety will the priority to end user…….

• Heico have a quad exhaust for the V40, seen one in TTDI. Looks very nice and sounds very garang. I think Volvo Glenmarie sell them. You can ask the salesman working there to help you. They also have suspension upgrades.

• tokmoh. on May 12, 2015 at 11:00 pm

http://paultan.org/2012/06/14/heico-tuned-volvo-v40-looking-good-270-ps-now/

Though i doubt this is for our T5. That heico T5 is for Ford’s 4-cylinders, the T5 we get is Volvo’s own 5-cylinders.

Otherwise, there’s plenty Heico exhaust, bodykits, rims here.

• sammy on May 12, 2015 at 4:51 pm

RM5944… that’s roughly the amount you will get from a second hand car dealer for year 2000 Volvo S40.
    I couldn’t believe my ears when I overheard a lady wanted to trade in hers for a Kia in a showroom.

• Their offer a good package for tune up without spoil the warranty …

how sad VW not dare to provide this kind service

• VW’s performance already good enuf. why still need to tune up? let’s say VW golf gti 0-100 only took 6.4 sec. What can you still expecting from this?