KL-Singapore HSR MoU signed – operational by 2026

Hitachi Super Express

Malaysia and Singapore today signed a memorandum of understanding (MoU) to facilitate the KL-Singapore high-speed rail (HSR) project, with a legally-binding bilateral agreement set to follow by the end of this year, Channel News Asia reports. The signing of the MoU, which took place in Putrajaya, was witnessed by prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Abdul Razak and his Singaporean counterpart, Lee Hsien Loong.

Construction of the high-speed rail link is set to begin in 2018, with completion in 2025. This will be followed by field testing and commissioning, with operations scheduled to begin sometime in 2026. Each country will be responsible for the development, construction and maintainance of the civil infrastructure and stations within their own domain, in this case through MyHSR Corporation for Malaysia and the Land Transport Authority for Singapore.

Both governments said they will build and fund infrastructure works such as viaducts, tunnels and stations within their territories. The two countries also agreed to form a bilateral committee comprising representatives from both sides to manage and regulate aspects of the project.

kl-singapore hsr mou

Two companies will be appointed to run the HSR service, which is expected to run 10 car-long trains, with the capacity for up to 100 passengers per car. Separately, another private company will design, build, finance and maintain the trains as well as rail assets, and will also be responsible for the allocation and control of track access. As for depots and maintenance facilities, these are set to be located in Malaysia, the report adds.

The 350 km-long double-track route (335 km of which is in Malaysia, and 15 km in Singapore) will have eight stops in total – Singapore, Iskandar Puteri, Batu Pahat, Muar, Ayer Keroh, Seremban, Putrajaya and Kuala Lumpur.

With trains on the service projected to run at average speeds of 300 km/h, the HSR is set to bring down the rail travel time between KL and Singapore to 90 minutes, excluding clearance at customs, immigration and quarantine, but there are plans to co-locate checkpoints in Singapore, KL and Iskandar Puteri to facilitate “seamless travel,” the report adds.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Ahmadjr on Jul 19, 2016 at 7:41 pm

That’s 10 years from now….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • China overnight can make it in 1 years time. But can u trust them?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
      • Kunta Kinte on Jul 20, 2016 at 8:48 am

I hope the Singapore PM understands our culture. Eventhough Singapore may finish their part on time and precise date, the Malaysian side will be

1) Delayed at least 5 years
        2) Cost will be double or triple from the initial estimate.

I hope the Singapore premier understand that this is because of our work culture. We like to relax, makan nasi lemak and take break 8 times a day minum the and makan kuih lapis or kuih talam.

If not the above, the Malaysian side will sleep on the job or during work hours. MAS Union and Perkasa defended this saying it is our right to sleep during work hours and it is our culture to sleep during work hours.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 5
        • Scratch that. No matter how unscrupulous china can be, I rather trust them that what u say.

• Albert on Jul 20, 2016 at 1:43 pm

Kunta
          Whats the use of having double tracking then?Another white elephant?
          Rm14 Billion already masuk pocket MMC.During non peak season,my friend took a train to Ipoh.Hardly 20 passengers.Only 10percent capacity.Worst than MAS,60 percent load factor now after chopping 6000 deadwood.
          This mega project…..cronies celebrating already.

• Latukbandar on Jul 19, 2016 at 11:13 pm

oh well, better late than never. I am not a Najib supporter but I have to say those LRT extension and MRT are awesome, now with this HSR…. not bad not bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
      • otak cc on Jul 20, 2016 at 6:32 pm

Look at the fee and quality and service before on mouth result. transport is cronies pocket money always.

• No Money on Jul 20, 2016 at 1:12 am

Yeah I can’t wait!

• Hmm... Much Hmm... on Jul 20, 2016 at 2:51 am

10 years is considered quick for a multi-national-mega-project like this. Compared to Japan’s SCMaglev train where the research started on 1962 is only expected to complete on on 2045 to connect Tokyo with Osaka (That’s 83 years of research, development and testing). And if you are going to say that’s a completely new technology, they started commercial preparation on 2011 (which is still 34 years before the delivery date of 2045). On the 2015 public trial the train managed 603km/h on the 42.8km track (free for public use for now). The complete line will be 286km so as of now almost 15% of the rail is completed at 5 years. Comparing it to our HSR, 10 years is actually pretty quick.

