2017 Honda CR-V unveiled – new 190 hp 1.5L turbo engine, premium interior, even more practical

2017 Honda CR-V

The 2017 Honda CR-V has debuted in the USA, featuring bold new looks; a more premium, spacious and versatile interior; and a more powerful turbocharged engine. Honda’s fifth-generation SUV has been completely redesigned and re-engineered, and will go on sale State-side later this year.

“The new Honda CR-V raises the bar in every imaginable way, delivering more performance, space and premium content together with higher fuel economy ratings and value than ever before,” said Jeff Conrad, senior VP and GM of the Honda division. Well now, lots to live up to, then.

First up, the looks. Honda has gone for a bold yet familiar approach. Alienating nearly four million CR-V buyers in the US since 1997 is not an option, obviously. It now wears a large chrome grille up front (now with Honda’s first Automatic Shutter Grille System), joined by a pair of full-LED headlights, with the whole fascia making up a distinctive iteration of Honda’s Solid Wing Face.

2017 Honda CR-V

The CR-V’s upswept D-pillars have been retained for another generation, and so have the model’s traditional vertical tail lamps. This time though, the latter has a more swoopy and stylised appearance – almost Volvo-like in execution. A customary chrome bar adds width to the rear, along with twin tailpipes with silver surrounds. Another Honda-first is the Hands-Free Access Power Tailgate.

Under the hood is a 1.5 litre turbocharged engine – the first blown unit for a CR-V. The direct-injected DOHC unit gets a power boost over the unit in the Civic FC, rated at 190 hp at 5,600 rpm and 243 Nm of torque between 2,000 to 5,000 rpm. The turbo CR-V now features a Remote Engine Start system, a la the Civic.

Also available in the US is a 2.4 litre i-VTEC direct-injection engine, with 184 hp at 6,400 rpm and 244 Nm at 3,900 rpm. This naturally-aspirated motor, however, has been relegated to serve the only base-spec model. Both engine options are paired to a CVT transmission with Honda G-Shift control logic.

Honda says the new CR-V, in turbocharged form, will have the best fuel economy figures in the compact SUV class (as it is classified over in The Land of the Free). This is thanks to the more aerodynamic body, as well as the CVT, which is also claimed to offer “incredibly refined and responsive performance.”

Inside, the 2017 CR-V is claimed to raise the bar for interior refinement, utility and premium features. Now with a longer wheelbase – 2,660 mm vs 2,620 mm – the new SUV boasts a more spacious cabin, with “top-in-class interior space and the best rear seat legroom in its class.” It remains a five seater, though, despite earlier rumours of it gaining two extra seats.

Upping the premium factor is the use of upgraded materials throughout the interior, including an instrument panel that now has a colour screen. A new Android-based 7.0-inch touchscreen display audio system is featured here, with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto support. Dual-zone air-con, Ambient LED lighting, electronic parking brake and rear USB ports are among the new additions.

More models in the US now get the Honda Sensing advanced safety and driver-assist suite. The tech is now offered on all but the base model (which gets six airbags and electronic stability control as standard), and Honda targets over 75% of all CR-Vs sold in America will be such equipped.

Honda Sensing includes Collision Mitigation Braking (CMBS) with Forward Collision Warning (FCW) and pedestrian sensing capability, Road Departure Mitigation (RDM) with Lane Departure Warning (LDW), Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC) with low-speed follow and Lane Keeping Assist (LKAS). Blind Spot Information (BSI), Rear Cross Traffic Monitor (CTM) and Auto High Beam (HSS) headlights are also in.

Honda targets the highest available collision safety ratings for the new CR-V, including a five-star score from the NHTSA, and an IIHS Top Safety Pick+ rating. Models intended for North America will be produced at East Liberty, Ohio; Alliston, Ontario, Canada; and for the first time, Greensburg, Indiana.

The important question is, what do you think of the 2017 Honda CR-V?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• hahaha on Oct 13, 2016 at 11:10 pm

Dear Honda, please just ditch the 2.4L iVTEC option all together.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 21
    • Kesedaran Civic on Oct 14, 2016 at 5:11 am

Ya right.. honda should ditch the 2.4 engine.. me no regret after having civic 1.5 turbo.. really smooth & quick acceleration..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 43
      • Hmmm Civic..cheap plastic & body Milo tin kosong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 45
        • karam singh on Oct 14, 2016 at 12:52 pm

lol where come tin milo kosong ?
          lots of Honda got better safety rating even in IIHS small overlap crash
          some won Top safety pick + for extra safety feature such as the Honda Sensing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 27
        • Do u have a honda? Or just a kapcai?

