Proton website now supports voice activation for X70

Proton’s attempts to venture deeper into the tech side of things has led to the creation of a new feature on its website – voice activation. Yes, you can now use voice commands to navigate through the X70 on Proton’s website, but the function is currently supported on any Android mobile devices, as well as Google Chrome desktop browser.

Unfortunately, users with iOS devices or Safari on MacOS will have to wait until further notice. Chrome on MacOS works, though. Now, the voice activation function is only limited to the X70 model, and it all starts with the familiar “Hi Proton” command. Interestingly, it’s not a full voice controlled system. You’ll still need to click (or tap if you’re on the phone) on the microphone icon, before being prompted to seven preset commands.

It’s far from the most sophisticated thing you’ve experience, but it’s convenient and easy to use. Just remember to enable the microphone function when prompted and you’re good to go. You may start experiencing it, here. What do you think? Cool, right?

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Edwin L on Mar 04, 2020 at 6:35 pm

X70 high tech, why wanna buy CRV and CX5 ..

• vivizurianti on Mar 04, 2020 at 7:42 pm

Now, Abang abang handsome,, now can be cool too, with their voice activation function.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Mar 04, 2020 at 8:57 pm

This idea was probably given by Geely or China to Proton to do. Just like the fact that Geely and China told Proton that SUV has been the trend for the past 20 years and it is viable to sell SUVs.

• Easy to use on Mar 04, 2020 at 9:42 pm

Yeah very cool Matt!
    Using Chrome browser
    Tap the Mic icon
    Voice command on Web
    Redefined Connectivity 2.0
    Inspiring Connection 1.0

• simon on Mar 05, 2020 at 10:27 am

how many x70 owners actually use the voice command?

my cousin has one and i asked him about it.

he told me for the 1st month he use it every so often.

now he just reaches to air con control to adjust. faster and simpler.

• newme on Mar 05, 2020 at 10:28 am

How many of you actually using Google voice recognition on your smartphone or Win Cortana on your computer? The fact that PT need to remind you to turn on the microphone shows that this is just a gimmick that people are not using it.