VIDEO: 2016 Toyota Prius – from green car to drift car

The fourth-generation Toyota Prius first broke cover in Las Vegas just a few months ago. Since that time, opinions has been split on the reinvigorated eco-car. Whether you’re a lover or hater of the all-new Prius, Toyota has released this new video dubbed “Beyond Possible – Follow your heart” to convert the latter to become the former, and keep the faithful entertained.

In the sub two-minute clip, we are first introduced to a Prius that is in the midst of being put together. Shortly after, we are told the car will “awaken the senses” before being shown glimpses of the car’s exterior design, which is said to be inspired by Lady Gaga herself.

This is followed by what we presume to be a professional driver walking towards and getting into the car, as he will soon “push the boundaries” of what a Prius can do. If you were expecting a fuel-saving cruise sequence, this video will disappoint you severely.

vlcsnap-2015-12-17-11h24m54s383

Resembling a variation of Ken Block’s Gymkhana video series, the Prius goes on a charge on the roads, power-sliding across asphalt or gravel. During the action-packed sequence, Toyota has included some pre-production test footage to highlights among other things, the car’s low drag coefficient of 0.24, winter testing and its new Toyota New Global Architecture (TNGA).

However, this isn’t just a video that places an emphasis on the wild side of the Toyota Prius. The Japanese automaker also instilled a bit of subliminal messaging related to the environment-loving vehicle, as you can tell at the 1:33 mark of the video.

So, if you’re tired of the common “Chris Harris drifting a LaFerrari” type of video, this should serve to be a worthy alternative, don’t you think? We hope for Toyota’s next action-packed eco-car stunt, the company takes its Mirai on a drifting exercise as well.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Kenneth Fook on Dec 17, 2015 at 11:26 am

TOYOTA… Creating unrealistic expectations to buyer since they started. Just like the silly drifting vios ad we saw recently. Just gonna encourage more wannabe racers on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • karam singh on Dec 17, 2015 at 12:31 pm

Doing this ads like the Vios,
      big T not selling well?

• BNaik on Dec 17, 2015 at 12:35 pm

Proton Iriz from GlobalSC to GagalSC. BN still rocks go continue support Najib !!! DrM go back to 80’s.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • Sam Loo (ori1 ) on Dec 17, 2015 at 1:28 pm

This is what the junk kimchi cant do. Work hard, I will soon get my 5th Lexus while you are still with your junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • hailthepurist on Dec 17, 2015 at 1:38 pm

drift like a giant dolphin stranded on beach..

• Sam Loo ( ori1 ) on Dec 17, 2015 at 11:26 pm

Kimchi owners will drift with 100% certainty when i show them the Hilux

• Donkey J on Dec 17, 2015 at 11:27 am

typical toyota advert, this ‘drift’ remind me vios tvc.

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Dec 17, 2015 at 11:38 am

Super Fugly car world ever made on Earth and entire Universe. Toyota lately design look funny and odd in showroom. Hyundai did better than them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Sammy Loo on Dec 18, 2015 at 7:15 pm

Sales figure speaks the best. Hyundai is nowhere near to Toyota sales.

• Rubbish can drift, rubbish can fly later. Attract more flies to buy, hahaha

• Last time drift Vios, now drift a Prius, next time what u want to drift? Vellfire?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Japanese car is always the best for drifting.

• Yaa…drift to longkang always. I juz saw 2 Vios near highway longkang in November and this month

• albag on Dec 17, 2015 at 2:04 pm

seriously with that kinda look, anybody who buys this car is totally out of mind!

• kelvin on Dec 17, 2015 at 2:52 pm

this is sick. I’m not into drifting. Toyota who are you targeting at? totally pointless ad.

• Joel Peters on Dec 17, 2015 at 6:39 pm

What marketing crap! A betrayal of what Prius was about.

• To drift a car requires a powerful and responsive engine , so that it can pull the car’s weight .

If have driven T and other brand makes, and realized that the accelerator on T brand is lighter and acceleration is better.

This is just from my experience.

• End of the day, people still buys toyota. LOL. People who blaming toyota using BMW isit? for sure will be using proton or perodua. LOL. No toyota owners regret of buying the car. Kids overloaded.