New Honda 10-speed automatic transmission detailed

acura-rlx-10-speed-at

Honda has revealed a new 10-speed automatic transmission, to be used in its large-sized front-wheel drive vehicles. The brand stated in a presentation that the new gearbox aims to provide “brisk driving” and “low fuel consumption.”

The gearbox will be able to support 370 Nm of torque or higher. It combines four planetary gears with a balance common ratio setting for smooth gear shifting, plus a 10.1 or greater ratio coverage for better fuel efficiency.

In addition to that, the gearbox will be able to handle direct skip shifting. This means that the auto gearbox does not need to downshift gears in a sequential manner. It can downshift from tenth to sixth gear or seventh to third instantaneously, providing “overwhelming acceleration.” This also equates to faster kick down times when it comes to passing, according to Honda.

Click to enlarge.

Also highlighted is its 375 mm compact design, high efficiency gear train and a downsized internal and external teeth integrated gear. Additionally, the gearbox also receives a high-attenuation and low-inertia torque converter, and includes close and wide ratios. Furthermore, the new transmission supports both idling stop and shift-by-wire systems.

Compared to a six-speed automatic transmission, Honda says its new 10-speed gearbox shortens acceleration time by about 14%, while shift response time has been cut down by at least 30%. As for fuel consumption, the 10-speed gearbox claims improved fuel economy by some six percent. It’s also quieter when cruising, which sees reduction in noise by about 26%.

Recently, Honda and its American premium arm Acura have started using a ZF-sourced nine-speed automatic transmission in place of its own six-speeder, evident in the latest V6-powered Pilot, MDX and TLX. This new in-house 10-speed gearbox will likely replace the ZF tranny when it goes into production.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Same Lorrrr Crying like a Baby on Oct 27, 2015 at 3:30 pm

I passed Same Lorrrr’s house, I heard him crying like a new born baby. Let us all here as readers of PT donate some pampers to Same Lorrrr or pass your Pampers to any UMW showroom cause all other salesman also crying so loud

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
    • Sam Loo ( ori1 ) on Oct 27, 2015 at 4:38 pm

Did you see all my 4Lexus i parked at home. You must be the hailat Kimchis drivers, work hard and one day you will beg me to take your one year old k5 at RM 20k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 22
      • Supermarket on Oct 27, 2015 at 8:11 pm

You mean those biscuits? I also can get. 10 20 100 also can.

• The Power of Dreams on Oct 27, 2015 at 3:32 pm

Honda news is on the roll today!
    1) 2017 Honda Civic to get new 1.0 and 1.5 VTEC Turbo
    2) Honda FCV production
    3) 2017 Acura NSX
    4) Honda mulls all-electric sports car to sit below NSX 5) 2017 Honda Civic for Europe – 1.0 litre VTEC Turbo and 201 hp 1.5 litre Turbo
    6) New Honda 10-speed automatic transmission detailed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
    • McLarenHonda on Oct 27, 2015 at 4:01 pm

Didn’t you know? Honda is calling 2015 Year of Honda. Too bad about its F1 collaboration with McLaren though…

• I dare not buy this car. At least our Proton is halal and assembled by a person who has not touched najis.

I feel using Proton is safer and boleh digina tanpa was was

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 64
  • samelordupe on Oct 27, 2015 at 3:52 pm

Some macai said 4 speed auto gearbox is much better and reliable

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • They willing pay 100k for the 4 speed auto

• Hayen on Jan 13, 2016 at 11:15 pm

Nope, not 100k, Previa from UMW, 250k. 4 speed, 2 airbags only and no traction control. Aduhh.

• Toyota said as long as remain 4 speed auto will protect RV. BUT other smart person RV is meant regret value.

• sohhai on Oct 27, 2015 at 4:03 pm

All these talks about 9-speed or 10-speed but we are still getting the 5-speed here in Malaysia. Come on Honda Malaysia, please bring in the 6-speed for the Accord facelift.

• heybadigol (Member) on Oct 27, 2015 at 4:25 pm

The Accord 2.4 in the US gets a CVT. The 6 speed auto is only for 3.5 litre Accord models.

• wiwiwiwiw on Oct 27, 2015 at 4:22 pm

True man’s choice: Six speed manual.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • What Subaru should be doing, fast shifting Autoboxes,not distasteful CVTs.

• MentalKar on Oct 28, 2015 at 9:09 pm

Apa Proton kreta Halal? John come on:”Assalamualaikum”!Wake up Bro !, Urusan Halal tiada kena mengena dengan buat Kreta dan tiada kena mengena dengan Najis.