• malaysian driver on Oct 14, 2016 at 9:16 am

Not all buyers are big fans of force induction motor. The linear acceleration and simpler mechanical setup of the good old NA is still very much prefer by many drivers.

Downsized turbocharged mill is not frugal as it seem to be, you can only achieve the advertised fuel consumption on high way cruising, in city drive and mix applications, downsized turbo actually fare much worst than a considerable larger displacement NA engine with similar output.

This is because downsized turbocharged vehicles are actually underpowered vehicle before the turbo started to spool. And by fitting a low inertia turbo, you’ll be spooling your turbo very early in the rev range to overcome the power deficit getting off the line, and by spooling the turbo by 1,500rpm, you’ll be needing the boost 90% of the time, hence you’ll end up burning more fuel than an NA counterpart.

Whatever the misleading gimmickry downsized turbocharged engine wants you to believe, one thing is for sure, you’ll be getting ample of low end torque and that’s very addictive. Apart from that, there’s not much advantage downsized turbocharged vs NA. It’s just a mean to sell more cars under the current environmental frenziness tax structure. Your 1.5 Turbo Civic will return very good fuel consumption figure cruising on PLUS, but in the horrendous KL traffic, a 1.8 Civic or a 2.0 Mazda 3 will return better figure.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 126 Thumb down 11
        • malaysian driver on Oct 14, 2016 at 9:56 am

All these downsizing frenzy spreading across the globe (with Honda finally relented and discard it’s proud NA Vtec heritage by joining the club) is like the “Emperor’s New Cloth”. We are know that turbo / force induction means squeezing denser air into the engine and denser air = burn more fuel.

However, many people just want to be politically correct and doesn’t want to be labelled as polar bear killer, hence, everybody just hop on to the bandwagon of this “downsizing religion” without questioning the validity and truth behind this seemingly moral high ground claimed by many marque to give you more power and save more fuel for the environment.

The truth is far from it. Go take a Kuga 1.5 vs 2.0 CX-5 and put the same driver behind the wheel travelling the same mix city drive and highway cruising. You’ll be surprise the 2.0 NA larger motor trump the 1.5 turbo in every way, except constant speed highway cruising (add up city drive + traffic jam, the NA still averagely return better consumption figure) Same result goes to Fiesta 1.0 / Vento 1.2 Tsi VS Mazda 2 / City, or Passat vs Teena or Sylphy VS Focus/ Jetta.

I am completely cool if these automakers just admit that downsizing is just a mean to sell more cars globally under the tax structure initiated by green activists and governments don’t want to caught being at the wrong side of the moral appeal to its voters, especially in Europe.

But want I am truly piss off is the fake moral high ground these marque claimed to be as being environmental concious to justify these downsizing trend. The truth is they just want to sell more cars under the current tax structure, behind the guise of having a good and “green” corporate image.

With all that being said, there are still some good for downsizing, namely the addictive low end torque and highway cruising efficiency. Apart from that, there’s no advantage downsized turbocharged mill could claim over bigger NA counterpart with larger displacement but similar output.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 11
          • DonkeyKong on Oct 14, 2016 at 12:21 pm

Very true. Downsized turbo’s major advantage is the broad, thick torque band from a little after idling all the way towards the redline. This allows the transmission to have tall gearing, allowing the engine to chug along at low revs while doing cruising speeds. I’ve driven a number of low-capacity turbocharged cars before and the fuel consumption in stop-and-go traffic and slow speeds around the town is simply atrocious, much higher than those of N/A cars. If a downsized turbo setup is paired with a good parallel hybrid system in which the electric motor handles the slow speed drives, then we’ll see greater benefits.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 3
          • W204 C63 AMG on Oct 14, 2016 at 1:58 pm

If you remember correctly it was the Europeans that were flooding the downsized turbo cars to the market, when the emissions tests in the US and Europe are getting stricter and stricter each year. And if you will notice that 2 main camps of manufacturers, one pursuing the hybrid route ND another the downsized turbo route to meet emission standards. While I believe the ultimate goal is fully electric, hybrid and downsized turbo are just the temporary solution before fully electric.

