Proton and Lotus plan new low-end Lotus

Proton is making plans to manufacture low-end Lotus cars in Malaysia in late 2007 or 2008, and both Lotus and Proton management have agreed with this plan.

The companies are currently identifying the specifications for the car, the pltform to work with and the target market. Lotus cars are priced between RM300,000 to RM400,000, but this new low-end Lotus car would be priced around the RM100,000 range. If this plan works out, this would be truly “my first Lotus” for alot of people who want to experience Lotus engineering and power through lightness concept.

It could be a lower-end sports car than the very basic Lotus Elise, or could be something else out of the Lotsu norm like the Lotus APX.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ibeni05 (Member) on Apr 27, 2006 at 12:11 am

hmmpphh.. at last there's a (real) progress from the buying Lotus!! But its still too high for average people just wanted to own a 'playcar' ( as in 'playground').

But hope that they will make it an FR or MR, just like a Lotus.

• marmitecrab (Member) on Apr 27, 2006 at 12:30 am

The only way they can make it that cheap is by substantially using local content and making sure it is as bare-as-bones as possible.

Part of what made the original Elise so popular was that it was affordable by UK standards. If you didn't include all those ridiculous taxes, it would fall well within the 100k target they are talking about.

Do we want a stripped down, low-cost, sub-standard, cheap sportscar? Just so we can boast about it being a Lotus? Thanks but no thanks. I'd rather save up and buy an MX-5. At least that way, I'd be sure I'm driving a car that the world loves and not some stripped-down, low-cost version.

• tbcheese (Member) on Apr 27, 2006 at 12:49 am

erm the Elise already has carpets and air-conditioning as options. Can it get even more barebones than that? No passenger seat? No doors?

• raptorclans (Member) on Apr 27, 2006 at 1:06 am

hmm… well, hav to wait and see what happens. hard to imagine something smaller than the elise…

• kody (Member) on Apr 27, 2006 at 1:29 am

Wahlaueh…

when people are convince with P1 quality… then it is not bad to have a local 'lotus' sport car. But… how long are we going to wait until P1 achieve ~international quality standard (i mean material used for the components, better material—>better quality—>more reliable)

• marmitecrab (Member) on Apr 27, 2006 at 1:30 am

The original Elise didn't have a/c, power windows, electric mirrors, stereo, carpets, it didn't even have a roof!

The engine was a 1.8 with no technical innovations to shout about (it was a Rover K-Series engine borrowed from Honda) and the car didn't even have screws or weldings. It was glued together!

Is that something we can live with? What with our need to have a/c, electric windows, carpets and such, I'm sure the cost of the car would not be as bare bones as can be.

But at least it's a Lotus and we can be proud of the name, right? Not too sure about how Lotus would feel about putting their name on the car, though.

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 27, 2006 at 1:31 am

Just bring it!…

Balu sekalang mau bikin.. dulu tak mau bikin.. gua mau racing pon talak keta bagus2.. kasi itu polis tak bleh kejar sama gua.. kasi bikin cepat2 la.. gua mau beli, gua mau racing,… 100 ribu pon bole beli maa, 80 ribu lagi bagus, gua tak payah beli Honda city… hahaha..

• rhoma (Member) on Apr 27, 2006 at 2:03 am

look for proton from the list http://automobiles.allinfoabout.com/news/whatsnex…
    but duno reliable or not the source

• kendo (Member) on Apr 27, 2006 at 2:25 am

he might be SERIOUS,or capable,

but is the WHOLE system and structure, set-up READY?

He ain't carol ghosn!

(with renault cum Nisson excellent tech. and volume)

I feel he is fighting a LOSING battle,

further torturing RAKYATS pockets,

as long as proton is around.

• blazerSST (Member) on Apr 27, 2006 at 2:32 am

SRM launch first then talk, SRM already so looooonnnggg everyone knows dunno what are they doing with it. Produce low end Lotus end of 2007 and 2008 ???

• sewell (Member) on Apr 27, 2006 at 3:41 am

if proton did not plan for long-term with lotus carefully proton will say bye bye to malaysia very fast.

• Hilmax (Member) on Apr 27, 2006 at 4:09 am

Too long the P1 just keep the LOTUS under wrap..just now unwrap when you already losing to market..I still thinking why oh why P1 just too STUPID not using LOTUS DESIGN,ENGINE and all her resource building new and reliable car….

