May 2016 Malaysian car sales up 6% from April, 12.8% lower than May 2015; year-to-date down 17.6%

MAA Sales Data May 2016

It’s that time again. The Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) has released production and sales figures for the month of May 2016, and while it appears that the market has started to pick itself up again – after some fairly lacklustre figures in April – there’s not all that much to celebrate here.

In all, 38,699 passenger vehicles and 5,970 commercial vehicles rolled off dealer forecourts last month, resulting in a total sales figure of 44,669 units. That’s a scant 6% increase – amounting to just 2,492 units – from the 42,177 units that were sold in April.

The paltry increase in sales month-on-month is dwarfed by the drop in numbers vis-à-vis the same month the year before – last month’s sales were down 12.8% (or 6,583 units) from the 51,252 units sold in May 2015. That hasn’t helped 2016’s year-to-date figure, which has slid from 235,914 units last year to just 193,953 units – a decrease of 17.6%.

The MAA’s official reasoning for the weak sales performance continues to be Bank Negara’s more stringent hire purchase loan approvals, despite aggressive sales and marketing campaigns by car companies helping to push more vehicles into customers’ hands compared to April.

The association also noted that sales should pick up this month, thanks to Raya sales campaigns and the introduction of new models – the past two months have already seen the launch of several new models such as the new Honda Civic and Proton Perdana.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Rizal on Jun 21, 2016 at 6:26 pm

I pray Proton sell just 200 units for the whole month

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 29
    • Albert on Jun 21, 2016 at 7:12 pm

Rizal,
      200 units a month=2400 units a year?
      Protong sold 100,000 units last year,say.
      So P1 needs 41x Rm1.5 Billion bailout=62.5 Billion.
      OMG,you are praying ….something like mighty Toyota Japan giving their 2015 profit to bailout Protong?
      Be a little kind lah.Their workers are shivering in sleeplessness now…..after Raya,the rumour is THE AXE WILL FALL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
      • Kunta Kinte on Jun 23, 2016 at 11:34 am

Pity the Perdana. This weekend I went to Honda showroom in Glenmarie. Despite all the recalls, there were about 100 people looking at the new Civic.

Then I walked down to the Proton showroom to see the new Perdana. ZERO customers. Not even a single customer in the showroom. 3 staff were sitting there and look half dead whilst I look at the Perdana.

How to sell 100k this year?

• Scrap metal on Jun 22, 2016 at 10:56 am

If car full-loan trick is not working, then better give free car.

• hailthepurist on Jun 22, 2016 at 11:07 am

probably, the ceo focused the prestige more than sales volume..

• Operation Manager on Jun 22, 2016 at 9:37 pm

WTH with Perdana & premium talk from P1 CEO…??? I dun see a sht direction, mission & vision fr CEO beside Morning nasi lemak & Afternoon teh tarik. Tesla 3 going to launch in 2017 but reservation reached 373,000 units, price from USD35,000 (MYR140,000) & single unit charge could cruise 346km min.

• YTD down 21%, May’16 to May’15 down 15%…haaa…so eager to see whether civic & banana can really boost the sales for this month before raya…haaa…we unite, they fall!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
    • Fanta Strawberry on Jun 22, 2016 at 9:33 am

Malaysia en route to achieve 550k in total sales, down from 660k last year. No thanx to GST, increased car prices, oil n gas crisis.

• Albert on Jun 21, 2016 at 7:02 pm

“Bank Negara’s more stringent hire purchase approvals”…….this does not apply to recent Bank Rakyat’s 100 percent loan for P1 car purchase.
    IN Bolehland…..there are always exceptions.
    Other business entities are allowed to go bankrupt.
    Proton not only prevented from kaput but given rm 2.75 B Bailout and Buyout.
    Giving 100 percent loan not only encourages overspending but is pure madness.
    Those who jump into this WHIRLPOOL OF DEBT is pure INSANITY.
    Just walk into any Protong showroom,the SA will say” Nak fikir apa? Beli je…apa warna you suka ? No problem Bank Rakyat beri 100% lon.Tak payah downpayment.3 hari je. Keta kami deliver to your doorstep”.Sounds familiar?
    If car sales have to dip,so be it.
    It wont hurt you right? When sales fall,we shall see the fittest,ploughing thro immense competition.
    Champions survive.
    Only lapdogs require bailouts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
    • Really on Jun 22, 2016 at 12:00 am

Proton is not the only carmaker that can get 100% loan or low downpayment. Nearly all carmakers are doing it, been so for a long time. You can get full loan for a Toyota or Honda, just ask their salesmen for the methods. Marking up the prices to get higher loan, using a high-spec price to get higher loan for a low-spec car, it all depends on whether you are credit-worthy to get the loan. The banks are hungry for business too, you know.

