2015 Toyota Avanza officially launched in Indonesia

grand-new-veloz-1Cropped

We’ve brought you first pics of the Toyota Avanza in Indonesia, now we’re seeing first details of the new Avanza.

The Toyota Avanza Veloz and Grand New Avanza get revised 1.3 litre and 1.5 litre engines, both featuring Dual VVT-i. They make 97 hp/120 Nm and 104 hp/139 Nm respectively, which is slightly higher power outputs than the older engines.

The Veloz 1.5 litre variant receives projector headlamps and a honeycomb grille, fog lamp garnish while the back features rear reflectors. The Grand New Avanza however has only a side body moulding slapped onto its side profile. Both cars get alloy wheels as a standard feature.

In the interior, both the Grand New Avanza and the New Veloz is fitted with a 6.1-inch touchscreen head unit, which aside from normal AM/FM radio and additional CD/DVD capability, the 2DIN head unit also comes with Bluetooth, USB and iPod-ready connections.

grand-new-veloz-4

Additionally, the Veloz gets a black dashboard and a leather steering wheel with audio switches as well as blue and white combimeter design as opposed to the Grand New Avanza which receives a brown fascia and a combimeter that comes with in an amber display instead and on that note, all variants will have the eco lamp indicator as well.

Cabin quietness for the new Avanza has also been improved and as for safety, both the Grand New Avanza and Veloz variants have side impact beams within the panels of the front and back doors as well as ABS systems as standard. Second-row seats now feature a one-touch tumble to ease passenger entry into the third row.

Prices for the 1.5 litre Veloz manual starts at 204 million rupiah (RM59,581) while the automatic variant goes for 216 million rupiah (RM63,111) as for the Grand New Avanza, prices start from 191 million rupiah (RM55,806).

Grand New Veloz

Grand New Avanza

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Toyota #1 killer on Aug 17, 2015 at 9:36 pm

So ugly. I hope it stays there

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 26
    • karam singh on Aug 18, 2015 at 4:50 am

And then , update on the safety sides …
      None.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
      • Same Lorr on Aug 18, 2015 at 7:56 am

This fugly Avanza still have good RV in 3 years compare to Beautifool Proton Exora!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 31
        • camtakpro on Aug 18, 2015 at 10:49 am

Those non-mitsu Proton 2nd hand are the world’s most safety vehicle by just stopping road-side.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • UMW is Government on Aug 18, 2015 at 8:54 am

Being a very high and tall car, very likely this car will topple. Even Vellfire and Alphard has toppled, imagine this berak car. I hope they give VSC, EBD, ABS as standard. In Europe, VSC is standard and compulsory on all cars, even the cheapest car.

In Malaysia, we got no laws. Semua boleh. Cause Government don’t look out for the rakyat cause it is the Government (via UMW) that is selling the car to us and making a profit at the expense of our safety and lives

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 15
        • Low Budget on Aug 18, 2015 at 11:00 am

It is common sense that any vehicle that has higher profile is easier to topple than the lower profile ones, so this happen not only to Toyota but all other makes, I remembered Ford in Americas ‘kena’ sue kau-kau some years ago because the their Ford Blazers will topple when one of the tyres is burst.

• Proton is Ruler on Aug 18, 2015 at 11:50 am

This is the same with Proton what. Mat Salleh get ABS EBD and VSC. All Protons in UK and Australia got VSC.

But for Malaysians, Proton take out the VSC. Proton don’t mind if we die or accident, so long as Mat Salleh customers are happy and safe.

Wait!??? Wasn’t Proton created for Malaysians ie to give Malaysians affordable cars? So, why equip Export Protons with so much tech safety and we Malaysians get trash???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
      • ABS 4 channel is available for all the line of Avanza and Xenia now, addition with pipe beam side impact on doors. Immobilizer for the ignition key is already a standard for all types.

• ProPlus on Aug 18, 2015 at 11:39 am

karam singh still sleeping in his Proton. Only the ‘Plus’ car has no update on the safety sides

• OMG…still damn ugly and old tech engine and chassis…puihh…Will not sell well here.

• bukapintubayartol on Aug 17, 2015 at 9:40 pm

what about the Daihatsu Xenia?