• sintiansai (Member) on Apr 27, 2006 at 5:05 am

haizzzz… I have no eyes to see.. my ears bleed to deaf if I keep on hearing proton's news… can they just **FXXX OFF** from the world and buried themselves in the devil's hell…. if only we dont have P1 and P2, other imported cars will be cheaper… Lotus would probably cost like our current Wira… haizzzz… duwan to say anymore… sampah car…

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 27, 2006 at 5:27 am

So if you want a cheap P1 car, you buy a savvy.

then if you want a cheap lotus car you buy a APX?

I don't really care if its cheap or expansive. What I am very pissed off are the good Lotus concept cars, release few years back and actually generated orders before manufacturing, but the car was never released. Duhh..Really shooting themselves in the foot.

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 27, 2006 at 5:29 am

I am talking about the M250, or did they produce this car?

• bolo (Member) on Apr 27, 2006 at 5:53 am

Colin Chapman's engineering philosophy is "as light and as simple as possible". The original Lotus Seven barely has a body, it was just 4 wheels attached to the engine and tranny. The seats were almost an afterthought. If Lotus is to remain true to its roots, a barebone RM 100,000 sport car is very possible. but the question is, will people want it?

• GT27 (Member) on Apr 27, 2006 at 6:20 am

I thought the Lotus Elise is based on toyota 1.8 celica GT engine. By the way, if they can make a RM100,000 Lotus sport car, then they can export the car to other countries too. I still think RM100,000 to buy a sport car that maybe without the standard feature, I would rather buy a honda or toyota. I think it will be best if Proton can have Lotus designs the engine and suspension for the new Proton line of car, the car that normal Malaysian can drive.

• HatukNgkau (Member) on Apr 27, 2006 at 6:31 am

Rm100,000 is pre-tax cost or post-tax price?

• gb2jz (Member) on Apr 27, 2006 at 7:02 am

are they rebadging the Lotus Europa (but leaving all the good stuff in) for the Malaysian market? or is proton in a hurry to make a name for itself in the small sports car segment ? which means the material + build quality and reliability would typically be proton…where parts would go haywire after 10,000 km

• d00b (Member) on Apr 27, 2006 at 7:22 am

marmitecrab said,

The original Elise didn’t have a/c, power windows.

That means no more power windows problem.

• afhstingray (Member) on Apr 27, 2006 at 7:49 am

maybe its a replacement for the putra?

• GT27 (Member) on Apr 27, 2006 at 8:32 am

Just read the news, Proton is going to learn from Lotus for the knowledge of designing the car, engine, car structure. Also, Proton will cooperate with Lotus in testing the car, so the new car that will come out between 1 or 2 years may based on this co-operation with Lotus design and engine. Just hope they can really learn from Lotus.

• GT27 (Member) on Apr 27, 2006 at 8:33 am

Just read the news, Proton is going to learn from Lotus for the knowledge of designing the car, engine, car structure. Also, Proton will cooperate with Lotus in testing the car, so the new car that will come out between 1 or 2 years may based on this co-operation with Lotus design and engine. Just hope they can really learn from Lotus. The RM100k sport car is targeting the euro and US market, it is not really for Malaysia market.

• drM (Member) on Apr 27, 2006 at 9:14 am

FOR these years, why its only now we are beginning to use Lotus? yes..we do have such Lotus expertise in gearbox, bla-bla-blah…but since we already owned Lotus for…errmm…4? 5 years? why its only now we are starting to bring the technology and designs to our own shore? why?

We should bring Lotus to BolehLand at the time we bought it. we should bring the expertise/ the ideas/ the workers here. The same goes to that shameful MV Augusta.

I cannot bear to think that millions thrown into the drain..please..and now please bring me that Toyota Mark X Special Edition. thanks

• cbljkkj (Member) on Apr 27, 2006 at 2:29 pm

"lower-end sports car than the very basic Lotus Elise". Wow, this really takes my breath away. Like the rest have mentioned above, there is hardly anything left to "un-modify" from the car. If a screw was not in place the whole car would fall apart (joking).

I hope this is not a silly rumour to instill hope that Proton is going to produce a Lotus car for real. Who knows? We might just end up with another Proton with "Lotus handling" stamped on it.

