PDRM to receive 1,200 new patrol cars, new livery too

2015-PDRM-POLICE-CAR

The Royal Malaysian Police (PDRM) will receive a consignment of 1,200 new patrol cars in stages from the end of the year, Bernama reports.

Inspector-General of Police (IGP) Tan Sri Khalid Abu Bakar said the new Proton Inspira patrol cars (we see some new Preves in the pics too) will replace those which are eight-years old and above. There’s a new livery for the cop cars too, now with reflective stripes of green on the bonnet and flanks.

“The new patrol cars will have a new image. The stripe will be slightly changed and we will use a green reflector. The cars will be fitted with additional equipment and new technology,” he told reporters after attending a handing over of duties ceremony at Bukit Aman yesterday.

The IGP added that the force is looking to equip the new patrol cars with the C4i system which involves the business of directing, controlling, communication, coordination and information, with Global Positioning System (GPS). “To date, only a small number of cars are using the C4i system, we only conduct tests on several cars,” he said.

What do you think of our new police car livery?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• mr chee cheong fan on Aug 18, 2015 at 10:29 am

oh hey lets put on a few green stripes so we can subtly change new cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
    • policeman on Aug 18, 2015 at 11:57 am

Why give us shit car to use?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 35
      • PDRM BOSS: is better than beancurd Vios, u think Perodua qualified? Perodua is too rubbish, foreign visitors will laugh if we use rubbish as patrol car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 22
        • Proton is king of rubbish. beancurd still way better than king of rubbish Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 40
          • I drive this preve can tapau your car in anytime

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 19
        • Minister on Aug 18, 2015 at 2:48 pm

You think foreign visitors won’t laugh if we use rubbish Proton as patrol car? What if foreigners know we are spending millions to maintain a Proton? Hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 12
      • What do you expect??? BMW???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
        • Mechanic on Aug 18, 2015 at 2:57 pm

Even BMW is cheaper to maintain than Proton. Don’t believe? Ask SPANCO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
          • proveme on Aug 18, 2015 at 4:16 pm

You yourself must give proof. No use if have to ask others

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
          • faisal on Sep 03, 2015 at 3:50 pm

Sembang Kencang. Pernah pakai BMW ke?

• Kenny on Aug 18, 2015 at 1:25 pm

To clear the Warehouse of Pronton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
        • RUsmah on Aug 18, 2015 at 2:09 pm

Yes, parking so long time in poton warehouse.
          Nobody buy”? no problem, I can ask all dept buy these as official car.

They just need car, whatever car, to get donation! Thats 1 Malaysia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
        • Salesman on Aug 18, 2015 at 3:21 pm

Now you know why Proton sales increase even though nobody is buying

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • nameless on Aug 18, 2015 at 8:04 pm

anyone would be nervous seeing whoever drives a silver/white preve these days..

• Jason Lim on Aug 18, 2015 at 10:32 am

donation money put in good use

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • JudgeLater on Aug 18, 2015 at 11:11 am

Don’t judge too early. Retail at $70-90K, buy in such quantity should got less, hmmm $2.60 perhaps! But they might get in $200K each with what C4i, gps, bla bla bla… Plus $10K++ service a year!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • alldisc on Aug 18, 2015 at 4:12 pm

police patrol cars are not taxed.

only those use by officers are rented from spanco and these are taxed as usual.

for preve without tax is roughly 30-38k. and should be cheaper since its the government who is making the purchase.

• Turun on Aug 18, 2015 at 10:33 am

So this cars are rent or buy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • Ya, very good question that must be answered. Rented from crony company at super inflated price, or bought? Or have super expensive maintenance, RM5,000 brake service, etc?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • kroni on Aug 18, 2015 at 4:10 pm

To songlap

• azhar on Aug 18, 2015 at 10:35 am

why green???….urrghhhh

• Turun on Aug 18, 2015 at 10:35 am

SPANCO SDN BHD?

• Are those stripes reflective?

• drMpower on Aug 18, 2015 at 10:51 am

wheres my ferrari embossed with POLIS livery?

my high speed chase POLIS ferrari

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • In US, you can be go to court for decorating ur Maserati in police livery but with Decepticon logo. So go figure…

• They should added front and rear bullbars to ensure those who dare to ram polis cars must oso suffer and not run away.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
  • suomynona on Aug 18, 2015 at 11:06 am

Do the polis like the Preve rather than Inspira? =O

• albag on Aug 18, 2015 at 11:08 am

new cars… same piece of shit attitude..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 32
    • kaubangsat on Aug 18, 2015 at 11:43 am

Don’t talk cock..check your attitude first 3rd world mentality al malaun

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 11
  • alldisc on Aug 18, 2015 at 11:10 am

i just hope that the preves are the manual ones. though with only 110hp campro engine.

and not the CVT turbo combi like used by AIO (silver colour ones).

• BigBalls on Aug 18, 2015 at 11:18 am

Clear stock from Proton

-BigBalls-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 12
  • urmatafaka on Aug 18, 2015 at 11:19 am

Not received 1200 new car, its rent another 1200 car …under direct deal contract…as usual

• start a fight on Aug 18, 2015 at 11:35 am

get your fact right.
      patrol car is outright purchase, maintain by SPANCO and at end of life will be auction off.

the one you might be angry is at SPANCO monopoly.. no competition at all. competition act should be used against this company

• nabill (Member) on Aug 18, 2015 at 11:45 am

New livery,bt same old immoral corrupt practices…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 29
    • Rakyat Diperkecilkan has lost faith in govt. Just like how last time consumers have no faith in Japanese-made products, then no faith in China-made products.

Because of all these dirty tactics and corruption, everything they do will be skeptical.

Only themselves to blame. Will they change? Why should they? As long as “donations” from Middle East keeps coming into their own pockets and how little of it flows to rakyat pockets.

