2017 Toyota Vios facelift officially launched in Thailand

Toyota Motor Thailand has officially launched the facelifted Toyota Vios, with the B-segment sedan being offered in four variants there – 1.5J, 1.5E, 1.5G and 1.5S – with prices ranging from 609,000 baht (RM76,621) to 789,000 baht (RM99,268).

Under the bonnet, all variants are powered by the 2NR-FBE 1.5 litre four-cylinder Dual VVT-i engine, which the Vios received as part of an update in March last year in Thailand, and in October for Malaysia. The mill provides 108 hp at 6,000 rpm and 140 Nm at 4,200 rpm, with drive being sent to the front wheels exclusively through a CVT automatic gearbox with seven virtual ratios (no manual option).

Of course, the biggest (and most polarising) change as you can tell is in the styling department, with the Vios having a lot in common with the Chinese-market Vios launched at the 2016 Beijing Auto Show, and showing hints of the US-market 2018 Camry. At the front, there are new projector headlamps with integrated LED positioning lights, a prominent T-shaped grille and repositioned LED fog lamps (with new LED DRLs beside them).

As for the rear, the taillights are now LED-type units with revised graphics, and now feature a thinner chrome bootlid bar linking them. The bumper has also been restyled to provide a less “busy” look than before, with more fluid rear fog lamps. Other exterior features include 15- or 16-inch alloys, and a reverse camera (depending on variant).

Compared to the exterior, there doesn’t appear to be any significant changes on the inside, as far as we can tell. Items such as the double-DIN seven-inch touchscreen audio system, keyless operation, leather/fabric seats, multi-info driving display and automatic air-conditioning (not available in Malaysia) all continue to feature here. The Thailand-spec Vios also comes with four different interior themes, which are dependent on variant.

Safety-wise, the Vios comes standard with dual front airbags, ABS with EBD, brake assist, a collision safety body (GOA), Isofix rear child seat anchors, as well as Vehicle Stability Control (VSC) and traction control.

Customers in Thailand will get to choose from six exterior body colours – Red Mica Metallic, Quartz Brown Metallic, Super White, Silver Metallic, Gray Metallic and Attitude Black Mica. With the launch of the new Vios in Thailand, we’d expect UMW Toyota to bring in the more fearsome-looking model soon. Interested?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• SO UGLY!!! KIA LOOKS BETTER

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 21
    • Prabanathan Muthusamy on Jan 23, 2017 at 2:16 pm

What the use of Kia looks better but no RV,no reliability,no durability and troublesome for maintenance? Toyota is proven and never disappointing to own.That’s why Toyota is number one in the world.It’s invented and driven by first world country and developed nation.Number one in most of rich countries in the world.Honda,Perodua and proton are for poor people in poor countries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 110
      • Kunta Kinte on Jan 23, 2017 at 4:08 pm

Malaysians now boycott Toyota la. Every Malaysian including Toyota fans now know that for 20 years, Toyota refused to give VSC in Malaysian cars whilst the same cars globally had VSC and more than 6 airbags.

End of 2016, UMW had no choice but to give VSC in all their cars cause sales was super bad.
        This shows what a dishonest and irresponsible company UMW is.

Malaysian government announced already if cars had VSC, 45% of all accidents and deaths can be prevented.

Since Toyota was No 1 non national car for over 10 years, imagive the hundreds of thousands of lives we could have saved if UMW had given us VSC 15 yrs ago.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 7
        • Albert on Jan 23, 2017 at 5:39 pm

Any Toyota marketed by UMW wont be cheap.
          Mr Kurusamy..will price it higher to please his bosses cos UMW is exiting the oil and gas business after some hefty losses lately.They think the car will sell by itself.
          This is a myth…In fact,Honda cars sell by itself now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
          • Prabanathan Muthusamy on Jan 23, 2017 at 11:02 pm

That is your problem with UMW.But for Toyota Malaysian market are forgettable.It’s not contributing much to it’s worldwide sales.Toyota much appreciate wiser Thailand consumers coz everything in Thailand is about Toyota.The people in land of smile smiling and proud driving Toyota while in Malaysia,the land of losers driving Honda and proton.That’s why these people so grumpy.Getting salary to pay junks for 9 years.I can see all Honda drivers regret faces anywhere.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 38
          • Prabanathan Muthusamy on Jan 24, 2017 at 4:00 pm

Like i said if you can’t afford Toyota,keep driving your 2nd hand down proton or Honda.Now another excuse is mixing oil and gas with Toyota? C’mon lah bro.We talking about car not oil,gas,petrol pump,stationary book store whatsoever.Always another lame excuse to make yourself proud of driving junks eh? Not afford is not afford = poor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
        • I can’t say is uglier. But is still UGLY!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
          • Prabanathan Muthusamy on Jan 23, 2017 at 11:05 pm

Are you telling us your face? It’s getting uglier when you drive a proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 39
        • MooDI on Jan 23, 2017 at 8:21 pm

https://www.miros.gov.my/1/publications.php?id_page=19

One can have all kinds of cutting edge tech under the hood… but not knowing how to use it does nothing at all.

