MACC asked to probe Puspakom for corrupt practices

Transport minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai has asked the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) to investigate the allegation of corrupt practices at Puspakom, the computerised vehicle inspection centre, according to a Bernama report.

“I agree that the MACC must investigate to ensure there is no corruption among members and officers of Puspakom, but I believe Puspakom itself has done a lot to reduce the incidence of corruption at the centre,” he said when commenting on possible malpractices of Puspakom staff, particularly when inspecting commercial vehicles and taxis.

The allegation of corruption was serious, Liow said, saying the investigation is necessary in order to avoid instances of accusations against agencies such as Puspakom and the Road Transport Department (JPJ) whenever fatal accidents occured.

Within the transport ministry, two special units – the Integrity Unit and the Internal Audit Unit – have been formed to check corruption involving agencies and departments under the ministry in a “more aggressive and comprehensive manner,” Liow added.

“Through these units, we can identify issues earlier and take action faster. In terms of integrity issues, for example, if there are doubts involving supplies, the people can directly report the matter to me or the Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department, Senator Datuk Paul Low Seng Kuan,” he said.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• nabill (Member) on Jan 04, 2017 at 10:44 am

Rrrrright.. They are a big gang, u cant touch them no matter who u r… They have been corrupt since forever, and thus, have gained alot of power Long the way.. U might get one or two for show, and u guys are getting good at that recently, bt the whole entire tree is rotten… Lip service, or, election is very near…..!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 0
    • Yup. Everyone is doing lip service whenever something big happen.. Yet, they never walk the talk. The same goes to the other side as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 10
      • Kunta Kinte on Jan 04, 2017 at 3:24 pm

All talk and drama only. Puspakom and JPJ have been known to be corrupted at every level for the past 20 years. No one has ever done anything about it. MACC now just doing some drama only to excite the rakyat.

Do you know, because of corruption, so many people still die every year?

Every year, hundreds of people get knocked down by lorry hantu. They all die when they get knocked down.

But when the JPJ catches these lorry hantu drivers, they all ask for ang pau. Matter is then closed despite got no licence and no work permit to work in Malaysia.

The lorry hantu then continues his killing journey, killing even more people.

It is high time JPJ and Puspakom clean up their act.

Also I don’t see why Puspakom should be under Syed Mokhtar? Why make him richer?

Biggest joke in Malaysia is that, every new car produced in Malaysia require Puspakom certification.

Like huh? Why does a new car require certification like UK MOT? New car tak payah lah. All this just free money to Puspakom.

Car companies pass this to the car buyer as higher cost cars. In the end, we all pay for corruption and cronyism.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 1
    • Shamsubahrin on Jan 04, 2017 at 11:54 am

teksi merah Proton Iswara 1993 OK jerr

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Jan 04, 2017 at 6:49 pm

1993 Iswara and 1994 Wira all have to be scrapped and thrown into the deep sea. Please stop reviving these abomination.

• anonymous on Jan 04, 2017 at 1:38 pm

corrupted catch the corrupted?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Masl@n on Jan 04, 2017 at 11:11 am

YB DSLTL, is donation. not corruption.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
  • lilytan on Jan 04, 2017 at 11:28 am

Puspakom, golfers, civil service. It seems everything else is corrupt now but the you know who is apparently not. Diversion?

• Faiz Roslan on Jan 04, 2017 at 3:30 pm

Pengajaran Kisah Teladan:

“Jika duduk dalam rumah kaca, jangan suka main baling batu.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Tiger88 on Jan 04, 2017 at 11:33 am

Bring puspakom for example 1960’s model from junk yard by sale man and with in 2 hrs or.less could get fitness certificate that its really road worthy to own .
    This practise since first day of establishment of puspakom till dooms day .guaranteed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • RadioPassive on Jan 04, 2017 at 11:36 am

Puspakom should not even exist in the first place. shut it down. period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
  • There is another practice out there which is to swap good parts when commercial vehicles going for inspection. After inspection passed, they will swap out those good parts for bad ones . That is why we see so many bas kilang with horrible amount of black smoke on the road and you will be surprised on how they passed Puspakom test.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
    • Sam Jamal Loo on Jan 04, 2017 at 10:06 pm

And these ‘tactic’ passed down to recond car dealers that selling mainly Allfart and Wellfire (swap with clear glass for ‘pre-registration’ inspection). After that, swap out those clear glass for super dark one that people can’t even see my face.

