Toyota Prius, Lexus CT 200h curtain airbag recall

05-Prius-Exteriorb1

Toyota has announced that it will be recalling 1.4 million units of the Toyota Prius, Prius Plug-in Hybrid and the Lexus CT 200h for a problem with the curtain shield air bag modules.

The affected model years are 2010, 2011 and 2012 for the Prius, 2010 and 2012 for the Prius Plug-In Hybrid and 2011 and 2012 for the Lexus CT 200h. The affected airbags are not manufactured by Takata.

The curtain shield air bags modules in the driver and passenger side roof rails that have air bag inflators composed of two chambers welded together. One chamber contains the propellant and the second chamber contains a compressed gas.

Some inflators could have a small crack in the weld area joining the chambers, which could grow over time and cause the inflator chambers to separate. This has been observed when the vehicle is parked and unoccupied for a period of time.

If the inflator separates, the leaking gas could cause the curtain shield air bag to partially inflate, and in limited circumstances, one or both sections of the inflator could enter the interior of the vehicle, which could cause injury if an occupant is present in the car when it happens. Toyota considers this a manufacturing rather than design issue.

The recall measure will involve installing retention brackets on the curtain shield air bag inflators. These retention brackets are designed to prevent the inflator chambers from entering the vehicle interior if separation occurs.

UMW Toyota Motor has confirmed that there are Malaysian cars involved in the recall exercise. Please click here to read more about how the recall affects Malaysian cars.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Ha ha ha. Kereta overlord kena recall. That is why, we should buy Proton. Proton quality better than kereta jepunis overlord ni. MY pipu like to ampu and worship Jepunis overlord.

Buy Proton! We Malaysians should support Proton. I call on the Government to deduct all working adults salary by 1% and contribute it to Proton. We should make sure Proton survives. It is our National Pride! Oh Wai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 40
    • P1 recall saga, u bash.
      P1 recall exora, u bash.
      P1 recall inspira, u bash.

Like this u winliaolor, Albert!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 24
      • Kunta Kinte on Jun 29, 2016 at 4:22 pm

john oh john, still replying to your own dupe and when you kantoi, you blame others

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
        • Getout on Jun 29, 2016 at 5:59 pm

Please dont stir anger statement in our country, go to your own countey blog, put your politic blog there

• Same L00 on Jun 29, 2016 at 8:15 pm

The fact is, how many Proton has curtain airbags for recall? So limited that you only see those model in showroom but not on the road.

• buy proton also kena. proton accord. sama kena lah…

• New Perdana is post recall, so shud be not affected

• kzm (Member) on Jun 29, 2016 at 7:20 pm

obviously p1 will use their own airbag supplier..

• Not so sure cuz if Perdana dashboard is from Accord, it wun make sense to re engineer the airbag with autoliv when they can buy of the shelf from takata.
          It wud be added cost, unless takata kolos shop. Then no choice lah.

• camtakpro on Jun 30, 2016 at 8:22 am

So Proton Perdana airbag will kill?

If no expertise to change to other airbag, probably no expertise to to do takata fix.

• Csbee on Jun 29, 2016 at 4:28 pm

it’s not toyota problem,it was airbag issue under Takata corporation .

• But when exora cooler hose got recall, pipu bash P1 not the supplier woh. So shud we be fair or shud we be bias and dun persoal jepunis overlords?

• How about Priuc C…? Hope prius c free from defect…

• Toyota just issued recall of 1.43 Million Airbags.

Not related to Takata….

• buy proton also kena. proton accord. kena also lah

• #Imdrivingkia on Jun 29, 2016 at 7:18 pm

Why need melenting, T and H got higher RV maa… Quality also tip top tip top… Not like the Korean brand performance kaput, no value end be a junk.. Sarcasm…

• T & H higher RV is preparing you for your after life anytime unpredictable . Cos the after life ceremony is quite expensive to perform.

As for Korean car the RV is not that bad but at least can be spent nicely in this life. no need to use for after life uncalculated.

Syabas to T & H Takata air bags
      worst than smoking cos life can be shorten unpredicted.

New Takata air bags I still do not trust as same effect may happen again after a few years.

• Adnan on Jun 30, 2016 at 9:26 am

Problem here is stock availability, appointment, bureucracy etc.
    Please ask Toyota Whether they can disable this while waiting the airbag to arrive .