• The problem with tebo is when waiting for snail to spool, car will drive like a snail

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
          • Rethink on Oct 15, 2016 at 5:01 pm

To Malaysian driver: You are right to certain extend, but turbo engine design varies from one manufacturer to another. You made your comment sounds like very logical but you lack actual data to prove your points.

Few advantage of turbo + downsizing. Smaller displacement engine. This is already an advantage even starting from idle, it burns less fuel compare to higher cc. Another area is Honda 1.5 turbo has one of the highest BSFC figure for non hybrid engine at 39% (which indicates the overall efficiency of the engine).

http://advtechconsultants.com/Advantages%20&%20disadvantages%20of%20downsizing%20&%20turbocharging%20Chehroudi.pdf

So not all turbo engines are created equally.

For the actual data, just take a look at fuelly.

http://www.fuelly.com/car/honda/civic

• Wow speak like u are some sort of head engineers in big car company!!
          Your explanation simply shows that you don’t have knowledge about turbocharged engines.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 38
          • john is otak batu on Oct 14, 2016 at 4:24 pm

Who cares what all the big BLAH BLAH BLAH comments. Loaded ppl just pay any car they love, regardless turbo big advance down this cannot, that no good???!!!. Many car buyers WON’T PERFORM/APPLY rocket science theory to what they want. Bottom line is .. do u have the money to buy a good car?!! If not… sad to tell yourself go get a better pay job!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 23
        • Bob_B78 on Oct 15, 2016 at 12:15 pm

Ford power output is close to 2.5 mazda cx5 engine. You should compare with that car and not fool all the reader here with your so called technical comparison

• Recall first on Oct 14, 2016 at 9:17 am

In your dreams

• I prefer the 2.4 iVTEC DOHC NA. Don’t want turbo issues.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
        • timmy on Oct 15, 2016 at 12:45 am

Times have changed bro. Automotive tech has moved forward into the future.
          No more outdated NA engines from the past era.
          Now is the VTEC turbo era from Honda Japan and worldwide.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
          • Oh pls dont make me laugh ! HONDA NOW ONLY starting to implement Turbo ! THEY ARE ALREADY behind the past era and OUTDATED compare to german bmw,audi,merc,vw etc , VTEC TURBO ERA PFFFFT dont make me laugh … is just honda fan gay dont notice , blind blind support lel been paying tin milo the past era ~ even bezza got VVTI now LOLOLOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
      • Anwar Mahmood on Oct 14, 2016 at 10:21 am

The 2.4 CRV with 10 airbags in US sold for US$22k. It is a common car. Known as a mom’s car cause it is so cheap and good to carry kids to school.

In Malaysia, the 2.4 is about RM180k. Where is the Government promise to reduce car prices?

This 1.5 also masuk Malaysia will about RM190k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 4
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Oct 14, 2016 at 6:58 am

OMG…the taillights…scary

• DonkeyKong on Oct 14, 2016 at 12:22 pm

High tail lights are not as scary as the total lack of a rear bumper. Any minor reversing mistake will result in a dented tailgate. What is it with car designers and their hatred for rear bumpers nowadays?

• gaviny on Oct 14, 2016 at 8:01 am

Many buyers are wary of big repair costs after the warranty is over. Turbos inherently do not last forever, it’s in such an extreme environment it will wear out, not if but when.

• lovecivicnotcrv on Oct 13, 2016 at 11:16 pm

Dang it just gets uglier

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 35
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Oct 14, 2016 at 6:55 am

Agree…too busy…busy front…busy backside…no wonder its No 3 now in terms of sales in the US after RAV4 and Escape/Kuga…it used to be NO 1 but now overtaken by the above two…honda…do something…less is more…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 16
      • Sunny130Y on Oct 14, 2016 at 12:00 pm

X-Trail design still the best

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 22
        • william on Jun 02, 2017 at 7:57 pm

i believe the worst crossover design goes to subaru, follow by x-trail, crv ….

subaru<x-trail<crv<cx5<lexus,audi,bmw

• DPCraft on Oct 14, 2016 at 9:41 am

This design makes the current CR-V looks better. Maybe some will disagree of the rear hump. But I’m sure current CR-V has a more macho face & really stylish 18-Inch rims. For me thou, the rear hump is what make CR-V a CR-V!! This new design is like running out of ideas. But the interior for this new CR-V is really a huge step forward.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Limpek on Oct 14, 2016 at 11:27 am

at least this CRV tail lamp is much prettier than HRV & Civic. HRV like ultra-man & Civic like ninja, very ugly!

