July 2016 Malaysian car sales down 26% from June, 28% lower than June 2015; year-to-date down 16.5%

July 2016 Malaysia sales data

The Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) has revealed production and sales figures for the month of July 2016, and it appears that the market has experienced a significant dip compared to what was seen in the months of June and May.

According to the association’s data, 37,647 passenger vehicles and 4,824 commercial vehicles were sold last month, amounting to 42,471 units – which is 16,206 units, or 28% down from the same month last year. Both passenger and commercial vehicle registrations saw significant declines, with the former down by 14,989 units compared to July 2015.

As for month-on-month sales, last month’s volume was 14,887 units, or 26% lower compared to June 2016. The association lists the shorter working month due to the Hari Raya festive holidays and the lower demand following the end of the festivities as reasons behind the drop. Moving on, year-to-date sales figure up until July 2016 stands at 317,930 units, which is 63,001 units lower than the similar corresponding period in 2015, a drop of 16.5%.

In terms of production, 39,097 units – 34,944 passenger vehicles and 4,153 commercial vehicles – rolled off assembly lines last month, 1,558 units, or 4% less than the same month last year. Compared to the month prior (June 2016), July saw 1,201 less units made, or about a 3% drop. Year-to-date production meanwhile, amounted to 302,060 units, a 66,259 units, or 18% drop compared to the same period in 2015.

For the month of August, the association is expecting a rebound into the green due to a longer working month, as well as new models that were recently introduced. Among them include the Perodua Bezza and Toyota Sienta.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Easy, July shorter working month, sales drop. August longer working month, sales up. Sept shorter working month, sales drop. blah blah blah, i can be MAA spokeperson too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • spongewai on Aug 19, 2016 at 4:27 pm

more DOWN please??! I would love to see their sales down & down

• nabill (Member) on Aug 19, 2016 at 4:31 pm

Good… Means more ppl are living within their means…

• Well MAA, you can go giving regurgitated excuses, month after months, while the Malaysian auto industry’s TIV continues to sputter along. Bottom line, unless all of the your Members make a concerted effort to market vehicles that the public wants, reasonably priced and of good quality, you can go on believing in your ‘hubris’….!!

• Peter on Aug 21, 2016 at 6:52 pm

Didn’t you guys see so many discount/rebates from Toyota, Honda, Hyundai, Nissan etc. recently? Keep on the good works.
      And WTF, looking at the price list of these cars, >30% are taxes by gov!

• Albert on Aug 19, 2016 at 4:39 pm

By right,car sales should shoot up in July due to Raya.You mean all the balik kampung folks drive boneshakers back to kampung? Unlikely but maybe possible cos ECONOMIC CONDITIONS aint like 2014.
    WORLD oil prices hovering around US 40-55/barrel spell trouble for our oil dependent economy.
    It may take 3-5 years for ANY SIGN of good times to arrive.
    Maybe slight rebound in August cos of blockbuster BEZZA.Sienta launching may add a little plus overdue persona.
    Overall….2016 already saw INSOLVENT Proton bailed out,not very exciting times ahead.

• Aaron on Aug 19, 2016 at 4:44 pm

Malaysia Economy going down the drain.. Please give more discounts for cars.. We need more !

• azrai on Aug 19, 2016 at 4:44 pm

No work, no money how to buy car lorr? Even to buy food got no money. The obvious consumer pullback can be seen clearly, normally cannot see even one F or V plate car at Klang Valley.

• Operation Manager on Aug 19, 2016 at 5:10 pm

Who will interested 100k Toyota Saitan =(Alza +extra accessories)…? Oh really sohai…

• what killer on Aug 23, 2016 at 3:25 pm

Don’t be dumb and mind your own business. you have no right to call ppl names

• Undi BN on Aug 19, 2016 at 5:11 pm

Ingat blind loyalty.. undi BN

• transformer on Aug 19, 2016 at 5:13 pm

rakyat starts to learn to stay with their current car(s) for few more years until 6 Airbags and ESC compulsory for ALL cars sold in Msia(irregardless of models or variants)…..

• tokmoh. on Aug 19, 2016 at 5:49 pm

Good. Hold the purchase, all carmakers will become desperate and throw discount like crazy.

And the power they took from the people, will return to the people.

• PuzzledGreenCarEnthusiastic on Aug 19, 2016 at 8:21 pm

Any reason why is this number interesting enough for frequent update? As consumer, the main concern is how much is it affordable for us to own and maintain our cars.

• Habislah those carmakers that do nothing but tease tease tease. By the time they finish teasing the market already collapsed. The winners are those that take the bull by its horns.

