Isuzu D-MAX

We have a new addition to the recent launch of new pick-up trucks this year – The Isuzu D-MAX. Isuzu in Malaysia has always been focused on heavy trucks and pickups mostly with diesel engine. Their presence is represented here with their Trooper and Citation trucks and Rodeo pickups. Their diesel expertise is acknowledge, with Honda asking them to give input into the award winning i-CTDi engine. Earlier diesel Hondas also used Isuzu oil burners.

The D-MAX comes with a 3.0-litre direct-injection intercooler turbodiesel engine which produces 294 Nm of torque at 2000 rpm for the automatic version and 280 Nm of torque for the manual version. The engine makes 130 ps of power at 3800 rpm. Slightly less powerful than the Nissan Frontier which currently is the most powerful pick-up in it’s class, even though the Frontier’s engine is a 2.5 litre.

The car comes in both automatic and manual 4×4 and automatic only 4×2 transmissions. The availability of an automatic 4×2 would come in handy for those who won’t take their D-MAX out of the urban jungle.

Switching from 2H to 4H to 4L in the D-MAX is done through buttons on the dashboard instead of a stick shift like pickups normally have. Changing from 2H to 4H can be operated at speeds less than 100km/h but to switch to 4L the car has to be stopped. This is similiar to luxury 4×4 vehicles like the Ssangyong Rexton 4X4.

The D-MAX has a nice cabin interior similiar to sedans. Looks pretty comfy although I have not sit in one myself.

Other features are ABS, EBD, an LSD differential, and dual airbags for the automatic 4×4 and 4×2 versions and optional for the manual 4X4. The D-MAX can be driven laterally on slopes upto 49 degrees. The car comes with 16 inch alloy rims with 245/70/R16 tyres.

Isuzu Malaysia plans on pricing the D-MAX from RM85,000.80. The D-MAX owns a big share of the market in Thailand, battling out the pickup wars there against the Toyota Hilux. There’s potential for it to be a big thing here in the Malaysian market too.

I wonder where’s Mitsubishi gone to. Their Storm/L200 is the same model from years ago.And Honda’s SUT is targetted at the US market. It would be sweet to have a i-CTDi Honda SUT here in Malaysia.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Check out this NEW Mitsubishi Storm (L200). Serious deal 4 D-Max & Hilux!!!

View pics here:

http://www.l200.org.uk/gallery/thumbnails.php?alb…

• not a fan of 4X4, but look nice.

wonder Proton will venture into 4X4. ??

• Tan See Hua on Jun 20, 2005 at 11:04 pm

D-MAX is being 3 years in Thailand. Lastly it come to Malaysia road. Maybe the previos model "RADEO" not yet habis, so a bit late.

• Dear Paul.

I heard Petrol increase RM0.20 in 1st July 2005.

It this true ??

• edw: not sure lah. might be true? it's been awhile since the last hike, and the government did say the hike would continue till the petrol is about RM2 per litre.

• Die la… RM2.00 per liter.

Start visiting Modemas website now.

• ranger on Jun 25, 2005 at 9:14 pm

power

• bangau on Jun 26, 2005 at 6:51 am

Power? yessss…..super commonrail diesel engine.

Roadtax? power jugaaaak. More than RM3500 a year!

• gaman on Jun 29, 2005 at 4:40 am

ok juga. ada rupa. tapi frontier milik saya lagi cantikkkk. di sini kat sabah, roadtax banyak murah…D-max about RM 431. Frontier about RM 251.70. well……….

• steve on Sep 02, 2005 at 11:03 am

Very interested in d-max truck-how does an individual purchase and import one to the USa? thanks

• Scott on Sep 13, 2005 at 3:42 pm

I am also very interested in purchasing and importing several d-max trucks to the USA for my business. I have a 1986 DIesel PUP 37 mpg and want newer ones for my work fleet. Any recommendations??????

• jaygan on Dec 06, 2005 at 11:42 pm

Looks good, especially the 2.5 model. W/ 67liter you can travel 1400km.

Question: What is the diferrence between Common Rail Direct Injection Diesel Engine (e.g. Toyota Hilux) and Direct Injection Diesel Engine (e.g. Nissan Frontier, maybe Isuzu D-max?) Which is better?

• Nadzri on Dec 11, 2005 at 6:29 am

Is it true that the new Isuzu 4 x 2 has less fuel comsumption as per their press release resently with 75 liters diesel it can go for 1400km. and how about their 4 x4 comsu,ption?

• Haikal on Dec 13, 2005 at 9:52 pm

yesterday, 12 Dec went n c Dmax 2.5L but unfortunate xde pula stok. so look at 3L je la. anyway its the same feature cuma certain thing xde. intend to buy march next year. i dulu guna Invader, cabin makes a lot of noise (scriching sound). i'm afraid Dmax share the same prob. but anyway 1 tank can go 1400 km….huh r u 4 real?

• dmax8998 (Member) on Jun 10, 2007 at 4:25 am

hai dmax members….knowing me as white dmax KCB 8998.

• kukun (Member) on Dec 23, 2007 at 3:12 pm

check ot the new mazda bt-50. 2.5 commonrail tdi. 140ps,330 Nm. already been launched in sabah couple of weeks ago. pretty interesting. i think it have a good look (the front looks a bit like hilux vigo). and the interior looks better than the D-max. but i still didn’t see it otr.

• abangz on May 10, 2009 at 6:07 pm

D-Max…not bad. 4 Sarawak so far so good. Ulu Baram, Belaga..no problem. W

• 4WHEEL LOVER on Jul 08, 2009 at 5:03 pm

Can someone help to compare fuel compsumption between the new rangerXL version and Dmax 4×2

• isuzu dmax best pick up truck …

• Vgs turbo on Aug 27, 2010 at 1:35 pm

Dmax 2.5l common rail is coming to malaysia.. Haha. 116hp 280nm torque super common rail. I think this will be more fuel efficient than the 3.0l super common rail.

• Taito Nalukuya on May 15, 2011 at 3:14 am

can someone help me the price of the fuel injector pump for DMX-izuzu / second hand….i need the price

• Albert on May 26, 2011 at 5:23 am

Make that 2, I am also looking for a new fuel injection pump for my 2006
      D-max 3.0L turbo diesel intercooled engine

• same problem with me. Have you get the price for new fuel injection pum for dmax 3.0L?

• how to change from 4L to 2H d-max 3.0

• harry on Sep 21, 2014 at 1:53 pm

my 2nd 3.0 dmax 2006..feel power like vigo 2,5..it ok..not bad..but jimat minyak..