Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

NAP After-Effects: Perodua reduces prices

With the new tax structures and policies of the National Automotive Policy, Perusahaan Otomobil Kedua Sdn Bhd (Perodua) announced price cuts of between RM800 to RM1500 per vehicle, which translates to about 2% to 3% off the pre-NAP sticker price. This excludes two of the Perodua Kancil models which has already very thin profit margins, so prices could not be slashed further. These two models without price cuts are the 660cc manual and 850cc manual models.

8 Comments »

1. E-Nabill said,

March 23, 2006 @ 10:49 pm

wat a big deal!

2. TheMachine said,

March 23, 2006 @ 10:53 pm

Well at least they are the first to do so …… let’s see when does big brother Proton will follow suit …..

better than nothing la …. the savings can pay for petrol lor

btw at least something to look forward for those who are still waiting for their Myvi …….. well for those who pay under-table RM2,000 will see further depn on their cars : RM2,000 + RM1,500 + normal depn = ouch …..

3. Initial D said,

March 23, 2006 @ 11:09 pm

good deal………………but not much reduction…..well, better than nothing.

4. mystvearn said,

March 23, 2006 @ 11:30 pm

So in other words, the NAP is making perodua richer by sticking to the old price, the profit margins increase for the kancil model’s.

5. PetrolHead said,

March 24, 2006 @ 5:33 am

Hopefully..hopefully this is the only the begining. Market competition should further help to drive down the prices across the board..hopefully!

6. gepochai said,

March 24, 2006 @ 9:11 am

i hope the myvi price goes down, cause i haven’t get it yet. hahaha.

7. OpTiMuS said,

March 24, 2006 @ 12:38 pm

juz 800-1500???
    wtf….

8. NAP After-Effects: Perodua slashes prices by 4% » said,

March 26, 2006 @ 12:06 am

[...] An update on Perodua’s price cuts. Instead of the previously reported figures, car prices will be slashed by 4% for it’s Kelisa, Kenari and Kancil models except for the Kancil EX660 and the Kancil EX850. The two low-end models will receive a RM300 price cut instead. Prices for the Perodua Kembara and the Perodua Rusa will remain the same, despite of the fact that duties for vehicles in that class have actually gone up. [...]

previous post: NAP After-Effects: Toyota cars to be cheaper
next post: Thoughts on the National Automotive Policy

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Don't have an account?

If you do not have an account on paultan.org, please click here to register. Note that first time commenters will have to be approved before your comment appears.

Please do not submit your comment twice, the system has accepted your comment, it just needs to be moderated first. Once your first comment is approved, all subsequent comments will show automatically.

What are you waiting for? Register now!