• Which is worse: the giver or the taker? the one who start the fight or the one who joins the fight?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • give business to Proton lah.. kesian Proton maaaa..

• Alex Chan on Aug 18, 2015 at 12:17 pm

if you read comment all over the world about police force – especially traffic, most of the commentators will only commment bad/negative things..seems like world wide police are bad, seems like we dont need police..seems like police kasi susah hidup kita..seems like we love to live in no law world.
    corrupt lah, lazy lah…aiyah..so many negative mindset in most of commentators, be positive dude!.

im not a policeman, but i respect their duty to keep the world we living in peace – corrupted or not, i dont know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • The commentators forgot that the worse police is the World Police aka Amerika.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
  • what’s with the green stripes? At first i thought they could be electric/hybrids. what does green signify?

• Ali Karim on Aug 18, 2015 at 12:38 pm

With RM2.6 billion, they deserved more than this. PDRM can get BMW 320D if not for the corrupted Ministers.

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 18, 2015 at 12:42 pm

Clearing stock I see since Inspira isn’t on sale anymore

• Paranoid on Aug 18, 2015 at 1:39 pm

I saw that yellow stun gun, since when RMP use it?

• Makese on Aug 19, 2015 at 11:20 am

it could be pepper spray gun, but idk also le.
      good observation mate.

• Rangers on Aug 18, 2015 at 5:53 pm

cronies in action, 2 parties
    1) Protong (cant sell outside already)
    2) the one manage the PDRM car (just like Spanco that manage gov cars)

now u see robber’s land wont broke?

• mohmo on Aug 18, 2015 at 6:37 pm

PROTON often breakdown for no reason…Electronics are problematic. Macahnical issues still not sorted out…

I hope the police cars wont breakdown by themselves during car-chase, or emergency trip to the crime scene…Or leaving polis guys stranded. So malu…

• Aero (Member) on Aug 18, 2015 at 7:21 pm

I don’t like the new livery, the old one looks infinitely more attractive.

The PDRM will be receiving Inspiras, in late 2015 ? That doesn’t make any sense. Proton stopped producing the Inspira for several months now, but it’s true that their stock has not yet been depleted. Does this mean Proton will be restarting production of the Inspira ? I have strong doubts about that. From what I can tell, the Prevé should account for the bulk of the PDRM’s new fleet. The Inspira has always been more for the higher ranking officers, and even today, the Waja remains the PDRM’s bread & butter police cruiser.

As for some people claiming that this move is a BAD thing… you couldn’t be any more mistaken. First things first, tell me, for every country with their own national car companies, which country DOESN’T use their own local brands ? Exactly, you’ve already lost the debate, and I’m not done yet. You see, by using Protons as their bread & butter cruisers, the PDRM is in fact saving millions of ringgit by buying less expensive patrol cars. If the PDRM wanted, they could buy expensive foreign makes, but they don’t have enough money to buy many of them. For every 1 imported car PDRM buys, they could buy 2 or 3 local cars. And by choosing to buy more new Protons, the PDRM can field more police cars, which they can then use to patrol your neighbourhood and curb crime. Whatever money the PDRM can save, they could spend on niche cars like the Lancer Evo previously and the X-Trail which Proton or Perodua have no equivalent to. At the end of the day, it’s our taxpayers’ money that is being spent, so we want the PDRM to save as much as possible and waste little of. Plus, by buying Protons, the PDRM is indirectly supporting our automotive industry, which will grow and benefit more Malaysians with more jobs and better products. The PDRM will relay feedback directly to Proton, and Proton will in turn continue to refine their products thanks to said feedback.

And it’s not like Proton cars don’t make good police cars either, Protons are known to be good handling cars, which make them ideal for fast police chases in tight urban areas. The Prevé is also 5-star ANCAP rated, which means our officers’ lives are more protected than ever before. Malaysia is not the only country in the world to use Protons as police cars. The Humberside Police Force in the United Kingdom have been using hundreds of Protons for over a decade, including the Wira, Persona and Waja/ Impian. They use LPG/ Autogas which costs less to run per mile, and over the years Humberside has saved millions in tax payers’ money in operating costs. Humberside have even requested Proton to send them more cars, but Proton stopped producing the Waja and thus could only send the last few units in 2010/2011. The U.K. aside, Proton cars are also actively used as police cars in Indonesia today.

If you don’t want to buy a Proton, then don’t because nobody’s forcing you, but please don’t shove your bigotry and favouritism down others’ throats. If you like some other company, go and show THEM your support, don’t diss their competitors just because you can. If you have constructive criticism or feedback to share, do it in the right way through the right channels.

There is nothing wrong with PDRM buying more Protons, ultimately, that very same Proton may one day save your sorry arse from trouble.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
    • ben yap on Aug 18, 2015 at 9:46 pm

wow! that’s a long sermon. have you hit the maximum character allowed in a comment?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • old dog on Aug 18, 2015 at 8:32 pm

How ironic it is….
    If Protong is able to sell overseas, this currency depreciation is the best chance for them to sell more…but when its a rubbish, people wont pay a dime to buy it..

how sad and the truth and reality hit…

• ncapau on Aug 19, 2015 at 1:37 pm

People say it’s rubbish when it has 5 stars Australasian NCAP. People will buy moving coffin when it has only 4 star Asean NCAP. Sigh.

• 1200 x RM60,000+ = RM72 millions

Rich nia…

• AlexVostox on Oct 11, 2015 at 9:20 pm

POLITICS! POLITICS! POLITICS! MOST OF COMMENTER NEVER LOVED THEIR OWN COUNTRY. EVERYTHING POLICE DO IS BAD. PERHAPS YOU ALL SHOULD MOVED TO HONG KONG OR PEKING.