2017 Honda Civic Hatchback – no plans for Malaysian introduction for now; possible with more demand

honda_civic_touring_hatchback

Honda recently revealed the all-new Honda Civic Hatchback, and it is known that the model will be offered for sale in ASEAN markets. However, does that include Malaysia as well? Well, not likely is the answer, according to Katsuto Hayashi, managing director and CEO of Honda Malaysia.

During a Q&A session at the media test drive of the tenth-gen Honda Civic Sedan, Hayashi, when asked about the prospect of Malaysians being offered the Civic Hatchback, had this to say:

“My understanding is the market demand is not enough to introduce the hatchback but, of course, selling cars is our business. So, if the market demand is there in Malaysia, we will think about it but currently, I’m not sure.”

ASEAN markets that appear set to receive the Civic Hatchback include Thailand and Indonesia, with the former being a place of production for the model. As for the latter, Hayashi explained that sedans are taxed higher than hatchbacks in Indonesia, making it only logical to introduce the hatchback there.

honda_civic_touring_hatchback_1

“In Indonesia, the situation is completely different. The main car body style in Indonesia is the hatchback. The tax scheme is different from Malaysia, so the price for hatchbacks are much lower than the sedan, so that’s why they are introducing the hatchback there,” he said.

Sedans in Indonesia are subjected to luxury tax, where sedans with an engine below 1,500 cc are taxed 30%, those with 1,501 to 3,000 cc engines are taxed 40% and exceeding 3,000 cc is 70%. Hatchbacks meanwhile, are taxed at just 10%.

There you have it, if you are very interested in the Civic Hatchback, you’ll have to make your voices heard enough to warrant Honda Malaysia to bring the model in, but for now, there doesn’t appear to be any concrete plans.

GALLERY: 2017 Honda Civic Hatchback

GALLERY: Honda Civic Hatchback Prototype at GIIAS 2016

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Cheese on Aug 25, 2016 at 8:45 pm

”As for the latter, Hayashi explained that sedans are taxed higher than sedans in Indonesia, making it only logical to introduce the hatchback there.”

Sedans taxed higher than sedans? Is it typo?

• Gerard Lye (Member) on Aug 25, 2016 at 9:05 pm

Thanks for the spot there. The error has been amended.

• Operation Manager on Aug 25, 2016 at 10:10 pm

Tow truck lover dinosaur vtec 2016 Civic R&D mechanical design failure that cannot fixed… turbo-vtec launched 2weeks to overheat broke world auto record + tons of others mechanical problems… CVT=EarthDream? Oh sohai… all built to park behind backyard for 2016 year-end lelong sales…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 36
        • Civic turbo pon tak jalan… design pelik… takut breakdown lagi…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
          • Guardiola on Aug 26, 2016 at 6:01 pm

Vote here!
            Thumbs up Civic h/b.

Thumbs down Golf TSI

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
          • Operation Manager on Aug 27, 2016 at 12:04 am

All below only talk big to own a 140k Hatchback Gear-shift design failure car…

• Steven on Aug 26, 2016 at 11:43 am

wait till Honda Malaysia comes with the Civic Hybrid Plug In and it is sold for RM80k. All those Civic buyers will cry like baby.

All cars brands are coming out with their plug ins. Look, even Volvo S90 also launched yesterday

• Talk is cheap, show facts. Trolling on the keyboard may case damage to logic.

• Norman on Aug 26, 2016 at 3:13 pm

Cakap saja. Where is the proof???

• Civic lama owner on Aug 28, 2016 at 6:40 am

In Thailand civic turbo already have overheating issue , sorry to say new turbo civic performance very bad , my 25 years dolphin easily tapow turbo civic

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 26, 2016 at 7:57 am

Why did you make the silly mistake…looking for cheap publicity issit because you are not popular like the other writers…inferiority complex should be addressed instantly…but overall the article is good…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 26, 2016 at 7:52 am

The sedan already looks like a hatchback in order to accommodate the talilights design…the side profile kind of weird looking especially near the rear…the front fascia doesnt match the butt which is too avant garde…

• Ys Yeo on Aug 25, 2016 at 8:49 pm

“sedans are taxed higher than sedans in Indonesia”
    typo here?