• Circa Stick on Aug 19, 2016 at 9:21 pm

I wonder Y MAA always blames the shorter working days? Y never admits that the car price here is high? or the SA commission is too high thus have to push the price further up? The Rakyat have spoken anyway, they won’t buy new cars until the price is reduced by 30% as promised by MO1.

• SoChunn on Aug 19, 2016 at 9:46 pm

Just shows that the country’s economy is not good.

• Henry on Aug 19, 2016 at 10:40 pm

No wonder every other car distributor is having mega sales.

• Gomen on Aug 20, 2016 at 10:57 am

This is because we built better public transport. No doubt our economy is very resilient.

• KimochiP1 on Aug 20, 2016 at 3:47 pm

Sales of new Persona, Saga dan Perdana are coming up fast!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • Same L0rr on Aug 20, 2016 at 8:21 am

How about Proton sale? With Campro engine & CVT bising Punch Powertrain gearbox, it hardly to Proton to sale 60K unit for this year..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
  • Henry on Aug 20, 2016 at 11:08 am

Pre-registering is one way to dump their cars in the market. It is such a common practice nowadays.

• I see on Aug 20, 2016 at 2:55 pm

Loan is also hard to approve these days, one of the reasons why the sales are affected.

• Katak Kering on Aug 20, 2016 at 3:12 pm

Everything, everyday, everywhere BN barang naik. Makan naik, service naik, studies naik. Even baby milk powder naik. Dont let me start on the fark up GST. Then at every launch, cars becoming more expensive than ever, while features removed. Ppl aint stupid you know.

So, if gaji not naik, how to buy new car??
    Go bank and borrow more money, and get yourself in deeper trouble??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 21, 2016 at 8:31 am

Just wondering…in penang everything is expensive esp properties…oh ya its under dap…but then pakatan is always right…and the best part is the people there have to pay exorbitant price for properties but the CM bought it under market value…ahh smart move by the tokong…who cares about the people…let them rot…issnt that so guan eng…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
    • Same L0rr on Aug 21, 2016 at 9:35 am

Buy AXIA or BEZZA standard or Toyota used car. Its cheaper & reliable. If your gaji RM3K now a day, dont be fool to buy RM40K above car.. Yes, you can pay it every month, but the car need petrol, maintenance, tyre, insurance & roadtax.

• Mohammad on Aug 20, 2016 at 4:13 pm

Proton sell less than 35k cars for the 1st half of 2016. 13% of market share. By end 2016 it’s market share will drop from 17% of 2015 to probably just 12% while Perodua will continue to maintain its market. It’s more closer of Malaysian vision to see it close down. Let’s pray the market share continues to slide tremendously to below 8% by end 2017. Just look at the new Saga, looks like horse shit mixed with human diarrhoea. Ugly until no words to describe it. The new Persona is disappointing too with its lousy CVT and noisy harsh engine. You know why Perodua is a success? Because it knows what we want! It cares for Malaysians by giving us reliable products with good service. Proton only curse it’s owner and make their lives miserable! That idiot man is still too stubborn to surrender his pride. Proton you deserve what you are today! We pray this will be the last loan to clean the shit you left behind! Lousy shame company!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
  • i hope people will still hold their decision to buy new car so that the carmakers will further reduce the prices

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • yourOnestopSht on Aug 21, 2016 at 2:31 pm

I guarantee these has to do with uber and grabcar and public transport, but in a good way cuz i dont want to see many crowded cars everywhere and its a mess

• Andrekua on Aug 22, 2016 at 9:03 am

Sales down is good. Less household debt for malaysia in general.

• Ollie on Aug 23, 2016 at 12:39 pm

Some elucidation on the numbers:

Passenger car sales are down 58,000 units y-o-y.

Avg selling price RM50,000 – that’s RM2.5 billion in lost revenue.

Avg profit – Rm5,000 – that’s RM 250,000,000 in lost profits.

Let’s say 1000 car dealers nationwide (I have no idea, just guessing) – so that’s RM 2.5 mil less revenue for each of these dealers. 2.5 mil, or 250,000 less profit – no they can’t do business.

Why? PROTON and PERODUA. There needs to be an open car market – Madey will say Proton loses 10,000 jobs if closed down. What about the 1000 car dealers employing 50 people and the service centres another 50 each – 100,000 people employed. All of them are losing jobs if the car industry continues like this.

• what killer on Aug 23, 2016 at 3:28 pm

Common la. Pandalela is a bumiputra.