Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

2008 Kia Sidewinder

Kia’s Sidewider concept shown at the Los Angelow Motor Show had originally been a concept vehicle powered by a natural gas turbine, and electric motors in each wheel.

Now there is news that Kia will be producing this vehicle for production in 2008, based on a modified Kia Rio platform, but it will be powered by conventional gasoline engines of course. Priorities for the project would be top-notch handling and performance characteristics, as well as value for money.

34 Comments »

1. amat said,

December 20, 2005 @ 9:26 am

wahhhh tooo futureritis sangat beb..but nice design

2. ddkwh said,

December 20, 2005 @ 9:42 am

looks like somethin from space or out of a tamiya model box. should be interesting to see this in production.

3. e said,

December 20, 2005 @ 9:58 am

i think this concept car can transform to somethin else! Maybe a motoboat!

4. Kendconcerto said,

December 20, 2005 @ 10:06 am

It look very FUTURISTIC. Nice Design! But NGV ? Each motor on each wheel ?
    I think an old school N/A engine can easily overtake this “MISSILE”

5. lalanuni said,

December 20, 2005 @ 10:18 am

Kia finally come out with something surprisingly! Nice design!

6. virus said,

December 20, 2005 @ 10:31 am

good Job Kia…

7. Michael Chua said,

December 20, 2005 @ 10:35 am

Lovely. Connection between rear wheels and main body looks a tad fragile though ;p

8. DC-5 said,

December 20, 2005 @ 11:00 am

damn cun.likes Tamiya model :P

9. wth** said,

December 20, 2005 @ 11:02 am

nice design…but not practical in malaysian road :P

10. stewpid said,

December 20, 2005 @ 11:18 am

waahhh..damm chun… but i doubt it will come out in 2008…

11. narrowband said,

December 20, 2005 @ 11:39 am

very futuristic.

i think the production design will be more conventional, although still based on this concept.

is the the exhaust pipe right in the middle, at the back? Can stuff a kancil’s tyre inside already!

12. vandetta said,

December 20, 2005 @ 11:57 am

what kind of gas turbine that has been installed before? rolls royce? snecma olympus?

13. Ezmil said,

December 20, 2005 @ 12:12 pm

Looks like a Batmobile from Tim Burton’s Batman movies, especially those huge gas turbine exhaust port at the rear of the car

14. K said,

December 20, 2005 @ 1:23 pm

This car can pass-off as a space ship la… looks like an X-wing

I wonder where can someone place the rear number plate…

15. E-nabill said,

December 20, 2005 @ 1:56 pm

even in startrek wil look futuristic! i mus say its ugly…design hav no cohesion or any sort of identity…its jus designers told draw wat u want…look like sting from HotWheels!

16. rikeys said,

December 20, 2005 @ 2:58 pm

WOW Korean BATMOBILE - KIAMOBILE!

17. Balajoe said,

December 20, 2005 @ 3:45 pm

Paul

You should put this picture from ign website: http://media.cars.ign.com/articles/675/675078/img_3262355.html
    - which shows the top view, a close up of the back, faint view of the dashboard and a racing paint

18. Marmitecrab said,

December 20, 2005 @ 8:42 pm

Firstly, the rear wing is attached to the wheel cover itself. Can you imagine going over bumpy roads? The wing will move and vibrate according to the contours of the road!

Secondly, the front wheel wells doesn’t look like it’s got space for the wheels to turn.

Thirdly, the rear looks like its in the way of the side mirrors. Forget about the blind spot, you won’t be able to see anything!

And finally, can yo imagine trying to reverse park the thing? Hilarious.

But then again, that’s what a supercar is all about. I’ll take one, please.

19. stevarac said,

December 20, 2005 @ 9:33 pm

The car rear side damn garang man.
    Hmm.. how to put this car rear onto my WAJA.
    Better not .. how to do tyre alignment.. ha ha ha

20. Spyder said,

December 21, 2005 @ 12:28 am

the last statement: ” …. as well as value for money.”
    Good to know its still a Kia

21. December said,

December 21, 2005 @ 1:37 am

Screw Korean cars.Period

22. damion said,

December 21, 2005 @ 2:04 am

is it me or it looks like a lemans racecar with ferrari F40 rear wings + spaceship hull?

23. Dennis said,

December 21, 2005 @ 8:33 am

Good-Tire?

24. Bob said,

December 21, 2005 @ 10:38 am

DC-5 said,
    December 20, 2005 @ 11:00 am

damn cun.likes Tamiya model

That was what i’m gonna say. Er.. minus the ‘cun’

These are bullshit designs. They make this car look like ‘THAT’ then go environmental friendly. I’d rather they take the current Kia Spectra and do that, proceed to making that Tamiya on top, tug in a Rolls Royce Super Turbo Turbine Fuselage, like what was shown from the 2nd pic of that Tamiya. Then proceed to breaking the land speed sound record which is 1300kmh.

If they’re not coming up with all these, stop bragging bout their so-called ‘capability’ in designing great looking cars, before making great looking cars, they should design (at least) good looking badges, signage and logos.

Lastly, or they can tug in the 36000rpm Red Head Tamiya engine into a 1:24 model of this car, and then give it to all visitors who came for the car show. :D

25. endlessrain said,

December 21, 2005 @ 11:54 am

relax bob… this is just illustration… not even a prototype yet… with dis kind of design plus a wing at both side… can fly what…huhu…. erm for the cornering, rear tyre should do the job just like the forklift…huhu

26. revver said,

December 21, 2005 @ 12:21 pm

i doubt that it would become like the ford design in 80’s. too futuristic until it was rejected and the designer got fired.
    anyway, nice for anime and fantasy lover.keep on dreaming

27. anonymous 17 said,

December 22, 2005 @ 10:19 am

woaaaaaah! look mclaren-nish la!

28. albagmane said,

December 23, 2005 @ 9:30 am

gosh… this is a really big news!!! i wan one!!!

29. Nameless said,

December 28, 2005 @ 1:19 pm

Transformer car

30. ayamas said,

December 28, 2005 @ 5:22 pm

Bila nak assemble kat gurun nih…hehehe :)

31. jaz airbrush said,

December 31, 2005 @ 11:15 pm

what a car……………! i like it very much !

32. J said,

January 5, 2006 @ 5:22 am

this car is never gonna be produced!!! cummon.. its kia and why would they make a supercar that looks like that.

33. ky-kia said,

January 22, 2006 @ 10:21 am

Don’t take this so serious, KIA did not design this. It was designed by a American who sent in the drawings to KIA. KIA will never make this. Beside this would never match US dot standards.

34. Akazamabamaboo said,

August 21, 2006 @ 11:15 am

Batman!

previous post: Hyundai and Kia to get new vehicle styling
next post: Eliica, the 600kW electric sports car

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Don't have an account?

If you do not have an account on paultan.org, please click here to register. Note that first time commenters will have to be approved before your comment appears.

Please do not submit your comment twice, the system has accepted your comment, it just needs to be moderated first. Once your first comment is approved, all subsequent comments will show automatically.

What are you waiting for? Register now!