January 2016 fuel prices: RON 95, 97, diesel all down

Petronas Primax 97 Euro 4M 002

Here’s some good news for the new year. Fuel prices for the month of January 2016 have been announced, and there are reductions for RON 95, RON 97 and diesel. When everything else is going up, little positives go a long way, right?

For the first month of 2016, RON 95 will be priced at RM1.85 per litre (10 sen down compared to December 2015), RON 97 at RM2.25 per litre (20 sen down), diesel at RM1.60 per litre (30 sen down) and Euro 5 diesel at RM1.70 (30 sen down).

No need to queue up at fuel stations tonight, folks. Happy New Year!

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Sammy Loo on Dec 31, 2015 at 8:15 pm

30 cents down for diesel, I hope my teh tarik will be cheaper too so I can no need to work few jobs to own Lexus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 3
    • Why only 10 on Dec 31, 2015 at 8:38 pm

Why only 10sen for 95? Because more people using it, so reduced slightly to earn more? Should drop 20sen.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 5
      • George Abdul on Dec 31, 2015 at 8:57 pm

BN Government give Rakyat candy then must appreciate… later A.Mazlan tell you do 2-3 jobs on 2016 until 2020 !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
        • Duh? 10 cents? Gang rap me please

• sang kancil on Dec 31, 2015 at 9:56 pm

Can pump RON97 this month

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
          • bnbagus on Dec 31, 2015 at 11:34 pm

I want to pump diesel to my honda city

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
          • Ahmad MaslanDickHead on Jan 01, 2016 at 11:46 am

Still need to do 2 jobs to afford the revise petrol price.

• Crony crony Malaysia on Jan 02, 2016 at 10:47 am

Sampai hari ini pun anda dikelentong dan diperdaya. Harga kereta dunia sangat murah lah brader. Masuk Malaysia, jadi 3x ganda harga kereta dunia.

This year, LHDN/KDRM will collect the record highest ever tax revenue in the history of Malaysia since 60 years of independence.

Just on GST alone, Government has collect RM50 billion in tax in just 3 months. Total for 2015 is over RM100 billion. Not even included income tax, corporate tax, Petronas Private UMNO Free Money Bank, EPF, Khazanah, Ministry of Finance Inc investments etc.

In total, because of GST government is projected to collect record and yet, they hantam Malaysians with super high car prices.

• Bruise on Dec 31, 2015 at 10:26 pm

Better remain RM1.95 so that u not question it again, hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
      • JB_KIA on Jan 01, 2016 at 10:23 am

is dealers’ 12 sen/L profit the root cause?

• Eddie on Jan 01, 2016 at 12:05 pm

Turun harga salah tak turun lagi lah disalahkan.. Apa punya mentaliti ni kawan.. Better you make your own minyak la..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 19
    • Albert on Jan 01, 2016 at 1:09 am

Those PDAM members crying again.Cos they have to absorb losses,their new Benze got to put on hold,extra wife..also put on hold.
      How come no ho ha yet from them?
      Maybe,secretly they received reimbursement in the form of credit notes.

• Mike Ong on Jan 01, 2016 at 2:49 am

Blady bullshit,if Ron 97 can drop by 20 sen , why Ron 95 drop only 10sen. What is the logic , as price of crude has dropped in Dec 2015, Ber N kencing lagi !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • pontiac on Dec 31, 2015 at 8:19 pm

Tq BN!
    Tq Najib!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 107
    • He do nothing with that, no need thanks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
    • Mochachos on Dec 31, 2015 at 11:11 pm

No need to thanks him…world crude oil is still down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Ass kisser like u tat ruined the country

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Malam Jumaat on Jan 04, 2016 at 5:25 pm

My God this is the problem with you Malaysians.. Can’t understand simple sarcasm.. And you wonder what’s wrong with the country.. You are what is wrong in this country.. Don’t point fingers

• Tq BN?Tq Najib?
    it is follow the international price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 7
    • Heskey on Dec 31, 2015 at 9:59 pm

When international price goes up you guys will blame the government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
    • Happy New Year! on Jan 01, 2016 at 6:47 am

Price up, salah Najib.
      Price down, follow international price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • mrupau on Dec 31, 2015 at 8:31 pm

BN now is BT… Barang Turun (sekejap)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
  • Passerby on Dec 31, 2015 at 8:33 pm

the question is, after all things price increase will it be going down prior this oil price decrease?

• Jibbynco on Dec 31, 2015 at 8:34 pm

Tq abg jibby n co

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 34
  • Kautim Satu Malaysia on Dec 31, 2015 at 8:41 pm

Even when fuel prices go down a bit, other prices of food stuff, transportation went up, and up and stayed up. Other barang naik oredi and wont come down. Just go see and check food, stuff sold at market. A lot of them upped by 30% or more.

