New BRT fares “shocking”, likely to discourage users

edit_img_2529

Following on from the recent announcement of the Bus Rapid Transit (BRT) fares by the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD), the National Public Transport Users Association (4PAM) has voiced concern over the new figures – going as far as to call the rates “shocking”, as reported by theSun.

The organisation has urged the authorities to “take into account the cost of the total journey, including the return trip.” Also, 4PAM has encouraged the government to revise the rates prior to the construction of the proposed BRT KL-Klang Line – said route will run from the former Istana Negara to Klang.

brt-fares-chart

“4PAM fully supports the implementation of the much debated Federal Highway BRT, which is long overdue. However it is vital to ensure that the objective of the BRT should be to encourage people to use public transport and not just to build an infrastructure,” the NGO said in a statement.

The new fare structure kicks off with a base figure of 90 sen, after which a travel-per-kilometre fare is added. Following on, an additional 81.5 sen is added for the first six kilometres. From six to 12 km, 51.3 sen is added while 42.1 sen gets thrown in between 12 to 18 km. From 18 to 24 km, 28.2 sen is added in while the a final figure of 21.2 sen is factored in for travels over 24 km.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• tokmoh. on Aug 07, 2015 at 9:34 am

Greg, I think it’ll be better if you just attach the Sunway BRT fare table so people can see easier how ridiculous it is.

It’s not just shocking, it’s stupid as hell. Public transport is supposed to be cheaper alternative to driving, that’s the greatest incentive. If it is more expensive, it’s silently telling people to not use it at all.

So what if the fare needs to be lowered to the point it’s loss making, isn’t that normal all around the globe? Public transports are mostly govt-owned and subsidized, it’s a service taxpayers are happy to fund for its convenience.

The fact Prasarana unwilling to lower the fare reflects how little subsidy they’re providing, a sign govt is so desperate they don’t have the money. U know, I know why they are this desperate.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 141 Thumb down 4
  • Edward on Aug 07, 2015 at 9:41 am

Take Uber or Grabcar or Myteksi better

• Edward on Aug 07, 2015 at 9:41 am

Take Uber or Myteksi or Grabcar better & cheaper

• Leonard Robinson Chin on Aug 07, 2015 at 9:57 am

USJ 7 station to South Quay station costing RM1.80!!! Madness. You can walk on foot. The distance is so near less than 1KM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Price so high later become Bus Ghost Rider.

• amfin on Aug 07, 2015 at 10:04 am

Guys please understand the grand picture of current Malaysia. These company will mark up like nobody business only to later ask the Government to pay some subsidies in the name of helping the poor Rakyat. Believe you and me suddenly in few days or even weeks there will be announcement by SPAD bout this so call subsidy mechanism to bring the fare rate down but at the end it’s just a siphoning mechanism in broad daylight.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
    • tokmoh. on Aug 07, 2015 at 10:29 am

Sunway BRT is operated by Prasarana, owned by Ministry of Finance itself. That’s as direct to the govt as it gets.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
      • Well… last I checked 1MDB is also owned by the Finance Ministry..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • hahaha on Aug 07, 2015 at 10:09 am

bas 3rd… oh the irony of it

• Danial on Aug 07, 2015 at 10:09 am

Well, who’s going to pay the RM634,000,000 (that’s million to all of us) cost now?

• tokmoh. on Aug 07, 2015 at 10:30 am

Ask arabs la, they so rich can donate RM2.6b to one man, RM634m is just chump change.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • kzm father on Aug 07, 2015 at 10:43 am

Ini semua pembangkang. anak saya kzm dan saya sokong Najib dan UMNO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 37
      • That’s so called Arabs only for convenience sake. Who knows if the money is from millions of citizens of M land .

• desperate citizen on Aug 08, 2015 at 1:14 am

Imagine dividing RM2.6 billion among 30 million Malaysian citizen, each one of us could get RM86.60.

• tokmoh. on Aug 07, 2015 at 10:22 am

Where got steal, it’s “donation” you know. Jangan persoal our dear leader, I <3 PM, cukur lah MYR turun, kenapa tak puji kerajaan? U tak suka, keluar.

Before anyone say I'm stupid, do I have to make it really, REAAAALLY OBVIOUS I'm being erm, what do you call it, like you know, urmm, ahh I get it, it's SARCASTIC, riiiiiight????!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
    • Mesti Bercukur on Aug 07, 2015 at 10:37 am

Kita mesti bercukur. That is what my nasi lemak friends will say. Now all realise they kena con big time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Ajib kor don’t dare say who the donors are. He probably can’t name them all. Millions of names wor. Until now he still haven’t sue …… coz no ballz. The wayang continues! I wonder if any reporters will post a question to Najib in a conference if he had fulfilled his promises to the rakyat?.

