ASEAN NCAP Child Safety Day – pushing for better awareness on road safety for children in Malaysia

ASEAN NCAP Child Safety Day 11

The New Car Assessment Programme for South East Asian Countries (ASEAN NCAP) held a Child Safety Day at the headquarters of safety equipment manufacturer Autoliv Hirotako Safety in Seri Kembangan today. The event aimed to better educate motorists and parents regarding the importance of child safety on the road, as well the correct use of child restraint systems (CRS) – more commonly known as child safety seats.

Here, ASEAN NCAP Child Safety Specialist Yahaya Ahmad and Japan NCAP (JNCAP) specialist Yoshihiro Sukegawa educated the over 100-strong visitors on how vital the usage of child seats are in saving precious lives. There was also a presentation by Subaru regarding EyeSight, its version of Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB), as part of the Global NCAP initiative “Stop the Crash”.

Also held were child seat installation demonstrations as well as a UNECE R44 child seat crash test demonstration (a 50 km/h frontal impact sled test using a forward-facing child seat and a dummy representing a three-year-old child). The latest lineup of child seats from manufacturers such as Britax, Koopers, Safe ‘n Sound and Sweet Cherry were also on display, with promo prices starting from as low as RM299.

“The objective of the Child Safety Day is to promote the use of child seats among Malaysians and make good use of the ASEAN NCAP Child Occupant Protection (COP) rating,” said Malaysian Institute for Road Safety Research (MIROS) chairman Tan Sri Lee Lam Thye. “It is important to use child seats and to know the best benefit one would have by putting the right child restraint system that can provide the best protection.”

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• In b4 Malaysians bash Gov, yet can buy imported pajero but dun wan buy child seat

• Polis Raja Di Malaysia (PRDM) on Nov 12, 2015 at 8:56 am

We can have so many wishes and laws but offenders will be offenders. Worse still, many offenders like to pay money in Malaysia. Unfortunately, 9 out 10 polis officers are willing to take ang pau to make the offence disappear.

So, just like back seat belts, we can have a law for baby seats, but we will never have enforcement like Australia cause of Polis is Raja in Malaysia

• Vios only get 40% COP, wanna buy?

• Same L0rrrr on Nov 12, 2015 at 5:28 pm

Not happy? Buy a Altis then? Now you can’t afford, and you blame us.
      Go ask your beloved Proton lar. You think we can’t sell you cheap? Think again.

• sepul on Nov 12, 2015 at 9:07 am

This campaign should also look into rural areas and kampung because the awareness there is rather low as well.

• The whole country is rural bcos less ppls aware the safety issue. MALAYSIAN only concern brand n save fuel.

• Francis Keng on Nov 12, 2015 at 9:46 am

That guy sure looks like Jimmy Choo lol

• frossonice on Nov 12, 2015 at 10:15 am

Make it compulsory for every car manufacturer selling their car here to provide atleast one child seat with every family car the sell. Better than giving rebates. Stick their brand on the car seat or whatever. Whichever car manufacturer do this first, they will surely win the hearts of many families.

• bot_tech on Nov 12, 2015 at 10:40 am

why was this event never make known to public?
    I didnt find this ads even in Paultan.