• Albert on Jun 22, 2016 at 10:00 pm

Really,
        You dont get the point.
        Cos of protong falling sales and bailing out,in order to push out the 2014-2016 stocks,Bank Rakyat has been ordered to give out full loans.THe average protong fanboy earns rm2-3K.
        They have Courts mammoth loan,Singer loan, home loan,SenHen elEctrical loan,kedai runcit loan and best of all SPECIAL COOPERATIVE LOAN ETC.
        If employer retrench 30 percent of these deadwood,imagine the temptation to go into crime.
        100 percent loan up to 10 years..at 4 % p/a interest…is no joke.Did you fail your Maths?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
        • Really on Jun 23, 2016 at 1:38 am

So, you are blaming people that can’t resist the temptation to change phones whenever new models come out by loaning with Aeon on Proton? People that want to show off buying new furnitures or electrical appliances every year yet the living on meager income are influenced by Proton too? No, I am not defending Proton but you failed to see this is all down to one thing: CONSUMERISM.

Financial institutions see that people are willing to go into debt as long as they get what they wants for a long time since Proton is even borned. I may failed math (which I didn’t, btw), you failed to see the bigger picture and put the blame of high household debt on the convenient Proton instead.

• RBA tactic #2: Alwiz find someone/something to blame.

When pipu buy less cars and use public transport, blame P1.
            When pipu do vote them, blame pipu for bodo, lip in trees, dedak, etc
            When ownself was tempted to buy bungalow, blame others for tempting him.

I see where this is going.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • Andas on Jun 22, 2016 at 7:11 am

Ayoo.. salary 3k, u think the bank will approve ur loan ka? Get real la.. U better get a kapcai la brader..

• Topkek on Jun 22, 2016 at 2:08 pm

Meanwhile 77 percent plumetting sale of vios…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • Wake up la. Cant afford dont buy la! Buy cheap2 car and shut up. Like dog barking u know no money to pay installment honda toyota nissan or preve go bising2 car expensive la bank loan not approve la. Got other people struggling to buy food and ride motor everywhere. You afford saga or axia also still not grateful. Got iswara or nissan 130y already good compare to kapcai. later god take back everything from you it this then u realised how ungrateful u are before.

• Cukurlah ada Proton, rakyat tak payah pakai bas. RBAs are always ungrateful. Ignore them

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Jun 21, 2016 at 7:19 pm

Malaysians are weird…they hate everything…they wish the worst of everything for their country…sad very sad…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 19
    • We need people like you on Jun 21, 2016 at 11:36 pm

Yes, we all know that it’s complacent people like you that changes the world for a better place. You go you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • not weird on Jun 22, 2016 at 8:21 am

since u r so not weird…and love expensive car prices, then u buy them all to make our country better…. and make urself happy

• Same L0rr on Jun 22, 2016 at 9:29 am

I hate Proton because of the bad quality & reliability. Camporn engine & CVT bising Punch power train.

I always give double thumb up to Perodua because of good quality & reliability of their product. Proton should long ago learn from Perodua. But Proton still sombong. Still sendiri cakap sendili syiok!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • And yet u still drive ur son’s 2nd hand saga to work. No money to even buy axia cuz 77% sales drop

• Operation Manager on Jun 21, 2016 at 7:26 pm

Hope from NEW 2016 Civic & Perdana sales …? Civic Turbo with engine overheat (realibility issues) contributed 24hrs tow truck business; while who capable pay 110k will choose Perdana…???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
    • Le Mans on Jun 22, 2016 at 8:24 am

so eager to see results if civic 1.5 turbo can join the Le Mans 24hrs…lol

• john is otak batu on Jun 22, 2016 at 12:59 pm

Only u will choose. Not even a crazy fly will even stick near pondana

• C.P. MOHAN on Jun 21, 2016 at 8:20 pm

Wonder whether the current promotions were specifically for Raya or “killing two birds with one stone”.

• applegreen on Jun 21, 2016 at 9:27 pm

toyota and nissan…watch out

• Danza on Jun 22, 2016 at 9:33 am

Time to increase specs and drop prices

• Apa LanJixo Cibai pun ada on Jun 22, 2016 at 9:40 am

Better in sales drop,or else many car on the road and creating more jam. Lets learn Singapore implementing COE

• Lurking on Jun 22, 2016 at 10:12 am

Typical malaysian.. Too many keyboard warrior.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • waters on Jun 22, 2016 at 6:43 pm

Good, keep it up guys. Send these guys to the ground!! Let the market forces dictate prices and availability. Not the guys on top. There’s no point in us complaining that car prices are too high, yet we still buy. Hit them where it hurts, their wallets!!

• Really on Jun 23, 2016 at 1:45 am

Oh by the way Albert, Bank Rakyat has been giving out 100% loan for Proton even since the ‘good times’ of early 2000 which if your memory is still serving you, when Proton was still the sales leader. So, your point of Bank Rakyat being ‘forced’ to help Proton is moot and came out only from your own imagination.

• azrai on Jun 23, 2016 at 8:06 am

The best seller? 1st it was Axia, 2nd Alza, and 3rd Myvi.

• Ben Yap on Jun 23, 2016 at 9:42 am

sales up because of the 2016 Honda Civic.