UMW Toyota 2006 offerings to be CBU

In a report by StarBiz, UMW Toyota has indicated 2006’s new model line-up will focus mainly on CBU models instead of CKD models. Rumoured models are Toyota Vitz, Toyota Wish and Toyota Harrier.

So if the Toyota Vitz comes in next year, expect prices more to the range of the Honda Jazz and Suzuki Swift at RM80,000 to RM100,000 instead of a Myvi-killer at RM50,000.

They’ve also indicated possiblity of more Toyota models to be assembled at Perodua’s plant after the success of the Toyota Avanza.

Click here for more details on the Toyota Vitz.

Source: StarBiz

Update: Toyota is now selling this car in Malaysia as the Toyota Yaris. Click here for detailed information on the car.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Dando on Oct 06, 2005 at 12:19 am

i just saw one white colour vitz in ttdi… parked nearby dbkl office…

• Steve Cheng on Oct 06, 2005 at 12:24 am

cool.. sure must get it…

• cameljoe on Oct 06, 2005 at 12:34 am

vitz banyak chun lor, got wahlau body kit too, so if some in cbu, others sure die lar. Hmm…wish and harrier could be from Thailand and vitz from Japan. any caldina ah…that's one shiok bling bling suv/mpv. Looks like companies are gear up for a big fight for market share ah…so, mana proton lar, lambat lagi.

• off topic once again

want to drive the new Mercedes Benz SLR?

go ask from one of the AP kings – Dato' Hanif

• RM80k will be fine if the CBU model is 1.5cc, nice curves! should be very appealing for the ladies! A rival to Jazz for sure.

If above 100k, sales wouldnt probably be nitch. Good news for Msia & Toyota!

• eRis-Aeir4s on Oct 06, 2005 at 6:06 am

Probably more than 100k , I have a hunch it is aiming to compete with the Honda Jazz/Fit.

It's just … Too good for a 80k car. In Malaysia , that is. You normally don't buy cars so expensive in the other countries. (Except for Singapore.)

I think I remember that the Vitz is a Middle dash car. What irony , Such nice design , just to be reduced some points because of the middle dash. At least in my opinion.

• e-Nabill on Oct 06, 2005 at 6:21 am

if 100k like the jazz,thn i tink it will be overated

if 100k like jazz,thn i tink its very overated…

• Wtf 100K for a vitz/yaris/echo is way over the top. For that price id rather go for a Jazz (vtec too).

Having 1st hand experience riding in a vitz (during my time in australia a good friend had one) the fuel economy is amazing. Great interior despite being abit crowded sometimes (small car).

id say around 80K would be a safe bet.

if i am not mistaken $20 aus on fuel will last u about a week (thats one year ago :D )

Toyota boleh…

• It won't be name Vitz here..when it's in next year, it'll be called Yaris. Yaris Yes, Wish Yes, Harrier No, Lexus RX300 yes. Toyota CBU thailand…Lexus CBU Japan. Bling bling…

• Lee Wye Jon on Oct 06, 2005 at 8:05 am

Vitz is no competitor to the Jazz. The Honda Jazz being 100k is already way overpriced. If the Vitz goes to that price level as well then you'd have to be insane to buy it :)

• ah lim on Oct 06, 2005 at 4:27 pm

—-aR said,

—-October 5, 2005 @ 5:17 pm

—-off topic once again

—-want to drive the new Mercedes Benz SLR?

—-go ask from one of the AP kings – Dato’ Hanif

hai AR…….. do u have Dato' Hanif phone number? want 2 borrow his SLR…..

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Oct 06, 2005 at 4:52 pm

so that kill all rumour that p2 gonna make this model under brand of p2? .

poor p2. :D

so that's also mean the price never cheap.. muahaha..

yeah.. if cheap.. myvi plak tak jalan.. so better myvi stay on market for the 10 years start from now.. ;)

• DOG THE WAN on Oct 06, 2005 at 5:07 pm

If you look the front Grille logo "NOSE" and front FACE, it looks like BABE, the pig. Maybe Malay will not like it!! Haaa ha…

• KL Lim on Oct 06, 2005 at 5:21 pm

DOG THE WAN ..

Kewl… to ride the PIG on the road… who cares.. LOL

• honda_driver on Oct 06, 2005 at 7:14 pm

for rm80K cbu 1.5, is possible, but definitely not going to happen. toyota in malaysia tends to price their products with a little more premium. even their corollas are priced higher than the competition when launched. They know their cars can sell. so they definitely get better margins from their cars.

but in australia, its an el cheapo car. too bad thats not true for malaysia. btw swee, whats the aussie fuel price at the time you were there? aud 1 something?