• Nathan Ferdinand on Aug 18, 2015 at 11:01 am

Xenia also launched too. But it’s cheaper and got a more crossover-like look. Starts from RM 44.647 up to RM 61.264.

http://indianautosblog.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/08/Daihatsu-Great-New-Xenia-front-three-quarter-press-image.jpg

• Pantech on Aug 17, 2015 at 9:57 pm

Doctor my eyes!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • kaveen on Aug 17, 2015 at 9:59 pm

Why indonesian market always gets first u freaking toyota??? And dat design is so freaking ugly :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • Pakcik on Aug 17, 2015 at 10:05 pm

Sorry, price correction. I’m now in Indonesia for a week. I’ve tested this Avanza and see all prices.

Avanza 1.3 E MT: IDR 180.600.000 (RM 53.117)
    Avanza 1.3 E AT: IDR 191.800.000 (RM 56.411)
    Avanza 1.3 G MT: IDR 198.700.000 (RM 58.441)
    Avanza 1.3 G AT: IDR 209.400.000 (RM 61.588)
    Avanza 1.5 G MT: IDR 211.000.000 (RM 62.058)
    Avanza Veloz 1.3 MT: IDR 204.200.000 (RM 60.058)
    Avanza Veloz 1.3 AT: IDR 216.000.000 (RM 63.529)
    Avanza Veloz 1.5 MT: IDR 215.000.000 (RM 63.235)
    Avanza Veloz 1.5 AT: IDR 226.900.000 (RM 66.735)

Much cheaper than Malaysian-spec Avanza which starts from RM63k-RM75k. Govt, why?
    For this facelift model, there are some improvement in terms of comfort. Suspension is now much softer and body roll is minimalized. Insulation is improved and engine sound isn’t harsh anymore: you can compare with Grand Livina 1.5, seriously.
    Bonus, I see VSC indicator in 1.5 Veloz grade.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • Indon on Aug 18, 2015 at 12:51 am

Good news then. Let Malaysians get the Saga Plus (minus VSC)

• http://d1evvto86t5vms.cloudfront.net/news/wp-content/uploads/images/Cars/Images/TOYOTA/Avanza-2012/P1010035.jpg

yes,,,the rear suspension, imagine the side way movement of the body due to that diagonal rod

• Boring design, only change main lamp & bumber.

• Kevin C on Aug 17, 2015 at 10:52 pm

Still no VSA yet ?

• Makcik on Aug 18, 2015 at 12:37 am

Got! See comment from Pakcik

• roti kosong on Aug 18, 2015 at 11:21 am

yes but only in indon, when come in bolehland evrything come kosong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • Kevin C on Aug 18, 2015 at 1:08 pm

Yes I think it’s only available in Indonesia. Traction / stability control is such a important features and it can actually save your lives when comes to car spinning 360 degree and will sends your car veering almost sideways out of control towards the barrier !!! In bolehland, goverment should set VSC as standard features for all cars. Malaysian motorist deserve better safety in our cars. Come on UMW TOYOTA, Malaysian lives are not cheap!!! Most your cars don’t have VSC! For eg: Vios, Avanza , Altis 1.8 and can’t believe that even Camry 2.0 E costing 150k HAS NO VSC !!! That’s shocking !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Pakcik on Aug 18, 2015 at 7:27 am

This is what I saw in Avanza 1.5 Veloz. Pay attention to an indicator next to fuel indicator:

http://abload.de/img/screen_20150803_16421e3u7d.jpg

• albag on Aug 17, 2015 at 11:09 pm

omg these ugly faces will soon haunt Malaysian roads just like the Innova… disappointing and sad

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • Toyota proudly presents another CRAP hahahah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
    • Low Budget on Aug 18, 2015 at 11:03 am

Whether crap or not, Toyota is laughing all the way to the bank.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • sudonano (Member) on Aug 17, 2015 at 11:11 pm

Oh god, was scrolling down and saw this.

Jeez looks piss ugly.

• kinokuniyah on Aug 17, 2015 at 11:16 pm

super ugly, super dull and plasticky front grille….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • kadajawi (Member) on Aug 17, 2015 at 11:20 pm

Side impact beams in the doors! wow! I still remember how that was a feature Renault advertised for my car… Granted, that was 1992… but hey, welcome to the early 90s, Toyota!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • toyol on Aug 17, 2015 at 11:24 pm

bagi kat budak2 inovasi proton lagi cantik..

• Ugly

• DonkeyKong on Aug 17, 2015 at 11:48 pm

It’s like putting lipstick on a pig and calling it a pretty lady

• dugongx on Aug 18, 2015 at 12:21 am

WTF Grand??? You mean Fugly New Avanza right…

• areos on Aug 18, 2015 at 8:31 am

.it should be no problems with the exterior design..whatever..tapi chasis too stiff…passenger will experience bumpy ride…melantun lantun ..klu belum tempah better dont…you will regret later..find another mpv ..of course with extra cost..

