B10 biodiesel at stations nationwide from today

biodiesel1

The Ministry of Plantation Industries and Commodities (MPIC) has announced the switch to B10 (blending of 10% palm methyl ester with 90% petroleum diesel) biodiesel, and that effective from June, all diesel sold at retail pumps nationwide will be a B10 blend.

The ministry said the government had engaged representative bodies such as the Japan Automobile Manufacturers Association (JAMA), Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA), along with petroleum companies and biodiesel producers ahead of the implementation. However, it did not state to what extent each of the associations approve of the programme.

The overall automaker sentiment is far from unequivocal. Mercedes-Benz Malaysia once aired doubt over the suitability of B10 biodiesel for its vehicles but shortly thereafter reverted to say that it will work just fine, while BMW, Toyota, Isuzu and Volkswagen have taken an opposing stance on the implementation of B10.

Since December 2014, the biodiesel blend in the country has been 7% palm ethyl ester with 93% petroleum diesel, or B7, as it is more commonly known. The B10 biodiesel used will be supplied by the Malaysian Biodiesel Association (MBA), which consists of 22 members nationwide.

According to the MPIC, the implementation of B10 programme for the transport sector and the B7 programme for the industrial sector is expected to contribute to annual consumption of 709,000 tonnes of crude palm oil domestically.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Pakulupapito on Jun 01, 2016 at 4:57 pm

The price?? Up or down?

• Tiuuu on Jun 01, 2016 at 5:39 pm

You stupid or what? Of course maintain lah….

• Pakulupapito on Jun 02, 2016 at 11:49 am

Just wondering. Adding biodiesel to diesel should decrease the diesel portion in the mixture right? So the cost should also be different.

• Unchanged apparently. Sigh. Now we got no modal to shoot Gov blindly.

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 01, 2016 at 6:37 pm

this is our Malaysian scientist greatest achievement. Take palm oil 10% and put in one container.

Then take 90% diesel and put into another container.

Then take both containers and mix both containers into a 3rd container. Then announce to the world….after many years of research, our brilliant scientist from Mara, UiTM, and UPM have come out with BioDiesel. Wow! Wah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 21
      • eheheh on Jun 01, 2016 at 6:58 pm

Atleast they are doing something than your lazy ass. All you do is complain online like a pussy ahahahah!!

#Roast

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 6
      • Mohammad Hafiz Abdul Rahim on Jun 02, 2016 at 1:44 am

aiyoo. u think mixing 2 type of oil is like bancuh milo ka?? not that easy la

• Vincent Ang on Jun 02, 2016 at 10:30 pm

Palm oil is not Palm Methyl Ester (PME) or biodiesel. The B10 diesel is a blend of 10% PME and 90% petroleum diesel. This is what happens when you study Math and Science in Malay.

• Edward on Jun 01, 2016 at 5:07 pm

Any lawyers want to leave their namecard here for class action suit against Malaysian government, Malaysian Biodiesel Association and palm oil producers lobbying for this.

We want to sue them in the event there is accelerated wear or damage to our diesel vehicles

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
    • U can start by suing Brazil cuz their biodiesel blend is higher than us. Go ahead, dun worry to get ur share cuz their country in chaos now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • thepolygonal on Jun 01, 2016 at 5:08 pm

Same price.. just cheaper raw materials.

• contender on Jun 01, 2016 at 5:09 pm

Car manufacturers says fine …. after warranty over and the side effects of B10 shows up, car owners problem for overhaul ….. maintainenance.

Any diesel luxury car owners care to share …

• Adrian on Jun 01, 2016 at 5:15 pm

All petrol station? No more B7 ? Sure?!

• DPCraft on Jun 01, 2016 at 5:24 pm

Mick Chan, new writer ??

• Research and decide yourself on Jun 01, 2016 at 5:37 pm

Meanwhile….we are waiting to know how much longer does it take to roll out Euro 4 Ron95 petrol that is better for the environment and the health of pump operators (lower evaporation rate at the pump).

• seancorr (Member) on Jun 01, 2016 at 6:08 pm

So how now? Will we see more diesel models breaking down due to this?

• Teropong on Jun 01, 2016 at 6:13 pm

Hi paultan team,

Does this affect the import stock of euro5 as well? Is there any plans to make exceptions for b10 implementation on euro5?

• Diesel car on Jun 01, 2016 at 6:41 pm

Yes i am curious as well,as a current owner of a diesel vehicle, will B10 standard apply to the euro5 diesels currently available from Shell and BHP?

How will older (7years) diesel engine take the B10? Buses, lorries, heavy vehicles some more than 10years old are still on the road.

• As far as I am concern, b10 will risk more on modern diesel engines which equipt with euro 4 and above emission. The 4th gen commonrail engine and catalytic converter are usually the victim.

• Yes, would like to know whether this affects the Euro5 diesel also.

• breakwe on Jun 01, 2016 at 6:33 pm

Paultan. Is it all diesel.or we have alternative?

• UMW TOYOTA on Jun 01, 2016 at 7:22 pm

my 2kdftv running no problem with unichip 280hp

• Really on Jun 01, 2016 at 8:52 pm

Tuned to 280hp? Hahaha, your Hilux must be spewing black smoke like an old lorry whenever you press the throttle pedal. Using what diesel also no difference.

• Shahnaz on Jun 01, 2016 at 7:48 pm

I believe this is for the standard diesel right. Does it also include the Euro 5 Diesel that BHP and Shell sells ? I presumably think its not.

• Tong Sampah on Jun 01, 2016 at 8:14 pm

RIP all diesel cars..

• UMW TOYOTA on Jun 01, 2016 at 9:18 pm

my hilux LN106 still running strong..even KD and GD still stronger than stupid beast Dmax

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
      • Do you know kd and gd engines are using 1st gen commonrail solenoid control with 135mpa where as mostly others competitors are 3rd gen piezo 180mpa?

• Heads up, Ford Ranger T6 FL engine can accept up to B10 biodiesel. Do check your vehicle manual regarding the biodiesel. New vehicles will have this new section in diesel vehicle manual :)

• Palm oil sudah tak laku punya pasal…