• Aero (Member) on Aug 25, 2016 at 9:00 pm

Honda Malaysia would be foolish not to bring in the hatchback Civic FC. Ok, fine, you don’t need to CKD it here (but seriously, why not ? You’re already assembling the sedan with high local content), but FFS don’t deny Malaysians that option… if Thailand and Indonesia are getting it, why can’t we get it too ? Really now…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 1
  • Joker on Aug 25, 2016 at 9:01 pm

Lots of errors in the article
    1. “Well, not like is the answer, according to Katsuto Hayashi” – should be not likely
    2. “As for the latter, Hayashi explained that sedans are taxed higher than sedans in Indonesia” – the first “sedans” mentioned here should be “hatchbacks”
    3. “Sedans in Indonesia are subject to luxury tax” – I believe it should be “subjected”

• Budin on Aug 25, 2016 at 9:02 pm

I’d prefer the hatchback rather than the (weird-looking-ugly-butt) sedan. So, how do we show that the demand is here? Spam their FB wall?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 1
    • camtakpro on Aug 29, 2016 at 11:50 am

What they meant is, when there are higher demand in Toyota Altis.

• The few hatchbacks i want is ek9 and ep3 from honda.. :c malaysia damn hard to find

• Alamak on Aug 25, 2016 at 9:24 pm

Hatchback….hatchback….hatchback..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Vamp88 on Aug 25, 2016 at 9:28 pm

The hatchback looks too much ah Beng look. At least mazda3 hatchback and Focus hatchback looks much better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • If MY had Indomee car tax structure, pipu wud riot on the streets alredi!

• So sad to hear this news.

How to contact Katsuto Hayashi?

And who said hatchbacks aren’t popular? Look at all the Myvis and Jazz on the road. Just the Myvi alone outnumbers all the other cars.

If or when Myvi owners upgrade to C-segment, Honda should have the options available. At the moment, the only viable Japanese C-segment hatchback is the Mazda 3, which comes with a smaller boot and only a 3-year warranty.

Ever since I heard the news about the Honda Civic hatchback, I have held off buying any other car, hoping that it will come to Malaysia. Honda Jazz is a bit too small. And the HR-V is too big. Sigh…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 1
    • hatchling on Aug 21, 2017 at 9:12 am

I’d pick the hatch over the sedan, the rear looks so much better.
      Yeah, anyone knows how do we give our feedback to Honda? He says “market demand is not high enough”, i’d like to contribute to that demand statistics.

• WE WANT THE HONDA CIVIC IN HATCHBACK FORM. POSSIBLY WITH MANUAL TRANS.

Thumbs up and let’s show some support.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 4
    • crash on Aug 26, 2016 at 8:23 pm

And include Magic Seats which is missing in the sedan, plus take out the stupid crossbeam at the boot.

• Jimmy on Aug 26, 2016 at 12:06 am

Useful acceleration time in city driving should be 0 to 60 km/h, not 0 – 100 km/h.
    You can have pretty good century sprint(for ordinary buyers) but when it is a single turbo coupled with CVT, I doubt it can accelerate better than a twincharged DSG or twinscrol turbo 8-speeder in this particular range of 0-60km/h.

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 26, 2016 at 6:49 pm

Actually all cars sprint well to 60. Especially those that sprint well to 100.

My old car does 0-60 in well under 3 secs.. but no, its not a very street friendly car.

The point is, what you really want is in gear acceleration. 20-60….and 80-120 for top gear highway acceleration.

This will determine how tractable and responsive the car is when driving.

• pokmang on Aug 26, 2016 at 12:24 am

don’t repeat the redundancy of proton preve & suprima s…better offer another malaysian suited model like honda brv

• salim on Aug 26, 2016 at 1:40 am

Logical tax system unlike in Msia where tax incentives only accorded to XC90 X5 S400
    And where is the 30% reduction
    election manifesto?
    Bercukurlah!!

• Eternalgl0ry on Aug 26, 2016 at 1:50 am

Hatchback is one thing

I highly sure they are not bringing in the engine as well because it has euro rating of 6. Malaysia only have euro 4 petrol

• Dei. Tebo engin alredi here lah!

• Horizon Sailor on Aug 27, 2016 at 4:58 am

Are you sure that PERTAMINA indon meet EURO 6 petrol specification ? I seriously doubt that. In fact PERTAMINA still struggle to meet EURO 4 regulation.

Honda sell Civic hatchback because of tax structure that Indonesia have. Thats all. By the way, Honda Indonesia willing to detuned their civic engine to suit the low quality of fuel sold in indonesia.

• Jeriatrik on Aug 26, 2016 at 3:09 am

The back looks like a 90 year grandma’s arse sagging . Yuks

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Aug 26, 2016 at 3:11 am

Question… does a(n)
    Estate/Station wagon – Volvo V60, Mazda6 wagon, Subaru Levorg
    Aeroback – Toyota Prius, Honda Insight, Audi A5 Sportback

Count as hatchbacks? As long it is not a 3 box design with a boot right?

It is no wonder hatchbacks, minivans, MPVs and SUVs are popular there

• In Malaysia, tax is higher for hatchback while sedan is cheaper tax. That’s while for those who love hatchback can said no chance already o. As myself is hatchback lover too. Too bad

• TheDean on Aug 26, 2016 at 8:15 am

Isn’t the sedan already hatchback-ish?