Better attend to the facts that malaysians love tailgating, road-hogging, overloading…

• Prabanathan Muthusamy on Jan 23, 2017 at 11:18 pm

Where did your get the fact Malaysian boycott Toyota? Not bcoz Malaysian no longer afford premium brand like Toyota? Just say la you not afford Toyota then you condemn here and there about Toyota.Malaysian government said? Since when people believe what government is saying? Government so good meh? We all knew since independence government had lied to Malaysian lah.Bcoz of your bad attitude on roads,poor judgement and poor driving skill you blame Toyota for people’s death? This is what i said about Malaysian 3rd mentality.Always blame others but can’t see own weakness.Really jokers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 25
          • AntiToyota on Apr 05, 2017 at 9:52 am

LOL. Toyota is premium brand. Tell this to your kids as bedtime story. You’re the one don’t afford to get German cars and youre thinking toyota is premium brand? Toyota is for poor people in overseas. Proton safety and design way much more better than toyota. #lifeless #toyotafanboi #bedtimestory

• Katak di bawah tempurung

• iqmal on Jan 24, 2017 at 5:33 pm

Terok betul lah…nk kondem je tau…kalau rasa x suka tgk keta proton or honda…pegi la tempat yg x de dua jenama kereta ni…pergi lah yg ade toyota jekk…kondem kondem jenama org…toyota pon bukan sempurna sgt ..tu hah…india tu…tata je ade…x nk pulak kondem…bia lah proton atau honda buat keje dorang sendiri…takyah nk berlagak pandai sgt…macam dia buat semua bende…

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 23, 2017 at 2:47 pm

With this new model, i will be able to get my 5th Lexus soon. Work hard you kimchi driver

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 56
      • Albert on Jan 23, 2017 at 5:35 pm

Same loor,if u can afford a fifth Lexus,u wont be toiling to sell Toyota cars.
        U would be doing business big time.
        Believe me,I dont have to sell even 1 unit of Rolls Royce,cos your truly got a fleet of Lexus and Rolls Royce.Wanna see my fleet?

• karam singh on Jan 24, 2017 at 3:16 am

LOL
        OLD Toyota RV going down fast as older Toyota does not have VSC, must have safety equipment.
        Bye2 Toyota

• Mohd Faiz on Jan 23, 2017 at 5:00 pm

Best Handling FWD car in our B-segment, if you can’t afford or dislike the RWD gt86, this is the answer to the mass market, practical yet affordable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 37
      • Proton Preve is way better in handling than Vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
        • Prabanathan Muthusamy on Jan 23, 2017 at 11:08 pm

What? That generic pretend turbo? Oil gasper faster than pee.Plastic everywhere.Fire hazard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 23
          • It says better handling… mentioning other issue is like agreeing that preve drives better. Mcpherson vs torsion – everybody know the result

• Prabanathan Muthusamy on Jan 24, 2017 at 12:39 pm

Then why people shun the better handling proton? Worldwide sales less than 80k units.99.99% sales from Malaysia and rest of it from Malaysia embassies been forced to buying proton.Ask yourself.Bad quality,bad RV,bad services.Waste money to drive.Like feeding a goldfish but the fish keep eating and eating eventually the fish bloated and the tummy bursh.Death.That’s proton.

• Mdhafizh on Jan 23, 2017 at 9:43 pm

Best handling? Everyone know this car handles like sampan.

• AntiToyota on Apr 05, 2017 at 9:54 am

You nevery drive mazda 2, ford fiesta, Peugeot 208 before ? Kesiannya

• MAHAL on Jan 23, 2017 at 5:14 pm

RM99,268?????????

a B-segment car Vios cost at about 100K? and this is the price of vios in a country THAT HAS NO PROTON

How is this possible???

No Proton but still expensive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
      • Prabanathan Muthusamy on Jan 23, 2017 at 10:53 pm

Where were you for the past 2 years? Ringgit depreciated 35%,blame car is expensive? Most places in southern Thai no longer accepting ringgit from Malaysian coz Bath increase 25% vs Ringgit.Yes proton are junks only deserve to throw inside ocean but why must point your anger towards Toyota? Btw if you are rich anytime Toyota is not a problem to own like the rest of the world.But from your comment I can tell you are poor only deserve to drive low resale value 2nd or 3rd hand Honda or proton.Toyota is for smart and classy minded first class people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
    • ask Toyota employ you as design engineer

• Prabanathan Muthusamy on Jan 24, 2017 at 4:05 pm

Vios is much better than City and Civic.That’s for sure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • Took them six months to release the CVT one, I think will only arrive here around September.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Deepdream on Jan 23, 2017 at 1:19 pm

Look like old mazda 5

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
  • Anything But Toyota, Greedy Honda on Jan 23, 2017 at 1:24 pm

From Dugong to Catfish, still two airbags? Even Persona got six airbags ok! Hahaha

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 6
    • Kunta Kinte on Jan 23, 2017 at 2:57 pm

UMW bring this car in, it will be close to RM90k. Only a real bodoh will buy this car at RM90k.

