All-new Toyota Passo revealed – new Perodua Myvi?

Screen Shot 2016-04-12 at 1.29.38 PM

Toyota Japan has unveiled the all-new Toyota Passo today, which is a compact car that is developed by its subsidiary, Daihatsu. Looks familiar, doesn’t it? If thoughts of the Perodua Myvi or Daihatsu Boon creep into your mind, you’re not that far off.

Any who, the Japanese-market Passo is available in two grades – X and Moda. Prices start at 1,150,200 yen (RM41,380) mark for the base X model, and goes all the way up to 1,830,600 yen (RM65,860) for the top-of-the-line Moda G Package.

According to Toyota, the “nameplate’s renowned manoeuvrability and compact size have been maintained.” Put into numerical terms, the Passo measures 1,665 mm wide, 1,525 mm tall and has a wheelbase of 2,490 mm. The latter has been extended by 50 mm when compared to the current Myvi (2,450 mm). Depending on variant, the car’s length is either 3,650 mm (X) or 3,660 mm (Moda) long.

Toyota say that the Passo features an improved lightweight, high-rigidity body that rides on an enhanced suspension setup to provide a more stable, secure and comfortable driving experience. The car’s turning radius is measured at 9.2 m in diameter.

Moving on to the looks, the Passo X gains a larger, squarish grille, flanked by more angular headlamps, while the bumper itself now features circular fog lamps. By comparision, the Passo Moda gets a softer look, with rounded headlamps, grille and fog lamp enclosures, all featuring a satin surround. A different bumper and hood can be seen as well.

Viewing the cars from the side, both variants look nigh identical. While the familiar shape is retained, the Passo now gets a blacked-out element on the C-pillar, extending from the rear door to the back window. As a result, the car’s tail lamps have been pushed downwards, now extending partially into the rear liftgate. The radio antenna is also positioned to the right of the car interestingly.

As for the insides, the cabin receives a significant overhaul. It appears almost Alza-like, where there is no centre console that separates the driver from the front passenger. This provides a more spacious interior, which Toyota claims also includes an increase in rear legroom by 75 mm.

Interior features here include a digital air-con control unit, TFT single-colour trip computer display, a spot for what should be a double-DIN infotainment system, push-start button, all-round electric windows and 60:40 split folding rear seats.

paso1604_29

Under the hood, the Passo is equipped with a 1.0 litre 1KR-FE three-cylinder petrol engine, providing 69 PS at 6,000 rpm and 92 Nm at 4,400 rpm. A CVT is the only transmission mated to the engine, with front- and all-wheel drive available as options. Under the JC08 test cycle, the FWD Passo managed to hit 28 km/L while the AWD Passo managed 24.4 km/L.

Safety kit here includes Daihatsu’s Smart Assist II collision avoidance assist system that includes five functions – collision warning, collision avoidance brake assist, false start control, line deviation warning and a function that notifies the driver that the vehicle ahead has started moving forward.

Should the next-gen Myvi be based on this new Passo (or Daihatsu Boon for that matter), it would certainly be in line with a recent report, where national automakers are expected to adopt autonomous emergency braking (AEB) and lane-keeping active safety systems as standard by the year 2020.

GALLERY: 2016 Toyota Passo

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Rosman on Apr 12, 2016 at 2:10 pm

I dont think myvi will adopt this new design. I believe all myvi owners like it to be garang looking car with spoilers, diffusers, grills. This car just wont make it. Unless P2 designer starts to design Gear Up range.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
    • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Apr 12, 2016 at 3:21 pm

Myvi Familia gang are salivating at this future godcar. People are flocking at ROS to register new car clubs. PNB and UMW bean counters are calculating their bonus payout.

• Same L0rrr on Apr 12, 2016 at 3:59 pm

But far far better than Proton Iriz!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 39
      • Better at being a moving coffin? I wholeheartedly agree

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
        • Same L00 on Apr 13, 2016 at 1:33 am

The car won’t crash if you don’t drive it. But even if you don’t drive your junk Proton, it will break down. Proton is the coffin for every owner’s saving acc. Don’t play play with Proton quality!

• Gargantia on Apr 12, 2016 at 2:12 pm

Japan made you can be proud of the vehicle !!!
    If P2 made please count of “tissue box” body…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Apr 12, 2016 at 3:46 pm

Count of tissue box body? What does that suppose to mean?

• Gargantia on Apr 12, 2016 at 4:54 pm

Mean buy Myvi = buy tissue box body build material.

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Apr 12, 2016 at 6:54 pm

Ok saya faham maksud encik. Kereta Myvi dan kotak tisu sinonim dengan kelembutan dan keperempuanan. Sissy car.

• What do u do to a empty tissue box? Normally u wud flatten it or crush it. Thats what he meant with P2 cars.

