Subaru Impreza to gain pedestrian air bag feature

2017 Subaru Impreza sedan 1

Having made its debut at the New York International Auto Show, the Subaru Impreza is already set to receive an update to include a pedestrian airbag to complement its suite of safety features.

The pedestrian airbag pops up behind the bonnet and ahead of the windscreen, with the aim of mitigating the pedestrian’s eventual impact with the front of the car in that area.

This is in addition to the safety features in the Impreza, including the EyeSight suite which includes Pre-Collision Braking Control, Adaptive Cruise Control, High Beam Assist and Lane Keep Assist functions. Additionally, blind spot detection and a new automatic braking system for reversing is also included.

“We have given it all to achieve world-class, top-notch safety systems,” said Kazuhiro Abe, project general manager for the Subaru Impreza. The new Impreza is powered by an updated FB20 2.0 litre, direct-injected four-cylinder boxer engine, of which the company says around 80% has been revamped. The revised engine produces 152 hp, an increase of 4 hp over the outgoing model.

The Impreza is now underpinned by the Subaru Global Platform, which provides increased rigidity of 70% to 100% over the outgoing model, and a lower centre of gravity (5 mm). Revisions have been made to the suspension setup, as well as the inclusion of Active Torque Vectoring.

Transmission is courtesy of Subaru’s revised Lineartronic continuously variable transmission (CVT), with reduced weight and improved ratio coverage to achieve better acceleration and fuel economy. It has a simulated seven-speed manual mode when commanded, while the marque’s symmetrical AWD is standard, as befitting the brand.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• sohai on Jul 29, 2016 at 6:07 pm

Aiyo… airbag to kill the driver not enough, now extend to harm pedestrian?? Takata is really desparate for business…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 29
    • kzm (Member) on Jul 29, 2016 at 9:05 pm

U think oni takata make airbag?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • alldisc on Jul 30, 2016 at 7:13 pm

This type of airbag was first developed by Volvo some 5 years ago. It is in YouTube. Search. Subaru not the pioneer.

• WT Fuchhh on Jul 31, 2016 at 9:05 pm

Wat…lah. Takata killing driver…..not enough……now want to kill pedestrian also.

• Dun expect this in MY in the not-so-near future, when jepunis overlords dun even gip enuff airbags INSIDE THE CAR!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • littlefire on Jul 29, 2016 at 7:31 pm

Well.. Say that to our local CKD forester.. Best in class in safety now for c-segment SUV with 7 air-bags..

• XV has less than half of that. Apa lagi mau say?

• littlefire on Jul 30, 2016 at 7:24 am

Yes, XV is only 3 air-bags. But you must also thanks to our Malaysian AseanCAP & Gov, as to get 5 star with 2 air-bags and VSC is enough to qualify it. Besides that, XV are offered previously at oversea as *option for side and curtain air-bags before the face lift come out. XV is also market as the entry level of crossover suv for Asean country, so cost is also concern.

http://www.aseancap.org/subaru-xv/

Anyway i believe market trend & safety awareness will drive more safety technology to come. That why i believe in order to be competitive in this car segment, Subaru will have to keep up the pace with the introduction of it’s Forester with 7 Air-bags.

* There are few actual changes here: side and curtain airbags, currently optional on 2.0i-L and 2.0i-L EyeSight models, are now standard on all variants (http://paultan.org/2015/09/22/subaru-xv-facelift-revealed-japanese-specs-leaked/)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
          • Unless ASEAN only means MY, dun be so myopic. This is a regional issue here. Pipu like u dun persoal these jepunis overlords for treating our lives like lifestock.

And this ‘look down’ is oso apply to their local agents P2. At least we have ESC in basic Iriz. U dun even get that option in basic Bisa.

So stop plotek them jepunis overlords. They just dun think our lives r worth it.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 29, 2016 at 7:53 pm

Elsewhere, they try to protect pedestrians. In Malaysia, even the passengers don’t matter.

• Gunting kecik on Jul 30, 2016 at 10:10 am

Why imprezza is looking more and more like auntie/unker car??

• i love subaru but i dont like motor image..