• john is otak batu on Oct 14, 2016 at 4:29 pm

OMG! still watching Ultra man & ninja on tv. Better change channel lah… :P

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 13, 2016 at 11:19 pm

those seats look cool

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 7
  • JDM4Life on Oct 13, 2016 at 11:19 pm

Looks very handsome,good job Honda!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 21
  • Mikey on Oct 13, 2016 at 11:25 pm

Its about time Honda(M) bring in this CRV or they will loose out to the Koreans in the SUV section.

With a pair of full-LED headlights, Honda will be the leader in bringing a < 200k SUV into M'sia. A Remote Engine Start system together with a longer wheelbase of 2,660 mm, this new SUV boasts a more spacious cabin.

Couple with six airbags and electronic stability control as standard, am sure it will be a top seller/leader in the SUV segment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
    • Why mau comment itu spec again? U ni apa? Journalist ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • Mikey on Oct 14, 2016 at 8:07 am

Sebab nak sokong Honda in particular CRV ma. Kalau Honda bawa CRV ini, saya boleh beli ma. Faham sekarang.

• Huha, Is it a crime to read/understand & then reproduce the facts to state the reason why Honda should bring this CRV to M’sia ASAP ?

If you disagree, please state your reason instead of “Baling Batu Kemudian Sembuni Tangan”.

• DPCraft on Oct 13, 2016 at 11:25 pm

Isn’t it redundant to have a 1.5t and 2.4l both producing identical outputs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • Bro driving pleasure and fuel consumption is different

• DPCraft on Oct 14, 2016 at 4:31 pm

But they should have give a 2.0turbo or at least tuned up the 1.5t to produce 200hp 260Nm.

• Torquey on Oct 13, 2016 at 11:32 pm

A heavy vehicle should be tuned to have more torque rather than increasing the hp. Why must have 190hp? 170hp is enough with more torque

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 12
    • if u want more torque , buy mazda CX-5 diesel >400 nm

• DPCraft on Oct 14, 2016 at 9:47 am

Agreed, I would have expected the 1.5t to have 260Nm, a little disappointed. But 243Nm should be better then current 2.4 in m’sia(which has everything at a very high rpm).

• unlogic on Oct 16, 2016 at 9:16 am

I think the CVT is the limiting factor. On paper-specs wise, Honda turbo engine (L15B variants) has lower torque figure than the comparable European engines.

• Missing kunta copy paste post on Oct 13, 2016 at 11:34 pm

Looks so much premium.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
  • Jimmy on Oct 13, 2016 at 11:55 pm

Many vehicles become kosong-specs once they reach USA; may be I should just delete the A to make it clearer to you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
    • Mikey on Oct 14, 2016 at 8:54 am

Ha ha ha, that’s a good one Jimmy, that is an excellent way of slapping Honda & M’sian. The Best part is they all “Like” being slapped.

• Kapchai on Oct 14, 2016 at 12:04 am

The ultimate driving machine, for school run mom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • As a driver of the current(outgoing?) 4th gen FWD 2.0l CRV few things I like to address once it lands on Malaysian shores: So the introduction of a turbine and the smaller engine is always welcome in the 5th gen, there’s never a downside to additional grunt on such a big car, considering that the current R20 does quite a good job even on the economy. most people complain about the lack of power and torque on the current R20 motor, but on the FWD model, it seems to decently propelled the car without much fuss. You’re not going to be chasing Audis on the NKVE, but it’ll get you from rest to above regulated speed without any problems contrary to popular belief. While is no Porsche Cayenne, but it’s certainly more than enough for a regular family to cruise about on their outstation adventure.

The upmarket interior is also welcome and tech and goodies all in line with the Fantastic FC Civic. Which is good because it has all of what makes the Civic great in a SUV package which is what most Malaysians wants nowadays. Few things I hope It’ll be address thou; Introduction of front sensor would be welcome as it is currently difficult to see where the hood ends in the 4th gen. And also the hondas infamous NVH issue, wind noise is clearly present at speeds above the mandated.

