MEGA GALLERY: 2016 Toyota Prius debuts in the US

2016_Toyota_Prius_Two_Eco_19_CC6AFA5C5AD663B5EF65A171A13FCF6F6E66FDD8

No other car is more synonymous with the word “hybrid” than the Toyota Prius. The fourth-generation Prius was first unveiled in Las Vegas in September this year, and was heavily revamped from the inside and out with improved technology, driving dynamics and most importantly, better fuel efficiency.

Under the metal, the all-new Prius is the first model to be built on the modular Toyota New Global Architecture (TNGA) that is designed to lower the car’s centre of gravity. New manufacturing methods and materials used results in an increase of torsional rigidity by 60%. The new double wishbone rear suspension also replaces the previous torsion beam setup.

As far the Prius’ design goes, the future-centric looks are influenced by Toyota’s other green-loving car, the hydrogen-powered Mirai. Love it or hate it, the styling packs aggressive and very angular lines. Arrow-shaped LED headlights and full length taillights are part of the styling package as well. However, the Prius still retains its familiar profile, with a “floating roof” look this time.

Overall, the Toyota Prius and its sleek new body achieves a drag coefficient of just 0.24 (with the use of an automatic grille shutter). Customers who specify their cars in Thermo-Tec Lime Green body paint (Japanese market only) will also benefit from its heat-reflective properties.

Inside, the Prius’ cabin undergoes a significant amount of restructuring. The digital instrument cluster is located in the centre of the dash and now comprises two 4.2 inch full-colour TFT LCD screens (multi-info display on the left, basic vehicle info on the right). Drivers will have to accustom themselves with the vertically-mounted “cube” gear selector and a new heads-up display.

To power its green crusade, the Toyota Prius completely reengineered ts current 2ZR-FXE 1.8 litre Atkinson-cycle VVT-I four-cylinder petrol engine. Power output remains largely unchanged at 97 hp and 142 Nm but its thermal efficiency is now the world’s highest at 40%.

The 71 hp/163 Nm twin electric motors that assist the engine are also less powerful, which may hamper the powertrain’s performance but lighter key components like the batteries and transaxle offsets this deficiency. Fuel economy is rated at 40 km per litre on the JC08 cycle, up from 32.6 km per litre of its predecessor. Browse the full 100-image photo gallery after the jump.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Is difficult to comment. As eco-minded person, I want to get the new Prius, but the pathetic ugly look really holding me back.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
    • The F is this? on Nov 20, 2015 at 8:18 pm

First impression: F it and F the environment. This car makes Proton Saga look like beauty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
      • Same L0rrrr on Nov 22, 2015 at 10:09 pm

We have no more fuel subsidy, so when the fuel price reach RM3, you will ditch your Proton Saga for motorcycle.

• Thank you MAI on Nov 21, 2015 at 12:47 pm

We have to thank MAI for all their bullshit about how Government is moving towards EEV and EV cars. Few years back MAI encouraged all car companies to invest billions to set up CKD plants to CKD cars like Jazz, Civic and others.

The Rakyat also went all out to buy hybrid cars.

The suddenly Government pull the plug on tax free Hybrids. The Car companies usffered billions in losses thanks to MAI

The rakyat also suffered. Hybrid car parts also went up few fold. Cause the parts are also now not tax free. What buyers thought they can save on petrol, now they are paying 5x more in parts.

The public and car companies trusted MAI and the Government. The public also now cannot sell Hybrid as people are scared to touch Hybrids as the price is like yo yo.

now this Prius come in, the price will be RM300,000. In US, this car is about US$25,000. Camry Hybrid is US$27,000.

We must thank our screwed up MAI and screwed up Malaysian Government for yo you policies.

• buyCheaperCar on Nov 23, 2015 at 9:38 am

if u want to save on petrol, might as well buy a cheaper car that is comparable in size. Why not get a 90k honda city vs 100k honda insight? With RM10k, you can use it to pump petrol for years

• fugly !!!!

• ChevyBoy on Nov 20, 2015 at 8:09 pm

Is this even a car??

• Modern Art on Nov 20, 2015 at 8:13 pm

Someone please tell me what the F this is, so is this what modern art looks like? I don’t understand the design, and that rims!! Gosh.

• choha on Nov 20, 2015 at 8:50 pm

the designer had been working too hard and too craved for unagi it seems

• Well, who cares about that fugly sam loo’s face. People buy for the brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • It takes one to see it with their own eyes up close and personal to appreciate the design and beauty. Managed to get inside one of these at Tokyo Motor Show 2015. Really like the rear headroom and legroom as well. The only thing I still find it awkward is the position of the gear knob:S

• Annoynimouse on Nov 21, 2015 at 12:15 am

Just when you thought it couldn’t get any uglier… they came up with this…

• kelvin on Nov 21, 2015 at 7:53 pm

Unbelievable! they just broke the record of making the ugliest car in the universe.

• Megane on Nov 21, 2015 at 12:26 am

Hello hello Prius , who is your father ? Is it Fiat Multipla ? Ugly as shait !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Ruby Tan on Nov 21, 2015 at 12:41 am

The design is like….errrr…. Oink oink oink!

• Van Damn on Nov 21, 2015 at 8:29 am

It’s nice to see the continuation of the Prius heritage: it continues to be mindbogglingly hideous.

• C.P.MOHAN on Nov 21, 2015 at 10:37 am

Latest tech. expected but design for a better word UGLY.

• FIST (Member) on Nov 21, 2015 at 1:51 pm

Uurghhh, it’s uglier

• This car head and rear design looks like it just collided with something but haven’t get it repaired at workshop

• Nissan on Nov 21, 2015 at 6:33 pm

Nissan Leaf is a better choice. Yet those who criticize its design are not even afford to own one. Get your cheap proton & continue to embrace it campro cheap engine for another 30years

• kelvin on Nov 21, 2015 at 7:50 pm

Another disaster from Toyota designers.

• Sammy Loo on Nov 21, 2015 at 9:09 pm

This car will sell like hot cakes!

• For once, I would have to agree with you Sam Loo. It’s still the world best selling hybrid. However, it’s position may be threatened by other new competitors and generally just hybrid alone won’t be competitive anymore especially when PHEV and fuel cell infrastructure becomes more available.

• IrizX on Nov 22, 2015 at 11:51 am

This piece of frankenstein has just redefined the meaning of fugliness.

• Once again Toyota sucks in design department…

• Add-A-Comment on Nov 23, 2015 at 9:33 am

Sooooo Foverly Done and Fugly….

Note: Foverly = F**king, which I have just created for this Foverly done and Fugly car….

– I Have Just Added A Comment –