GALLERY: Jaguar F-Type R – it’s really good to be bad

Jaguar_F-Type_R_Malaysia_ 002

There are moments in one’s life when something truly special comes along, leaving you spellbound. I encountered such a moment during a short journey in the Jaguar F-Type R that we used in our unconventional road safety PSA video. This is the definitive sports car from Jaguar, make no mistake about it.

It’s powered by a supercharged 5.0 litre V8 that churns out 550 hp and 680 Nm of torque, which guarantees sheer unadulterated performance, and this is mated to an eight-speed automatic gearbox. It does the century sprint in 4.2 seconds, and with the Coupe’s extremely rigid body shell, it offers best-in-class power and torque as well as best power-to-weight and torque-to-weight performance. It has a top speed of 299 km/h and its CO2 emissions are rated at 255g/km

It looks sexy as hell, with bright red calipers that stand out as part of the Jaguar Super Performance Braking System sitting within the confines of the 20-inch Gyrodyne alloy wheels. An electronic active differential with torque vectoring by braking gives an unprecedented level of handling too.

Jaguar_F-Type_R_Malaysia_ 022

Inside, the flat-bottomed leather ‘R’ sports steering wheel is an Electric Power Assisted Steering (EPAS) one, while the real highlight of the car is the Switchable Active Sports Exhaust system that is paired to its quad exhaust pipes. It also has a deployable rear spoiler that rises at higher speeds to reduce lift by up to 120 kg. Even the door handles retract when not required, as their flush design creates an uninterrupted airflow pattern along the flanks.

The exhaust note is just amazing, as it snaps, snarls, crackles, growls and gurgles along the way. It makes the car feel truly alive. With the active exhaust system activated during spirited driving, the bypass valves are opened fully and what you get is a truly angry Jaguar. The F-Type R was designed for maximum driving pleasure, and this truly is a Jaguar like no other.

In the cockpit, an Intelligent Venting System, which is part of the advanced climate control system, hides the twin central air vents, which automatically deploys when required. The performance seat, premium leather interior with twin needle stitching are standard in the F-Type R.

The steering wheel has gearshift paddles that provide manual control without taking your hands of the wheel. On the centre console, the gearbox has a Sportshift selector that offers full Auto mode, Sports mode and Manual operation. There is also an 8.0-inch colour touchscreen that offers simple control of the car’s features such as navigation, infotainment and of course the dual mode rotary switches that control the climate control system.

Prices for the Jaguar F-Type R start at a cool RM 1,158,888, on-the-road excluding insurance. It is available in three colours, specifically Polaris White, Salsa Red and Stratus Grey.

We take a look at all the major bad habits of Malaysian drivers. Remember, being safe on the road begins with you!

Posted by Paul Tan's Automotive News on Wednesday, July 15, 2015

Anil Prabha

Anil Prabha has always been a petrol head. He also has a strange knack for remembering car models and their respective registration plates. Naturally aspirated engines are always better than turbocharged or supercharged ones, in his opinion. Ultimately, he believes that there is nothing better in life than just going for a drive.

• My father prefer amg gts….

• Nice, the real showstopper lah

• Is this owned by Paul Tan?

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 16, 2015 at 6:21 pm

I thought the Salsa Red would be the best for the F-Type, until I saw it in the F-Type S form at the Sisma Auto centre. Only then I realised, if only the rear lights were smoked slightly, it would look much better, if not the rear lights seem to blend into the body work…

On that basis, it has to be the white or this colour for me. Or in fact, the Rhodium Silver looks really good too.

On a side note, this probably would not have seen the light of the day if not for Jaguar leaving Ford, cause the bean counters there would rather have a FWD sedan than a crazy coupe. The irony that Jaguar is doing so much better now after leaving the shackles of FoMoCo.

• Obviously (Member) on Jul 17, 2015 at 6:45 pm

Almost all the automakers under the FoMoCo Premium Vehicle Consortium are doing better after a transfer of ownership. Jaguar, Land Rover and Volvo are all looking so promising at the moment, even if some decry them for being owned by Indians and Chinese. Only Aston Martin seems to be in a stagnant state.

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 18, 2015 at 12:55 pm

FoMoCo while was successful in not depending on the bailout, their cars from 2010 till now have all had some issue or other, be it MyFordTouch, to the PowerShift transmission. Ford used to make good cars, but this is what happens when they try too hard.

As for their luxury division, that was a total flop. Only VW bean counters can successfully run a luxury marque.

• spongewai on Jul 16, 2015 at 6:29 pm

buy that number 8881 tmr

• dodgeviper88 on Jul 16, 2015 at 6:50 pm

this was the same car la that was tailgating me yesterday :p

• Ah Beng Vios Turbo TRD godcar on Jul 17, 2015 at 10:38 pm

I was tailgating this car yesterday at kesas.

• proton, this is sexy, sharp and gorgeous.. Proportion is very important..

• Funny and Great advertisement. Laugh the (*duut*) out of me!

• KarTiN (Member) on Jul 18, 2015 at 8:49 pm

This car have big shoes to fill with the R badge. The last two roughly equivalent XKR may not be the most powerful or technically most advanced, but it is definitely the most comfortable luxury sports car around. I have the pleasure of driving both a lot, belongs to my neighbour and golf buddy and they are truly superb.

• tinmilo on Jul 20, 2015 at 9:56 am

at this price, it will not win too many fans as it fights in the same stratosphere as the AMG GTS and i8, and a few Porsches.
    And in my opinion, they got a few things wrong and messed up some Jaguar tradition:
    1. The front radiator grill should be the thick “chicken Net” design with a bigger presence.
    2. The Jaguar logo on the steering should not be the leaping one but the roaring jaguar head.
    3. Where is the J-Gate gear shift?

The butt is kinda nice.