Lets not get ahead of ourselves. My ideal Lotus/Proton car would be made of Rm1.00 ice cream sticks as the chassis, pandan leaf for the panels, windshields made from a lot of superglue and interior made out of crappy creaky materials.

We deserve better!!! Why don't you just reduce the tax so we can actually afford the REAL Lotus Elise instead of some crappy watered-down rebadge!!

• tbcheese (Member) on Apr 27, 2006 at 2:51 pm

off topic: I saw a Savvy on the road here in the UK : ) Metallic grey looks real good. The butt is still ugly though. For only £6000 with £1 deposit and 3 yrs free RAC (like AAM in Msia) it is quite affordable.

• Bigjoe (Member) on Apr 27, 2006 at 3:20 pm

How many people want to buy a Lotus in Malaysia even for RM100K? Don't think the number works unless they can sell it overseas. Oversea, this idea has been tried, the infamous De Lorean is being the most notorius, and the Japanese have tried for years.

It looks like Proton has still not really changed its ways. Looking for easy answer in a world of tough ones.

There is only two choices for Proton to work and that is either give up on the NEP agenda (fire most local vendor and change managers) or the car. One or the other has to go.

• Matthew Seleigh (Member) on Apr 27, 2006 at 3:49 pm

It's common knowledge in the Malaysian MX-5 club as well as in the automotive side of the investment community, but is anyone here aware of the fact that the bloke who did the original MX-5 is working at Proton?

I dunno what the MX-5 club thinks, but in the investment community the general belief is he wasn't brought in to do Gen2 door handles.

• kendo (Member) on Apr 27, 2006 at 4:45 pm

JUST GIVE us the REAL Car,

or close SHOP,

at fair prices,

not Fxxxxxxxx no-name

sutera, atos, potong.wira…..kencil'''!

• ec (Member) on Apr 27, 2006 at 5:09 pm

Malaysian not really need this kind of sports car, i think.

Would be good if producing a lotus type passenger car, so as to compete with new Honda Civic. So people won't shout at the 100K price tab!

• bolo (Member) on Apr 27, 2006 at 5:18 pm

I am no fan of Proton, but the idea of a barebone sports car sounds interesting. Sport cars these days are getting so fat and bloated with creature comfort stuffs that it can no longer considered "sport". A true sport car should be like a superbike on four wheels, just the bare essentials like a true Lotus should. There's currently no such offerring in the market ( apart from the kit cars ), so there should be a market for it but not in Malaysia though.

• superman (Member) on Apr 27, 2006 at 7:04 pm

Contrary to many of the Post here that only NOW are proton using Lotus, I must say that is not true. Proton has been using Lotus expertise for sometime now.

Does anyone remember

-Satria GTI (design and Tuning by Lotus)

-CAMPRO engine, (developement by Lotus)

-Ride & Handling of every Proton Car (by Lotus as the Proton Egineers are/were Trainde to the Lotus R&H systems)

As to bringing Lotus Engineers and Expertise here. They already are, for quite some years too.

Mathew,

You are reffering to Bob Hall I believe :-) part of MX-5/Miata Project Management.

• goingberserk (Member) on Apr 27, 2006 at 8:51 pm

P1 still doesnt listen to the public. BUILD CARS THAT WE WANT NOT THE MANAGEMENT P1 thinks we want. Why still targeting sports car. Aiyoh .. common P1.. think think.. squeeze the bloody juices out… GET CREATIVE.. use Lotus technology (if any ) to mass produce a better passenger car or MPV or something. Not idiot sports car that only caters for 0.000000000000000000000000000000001% of the population… I gave up on P1. Better shut down!! No need to produce anything.. Pissed everybody off.

• Hilmax (Member) on Apr 27, 2006 at 9:20 pm

Hello superman,

What all people here want to say IS HOW STUPID DUMP PROTON DID NOT FULLY UTILIZE LOTUS FOR ALL ASPECT in building a CAR not ONLY HANDLING fxxtor….grrrr

Yeah I goingberserk and SHUT DOWN our wallet from give to S…T CAR.. the money that we could buy NEW CIVIC 2.0…

• kendo (Member) on Apr 27, 2006 at 11:21 pm

Strange?!!

If you ask per 100 RAKYATS,

on question of Proton continue or SHUT down?

99% will prefer TUTUP lah!