• Jay Law on Aug 07, 2015 at 10:35 am

Who’d like to Uber in my GT3 RS?

• Jason Lim on Aug 07, 2015 at 10:39 am

fare is really on the high side. who is going to ride? defeat the purpose of having public transport

don’t build BRT just for the sake of building

• sick&tired on Aug 07, 2015 at 10:45 am

better use taxi! if they don’t reduce the price, this will be another white elephant! This people never do any market research before spending hundreds of millions building it!?

• Nothing shocks me anymore in Malaysia.

Good news maybe. Bad news ? Hardly.

• Seems pretty reasonable to me. These are nice buses running on dedicated lanes. The reality is, we are underpaid and that limits the infrastructure we can afford. Instead of subsidising everything, we should be getting paid more and a higher minimum pay law imposed.

• brthardrock on Aug 07, 2015 at 11:32 am

if brt build cost is lower than lrt/mrt, can you imagine later MRT 1 & LRT extension fare?

• If they increase your wage by 20% and currency depreciate another 30% you technically earn even less….

• ben yap on Aug 07, 2015 at 11:13 am

with that rate, i’ll still take uberX

• Current MYR vs USD = 3.926 . Thank you Ajib kor for doing a great job. Malaysia’s all time low in 17 bloody years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Alyaniff on Aug 07, 2015 at 3:33 pm

Relax. Comments maturely lar Malaysians. I also dont agree with the fares but must we drag politics into this? It is still under consideration and the government is serious in encouraging people to use public transport. Remember, every first timers have early hiccups, but things will get better eventually. Just gently ask government to review the fares. We are all civilized people, arent we?

• You ask us to be civilized right now. When Malaysia become the next Greece and your EPF money gone… I wonder if you will still be civilized. If you think the government have been doing a damn good job, something must be wrong with your head.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Ah Beng Si on Aug 07, 2015 at 4:15 pm

Wa Liao you ungrateful lot… Our PM is a hardworking man… Now our country is talked about around the world, this is the most important thing. Before this, people used to think Malaysia is an island somewhere in Indonesia. Today is different story, every corner of the world knows where Malaysia is! Be proud of your country and your hardworking PM! We <3 PM! 1Malaysia!

• Captur / CX-3 on Aug 07, 2015 at 6:16 pm

Now every world leader knows where Malaysia is la. Even Bill Gates will know now . You ask foreigner you know Malaysia ? 1st answer = Petronas Twin tower . Now? 1st Answer = 1MDB. Super famous la thanks to our Bugis warrior Ajib kor. Bravo!!

• Krasher on Aug 07, 2015 at 4:54 pm

It’s Malaysia.
    Pocket first, People last.

• evilmadness on Aug 07, 2015 at 10:26 pm

Tambang bas gila punya mahal. Gila pun tak mahal macam ni. Sakit hati je tadi tengok harga dia. Jarak antara satu stesen tak jauh pun, boleh jalan kaki lagi tapi tambang rm1.60. Kegilaan apakah ini.

• Denise Lau on Aug 08, 2015 at 2:56 am

Actually it’s not shocking. It’s completely not shocking. Did you all think that building overhead roads all over the place was cheap? Did you know that the simple flyover at Setiawalk for cars to U-Turn cost SP Setia about RM10 million to build? And you think those electric buses are cheap to buy and maintain?

Malaysians always want the best things, but Malaysians are always very reluctant to pay for it. This kampung attitude is really annoying.

While we’re at it, a lot of Malaysians have been very supportive of the KL-Singapore high speed railway. That ain’t gonna be cheap either. I’ll be surprised if it’s cheaper than RM100 one way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • IwannalickJibby on Aug 12, 2015 at 4:41 pm

You stupid or what? We aready pay farking road tax, income tax, gst etc.

Even dead people kena tax now. You like to pay tax so much? Just drop dead to pay somemore.

Public transport is is not something like a commercial business. It is a vital piece of keeping the city, economy and country going.

Please simpan your bodoh.

• Damian on Aug 08, 2015 at 9:43 am

The Bus itself cost RM 1Mil each & it’s a joint project between Sunway and Rapid. understandable why the fare way to expensive.

• Back in June 2015, I said the project will be a white elephant and I was attacked left right centre. See who is right now!