Other than that, the current CRV may be sedated as it is the de facto go to at if you want a good, practical SUV, that’s because it is good at being just that, a good practical SUV. It may not wow in style and carrass to the drivers input like a CX-5, nor have the bells and blings of the Sportage, but as a reliable roundabout vehicle that gets the job done, the CRV is still one of the most outstanding option, and this one seems to bring it to another level with tech.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 13
    • I agree with you!
      My mum has this current (soon outgoing too) CRV and few concern/dissatisfaction we have:
      1. steering too light for highway drive. Overly assisted makes light turn a dangerous one when u drive 110km/h on the highway
      2. inadequate safety features, esp blindspot monitoring because since this vehicle is tall, you do get big blindspot when a car, esp sedan type enters that zone
      3. we have gotten the earlier batch (first ckd)and the reverse camera doesn’t come with sensor!
      4. rattling at the front driver seat! when complaint to the service center, they will attend to it (i think it’s tightening some parts) but then as time goes, the rattling sound come back.

While you are right that this is not the car to keep up with audi/BMW/mercedes, the fact that the heavy size will instantly remind you to drive/handle it with extra care. it does have obvious body rolls when you negotiate bends. That moment you feel that you need to value life better and therefore drive safely.

it is effortless to drive but at the same time, it deprive all your driving fun. i don’t understand why some wants to put all those accessories to make a family SUV ‘sporty’!

• I’m not sure if it’s rectified or not but we have a facelift version and I don’t have that over assisted feeling as you mention, or at least I never felt as such. Perhaps is because we have an Alza too and I’ve driven Myvis before an drew that is the very definition of over assisted so much so it makes my Hondas feel like they’re tune by Porsche. Also they rectified the reverse sensor and also the quality is a notch up from the initial batch. I remembered the first time I sat in a 4th gen pre facelift and was immediately disappointed with it inside compared to the equally disappointing than new FB civic and the new Accord which was superior in quality in all aspect.

The facelift rectified a lot of the poor interior material quality and tech and by the time we got ours, leather seat was standard along with reverse camera. In may not be the most exciting car compared to the CX-5 and X-Trail, for me the CRV’s packaging, specs and of course our family being a long time Honda customer made us chose the CRV even thou I still can’t look pass that ugly arse

• Mikey on Oct 14, 2016 at 8:37 am

AVH, you are spot on with your analogy. But sad to say, we have many Honda basher here who do not like logical explanation or reasons. They just like to Bash anything that they Do not like or perceived that whatever you are saying is Bull Shit.

After all have been said/bash & done, I will never doubt that this new CRV will be a success given that the previous models is a good testament by the sheer numbers of CRV on the road.

As for the noise issue that is coming from the front large side mirror, it is common for most MPV/SUV with larger side mirror. It is tolerable compare to riding in a bus/van.

User like you know why you buy the CRV for. Its purely for its large space behind the front row & tall seating.

Lastly, I do not drive my SUV like a sedan car. It’s driving dynamics are totally different.

• Ahh the Internet is a weird and wonderful place, sometimes you learned a lot, sometimes it makes you wonder how did we progressed as a species with people like these. Honda I always hold is the most irrational hated company on the planet, they make decent cars that sometimes can be rather innovative. Is just that we compare it too much to the heydays of Soichiro Honda, Aryton Senna and VTEC. Throw in a VTEC and people complain the lack of torque, throw in a turbo and people will complain about weather it’ll be unreliable and turbo lag. Even mirror back to its heyday, honda is doing what it’s still doing, making decent cars for the market, the only lacking are the sporty stuff but with the S660, Type R and NSX, I’m seeing a changing time.

The CRV is a great car. Sure it’s not as good looking to many, because they’re either smitten by trend or maybe because that’s it’s the simplest and most unchallenged way to post an opinion on the internet an drew my do we love our 5 second of internet fame. I like my CRV as a daily roundabout where I can bring my family to outstation vacations and trips. Is tall, economical, soaks up potholes and fords the most common floods; it may not be a highway cruiser like some of the Wunderwaffe from Stuttgart or Ingolstadt, but nothing in this price is, not even the CX-5 with its upright back seats. It gets the job done without any fuss and sometimes delivers above, and for that I like this car.

