Next Nissan GT-R to be “exactly what customers want”

Some cars on planet Earth need no introduction, and the Nissan GT-R is one of few. The R35 model has been in production for well over a decade, and while it still looks as sleek as it did when it debuted 13 years ago, it’s high time “Godzilla” gets a do-over.

In a recent interview with Digital Trends, Nissan GT-R chief product specialist, Hiroshi Tamura revealed that there is potential for the development of high-performance electric cars. He said “because of Nissan Intelligent Mobility, we could do that. We are leaders in EVs. But is that really good for the customer? This is the primary consideration.”

“It all depends on the customer’s voice. If a customer wants an EV, I say why not? The next generation of sports cars will be EVs.” I didn’t say that, but why not study all of the solutions for customers? So if customers really want to have an EV, I will do that. If customers want an internal-combustion engine, I have to do that. I have to think about the customer’s voice, real customers. Meaning buyers. That’s it,” he added.

At 13-years old, the GT-R is very old by normal industry standards. Sure, they remain as competent sports cars, but rivals keep evolving – since 2007, the Porsche 911, with which the GT-R was benchmarked against, has undergone two generational changes.

However, Tamura seemed unfazed, even in the face of disruption brought upon by the rampant proliferation of hybrid and full electric sports cars. “I’m not arrogant, but I don’t compare the GT-R to any other vehicle. It has its own standalone philosophy and direction. Our competitor is our previous GT-R. We always chase after our own goal, the pursuit of driving pleasure, meaning we compete with the old model.”

When asked if the R35 GT-R is still good enough, he said “it’s always not good enough, but how can I say… In, 1989 we launched the car, R32 Skyline GT-R. Then the R33 Skyline GT-R, which started in 1995. Then we have the 1999 R34 Skyline GT-R. But they all used the same RB26 engine, twin-turbo, and AWD system.”

“From 1989 to the end of 2002, we didn’t change anything about this platform except the wheelbase length. From 2007 to now is 13 years. So it’s not so long. In a sports car, some matureness is very important. Customers want this kind of sports car attitude. Of course, from a journalist’s standpoint, you say ‘brand new’. This is a paradox, you know.”

Moving forward, Tamura noted that the GT-R’s approach will always be centred around total balance management. “Balance is a sometimes-boring keyword, but it’s very important for the power, brake system, aerodynamics. This combination is important for a sports car,” he explained. Future GT-Rs will continue to be developed based on data and learnings derived from the automaker’s motorsports exploits.

As for pricing, “Mr GT-R” said the cars have to be kept at a certain prize zone. It’s a paradox because when Nissan makes a huge investment, sometimes the car’s price goes up. “But if we are able to keep an appropriate investment, we are able to keep the same price zone.”

“I need to be careful because customer needs to mean buyer customer. That’s a big headache point. For example, 370Z, we must keep entry prices under US$40,000 (RM167k). We can’t jump into the US$50,000 (RM208k) to US$60,000 (RM250k) range,” he said.

Meanwhile, Nissan design boss Alfonso Albaisa last year said that the next GT-R won’t take cues from the limited-run GT-R50, adding that it “has to be its own special car,” and it has to be “the fastest super sports car in the world.”

Although Nissan is still undecided on the powertrain, Albaisa admitted that electrification is a possibility, albeit not confirmed. “Whether we go to a lot of electrification or none at all, we can achieve a lot, power-wise. But we are definitely making a new ‘platform’ and our goal is clear: GT-R has to be the quickest car of its kind. It has to ‘own’ the track. And it has to play the advanced technology game; but that doesn’t mean it has to be electric,” he explained.

GALLERY: Nissan GT-R 50th Anniversary Edition

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Osaka boy on May 13, 2019 at 12:30 pm

I Want A GT-R, I Want A GT-R, I Want A GT-R,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • R j S B on May 13, 2019 at 2:37 pm

I wonder when our Proton will be like this world-class brand, Nissan. As a game changing company, Nissan make cars to be exactly what customers want like their upcomimg GT-R. Look at our Proton, only make game over cars that nobody actually want and blame us for not being patriotic. Lucky we have a second national carmaker, Perodua, that is making game changing cars for us to enjoy. I cannot imagine what will happen if Perodua doesn’t exists in the first place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 25
      • Celup King on May 13, 2019 at 6:51 pm

If Perodua didn’t exist we would have flying cars long ago. We would have ‘own’ the skies. Too bad we got a rebadger for 27 years, and not a good one at that job with lousy quality & lousy specs. Totally failed.
        If only we didn’t have Perodua…. sigh.

• Name one game changing car from P2.

• panjang on May 14, 2019 at 9:58 am

What will happen if Perodua dont exist?

Easy..Proton will still be sold. Since there is no more national car, gomen had no choice but to bow to pressure and reduce import tax for cars OR give better incentive for foreign brand to manufacture and sell cars here. After all they want to remain in power.

We will be driving better car than what Perodua give us today.

• Osaka boy's Father on May 14, 2019 at 2:39 pm

what a bout a Benz ? + a Rolex ?

• Happy on May 14, 2019 at 5:26 pm

Farmers sell more rambutans(Perodua) but that don’t mean it is a better fruit compared to a single Musang King(Proton). People mouth water to get Musang King(Proton) but only can afford for rambutans(Perodua) so not many gets Musang King.

• CrappyLikes on May 13, 2019 at 1:06 pm

I want a cheap affordable Gtr. Nissan plzzzz build n design exactly Gtr look but wif Almeera 1.5 engine inside. So that i can buy cos cheap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
    • Just because you are cheap, doesn’t mean Nissan need to cheapen the GTR for you. What’s next? Ferrari with 1.5L engine so you can afford it?

• the driver on May 13, 2019 at 2:13 pm

I want a Carlos Ghosn edition please – goes like stink

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 13, 2019 at 2:15 pm

where is the manual gearbox

• panjang on May 13, 2019 at 3:12 pm

Jepunis really know how to talk pusing2…
    One moment said not comparing GTR to other vehicle except the previous gen.
    Then said new GTR goal will be to be the quickest of its kind and own the track.

No wonder Ghosn is arrested.

All good things will come to an end and the ‘R36’ could possibly be the last GTR. Why?
    Because it will be totally different from the previous version..its like Godzilla give birth to a swan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 11
  • vVivi zurianti on May 13, 2019 at 3:34 pm

The next gen GTR……tree hugger version?

• Darren on May 14, 2019 at 12:22 am

800hp+….4 wheel drive/steer….big exhaust…and lots of buttons so it looks like the starship enterprise……carbon fiber….self adjusting tinting windows…..make it so .

• bull hat on Feb 29, 2020 at 4:01 am

dude is my car