Malaysian engineer awarded a patent for his novel speaker enclosure installed in the McLaren Senna

Ask most audiophiles and they’ll tell you that loudspeakers work best when there is nothing in front of their mass to obscure the sonic delivery, but they’ll also tell you that grilles are a necessary evil, needed to protect the driver units from any mishap.

This is even more so in the automotive environment, where speaker components have to fight for acreage with other elements and design constraints in a limited space. The midrange driver usually ends up being placed on the lower front end of a door card, where it is most susceptible to a wrongly placed foot during ingress and egress. As such, they need to be protected from physical damage, as well as securely fixed for best sonic results.

Generally, assemblies have their speakers and grille incorporated as part of the door card, but more complex designs can need a novel approach in how they are crafted. Such is the case with the McLaren Senna – its loudspeaker assembly is integrated in a single grille/enclosure housing and mounted on the car’s door.

Malaysian engineer awarded a patent for his novel speaker enclosure installed in the McLaren Senna

The flush unit, which holds a two-way speaker array that is part of a seven-speaker Bowers & Wilkins sound system available as an option for the car, looks simple enough, but the manner in how it is attached to the door that is novel, and patented. The particular highlight is that a Malaysian came up with the design.

The 25 mm diamond dome tweeter and 10 cm Kevlar cone midrange unit is packaged in a pre-impregnated CF enclosure and grille, and this eschews traditional fasteners in how it is attached to the door. Conceptualised by Ruslin Tamsir, it has what its designer calls an invisible locking feature, which holds the assembly in place securely without the need for fasteners.

Ruslin came up with the design when he was working in Garching, Germany as an engineering project leader at Harman Becker Automotive Systems. The patent for the design was filed in 2019 through the company and was finally published by the European Patent Office on October 21 last year.

In a Facebook post, the inventor said he was skeptical at the beginning that his invention would not even go through to the patent office. He said that due to the project’s quick delivery timeline, he had about three months to develop the concept, attempting to do so without utilising any fasteners.

Ruslin said he failed many times with the prototypes, and was at one point about to give up on the idea and start over by adopting a conventional approach. However, his persistence paid off, and a final design was eventually secured for validation and testing, and the patent is the reward for his hard work.

In his post, Ruslin, who is now back in Malaysia, said the message he was trying to convey was that one should never give up and always push one’s self to the limit. “You will not succeed without trying and failing, and you will only be able to see your true potential after you succeed,” he wrote. Well done, Ruslin.

GALLERY: McLaren Senna

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Ruslin Tamsir on Jan 22, 2021 at 2:53 pm

Hi Anthony Lim, Paultan Team,

thank you for sharing my experience with McLaren Senna and the Patent.

Malaysia Boleh !

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 273 Thumb down 7
    • El Chino on Jan 22, 2021 at 3:30 pm

Syabas bro Ruslin! Malaysia proud of u!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
    • kereta_lembu on Jan 22, 2021 at 4:06 pm

Thank you for making Malaysians PROUD for the right reasons! You deserve the limelight for your accomplishment. Well Done

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • holofanboi on Jan 24, 2021 at 11:06 pm

Well done!

Now…about that speaker that can vibrate a cup of water to my direction…

• Mohamed Farid Apandi on Jan 22, 2021 at 4:00 pm

Well done lad!

• Fariz on Jan 22, 2021 at 4:23 pm

Ruslin buat, Tamsir dapat nama (jkjk). This is the scenario with journal citation as well .

• Whats wrong we put our father name that paid our school fee? And then we can become an inventor

• mesinrumput on Jan 22, 2021 at 4:25 pm

a world class inventor!

• Khairunaz on Jan 22, 2021 at 4:47 pm

Nice bro…..proud of you.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jan 22, 2021 at 5:23 pm

Well done Malaysia! This is proof that we can design award winning automotive designs that are on par with the world and now used in one of most expensive cars money can buy. This is all because we have local car production that relies heavily on talents like Mr Ruslin Tamsir and in turn helps develop them into the successes of today.

Malaysia Boleh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • Troll on Jan 23, 2021 at 12:23 pm

Taobao can find plenty

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
  • azrai on Jan 23, 2021 at 12:27 pm

All the great Malaysians are not even in Malaysia. Malaysia Boleh!

• IP specialist on Jan 25, 2021 at 11:47 am

Having a published patent application doesn’t mean your patent has been allowed, or that you now “have” a patent. The publication of your application only means that it can be found and reviewed by anyone wishing to search for it.

• Got video how to install, really need to see this for my research.. Please..

• Sie sind toll. Ich bin Stolz aud Sie. Ich hoffe Sie werden Erfolg haben. Malaysia kann!