Better to buy a Nissan Teana. RM120k after discounts comes 6 airbags, leather seats, big D segment car vs small tiny B segment Vios, reverse cam, etc etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 7
      • Anything But Toyota, Greedy Honda on Jan 23, 2017 at 4:01 pm

UMW will increase price blaming the Ringgit
        Last last UMW later got no sales, they will reduce price claim that they got magic “EEV certification”. Seriously don’t waste money. Pakai Xiaomi cukup. This year we sacrifice new car smell and just continue drive our old cars. Fuel naik okay rather than paying hundreds or thousands per month on something that depreciates and has no value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 5
        • Prabanathan Muthusamy on Jan 24, 2017 at 4:08 pm

That’s a poor human talk.No ambition and hopeless.Bangla and Nepalese earn much higher than you i guess.Poor people go back living in jungle

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
      • Nonsense on Jan 25, 2017 at 7:53 am

Based on your statement, all B segment buyers including City are also bodoh?

• Still got 2-3 airbags? come on lah toyota!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 4
  • Losanantara on Jan 23, 2017 at 1:27 pm

There r PPL who proposed to stop buying cars for five years until they drop their price. My car is 11 years old now and I have no plan to buy anything until it runs down to the earth. Let’s fight together folks. Let them bleed to death….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 6
    • In fact ..keep your car now if it still running good and serve the purpose. Especially if you still have loan to service..bad economy is one thing but buying new car burden you financially unless you high income earner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
      • Prabanathan Muthusamy on Jan 23, 2017 at 4:38 pm

You only live once.Why must keep using old proton,perodua or Honda while you can spend your money driving the best in the world? Drive Toyota save your face from being laughed by the world.Don’t be the lowest uncivilised human in the 3rd world country.Be like Japanese and American

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 67
        • Joseph Jamesson on Jan 23, 2017 at 5:41 pm

Mr. Muthusamy for the presidency! Save our Face people, save the Hooman kind!

• Hakimi Basher on Jun 19, 2018 at 2:36 pm

That guy above judging people by their cars and refuse to accept Malaysian nowadays think about safety features.Come on lah,I too can afford a vios but I bought Honda for safety reasons.I admit toyota have better handling and much fun but again i can get more with honda with the price

• SpongeWai on Jan 23, 2017 at 1:36 pm

so the facelift has arrived

no big deal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • Prabanathan Muthusamy on Jan 23, 2017 at 1:47 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 127
    • Watch and see who come out on top..City will prevail as always.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
    • Tin kosong over priced vios on Jan 23, 2017 at 9:42 pm

This Praba needs a reality check. Perhaps he has not driven a turbocharged car. The vios comes with a NA Engine, it is not even using direct injection technology, how outdated this car is! And they ‘upgraded’ the 4 speed (super ECT – wow, I’m impressed!!) to a virtual 7 speed CVT, Toyota can’t even put in a real , heck, 6 speed torque convertor auto into this tin kosong car. Praba we know you are consoling yourself because you already invested in a Vios. Say as much as you want, consumers are smart enough these days. If you want Japanese, everyone knows, it’s a common sense, that a city or Mazda 2 is the clear winner. However, let me tell you this, the Vento with a turbo stratified injection engine can bungkus your vios anytime. Period.

• Prabanathan Muthusamy on Jan 24, 2017 at 3:47 pm

All Toyotas are direct injection decades ago Mr Tin.Meanwhile latest protons are still using timing belt.If 4 speed is good,why must change? Upgraded to 7 speed is another bonus to Toyota owners.And you talking about vento? Why many VW showrooms empty? Yeah right,after push acceleration that boxy vento make eyes sore for breakdown in many highways causing traffic jams.Only good for towing truck companies making business.Thanks VW for supporting independent after sales services.Volkwagen? My armpit ticklish now

• honda malaysia city v spec can give auto aircond whereby toyota highspec doesn’t want to give? why?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
    • Stranger on Jan 23, 2017 at 2:11 pm

But City E and S so bald no safety. 2 airbags, no VSC, worse than Vios J

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
    • theanswer on Jan 23, 2017 at 3:22 pm

low spec can give esc..but city s got no esc? city got 6 airbags..vios trd got only 2? come on la..the choice is in the hands of the consumer. just choose the best for you.