• who gives a fu*k about the design, and trust me this design is not that ugly. considering the price, quality and practicability.

This car my friend is what we call a practical car, for low to mid income family. It has the space, affordable, good fuel consumption, quality, and trust me will give an excellent job up to at least 5 years without a problem.

This kind of car is not for youngster who just 1 to 3 years grad with working 2.5k – 3.5k income, which definitely after get married have 2 to 3 children will then maybe will considering this kind of car.

I quite a shame to read the comment by you guys, usually this group of people they have no sense about the world their living, selfish of course, and by the way I’m not angry to anyone, just a comment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
    • Ongtk on Aug 18, 2015 at 11:13 am

Agree, this is a good and practical MPV for small family, with 2-3 children, for the daily commute to schools, weekend outings and the occasional balik kampong trips. No pun or insults intended but reading some of the comments here really got me thinking how many of these contributors actually own a car and/or own cars that have all the features they so profoundly write about? BTW, I am not a Toyota sympathiser and defending the brand here. My family cars are a Volkswagen Jetta 1.4TSI and Prius and both are excellent cars. I also share the views of many here in regard to UMW-Toyota handling of the Toyota brand here in Malaysia. I opined Toyota should look for new and more aggressive partner. In my opinion, UMW has lost it for the brand.

• dugongx on Aug 18, 2015 at 11:32 am

Stupid feller…at this price range you are 100 times better off in a Grand Livina, or save money and get Alza / Exora which both are superior to this junk. No wonder you are still driving an old junk wira bcoz you are not aware its a junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • Uncle on Aug 18, 2015 at 1:55 pm

then you go get the livina or exora or alza laaa stupid dugongX…hayyaaa nobody cares.. really dont understand what people discussing here and want to show your sentapp stupid.

• farhan on Aug 18, 2015 at 8:15 pm

What about Proton Exora then?
      Waaaaaay better!
      Some of u guys tell this that about these cars based on RV alone. Full of sh*t laaa u samlorrr!

• If Malaysian spec same as in photo…it is better thn before plus 50:50 split for 3rd row seat.

• looks cheap & ugly. no tq.

• macromedia on Aug 18, 2015 at 12:57 pm

those who says it is ugly, which it is, shld consider the traffic situation over there. The INNOVA is a very pratical car with very very good FC. The daily total MACET (jam in bahasa Indon) is not for the faint of heart, it is a country which you will be a bit off (or very very very well off) to buy a really really good looking fast car and get stuck in JAM for hours on end. The previous gen INNOVA is everywhere in jakarta, an dit is a car that needs very little care and maintenance, it just goes on and on and on. Like a bunny on steroids. But yea… it is still ugly, one which Malaysians will not appreciate.

• practical on Aug 18, 2015 at 2:21 pm

Agree, practicality is more important than looks. What’s the point of having a car like Proton that looks good but jerks in traffic jam? The look is only for outside people to see

• pearjai on Aug 18, 2015 at 1:36 pm

There are 1 good news…toyota provide their 1nr-fe n 2nr-fe……better then their k3 tech (1998) vs new 2008 dual vvti….even this 2nr-fe are better then our vios 1nz-fe…..nice fuel consumption for these 1329cc…21km/l….some myvi owner have transplant (passo hana with cvt)…maybe these are good idea(transpant) for axia basic 1.0cc …fuel consumption almost the same but 99hp with 132nm at 3800rm plus cvt seem yummy for compact car/mpv…plese dont compare with larger mpv…this are mini mpv…competitor should be honda mobilio

• pearjai on Aug 18, 2015 at 1:52 pm

1nr-fe 1329cc …21km/l…..2008 dual vvti vs previous k3 1998 tech…even their 2nr-fe are more better then 00 nz-fe….jdm version have 99hp n 132 nm at 3800 rpm…some myvi owner have these jdm 1nrfe(PASSO HANA) with cvt n vsc….these are mini mpv should compare with honda mobilio…livina are bigger class n alza actually not are properly mpv….just are myvi/passo with longer wheelbase=wagon with 7 seater !…

• Allroadquattro on Aug 18, 2015 at 5:39 pm

OMG MPVs still exist?

• automatic on Aug 18, 2015 at 6:07 pm

what a crappy looking front bumper… puihhh…

• When launch in Malaysia? Any news?