Mazda 2 receives “Mid Century” and “Urban Stylish Mode” variants in Japan with stylistic upgrades

The Mazda 2 – known as the Demio in Japan – has received a pair of special variants, named Mid Century and Urban Stylish Mode (really brilliant names, guys), exclusively for its home market. Available at Mazda’s Infini and Autozam dealers, these two offer a host of stylistic upgrades that set it apart from other models in the range.

Offered with top-spec 13S L Package petrol and XD Touring L Package diesel models, the Mid Century trim – said to be inspired by modern furniture – is differentiated through red cloth seats with embossed centres, gloss red accents on the air vents, door panels and centre console, as well as high-gloss white dashboard trim. Paint choices are limited to Soul Red, Jet Black and Snowflake White Pearl.

Meanwhile, the Urban Stylish Mode trim on mid-spec 13S petrol and base XD diesel is modelled after a “stylish adult woman” and receives black cloth seats with pink stripes as well as gloss off-white accents.

Furthermore, Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM) with Rear Cross Traffic Alert (RCTA) – part of a Safety Package option elsewhere in the range – is fitted as standard (strangely however, the other items in the pack, High Beam Control and Lane Departure Warning System, aren’t even available as options). Here, colours offered are Smoky Rose, Titanium Flash, Meteor Grey, Snowflake White Pearl and Jet Black.

The Mazda Demio Mid Century is priced at 1,717,200 yen (RM51,100) for a 2WD model with the 1.3 litre SkyActiv-G petrol engine, 1,911,600 yen (RM56,900) for the 4WD petrol, 1,998,000 yen (RM59,500) for a 2WD model with the 1.5 litre SkyActiv-D diesel mill and 2,192,400 yen (RM65,300) for the 4WD diesel.

Urban Stylish Mode models, on the other hand, retail at 1,566,000 yen (RM46,600) for the 2WD petrol, 1,760,400 yen (RM52,400) for the 4WD petrol, 1,890,000 yen (RM56,300) for the 2WD diesel and 2,084,400 yen (RM62,000) for the 4WD petrol. Finally, the standard petrol Demio models are now available with the “well-received” Safety Package option, previously reserved for the diesels.

Mazda 2 in Malaysia

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Same L0rrrr on May 18, 2015 at 3:45 pm

RV no match to Toyota Vios, design also fails…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 76
    • Wow Sam L0rrr, a lot of ppl also don’t even know that since when u know car design too.

• Soon this hot car may rebadge as next generation vios / yaris.
        Don’t slaps yourself.

• jesse on May 18, 2015 at 8:37 pm

Now owners can dream of driving a GTI or any kind of R cars. Meanwhile the handling still like sampan with puny non turbo engine. Sigh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
          • Same L0rrrr on May 19, 2015 at 10:01 am

Proton salesman too free nothing to sell then talkok under my name.

As I always said, you won’t go wrong with sushi cars*. Bravo!

*Out of these sushi cars, the best still Toyota. Everyone knew it so I don’t need to mention again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
        • Already have dude.. they call it Scion iA in US. the car look retarded now under Toyota designer hand.

• DPCraft on May 18, 2015 at 8:59 pm

I still prefer Honda City’s design for this segment. I think Mazda 3 look better then Mazda 2.

• Dr Mamak on May 18, 2015 at 4:52 pm

Remember, don’t buy until Bermaz upgrades it with projector headlights.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
  • sammy on May 18, 2015 at 5:12 pm

New Variants?
    We can’t even get the nice headlights here… rubbing salt to the wound??

• Mozilla Chrome on May 18, 2015 at 5:22 pm

Miles better technology and stylish design yet they can sell in the range of Iriz price back in their origin country. Meanwhile for Proton and Perodua..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • kornn on May 18, 2015 at 6:49 pm

Topkek mazda3 56k for 1.3l is more expensive than iriz 1.3l lor
      And that’s after of the so called bOlehland expensive tax

Get your fact right

• Mazda2 is Calling me to Grab it home, but your headlight stopped me… I feel so sorry…

• Okidoki on May 19, 2015 at 11:44 am

Never mind about the projector LED headlamps. Just grab it lah before it turns into an ugly Scion iA!

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on May 19, 2015 at 8:58 am

This is suzuki swift rival. I dont see much ppl driving in KL town, Bermaz dun sell good this M2

• Okidoki on May 19, 2015 at 8:03 pm

Yeah I get your logic. Not! Maybe it’s because the M2 is just released? How long has the Suzuki been around?

• zoomers3 on May 20, 2015 at 12:34 am

The ckd buyers bugging saleman so much that they open booking for the red soul for ckd maz3. By repaint! That what happen if demand coming in hot. Those who target maz2, keep bugging em with the sexy headlamp! Maybe theyll bring it, with added cost maybe but hey .. its will do the car justice!