• Prabanathan Muthusamy on Jan 23, 2017 at 4:19 pm

99.99% of car never use of airbags and 0.01% having faulty airbags.It is like airbags is nonsense and useless in Malaysia road.Who need airbags if u drive 50-60km/h average? With Malaysia traffic jam everyday going to work,go balik kampung long holiday also all highway and road having mannequin challenge.Tell me when the airbags apply? Are driving 150km/h everyday?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 48
        • you’ll need airbags when other cars driving 150km/h hentam you from the back. Just because you drive extremely carefull doesn’t mean that others will

• Prabanathan Muthusamy on Jan 24, 2017 at 3:49 pm

Henram from behind can make airbags deploys eh? You watching hollyweed movies too much Mr No iQ

• camtakpro on Jan 24, 2017 at 8:23 am

Then why put useless rear fog lamp, not one but two, where it is 100% never use? Its usefulness is far worse than airbags. Some more need to spend money on making video on how to use rear fog lamp.

Rear fog lamp won’t get you sales.

• no one want to use any passive safety features on road, nut once you use it, you will know the value

• AntiToyota on Apr 05, 2017 at 9:55 am

Dei. Actually who you are. I think if volvo listened your opinion means they’ll tutup the company kot

• Such a failure car to not have 7 air-bags as standard or even an option.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
    • kakato on Aug 03, 2017 at 4:49 pm

when is Malaysia umw going to launch this new face-lift in Malaysia?

• ah bengs would love this car

they sure get the TRD kit version XD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Ayen 3.0 on Jan 23, 2017 at 2:10 pm

The price almost the same with malaysia.. btw with this new vios, toyota just raise a bar in this car segment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 21
  • Bernard on Jan 23, 2017 at 2:27 pm

Such an under powered car with so few airbags!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • Aesthetically challenged car.

• jinggo on Jan 23, 2017 at 3:44 pm

Toyota very high ego.. they never learn their mistake.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • Prabanathan Muthusamy on Jan 23, 2017 at 4:48 pm

What mistake? It was Malaysian mistake to buy fragile brands like proton.Tell me which country buying proton since 80’s? Why must drive proton and facing the shame for owning the car? Honda not a top 5 brand in Japan itself! Even Japanese shun Honda.But here this 3rd world mentality citizen praised Honda like pharaoh.Proton is another long list failure of Mahathir coz everyone think he is so powerful like pharaoh but look at him now.Pharaoh dethrone by bigger pharaoh easily.That’s proton people!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 33
      • Honda is second best selling in Japan, study 1st before come out with a statement

• AntiToyota on Apr 05, 2017 at 9:57 am

Again you comparing toyota with proton? Why not compare your premium brand with volkswagen, ford or Nissan?

• positive man on Jan 23, 2017 at 5:09 pm

yes this car is very reliable in city driving

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Leonardo on Jan 23, 2017 at 5:47 pm

Tell me it’s a bad dream?

• APA la vios on Jan 23, 2017 at 9:13 pm

The sunshade still lacks light..Some thing can be found in some older cars..Small feature but this kinda nifty things definitely brings pleasure and usefulness. Of cos.. ppl nowdays find engine start button sooo useful!

• Aero (Member) on Jan 23, 2017 at 10:39 pm

For a company which depends on resale value as a key USP, this 2017 Vios will surely upset many 2016 Vios owners. When UMWT brings this new 2017 Vios here, no doubt RV for the 2016 Vios will fall even lower than usual.

However, I don’t think it’s entirely Toyota’s fault, because last year, the Thai government began enforcing a new CO2 emissions-based tax system. TMT was forced to discontinue their ancient Vios engine and 4-spd auto, and fit in a newer engine with CVT to meet the tougher standards… and UMWT/ ASSB imports Vios engines from Thailand. This 2017 Vios was likely supposed to be the mid-life Vios facelift model, not the 2016 model.

Anyway, personally, I think the front design of this latest Vios is too polarising; the back looks okay. It would be hard to recommend this over the new 2017 City facelift. And 2 airbags across the range is disappointing, but not surprising… I doubt the Vios was ever designed to have 6 airbags anyway. Unlike the City, Toyota does not sell the Vios in Japan, Western Europe, North America or even Australia… therefore, no need to pass strict safety standards. The Vios is an ASEAN car with ASEAN safety standards. Sigh…

• DUNIA on Jan 23, 2017 at 11:59 pm

The front grill for toyota cars are getting weirder day by day, i think they have merged design teams from toyota and lexus to save cost.

• Incarnation of 2nd Gen Vios! Toyota! “Reverse Your Drive Experience”

• CHONG WAN KONG on Jan 24, 2017 at 1:55 pm

chassis frame pakai balik 2008 version rojak current version grill and lights = 2017 new version vios !!