Link to the public trial video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5CKwchJKTYU

Since this is a car website, here’s some fun history that most of you wouldn’t be aware of. Toyota started producing vehicles in 1933, before that they were in the textile industry, at that time their vehicle was well known to be unreliable and sales were meager, thanks to Japanese Quality Control Award in 1970 and the oil crisis in 1973, their sales went up due to the smaller engine displacement sizes. But it wasn’t until 1989 where the Lexus division was born, and focus on consistent quality was standardized between the two marques that the brand was then synonymous with highly reliable products. In took them 56 years to become perceived as highly reliable and 83 years to become the Toyota we know today. Proton is only 33 years old and if they keep improving their products, hopefully in another 23 years it’ll have a good reputation. I mean, Hyundai started on 1967 and 48 years now it’s finally getting good enough although they are still short from Japanese Marque’s quality, perhaps 7 years later they will be highly reliable as well?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
      • Koreans and Japanese have fierce work ethics that you have to admit is missing from our country’s workforce. Even China, despite the negative image of poor quality products, are very determined to make an impact whether other markets like it or not. You can also argue that BMW took 100 years to be where they are now but Tesla also made an impact in a much shorter time frame. Whether they take 1000 years or ten years, the key factor is they’re not playing to win votes during elections, which is fundamentally what Malaysian projects are about.

• Hmm... Much Hmm... on Jul 20, 2016 at 6:42 pm

I concur with your opinion. IMHO spoon-feeding plus gerrymandering is the cause and has always been the parasite, as we can see it all around the world. Perhaps the complacency with a government backing them up is to blame? The issue though is the system has to be changed, but the question is how to do it in a peaceful manner.

Back to Automotive.

Tesla on the other hand was in a highly niche market, nobody else was in the User-Friendly electric car industry at their point of entry. Plus they manage to pique Elon Musk (the visionary of Space X and creator of Paypal) interest. It wasn’t until Elon Musk got in and revamped Tesla into what it is now, I guess you could say in terms of marketing a product, He make it seems like it’s the Apple of automotive.

• cucu train :-D

• inb4 MY Gov gets the blame, SG Gov cannot be persoaled

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
    • Hmm... Much Hmm... on Jul 20, 2016 at 3:00 am

The name MyHSR ‘CORPORATION’ says it all. SG Gov is using they actual ministry (LTA) to manage the HSR. In short Malaysia has a company with ‘compensated’ board of directors in charge of the HSR and Singapore only has a tiny division managed by a public officer that doesn’t get any extra $ for doing it. It’s pretty obvious why most people lament at our Gov, especially now that our wonderful neighbor just showed us we actually don’t need a GLC to handle the HSR but just a division in the Ministry of Transport, which would save us a lot of $$$ throughout the construction and lifetime of the HSR.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • Obamma on Jul 20, 2016 at 9:44 am

Big thumbs up for this!

• old horse on Jul 20, 2016 at 10:08 am

its a cronies country in every bid of the Gov projects…minister can all tapau as wayang kulit with no function at all…just consuming tax payers money

• U brought up a very gud point about the pipu in both Govs. And Najib realises his Gov has too many bureaucrats and not enuff managers. Thats why he needs to setup a separate entity staffed by seasoned professionals to manage this operation.

As compared to SG where everything goes to Gov cuz they r supposed to be run like a corporate entity. And it worked for a while until quite recent. Thats when PAP starts to bring in greenhorn MPs to mission critical infra like SMRT. Remember that lady MP who fumbled the MRT breakdowns fiasco? She was inexperienced and clearly out of her depth, and eventually forced to resign due to the massive sh*tstorm on Net.

So yeah, pros and cons of both Govs and Najib realises this and therefore have to literally think outside the Gov box to find a solution. The fact that quite a number of industry captains heed his calls to helm the various GLCs shows their confidence in him.

• LTA has to manage only 15km worth of track vs 300+km on this side.
        Pls lower the idiocy level.

