Great Wall M4 Elite add-on kit now here, around RM10k

Haval M2 Elite 1

Alongside the Haval H2 at the NST-MAI ASEAN Auto Show sits a Great Wall M4 (yes, still a Great Wall, despite strangely sporting Haval badging here) fitted with an Elite add-on kit. The B-segment SUV is currently offered in three trim levels – Standard, Comfort and Premium. This package is exclusive to the M4 Premium.

Under the hood, the SUV is still powered by a 1.5 litre naturally-aspirated VVT MPI four-cylinder petrol engine providing 105 hp at 6,000 rpm and 138 Nm at 4,200 rpm. Said engine is mated to a six-speed automated manual transmission (AMT), which drives the front wheels.

The M4 Elite introduces a few styling changes unique to the variant, including new a new halogen projector headlight design with LED positioning lamps (LED DRLs are still found near the fog lamps). There is also a new front grille with a hexagonal mesh design à la Range Rover Evoque. Tinting is thrown in as well.

Moving on, the 16-inch alloy wheels now sport a thin multi-spoke design. They are also finsihed in a two-tone paintjob, and wrapped with Continental Max Contact 5 tyres. Speaking of paint, the roof of the SUV gets a matte black vinyl wrap. Rounding things off on the Elite is variant-specific badging on its liftgate. Inside, the leather seats are now fininshed in a red-black colour combo and there is now a video recorder located underneath the rear view mirror.

These items are added on top of the already-impressive kit of the Premium variant, which includes cruise control, a touchscreen navigation system with DVD player and Bluetooth connectivity, an around-view monitor, steering wheel audio controls and a rear-view camera with integrated SmartTAG reader.

Everything else on the M4 Elite is pretty much status quo, including safety kit that is comprised of dual airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist, ESP, traction control and Hill Start Assist.

At the time of writing, the Haval M4 Elite add-on kit is estimated to set you back around RM10,000. Current pricing for the top-of-the-range 1.5 Premium AMT can be had for RM64,950, so one fitted with the Elite kit should cost somewhere around the RM75k mark.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• owen27 on Nov 12, 2015 at 4:12 pm

quite nice. with tht price.

• Elite guy on Nov 12, 2015 at 4:44 pm

Remind me about the Viva Elite, in which charges extra money for something useless

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
  • I won’t buy this car. Sure tak halal. The workers who assemble it sure eat pork.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 68
    • Lim Ann hock on Nov 12, 2015 at 5:48 pm

Ha ha ha ha…. thank you for you humour. With even trolley in the supermarket need to segregated out to halal and non halal, not surprise there are people think like what you say. Ha ha…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
    • John is Otak Batu on Nov 12, 2015 at 8:30 pm

Pls buy a french csr..u will definitely enjoy burning more money than any other cars!

• trollmaster3000 on Nov 12, 2015 at 11:08 pm

hey john.. you might want to stop breathing as well.. coz the workers who assembled this also breathes the same air as you.. and don’t forget to jemput ke kenduri arwah kau nanti okeh.. makan free bhai..

• John Trollvolta on Nov 12, 2015 at 11:23 pm

Then you don’t use money lah~ Sure tak halal too. Don’t even think about earning money coz money is dirty like your mind.

• thanks4comment on Nov 13, 2015 at 6:50 am

Don’t you know there is more then 20 million Muslim in China?

• sambalbabi on Nov 14, 2015 at 2:09 am

Tak pernah keluar m’sia ni

• i believe this person john is just like the other joker samlor or whatsoever, just seeking attention .. i think we should ignore this joker

• Matchy on Nov 12, 2015 at 5:09 pm

Trying too hard to copy the Land Rover…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • Lim Ann hock on Nov 12, 2015 at 5:55 pm

Wonder why people still think negatively about thing made in China. In China they have just successfully build aeroplane a few weeks ago and their record on high speed train also very famous in the world. Not to mention they have their own space program which successfully send people to the outer space. With this in mind their technology on car shouldn’t be bad as thought right ? Please view China made product in a positive way. By the way just to remind you your favourite iPhone also made in China utilise US technology.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
    • Sylinder on Nov 12, 2015 at 11:21 pm

They think negative because they don’t know the brand, but to me, this brand is okey but need hurry up setup another factory for spare part bcos most of engine part, import made in germany, some of it has Bosch name…

• But it's not 'Designed in U.S., made in China' worr on Nov 13, 2015 at 12:19 am

They can’t even build safe escalators wor. Keep wanting to eat little kids’ feet.

• Stevy on Dec 13, 2015 at 12:36 pm

Totally agred with you. China can made very good stuff now given that you can pay decent price. Not like our own Malaysian still have cave man mindset, want cheap cheap but Honda quality.

• Baby Evoque

• sick&tired on Nov 12, 2015 at 6:12 pm

it looks quite nice. I have seen a few on the road. If I were in the market, I would probably have a look.

• powershot (Member) on Nov 12, 2015 at 6:17 pm

whatever promotions GWM offer would be useless if the waiting time from booking to getting the car takes 1 year. please improve your production capacity

• jinggo on Nov 12, 2015 at 7:19 pm

binatang apa ini? made in china? eeeeeeee.. geli aku.. yukks!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 29
  • JawaBlues on Nov 12, 2015 at 7:40 pm

No 4×4 MT varian, sad news for me.

• Encik Ego on Nov 12, 2015 at 10:09 pm

Kerete Cina boleh balik ke China. ehehehee

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 20
  • intermilan on Nov 12, 2015 at 10:34 pm

+RM10,000 for that few accessories / add ons?

Rip off..

• jim labu on Nov 13, 2015 at 8:43 am

Starting 2016, Great Wall Motors shall be known simply as Haval…hence, Haval M4.

• Mansor Kiyai Abas on Jan 10, 2018 at 9:15 pm

The New Name is Haval H1 [ Ori name ..Haval M4 ]. I love the design and now a proud owner of Haval H1. Not bad guys its provided with Auto Cruise for smooth highway driving. China had advanced very fast and more and more of their cars are now on our roads.

• xoxox on Nov 13, 2015 at 10:11 am

just curious….so many sand on the tyres?

• sambalbabi on Nov 14, 2015 at 2:08 am

Well, at least it has rear brake discs.