Damaged already done. Too late and too little done. Nothing worth happy for 2016.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
  • Itech Saerattie on Dec 31, 2015 at 8:56 pm

At this rate, we are still subsidising the Gov. The Gov practically sell the petrol to us citizen and gained profit around 20 sen-50 sen per liter. The price should be RM1.40-RM1.60 per liter for RON97 instead of RM2.25.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
  • Ahmad al bab on Dec 31, 2015 at 9:21 pm

Good job jibby. If this continues, then u can bet your ass to get my vote in the next erection..errr .i mean election…hehehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
  • When cost comes down, businesses in Malaysia finds 1001 reasons to maintain the price. But when cost starts to go up, they just use 1 reason to shoot up their price: ini semua salah Najib.
    And pipu actually belip them and rage against Gov. Thanks to politikus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
    • Yeezy on Jan 01, 2016 at 8:24 am

Rule 1: Dont be a stupid consumer. Thats why some people are richer than you.

• By your definition, then a looooot of Malaysians are stupid consumers for being fooled by Party Hard. as some commentators above said, you pipu will say that when price go down its just follow international prices, but when go up, you blame all to Gov/ Najib/ UMNO/ BN/ Meleis

• Yeezy on Jan 01, 2016 at 2:21 pm

The lot that voted that ummmmooono in are the stupid consumers. The trend throughout the year should have been down all the way. Yet they play see saw every month. The ‘don’t be a stupid consumer’ rule applies. Obvious fact innit.

• JB_KIA on Dec 31, 2015 at 9:47 pm

I’m gonna ask for 20 sen a piece cut from my canai kosong dinner tonite….f them if they refuse

• andrekua on Jan 01, 2016 at 1:58 am

Petrol and diesel ate not ingredients for roti canai. If price of flour didn’t go down, what do you expect?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
      • JB_KIA on Jan 01, 2016 at 10:20 am

obviously u hv zero economics knowledge…

• andrekua on Jan 01, 2016 at 8:57 pm

Chill bro…

Unfortunately you really do need raw material price to come down. Fuel price is coming down, but with the fluctuations, what do you think manufacturers choose to do? Most are turning a blind eye, enjoying higher profit when they could. Malaysia inflation is at record high, is there anything that we can do about it? Boycott? If you ask public view, what’s their general consensus… if you don’t buy now, it will only become more expensive. Houses, cars and now even daily consumption products also same situation.

• Jimmy Choo on Dec 31, 2015 at 9:54 pm

Fuel price down versus everything else up… Not logical calculations.

• tokmoh. on Dec 31, 2015 at 10:03 pm

Cepat puji dearest leader! The chosen one! Najibhu akbar!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 21
    • hahaha on Jan 01, 2016 at 9:46 am

If you don’t know the language better you dun write it, or else it will show your stupidity.

• Malam Jumaat on Jan 04, 2016 at 5:30 pm

Najibhu akbar! Long live..

• faizalmisman on Dec 31, 2015 at 10:51 pm

Dear Gov,
    Where is your formula/calculation for Malaysia oil price?

• Syed Shahrir on Dec 31, 2015 at 10:54 pm

The small reduction of all Mogas products is a temporary relieve. With the slumping decline of global crude oil prices, which translates to less revenues for Petronas group of companies,the GoM income collected from the “cash cow” will eventually hit Malaysians in a big way. 2016 would be a year of reckoning especially for small businesses. Lower crude price does not necessarily mean lower pump price as there are many factors that impact the pump price namely MOPS pricing which the general public still have not understood the mechanism behind this pricing structure. All I want to say to the public is just be shrewd and cautious in your spending habits. Kind Regards Shah

• Haaaa… Kenape x puji kerajaan ?minyak Turun kangkunggg pun akan Turun tau!

• andrekua on Jan 01, 2016 at 1:56 am

Cukur minyak dah turun… bila giliran kereta turun pulak?

• Sedarlah on Jan 01, 2016 at 8:09 pm

Hahah bulan depan naik lagi la. Sapa tak tahu game yang mereka main. Turun 10 sen naik 15 sen etc

• Jimmy on Jan 01, 2016 at 2:12 am

Up then down again up and down…sdh biasa lah ..hope kena toto better☺️

• Oil burner on Jan 01, 2016 at 8:48 am

the price of our petrol should be cheaper when crude oil was high cause Petronas earned a lot. Now they are struggling, do u all think they still can lower the price some more? They just bullshit us…

• Sleeplesseyes on Jan 01, 2016 at 9:24 am

if one were to compare the price of indonesian Ron 88 Pertamax fuel, you will be surprised & thankful that we are still cheaper despite recent announcement of price drop.
    Btw i am not a cybertropper. But i am sharing fact. And yes i agree that prices of everyday food and goods still at skyrocket levels. HAPPY NEW YEAR 2016 no matter how bad it is now

• Wayang Kulit on Jan 01, 2016 at 10:05 am

Next month Ron95, up 20 sen… Muahahahaha

• When go down follow international price.
      When go up, ini semua salah Najib.

Party Hard winliaolor!

• Edward on Jan 01, 2016 at 12:58 pm

Still prefer RON97 even the price is been drop

• desmond lai on Jan 01, 2016 at 2:53 pm

i hope the courier service will reduce their courier fee

• warrior keyboards working overtime

• Jay Law on Jan 04, 2016 at 10:49 am