• Hmm... Much Hmm... on Jul 20, 2016 at 6:58 pm

I’m not entirely sure what your argument is but here a general breakdown.

Both Gov has announced the system will be managed by 2 separate companies and maintained by another company. There lies the redundancy of MyHSR. Where as a new division within our ministry could do the job as well, because neither will be managing nor maintaining the lines.

Unless our gov specifically mentioned that MyHSR will manage and operate the system and the lines to be maintained by a separate company, then there wouldn’t be any issues as their redundancy is therefore null.

• Look at what I wrote above. U might have less hmm and more Aha!

• Sorry tak ada nyawa tunggu masa tahun itu 2026.

• tak ada nyawa tunggu Sampai tahun 2026

• Singapore Girl on Jul 19, 2016 at 11:12 pm

Aiyaaa. Malaysia Government no need to call for tender wasting your rakyat money. We know that you already took derma from China ready. No need to do wayang so much lor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
    • And yet your Singapore govt is playing along with it…. No need to cakap so much alreday lor, tiny singa.

• inb4 Albert come potong kepla for persoaling southern masterrace overlords

• No Money on Jul 20, 2016 at 1:07 am

Good to know that I can get to Singapore quickly and efficiently but not around KL hah

• MalSing on Jul 20, 2016 at 10:44 am

how much the price? MYR200 per trip?
      take air asia better and faster.. 45-50 minutes excluding customs..

• 2026, the express fares will be $1000 R/t KL-Singapore, but gaji raise a bit to $2000

• Ruslan Bahari on Jul 20, 2016 at 10:05 am

It’s an MoU… chill. 15km in Singapore, the rest in Malaysia. Not use if this will take off at all, to be honest.

Do we need it? I’d seriously doubt it. But if fares can be kept reasonable, i.e not too far from reduced air fares of budget carriers and the like, it may work.

I would rather be doing a speed train between Penang, Ipoh, KL, Melaka and JB. Link Alor Setar and Sungai Petani from Penang via the existing electric train service, and you get the entire west coast linked up with an efficient rail service.

Benefits Malaysians and local travel.

• Congrats, with this agreement, Changi will cement its function as the major Air hub for South East Asia, and our beloved KLIA will pay ‘second Fiddle’ to Changi… And our beloved LCC , KLIA2 will remain the ‘oversize white elephant’..with most LCC operators, choosing to move to other cheaper and strategic location…can see it already…another shot-sighted project by Malaysia…They should spend this HSR money on providing improved rail network for east Malaysia, connecting Sabah, Sarawak and Brunei..

• How does ur logic works when Changi is to the east tip of island while SG station is at west tip of island?

• Answering your question, agreed that the HSR station may be at the west tip of the island and changi airport is at the east tip of the island, and connecting both these to ends, as well as the rest of the island is the Singapore MRT system, which the Singapore government been upgrading and expanding its network ever since the late 1980s, till to date. I am very sure that SG government would even setup an interchange by the HSR station in Singapore, for Bus, taxi and MRT, to provide the feeder service. Bottom line, Putrajaya and the Malaysian Taxpayers have basically made every southern Malaysian life’s much easier to fly out via Changi,wanting to travel overseas , then to travel via KLIA. Bottomline, I still think this is a frivolous project, especially with a country that has a track reord of poor resource management. As a responsible federal government, I still believe we should have spent this HSR budget on installing more railway tracks and EMUs in Sabah and Sarawak, and connection into Brunei…, improving trade and connectivity for our East Malaysian Rakyat…

• Malaysian on Jul 20, 2016 at 11:58 am

I saw Ah Hui – Henry Thia .

• Yokohama24 on Jul 21, 2016 at 9:13 am

MYHSR Corporation? Kita punya JPJ sedang tidur ke nih? Atau sangat sibuk? Tapi sibuk dengan apa nih?

This is why Malaysia is far behind Singapore.
    “MyHSR Corporation for Malaysia and the Land Transport Authority for Singapore.” This sentence says it all….

• Yokohama24 on Jul 21, 2016 at 9:18 am

Sorry my bad. Not JPJ but Ministry of Transport (Kementerian Pengangkutan)