SPYSHOTS: Honda City facelift uncovered in India

The Honda City facelift will make its world debut in Thailand tomorrow, but here is the refreshed B-segment sedan naked in the metal. Not in the Land of Smiles though, but in India, where it will surface in this quarter. These pics are from Team-BHP.com, and they’re of the car undergoing an ad shoot.

Unlike the official teasers shown so far, which focus on the City’s new face, these pics show the City facelift’s sides and rear end. We see new (and very elaborate) design alloy rims on the profile and redesigned tail lamp clusters on this India-spec car.

The rear lights seen here have a ‘white’ upper portion, which was not present in the Honda Thailand teasers. In the latter, the tail lamps look largely similar to the pre-facelift City’s.

There’s also a boot spoiler with an integrated third brake light and a sporty-looking lower rear bumper with mesh-textured black centre section flanked by reflectors. Not seen here is the front end, which takes after the bold face of the latest Civic FC. A chrome strip on the top edge of the headlamp cluster (which mimic the ‘scales’ of the Civic’s LEDs) and gentle L-shaped LED position lamps are inspired by the bigger sedan.

GALLERY: Honda City facelift official teaser

GALLERY: Current Honda City

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Lee Kum Kee on Jan 11, 2017 at 3:17 pm

For lesser $$$. rather buy 1 Persona + Saga..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
  • javfan on Jan 11, 2017 at 3:24 pm

Just bring it here already. Nobody in the world love Honda as much as south East Asians do. Look at the 2016 Honda world market share… even the Japanese don’t really like it! LOL

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 11, 2017 at 3:37 pm

We have to thank this car cause it is this car that forced pariah umw to give VSC in their Altis last year.

If not for this City, UMW would still be conning Malaysians and selling cars with no VSC and 2 airbags for RM80k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
    • Bashers says why tease here, tease there, tease until Matt comes home from Mars. Just launch and sell it today alredi! Oh wai…

• I think you meant Vios

• Last year UMWT updated the lousy Vios with ugly DRLs, new engine and finally VSC. Better than nothing.

Current Honda City is already very well specced with VSC and 6 airbags for top spec V. Logically the facelift would spread out welcome improvements to the entire range.

Meanwhile, ETCM is having their 5th brainstorming meeting on how designing yet another set of bodykits and to slap on a GT-R badge on the Almera and call it a performance car to appeal to malaysian B-segment buyers, inspired by their recent stupidity with the Teana fitted with ah-beng bodykits and ugly-ass rims.

• Doc Sin on Jan 11, 2017 at 3:45 pm

So looks like, it’s still a Honda City.

• Is the white car without a number plate in the second photo (probably a Suzuki) an unlaunched car too?

• kzm (Member) on Jan 11, 2017 at 4:19 pm

But still use old engine..the engine is as old as campro.

• Yep. Nobody persoal why civic 1.8L SOHC still in use after 4/5 generations.

• crash on Jan 11, 2017 at 9:32 pm

You wouldn’t know. Maybe who knows Honda will throw in the 1.0L Vtec turbo from the European Civic. RM20 on annual roadtax only. Who dont want ?

• Mikey on Jan 11, 2017 at 4:25 pm

What i say in the video is Honda is offering 2 engines i-VTEC & D-VTEC for India market.

The i-VTEC has only 145 nm while the D-VTEC(Diesel) has 200 nm. Both have 1.5 liter engine mated to 5-speeder Manual or CVT.

With 200 nm of torque, U don’t need a rocket scientist 2 tell U which one is the better buy.

• You need an environmentalist to tell you which, although yes torque is usable, that really is just that as diesel causes more direct harm to personal health than petrol and also if not refine engineered, noisier. Also even thou it pulls more, is hardly faster.

Pick diesel, So basically you’ll be enjoying all your nice low end torque all the way to the hospital to check up on your lung cancer.

• Mikey on Jan 12, 2017 at 9:18 am

Thanks for dropping by AVH & thanks for sharing your thoughts too. I believe with the latest engine like common rail direct injection & Euro-5 diesel, a diesel engine used their fuel much more efficiently than equivalent-size petrol engines.

Pound for pound & like for like, a diesel is more efficient & pollutes less. This is because a diesel engine unlike a gas engine does not limit the amount of air that gets to the combustion chamber & most new diesels are turbo charged to match air to fuel more efficiently.

A diesel engine match air to fuel, not fuel to air like gasoline engines. A gas engine needs 14.7 to 1 air to fuel to burn clean & if anything alters that ratio it will burn dirty. A diesel in comparison can operate on a wide variety of A/F ratios and still burn clean.

Lastly, if you are referring to NOX in diesel engine, a petrol engine can produce NOX too if the A/F ratio becomes lean. Both systems can be filtered through a catalytic converter to reduce these emissions.

• Prabanathan Muthusamy on Jan 11, 2017 at 4:37 pm

We all know Vios is the undisputed king of the road in this segment.Reliable engine,spacious,powerful and EEV status.See how many this car on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 26
  • mesinrumput on Jan 11, 2017 at 4:44 pm

suzuki!

• Kunta bin Katak on Jan 11, 2017 at 5:13 pm

Thumbs up Honda. Just wish that you could put in a light pressure turbo into this B segement, like the VW Vento TSI. Anyway this is still miles better than outdated Vios.

• Not Toyota Fan on Jan 11, 2017 at 5:23 pm

Habis lah Vios. Can tapau already.

• marieta on Jan 11, 2017 at 6:51 pm

Exterior looks decent and modern but the interior looks cheap and easily rattle. They should rework on it.

• B. Unggul on Jan 11, 2017 at 9:01 pm

Wow, i thought I saw Proton Iriz ‘bunga raya’ sportrim there…

• Jay Welinkar on Jan 11, 2017 at 10:36 pm

This new Honda City is a world apart from the 2nd generation Honda City, which resemebeled a fire cracker from the back. What a laugh that was ! It’s bizarre, but car designers can actually make their small & medium segment cars a lot more appealing with a lot more features, but they are probably scared that if the small car looks great, it will stop people buying the next model up (medium). So the best looks are incorporated into the big(est) executive segment model available. There should never be a a price on safety features. Car companies are playing with people’s lives, and this is unscrupulous. Because a man can only afford the basic model, the car company is forcing him to risk his and his families safety. It’s about time some safety features are included mandatorily at little or no price hike. This Honda City looks like the one designed for the China market. It’s main competitor would probably be the Toyota VIOS, let’s see them face to face, price, offers, specs etc. I suspect the Honda may come out tops in Malaysia.

• there are already some pics on honda thailand facebook posted by some readers since yesterday ^^

side profile still same

• Megane on Jan 12, 2017 at 11:23 am

The famous senseless longkang side profile is still there . SMH. Bravo Honda . That would reduce the drag coefficient significantly and let City cut through traffic like butter .