• Toyota UMW Dealer on Oct 06, 2005 at 8:17 pm

I sure the Toyota Vitz will coming soon at April of next year..Becoz we are waiting the Toyota Fortuner sell…After it,we will import a Toyota Previa(Estima)…and a Alphard….Final we import the Toyota vitz.the price is RM56,000.00….The UMW manager is making this price….

• epalhead on Oct 06, 2005 at 11:22 pm

i'm with u honda driver…

Toyota below 50k…(in my dreams)….when haa i can afford one….

tooo expensive la here…..even Altis were sold @ 16k compared to Impian (WAJA) @ 11-12k in the UK. Why here the TOYOTA so expensive when the quality they give here is not as good as in the UK…..even the perodua kelisa sold @ 5k (pound sterling)…so cheap…

Imagine how much money our govt. made on the duty…..imagine…..(for those who buy other than proton and perodua)

• epalhead on Oct 06, 2005 at 11:27 pm

guys..

honda jazz @ RM 100k above…..does'nt in make any sense????

does the car really worth that value….???? really??….

or u guys out there luv our government and have no problem paying them duty…wakakakakaka….and yet…where's ur money go dude…..????

• epalhead on Oct 06, 2005 at 11:31 pm

if the Vitz sold @ RM 80k and above,…..i'm sure a lot of malaysian can buy one….

malaysian have a lot money…they sure can buy one…

they 're buying just for different…different from others….that's why.

They dunno how to evaluate the "value for money….."

Imagine Malaysia without Perodua and Proton….

• think of the poor…

don't waste your money if u have

because others are not as lucky as we are…

help the poor~

• n0name8886 on Oct 07, 2005 at 6:51 am

wad is cbu and ckd???

• DOG THE WAN on Oct 07, 2005 at 3:47 pm

Vitz is the cheap car in Japanese, the price is only RM40K to RM50K. What so proud of? Japanese called it TOYS car or pet only not DREAMs Cars Dude!!

• DOG THE WAN on Oct 07, 2005 at 3:51 pm

Malaysian spent 100k to buy cheap car from Japan, What a JOKE!! pity to the guy who bought it more than 100K, just not WORTH it at all!! All goes into APKINGS RA FI DAH and CORNY…….pockets! Wah haa ah ha….SOW HIGH!!

• aarono on Oct 08, 2005 at 2:43 am

according to reliable sources, and as Vai said above; WISH is coming in for sure, HARRIER has yet to confirm though. they would be brought in under the company and not UMW. Toyota made a mistake with the lateness of bringing the RAV4 after many sold by grey importers.

and to Cameljoe…the Caldina is a lovely car but the dash kind of like turns you off…btw its a wagon not an MPV/SUV.

• vitz

only RM 30k (RMB60K) in CHINA.

F*** the AP / proton policy

• jonahdiary on Oct 12, 2005 at 6:50 am

of coz is vitz. now most of the malaysian prefer&only afford S&C class (small and cheap) vehicle.

harrier and wish not really make most of the ppl excited and craving to have 1.

• cheryl on Oct 24, 2005 at 10:56 pm

any ideas where's the best service center for harrier in kuala lumpur? thanx

• wa le on Nov 05, 2005 at 9:10 am

I need some information lodging in the area.I look forward to hearing from you.

• g5sim on Dec 05, 2005 at 7:24 pm

Grabbed this from a website:

1000cc . 2WD . automatic gear = US$ 16,400.

1300cc . 2WD . automatic gear = US$ 16,800.

1300cc . 4WD . automatic gear = US$ 17,200.

1500cc . 2WD . automatic gear = US$ 19,400.

1500cc . 2WD . manual gear = US$ 19,800.

will they bring in the 1000cc n 1300cc? If they do, wont the price be much more cheaper than Jazz's 1500cc …*huh*

• sleEP!! perodua!! on Dec 14, 2005 at 9:44 am

not possible for t.vitz to range 80k-100K, juz absurd!! but is still toyota….so adorable

• sleEP!! perodua!! on Dec 14, 2005 at 9:48 am

my fren from toyota center told the price should be around 55K-60K..dunno it 'z true?>…

• GT27 (Member) on Feb 09, 2006 at 3:38 pm

The Toyota Yaris (vitz) going to launch in US in April 2006 for under US $13,000, man, malaysia sure pay a lot, hate the malaysia tax policy….

• kennyhlh (Member) on Feb 10, 2007 at 8:32 pm

May I know where is the best services center for Toyota Harrier in Kuala Lumpur?

• paulparen on Sep 20, 2009 at 8:04 pm

hello, where to get a service centre for lexus/toyota soarer SC430, model 2002(japan made) near TTDI? the lexus Damansara Centre doesn't seem to have any input yet. any info? Thanks