Yet,

G is going AGAINST rakyats VOICES?!

may be Pak L will heed us,

And truly practice "WORK with ME" motto,

together,

for better rakyat-CAR-life!

on next chance.

(esp. as the oldMAN is EXIT.)

• azolkipl (Member) on Apr 28, 2006 at 12:27 am

I'm not sure if you guys read the papers or not, but that Syed Zainal dude also made a statement to reduce suppliers from 300+ to only 40. I don't think he's some dumbass attention seeking CEO who's making wrong decisions. He only joined the company less that half a year, don't expect miracles la.

I think he's got some realistic goals. Proton's QC is bad and he's addressing that. Proton has too many suppliers, and he's also addressing that. Now, he's making a statement to fully utilize Proton's sports car making subsidiary, Lotus, to make low-end sports cars.

Okay what. Not a bad idea. I give him my support and hope he doesn't mess it up. You think he can change the whole of Proton overnight? Dream on. Come back in a years time, and I bet you there'll be improvements in Proton, overall.

• superman (Member) on Apr 28, 2006 at 1:09 am

Hilmax said,

April 27, 2006 @ 1:20 pm

Hello superman,

What all people here want to say IS HOW STUPID DUMP PROTON DID NOT FULLY UTILIZE LOTUS FOR ALL ASPECT in building a CAR not ONLY HANDLING fxxtor….grrrr

Yeah I goingberserk and SHUT DOWN our wallet from give to S…T CAR.. the money that we could buy NEW CIVIC 2.0…

Uh, Hillmax,

I think I just did mentioned that. Lotus is UTILISED for many things not just Ride & Handling.

eg Engine developement. CAMPRO, in case you don't know is an ENGINE.

Design-wise Lotus did the styling for SGTi.

Please read my post carefully.

• kanasai (Member) on Apr 28, 2006 at 2:21 am

low end lotus? we need a decent car such as Vios or City or a budget car with low petrol consumption.

What’s the point having low end sports car with high petrol consumption!!

Honda and Toyota will one day bring in hybrid cars to our country or even electric car in masses.

Why stupid proton always have the wrong plan looking at the fact that petrol is rising.

The G will not increase our petrol only for this year, imagine if oil increase up to 85 USD per barrel for the year 2008. Can we think the G will not follow?

Proton, pls la. Use a little bit of brains thinking of the future trend!! Ai yo, our national car really make everyone sakit kepala when we are FORCE to buy HIGH petrol consumption car in the future.

• shaif (Member) on Apr 28, 2006 at 5:11 am

From what I read in The Star Biz section which an interview with the new Proton MD, it's quite promising. This is what TM should do when he rule the Proton. Not let the dumbass greedy man who take 'rasuah' for selecting the vendor. Now the vendor will be selected by a committee. Let the number of vendor reduce and left the only capable vendor only.

I believe mr syed is trying hard to change Proton image right from the inside , quality. I believe he is capable to the job as long as no intervention megalomaniac political thing.

I still supporting proton even though I'm not really satisfy with my proton's car quality. I'm not give up with my car yet. I hope Proton can return my faith with producing high quality car let say in two years from now.

Its time Proton utilize all the resources including Lotus skills and expertise.

• bolo (Member) on Apr 28, 2006 at 5:30 am

Syed Zainal has come across as a straight talking and practical CEO compared to TM. Since Lotus is not going to be sold off, might as well leverage its brand to produce something marketable. Lotus can never compete with the likes of Toyota at designing a competitive pessenger car, it simply do not have the experties. What Lotus does have is the brand and its forte is in producing light weight sports car, ( it can't compete with luxurious sports car make like Porsche or Ferrari either ) so it make sense to target a low cost sport car. Proton should not have acquired Lotusin the first place, now that it is not allowed to sell it off might as well do something with it.

• Hilmax (Member) on Apr 28, 2006 at 9:39 am

Uh, Hillmax,

I think I just did mentioned that. Lotus is UTILISED for many things not just Ride & Handling.

eg Engine developement. CAMPRO, in case you don’t know is an ENGINE.

Design-wise Lotus did the styling for SGTi.

Please read my post carefully.

I see, soo why CAMPRO did not finish with CPS? Because not enough budget??

If Design is ok why the part@material and most important quality is not up to standard???