• Mat Yun on Apr 12, 2016 at 6:08 pm

Agree with you. P2 will downgrade the quality…

• JB_KIA on Apr 12, 2016 at 2:17 pm

they really ran out of ideas this time….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • thepolygonal on Apr 12, 2016 at 2:20 pm

Get used to it guys and girls… this is what is going to fill malaysia streets in the near future…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Oh yeah

• hailthepurist on Apr 12, 2016 at 2:32 pm

kelisa..

• Are sure it the car can withstand the weight of the fat lady? With only 69PS, i don’t think the car can even move if the fat lady is inside the car. My god

• Models is to show the target customers r ah lians & aunties

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Apr 12, 2016 at 2:46 pm

Love the MINI look of the Passo Moda

• oh mak lu cina on Apr 12, 2016 at 11:40 pm

That is really bangsat look. For bangsats! Can’t wait for Jeremy Clarkson to destroy it the way he destroyed the Kelisa!

• RavenAii (Member) on Apr 14, 2016 at 4:29 pm

The Kelisa I’m driving now only broke down once since it was bought in 2005. Kinda sucks seeing people destroying such a good city car.

• palgo47 on Apr 12, 2016 at 2:57 pm

Another Myvi bodo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
  • Hotel? Hotel yang sama . Kenapa bayar lebih on Apr 12, 2016 at 2:58 pm

Toyota should ask Proton and Lotus tuned the Passo with Lotus solid Ride and Handling. See Proton Iriz handling, can even match Ford Fiesta. Why so praise about Proton ride and handling meh??? Want know why? So no more goyang2, sampan floating feel and too much body roll feel in car. See continental car, 200kmh relax je…

Proton kearah conti…

Lotus ride and handling+Proton 1.5 TurboGasolineDirectInjection (TGDi) 180hp 250NM = 200,000 unit proton sales

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 8
    • mohsin on Apr 12, 2016 at 3:06 pm

itu semua tak penting
      yang penting resale value
      ya lor, Myvi itu city car la kawan
      mau apa ride & handling?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
    • Takproton on Apr 13, 2016 at 12:42 am

In your dreams la proton 200k sales. Hahhahahahhahh. Demn u are funny guy.

• mohsin on Apr 12, 2016 at 3:01 pm

itu hari ada info bagitahu bentuk myvi baru mcm Jazz.
    rupanya design sama itu adalah rim.. hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Sampai sini, ABS pun tak ada!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • Akmal on Apr 12, 2016 at 3:02 pm

The moment Perodua launches CVT cars will be the absolute demise of Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
  • roxas on Apr 12, 2016 at 3:04 pm

it will look ugly when p2 rebadge it

• Boboy on Apr 12, 2016 at 3:06 pm

The interior design is ok but exterior? It will sell if we were in the 90’s

• Ollie on Apr 12, 2016 at 3:09 pm

Can we possibly not see the elephant in the ad?? What is the guy in the ad doing, shouting at the model and photographers??

Amazing Japan!

• Mozilla Chrome on Apr 12, 2016 at 3:17 pm

Theo, what are you waiting? Render P2 version now!

• seman on Apr 12, 2016 at 3:28 pm

good for perodua to retain the bench seat & give foot parking brake to the new myvi, don’t change the interior expect steering badge

• Turning radius in diameter? how confusing.

• Chotien? Trivago on Apr 12, 2016 at 3:57 pm

Sexiest model ever! Fatty asid girl really convince me for new myvi

• horade dodge on Apr 12, 2016 at 4:26 pm

I guess what perodua will do , is rebadge the mini looking one as standard , and the boxy one as SE , agree with me?

• applegreen on Apr 12, 2016 at 4:33 pm

i like that front bench seat

• Baldrick on Apr 12, 2016 at 5:03 pm

I really like the styling of the current Myvi, but this thing is just so bland.

• TakPro2 on Apr 12, 2016 at 5:03 pm

OK P2 engineers.
    Now you can start designing the bumpers and bonnet…
    After that u can go to sleep. Ooopps!!!

• No matter how face lift still a rubbish n Malaysian admit join moving to coffin program offer by Perodua n Toyota

• Jimmy on Apr 12, 2016 at 5:43 pm

Yeah, Toyota Porsche, and you can accelerate in 4.4sec and turn 160 degree at 80km/jam.

• MahaLJMF on Apr 12, 2016 at 6:29 pm

You can’t go wrong with sushi quality. It’s miles ahead of that garbage crap iriz.

• Does anybody know if the overall dimension is longer than the previous generation passo/myvi?

• pokmang on Apr 13, 2016 at 11:07 am

is that a sumo wrestler? no more beautiful babe when launch a car, very interesting approach from toyota

• Hentamajela on Apr 13, 2016 at 2:13 pm

Bodoh la mohsin myvi city car….what u mean city car and pondan cars

• 5star on Apr 13, 2016 at 5:40 pm

This car could easily get 5 star ancap