• WWW11 on Oct 14, 2016 at 1:00 am

From Hideous exterior from past models to a Beautiful fresh new style. Congrats Honda Japan design and engineering team.
    190 hp 1.5L VTEC turbochaged engine & premium interior.
    It will definitely sell well here in Malaysia once it arrives with the powerful engine and etc. At long last, VTEC Turbo has kicked in the CR-V.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 11
    • timothytim on Oct 15, 2016 at 12:40 am

Your comments are absolutely right.
      The 1.5 turbocharged engine in the CR-V is insane my friend:)
      Cheaper roadtax and very powerful engine output performance figures in compact SUV class. Vtec turbo has indeed kicked in bro. Hahaha.
      Mazda and Nissan now in state of disbelief mode unless they release all new powerful turbocharged rival SUV models of their own real soon:)

• Wait for New SUV on Oct 14, 2016 at 1:46 am

This new model try to catch up with Toyota harrier but at same price with current model hopefully.If that’s so,i might wait for it coming here on 2018 maybe? Thought want to wait for CHR slated to be here too but with the UK price announced earlier make me think impossible for that cramp Toyota SUV get my attention at premium price.Maybe this new CRV much more value for money.Finger crossed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Honda Shait on Oct 14, 2016 at 5:33 am

Shamelessly copying BMW rear lights . Really thick-skinned .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 35
    • john is otak batu on Oct 14, 2016 at 5:13 pm

Wow! Spoke like u never have a copied item in your life, look at your own house lah!. It is copy of your neighbour’s neighbour. ..Shait! Betul

• I bought an xtrail last june. Have this thought i might regret it because few weeks later saw one post of the latest crv test. Thank God…i made a right decision. No matter how handsome the crv is, it is still a five seater.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 29
    • Nates on Oct 14, 2016 at 8:57 am

I also agree with u. CRV should have 7 seater like Xtrail and new mitsu Outlander. Futhermore, HRV is already 5 seater.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • Bash Basher on Oct 14, 2016 at 11:55 am

If CRV dont have 7 seats then go get a Xtrail or Outlander :)
        HRV and CRV different segment, no relation to number of seats

• Sigh This Brain on Oct 14, 2016 at 1:10 pm

All this while we know that CRV is a 5 seater.So what the issue with u? Want a 7 seater go find a 7 seater lah.CRV shouldn’t cross in your neuro cell brain at all.

• Looks good, feel good, only feels 7 seater is better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
  • Jobless on Oct 14, 2016 at 7:09 am

Since the Honda Pilot and MRV are not available in markets like Malaysia, Honda should introduce a CRV variant with extended wheel base and 7 seats. It will easily compete with the likes of Toyota Fortuner, Nissan X-trail and Mitsubishi Pajero sport all of which are more utilitarian and less refined which may not appeal to soccer mums.

• gaviny on Oct 14, 2016 at 7:59 am

civic owners here shaking to know their little turbo engine can do 190 hp, but have fun with CVT though

• -BigBalls- on Oct 14, 2016 at 8:19 am

I’m an optimist… and I can say without a doubt the rear looks like a pile of horseshit.. The copying of BMW rear lights onto a huge car like CRV just doesn’t cut it…

Otherwise the rest of the car looks ok, can’t comment on the spec since HM is known for stripping out specs before arriving Malaysia

-BigBalls-

• Ughh May Goat on Oct 14, 2016 at 1:13 pm

And the new 5 series rear light look like Honda City.Funny rite? They copying each other and still make billions while u still drive a 10 yo myvi whining about shape here and there.Funny la u ni abang

• heybadigol (Member) on Oct 14, 2016 at 8:29 am

Wow, that was unexpected. Before this we just some spy shots, but no leaked images. Then bam, Honda officially unveils it. It looks very good actually, inside and out. But the rear looks way too busy and because of that looks a bit “fat”. The rear does remind me of the CRV from 3 generations ago. But damn, those seats look thick and comfy.

So guess we know which engine will power the next new Honda, aka the Accord. If the 1.5 turbo is good enough to power a heavy SUV like the CRV, it can surely power the slightly lighter Accord.

• heybadigol (Member) on Oct 14, 2016 at 8:51 am

And oh wow, a physical knob for volume controls, yeay!! Honda finally listened to customers who have been complaining since 3 Hondas ago (Jazz, HRV, Civic). Sadly, there is still no dedicated display for the air con. You still need to press climate first which will change the screen to AC controls. But I do see physical buttons to control the temperature, so I’m guessing if you just press it, the screen will automatically change to AC controls. So at least it is one step less than on the Civic.