• alldisc on Jan 04, 2017 at 12:32 pm

it is very difficult to tracked the corruption. because there is no cash transactions whatsoever within the compound. all the money will be banked into one of them, usually made by runners after which it will be split accordingly between examiner, supervisor and other clerical staff.

MACC, read this and GO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • Jeffrey Ng on Jan 04, 2017 at 2:21 pm

There is something called sting operation.

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Jan 04, 2017 at 6:58 pm

There is also something called throw out the window unwritten SOP.

• komarad on Jan 04, 2017 at 5:44 pm

you sent ur company car yourself- not passed, not roadworthy, reject… two days later you sent again this time thru runner the car approved, safe and roadworthy..hmmm..

• UMW TOYOTA on Jan 04, 2017 at 9:03 pm

totally agree..mostly with runners 2nd time test 100% pass without any repairs on springbush..just stick new reflector 80/90..new painting job..no need adjust fuel pump no need repair anythg..all retread tyres just go

• offisial wan on Jan 04, 2017 at 12:56 pm

Deyyy macha.. you again? got catch the culprits high above you first la. When the leaders are clean, then the entire country will be corrupt free. go for the root of the problem not the branches

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • UMW TOYOTA on Jan 04, 2017 at 12:59 pm

my runner need rm400 for every test on puspakom..comfirm pass even with black smoke(not fully depress gas pedal)..with botak tyre(no photo on tyres)

• It has been practice for decades and many 3rd party self employed runner who doing the job to earn extra with officer.

• Andrekua on Jan 04, 2017 at 1:30 pm

April Fools comes early this year… today is January 4th not April 1st …

Haihhh… our minister…

• Kurnia on Jan 04, 2017 at 2:26 pm

Why not open up the market instead of allowing DRB owned Puspakom to monopolise vehicle inspection. In Australia, inspections can be done at private workshops which are appointed by the road and transport authority. This allows more ppl to have a share of the cake rather than just one single crony.

• Sgt Scoop on Jan 04, 2017 at 2:55 pm

It’s very simple. Allow the Police to inspect vehicles for roadworthiness at checkpoints. If the vehicle isn’t roadworthy but has a puspakom cert, arrest the issuing officer for corruption. All you need is a clean police force. Oh.

• This one started during TDM time. What do u expect? TFi want to do, they should not be monopolised by a single party. Should allow at least 5-6 parties.

But no.. Don’t let private workshop do the inspection.

• Westerners never envy Malaysia. on Jan 04, 2017 at 3:34 pm

Why motorcycles never need to go for inspection? majority of the motorcycles on the road are equivalent to Euro 0 compliance especially those low cc bikes.

• Mikey on Jan 04, 2017 at 5:11 pm

I betcha if Puspakom is run by a Business model like Microsoft, most old & run down lorries/taxis/buses will NOT make it to the road.

Probing Puspakon is NOT the answer nor will it saves lives. There is a saying – “The Fish Rot from the Head”.

• Malaysian just love to Probe on Jan 04, 2017 at 6:44 pm

the govt always probe, probe, probe, probe here and there……Year in, Year out. Yada yada here and there.

At the end, nothing reported, nothing found and no action taken. Really.

Me not surprised anymore, anyway.

I supposed the govt simply love to probe.

The rakyat is definitely “probed” (aka screwed)

• Mr.Liow, Stop making SpeecheS and take action la! Everytime something happen you just make speech. Take action and then only make speech please

• Ya ka tu? on Jan 04, 2017 at 6:49 pm

Yes, i heard a lot about this puspakom thingie. Lots of my friends say its corrupted. the second hand cars sold in the market which so called ‘cleared from accident’, is actually lies.

• Fucukyongtaufoo on Jan 04, 2017 at 7:23 pm

TUTUP jer Puspakom dan jabatan yang korup… Jangan bazir masa dan duit rakyat buat pemeriksaan palsu untuk wayang.

• Bernard on Jan 05, 2017 at 8:20 pm

Msia boleh !