EDAG Show Car No 8

EDAG Engineering + Design AG presents this car at the Frankfurt Motor Show 2005. It’s known as the EDAG Show Car No. 8.

The car is built on a SMART Roadster platform, with the base internals kept but only exterior components altered. It is an open top, not a convertible. Perfect for track days I guess.

EDAG wants to show that you can create a unique and innovtive product just by altering exterior components.

As for specs, it is identical to the SMART Roadster as there are only exterior changes. The car is powered by a 698cc suprex 3 cylinder turbo engine that’s mounted at the back of the car. The engine itself weighs only 60kg. It makes 60kW at 5250rpm and 110Nm torque at 2250-4500rpm. Fuel consumption is a combined cycle of 5.1 litres per 100km.

EDAG is still developing the car and plans to show an on-the-road prototype at the 2006 Geneva Motor Show.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• not bad

• E-Nabill on Sep 24, 2005 at 8:44 am

jus off topic sorry paul,check out the latest autocar magazine UK,thy have few latest pics of the proton ultimate sports car,there will be 2 versions according to da report,one under lotus name,n the othr is under proton,front n rear end will be slightly diff to diffrentiate thm,,the proton one will be called 'sepang'according to some insider,thy wil get the 200bhp vauxhall/GM turbo engine…..sounds very yummy…!

• E-Nabill: can't find it… where?

• I doubt the Sepang name is for the final product. Lotus has named their development car's codenames after circuits. For example the latest Elise was codenamed Monza. This time it must be Sepang I guess.

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 24, 2005 at 4:24 pm

Styling not bad! Just this car had no ROOF, not suitable use in Topical country like Malaysia. Really Just a SHOW car.

I remember POTONG Waja was developed together with EDAG.

• junwah on Sep 24, 2005 at 6:33 pm

i hate green.

• eRis-Aeir4s on Sep 24, 2005 at 7:26 pm

I just don't like the design , simple.

• E-Nabill on Sep 24, 2005 at 7:43 pm

u wont find it online version la ofcourse,go to magazine shop n see,the cover page hav he all new bmw m3 v8 pic

• the front kinda reminds me of the s2000..

delicious lookin car tho.. thumbs up*

• cbljkkj on Sep 25, 2005 at 5:45 am

Looks like a butchered Vauxhall VXR 220

• Streamyx User on Sep 25, 2005 at 4:22 pm

S20000000000000000000000000000 allllll the wayyyy

• ex-mivec on Sep 26, 2005 at 10:43 pm

buruk giler!

• back like fairlady…depan macam…

• takumi_trueno on Oct 13, 2005 at 12:49 am

not bad, but how about the engine performance?

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Aug 07, 2006 at 8:56 pm

Nice…though I'll have mine in black… :)

• Miura on Nov 18, 2009 at 12:02 pm

If someone said that this car could be converted back to a Smart Roadster. I'd pay for that. This is not a visual upgrade, looks ugly as hell.