• Ah PauL on Aug 26, 2016 at 8:50 am

I sincerely hope Honda Malaysia can consider bring in Hatchback version.
    1.5T + 6MT version.
    the best combination for hatchback looks vehicle.

• autodriver (Member) on Aug 26, 2016 at 9:20 am

Somehow I find the rear lamp design is much nicer look at hatchback than the sedan version.

• Malaysian netizens never satisfied.

Never ending bashing. What also bash gao gao.

Examples
    Civic Hatchback – Ugly
    Nissan – Ugly
    Toyota – No safety
    Mercedes – Expensive
    BMW – High maintenance cost
    Mazda – All car with same design
    Ford – Bad service
    Hyundai – No RV
    Perodua – Milo tin with no safety.
    Proton – EVERYTHING.

How ar ? Public transport also complain expensive.

Respect la.. people.

If we cannot afford a plate of lamb chop, we eat chicken rice la. The purpose is to fill our stomach. Who doesn’t love lamb chop?

Can we feel some love here on the internet? We need more positive energy !

*Peace*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • thepolygonal on Aug 26, 2016 at 9:36 am

Skip this, bring in the civic coupe instead.

• How to know wether got demand or not if not launched? Chicken egg situation. I do see Mazda 2+3 hatch around and jazz, Myvi, axia, polo hatch. So Malaysians do accept hatchback design

• Honda Msia, pls bring the hatchback…its more practical compared to the sedan where the passenger seats cannot be fold down…how to bring long item/stuffs like… IKEA boxes? …the hatch will be great!

• Dr Mamak on Aug 26, 2016 at 10:03 am

Yucks too many holes on this car body.

• Ben Yap on Aug 26, 2016 at 10:59 am

too many cars on the road without sufficient trunk space likes myvi, axia and Iriz.

we need trunk space…. the sedan will do just good.

• JB_KIA on Aug 26, 2016 at 11:05 am

u dun even bother to bring them in how the hell u know if there’s demand or otherwise?

• alldisc on Aug 26, 2016 at 11:19 am

for the scenario in malaysia is simple.

once it is assembled in indonesia or thailand, Honda Malaysia can just import these cars to Malaysia – which under AFTA regulations cannot be subjected to import tax. This means it will not incur any additional costs to assembly and to stock parts.

C segment hatchback is getting more familiar to malaysias nowadays – beginning with Kia Spectra5 and Chevrolet Optra5 and now Ford with Focus, VW with Golf and even Proton has its Suprima S.

Toyota has its hatchback version of Corolla Altis called Auris – but unlikely will be on sale in Malaysia.

• Knight E on Aug 26, 2016 at 11:56 am

sedan can make heavy crash and still unsafety part at bonnet…if this hatchback crash,sure rear passenger gone case…crab become broken shell craby..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • Not Toyota Fan on Aug 26, 2016 at 4:35 pm

Still living in the 1900s, is it? Time to get out of your coconut shell & read more about modern technology from outside world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
      • Knight E on Aug 26, 2016 at 10:04 pm

seen u also out of date and still living 20 century?go google/facebook check…only u think this civic is much safety…

• heybadigol (Member) on Aug 26, 2016 at 5:01 pm

Please please please Honda, do a wagon version and bring it here. Civic Shuttle oh yeah. Just like in the 80s.

• hanjina on Aug 26, 2016 at 5:10 pm

Why the rear looks like chicken arse?

• Alex (Member) on Aug 28, 2016 at 11:13 am

I’ve said it previously, hatchback and sedan of the same car generate much more discussions, comparisons and arguments than “different” hatchback and sedan riding of same platform.

Adding more engine in line up increases the target market range create a perceived premium for the larger engine.

But the main benefit of it all is that all of the sales centred around the same brand name. In this case, the ‘Civic’. USA and EU gets Civic in different form factor yet together Honda generate the same enthusiasm around the brand ‘Civic’.

There should not be Iriz, Persona, Saga; there should be the Saga available in hatchback or sedan with engine choices of 1.3l or 1.6l. There should not be a Preve and Suprima S; it should be Persona available in hatchback or sedan with engine choices of 1.6l and the new Petronas engine. Keep Persona at C and Saga at B. The Saga already demoted once (though understandable due to old Saga and Wira coexistence), it should stop there.

• mohammad on Dec 20, 2016 at 11:13 am

hi paultan and honda fan.

Adakah Honda Malaysia akan membawa Honda Civic bewarna BIRU …mcm honda city sekarang.?

terima kasih.

• Eugene on Jan 20, 2017 at 8:22 pm

Bring this in please!