• 2016 KIA Sportage rear fascia. hmm

• Recall first on Oct 14, 2016 at 9:16 am

Honda owners guaranteed for recall campaign after few months of ownership

• I’m sure they have a Diesel engine somewhere.. please bring that in for more grunt

• DPCraft on Oct 14, 2016 at 12:58 pm

Yes they have a 1.6 turbo diesel with 160hp & 350Nm of torque. But it is very low revving.

• azhar on Oct 14, 2016 at 10:35 am

current CRV already spacious inside..and now the new CRV is even more spacious?..wowww!!

• topek on Oct 14, 2016 at 10:46 am

Looks like Honda BRV, suddenly premium looks cheap.

• my wife’s xc60 has 350NM of torque, which I find just adequate. for a large vehicle like this, small torque will kill the driving pleasure. Just my 2 cents

• DPCraft on Oct 14, 2016 at 1:04 pm

I think current 2.4 CR-V’s rev-hungry engine doesn’t kill driving pleasure. Although there is less low down torque. Once you hit vtec, it will put a smile on your face. The downside is not practical(as in takes more effort to get up speed).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
      • Typical old fashion mindset
        Seems like your never drive a turbocharged vehicle before
        How frequently are you going to rev it until vtec kick in?
        Ample amount of low end torque is way rewarding for daily driving
        Just take a look at conti engine
        Bmw or merc with just ~180hp simply gives 270 to 300nm of torque
        Even 316 with around 135hp gives 220nm torque
        Unlike honda tuned more for high end horsepower instead of torque. Maybe just to race? And smoke people?
        Anyway the vtec kick in isn’t what inspiring…it is user for fuel economy instead of power

• DPCraft on Oct 14, 2016 at 4:48 pm

Tbh I did have a 2.0T car before, yes is a totally different driving experience. And I also did mention that the downside of Honda’s 2.4 is you need to some revs to get simple stuff done due to lack of low end torque. But it doesn’t ruin the driving experience, it is unique in it’s own way. Fuel economy is not bad also(heck it can even be more economical compared to “some” turbo engines)

• ben yap on Oct 14, 2016 at 11:20 am

in malaysia, the 2.0 will soldier on.

• justsomepissedoffdude on Oct 14, 2016 at 12:45 pm

Damn that is one ugly rear!!!

• Henry on Oct 14, 2016 at 12:58 pm

The Mazda CX5 will have nothing to worry about.

• kopiokaokao on Oct 14, 2016 at 1:45 pm

We Malaysian can only drool on such thing because no matter how good it is, it will be priced for the exclusive few where else in US, any kerani working in pejabat can already afford one :(

• Kev76 on Oct 14, 2016 at 1:55 pm

XT will continue to sell well….

• turbo-taikuching on Oct 14, 2016 at 2:41 pm

guys, I’m worried this car will exhibit turbo leka in a few months to come after usage. Cars like BMW 316i can only go as max 154 hp, 320i 2.0 turob max 184hp. this 15.c turob max 190hp. this indicates a higher pressure is required to create the high torque and hp. if you do that everyday, the potential of turbo leakage is there. I’m not sure those hi hv bought Honda civic turbo, now maybe no issue because it’s still new, I suspect in afew months to come, turbo leaking can be expected

• Cr-v in d uk is sold with a dtec engine, 1.6 turbodiesel, 300 nm….

But u need euro 5 diesel i think….

• A 1.6 prince turbo is as thirsty as 1.8 vtec in city drive,but more powerful. In highway, 1.6 prince turbo is far better in FC with much powerful response in overtaking compare 1.8vtec. Probably it is a twinscroll turbo. Anyway,high cc NA engine at the end of life cycle despite the double triple vvti tecnology.

• So i think the best engine should be 2.0 Turbo…

• The best suv in the market now…..you will not regret buying crv….

• Mathieu on Oct 16, 2016 at 8:29 am

Plain design just like the old one. This lack of personality seems to be what people like.
    It must have a huge trunk with the new wheelbase but no third row of foldable will give some sales to the competition

• Still come out with that bullshit tail light design. Even xtrail has ditched out their tail light that trying to climb the roof which looks like old Kenari