Volkswagen to be investigated in the US for Takata-supplied airbag rupture in a 2015 Tiguan SUV

tiguan r-line 1

Latest to be dragged into the Takata airbag issue is German automaker, Volkswagen. The brand, together with Takata, is set to be investigated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) in the US following a side airbag rupture in a 2015 Volkswagen Tiguan, according to Automotive News Europe.

The incident occurred in the US after the driver of the said SUV hit a deer, after which, the side curtain airbag was reported to have ruptured in the event. To date, Volkswagen has held a considerably clean slate with no reports linking it to the embattled Japanese airbag manufacturer Takata. Until now, that is. The spotlight is now on the carmaker due to the year in which the Tiguan was manufactured. It’s practically brand new.

In July, Volkswagen made a report regarding the ruptured airbag to the NHTSA, which then prompted an investigation by the agency that has now issued special orders to both Volkswagen and Takata. The special orders demand that the German automaker supply documentation and the necessary information about the rupture in the 2015 Tiguan and other related incidents in Volkswagen cars.

tiguan r-line 2

In addition to that, the carmaker will be required to submit a list of their cars that possess airbags that contain ammonium nitrate – the controversial chemical that Takata uses as a propellant, of which the Japanese manufacturer still insists is safe, despite findings that state that long-term exposure to moisture and temperature changes can degrade such inflators and could result in the airbags exploding.

Relating to the case, the agency has also issued an order to Takata in relation to the incident – the company is required to provide a breakdown of all airbag inflators and modules filled with the ammonium nitrate propellant, and is required to list all the automakers that have purchased the said inflators and modules. Both are required to respond to the NHTSA by August 24.

To date, millions of vehicles from various car manufacturers with Takata-fitted airbags have been recalled globally with some 34 million having been recalled in the US alone. The shrapnel-shooting airbags have reportedly caused at least eight deaths and hundreds of injuries thus far. At this moment in time, it is uncertain as to how many Volkswagen vehicles are using airbags supplied from Takata.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Scandal After Scandal on Aug 19, 2015 at 9:28 am

First it was DSG. VW AG and VGM denied for years and years. then one day, VW AG, due to so many law suits in the US and China, had to come clean. They admitted that DSG cannot be used in hot countries like Malaysia and where there is heavy traffic jam. But until today, VGM Malaysia still deny there is a problem and continue to sell lemons to Malaysians.

then few days ago, VW AG admitted that for 2 years they concealed a serious security defect on its cars that was so so so so so so so so serious.

Now, this scandal.

Why would anyone pay RM200k for a car that comes from a car company filled with lies and scandals? One day, you die also because of a defect, they will deny and deny and deny and deny and your wife and family will never get a sen of compensation.

Until today, 2015 August, VW AG in Germany has not given the go ahead that DSG can be used in hot countries in Malaysia despite mineral oil being used.

Scandal after Scandal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
    • DSG Lemons on Aug 19, 2015 at 10:12 am

Only China brave and told VW to FO if they don’t give 10 year warranty.

Malaysia, you ask 10 year warranty, VGM tell you FO cause they and DRB Hicom are partners and in Malaysia, crony GLC is King.

When are Malaysians going to get 10 year warranty from VGM for selling us Lemons?

• When toyota with their dinosar tech dun even give 5 years warranty, you say leh?

• Same L0rrrr on Aug 19, 2015 at 2:55 pm

Your little brain given by your mum is millions years old design, do you have any warranty? Yet it is smarter than the Intel i7 processor.

When the product is good, 3 years or 30 years warranty, no difference.

• Areyousure on Aug 19, 2015 at 4:12 pm

Sam, you asking people to only buy Toyota for every 30 years?

• camtakpro on Aug 19, 2015 at 4:27 pm

Generally Toyota cars last longer than whatever warranty period given by VW.

The difference is that VW (and especially Peugeot) NEED longer warranty just to cushion their issues.

• jibby2.60 on Aug 19, 2015 at 11:34 am

looks like the safest bet now is buying kimchi cars. because most of all sushi & conti cars using problematic takata airbag. I don’t care bout rv, my family life value is more important…

• You forgot Proton! Entry price is not too high and your loss from a slightly lower RV will not give you heartache. Try it!

• Go Study about Kia Cutting Cost, covering up cases.
      Learn it and u shall be very afraid.

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 19, 2015 at 12:30 pm

Woot its in a 2015 model!

• yardstock on Aug 19, 2015 at 1:16 pm

So most prolly it’s 2014 unsold stock!
      Tak laku lettew!