The Peugeot 408 has been sighted again, this time by reader Robaain. He saw this prototype on the North South Expressway yesterday. Like previous sightings, the 408 still seems to be wearing lots of tape camo.
While we’ve seen minimally disguised left hand drive units of the Peugeot 408 on the road before, right hand drive units which are expected to be locally assembled at Naza’s plant in Gurun, Kedah suddenly started to wear lots of tape when they started to go on test.
We’ve also managed to sneak a peek into one of the prototype’s cabin before – it revealed an interior similiar to the 308’s i-cockpit design. The left hand drive 408 for the China market has its own, more conventional dashboard design.
Like previous prototypes, this black 408 wears sporty blade-style five-spoke wheels as opposed to the Chinese-market 408’s multi-spoke items, as well as twin pipes neatly integrated into the rear bumper.
Just like how the outgoing 408 was based on the previous T7 308, this new one shares PSA’s EMP2 underpinnings with the new 308.
The proportions are smarter, and the 2,730 mm wheelbase is 20 mm longer than before. It should be significantly lighter too, if the new 308’s 140 kg savings is anything to go by.
It was revealed to us in March that the new 408 could launch sometime in the second half this year. Under the bonnet should sit a direct-injected, turbocharged 1.6 litre THP engine with a six-speed automatic.
Nahhh, had enough with Peugeots
I hope this car comes in cheper to Malaysia. Where is Mugabejib’s promise to reduce car prices by 30%??
Lu tak nak kawan dia, buat apa dia nak tolong lu?
No RV car, worse than my son saga. Same like junk kimchi
Subsequent revisions of the THP engine has revised crankshaft, pistons, timing chain module, etc. that reduced the number of problems compared to the earlier versions. Furthermore, the new Peugeot platforms have also moved away from relying mainly on the 1.6-liter THP Prince engines, and they now have a different range of small-capacity turbo engines and even small-capacity turbodiesels.
Hopefully the new 408 will come with 1.6-liter turbodiesel mills and revised 6-speed Aisin gearboxes..
Although it might have soon. I believe it will never come to our land as our dirty diesel. Unless we have euro 5 diesel.
And, where have you been for the past month?
RBA training camp. Brainwashed to think that Malaysia is like Africa. LOL
nahhh me too, enough got Peugeot brand, previous owner for 405 and currently own 408 since 2012 clock 90k mileage.. nice car, nice material on body and interior, nice drive also.. but owning and maintain it is killing $$$ and time…
I am wondering what is the price for the headlight ? The new 308 h/light cost 7k per side…
RM7k per side? That’s ridiculous.. Is it true??
No it’s 8.5k for both , 4250 each
The beauty is the RV is quite drastic. So, congrats to those who buy brand new, keep it immaculate, we’ll buy yours when you upgrade to a newer model.
You better stick to your saga if you cant afford.
test punya test but still breaks..
Sigh this junk again. Or course they keep testing because keep giving problems.
Sit yourself in the latest 308 and feel it. It is feel really premium and the dashboard is awesome.
This is a car with its own identity.
Same goes to this 408.
You may not see a lot on the road.
Coz not many briliant people out there.
Sorry to pour cold water but brilliant ppl don’t get Pugs. True story.
I agree that the interior feeling is syiok for the price.
but the ownership cost is not syiok.
with the same ownership cost, i can afford Japanese D-Segment. Miles Better Overall.
Sat in 308. It’s nice. Own it. It’s nightmare!!! Unless you have own garage else dream on to have your car being taken care by these engineer. They took forever to fix the problem. Have one 308 for four months and still visiting workshop weekly trying to solve the problem that never be solve since first day pick up the car.
What’s the problem ah seng? Mind to share
Ahseng Sam loo son both using saga lah. That is the best RV car.
I think I am qualified to be brilliant ppl as I own 408 since 2012 and clock 90k mileage, but u need time (sending to workshop quite frequent for me) and $$$ (cash sucker for the part) to own and maintain it… don’t get me wrong, the drive seriously great, never deny that… now I am too shy the statement that I am brilliant buying this brand…
Better stay away from Peugeot. A friend owned a 3008. Car is year 2012. Mileage clocked at 65k. Drive shaft changed twice, but problem came back again and Naza said no stocks. Car broke down twice too. Its emergency case but Naza workshop take their sweet time even to diagnose, finally did it on the 3rd day. LOL!!!
Sending car for service to Naza is hell. Customer service is bad. Staffs not knowledgeable. And take their sweet time.
After hearing from the horse mouth, I will never buy a Peugeot. Oh ya, he is planning to dispose the car soon.
I’m sorry but I’m sure your friend ‘Buy, fill it with petrol and go’ type. Mostly lady. When the car broke, blame the maker, blame the service staff, blame everything. I mean how can car broke twice? My Proton Persona clocked 160,000km never broke. Service done regularly and on time. I think this kind of comment is unfair to Peugeot.
On the contrary, car is sent to Naza according to the scheduled service. Follow strictly on maintenence cos car is under warranty. Not blaming without a reason. Yes, your car clocked 160k and no issues and my car clocked 230k also no issues. Thats exactly the point.
city break
Went to a showroom in kl. Excited to see the 308 and test drive. Salesman didnt approach me for 1 hour. No one bother to approach me. Once i ask salesman for a quick info such as what engine (even though i know what engine it is). He says “1.6 and got turbo one but no discount”. Not even bother to talk about the car and to note, i dont even bother about discounts.
Terrible sales and aftersales attitude. DOESNT REFLECT A EUROPEAN BRAND. Thats why i booked a Mazda 3. But i really hope naza gets it right soon. Such a waste with all that design and features.
u lie!