The LOTUS itself is a legend in motorsport…why proton dont use their standard in producing cars?????

• dip (Member) on Apr 28, 2006 at 10:17 am

elise the new putra? hope its cheaper than 100k, maybe same like the old putra price :P

• biggie (Member) on Apr 28, 2006 at 6:40 pm

goingberserk

do u honestly think m'sian want proton to be a LADA or TATA producing cheap cars for uncles and mak cik.

Thats the original proton spirit before TM mess them up with his rally idea.

• marmitecrab (Member) on Apr 28, 2006 at 7:36 pm

Hillmax,

You need to know that in order for Proton to use the same production standards as Lotus, the cars would be too expensive for us to afford because Lotus is an engineering company and from an engineering point of view, they'd rather use the higer quality components. But from a mass manufacturing point of view, someone like Proton would need to use lower quality parts to make the cars more affordable/improve their profit margin.

Lotus has done a few things for Proton but it's not really much. If you see the kind of thing they do for other car companies, you'd know they are capable of so much more. However, there are 2 reasons I can think of as to why they don't do more for Proton.

1. Although Proton owns the company, they probably have a supplier/customer relationship and Lotus, being a business entity by itself will need to charge Proton for their services and Proton can only afford so much. Nobody will do contract jobs for free. Large car companies like Ford can probably pay Lotus more for bigger jobs like engine development.

2. Proton does not know what to do with Lotus. Having a sports car model does wonders for the manufacturers reputation in the market, albeit it's in smaller numbers. Eg. Nissan 350Z is selling in relatively small numbers compared to the Sentra/X-Trail, etc. but having the 350Z is a huge boon to Nissan's reputation. To me, Proton is more of a bread and butter kind of manufacturer, selling budget cars and people movers. At least, that's what they should be doing. Not focusing on sports cars.

With that, I agree with goingberserk. Focus on cars the people want. See the numbers of SUV's/MPV's on the roads and you'll know what the people want. And none of that Juara nonsense either, please. Malaysians have a bit of taste.

• superman (Member) on Apr 28, 2006 at 8:24 pm

Hilmax said,

April 28, 2006 @ 1:39 am

I see, soo why CAMPRO did not finish with CPS? Because not enough budget??

If Design is ok why the part@material and most important quality is not up to standard???

The LOTUS itself is a legend in motorsport…why proton dont use their standard in producing cars?????

I think Marmitrab has answered most of your question .

I'm replying to your original queries to why Lotus was not utilised by Proton when in truth they are.

Maybe not to the extent it would please you but Lotus Engineering as a business entity needs to charge their clients for any developemnt work.

And anyone with a rough idea what a car developement cost may entail will understand it is not cheap.

Do some more research, my friend, read up in The Edge etc , Auto mags Industry mags etc if you truly want to undertstand the business.

• Hilmax (Member) on Apr 28, 2006 at 9:08 pm

All back to business yes? Proton should not buy Lotus then…..just a wasted profit…because proton that pay their salary rite?? yeah people or rakyat don't have much money but in the end the Proton and Lotus in later years should have significant CAR MODEL other then handling,suspension,engine,design etc…

protong cars less affordable(need new car in several years or big buck just to repair) AND improve their profit margin.

And all this years the cost is unbearably by protong??? The sucked money were to go???? To help reduce the quality in BolehLand and increase the add-ons on exported model?????

I means no offence who reply me. People certainly need do little research but in this case youth like me(many you too) already fed up with protong.

• marmitecrab (Member) on Apr 28, 2006 at 9:31 pm

Hillmax,

I feel your pain. I had my first taste of Proton "quality" back in 1993 when I bought my first car. I've had 5 Protons since then and I know what you're talking about because I too, am fed-up with their quality. That's why I don't own one now and neither does anyone in my family. I'm sure if you could afford it, you wouldn't want one too.

And that's the whole issue here, isn't it? All this while, we've been forced to accept this situation because of national policy and govt. protectionism and it's finally taken it's toll on Proton. They have, for the first time, acknowledged their poor quality in public. That's a huge admission for any car manufacturer to make and such statements will definitely have an impact on their share prices. Don't forget, what is published in our papers will also be picked up by the foreign press and you can be sure it will affect their international markets as well.

But this blog isn't about Proton's quality, it's about Lotus/Proton coming out with a new sports car. The debate should be, do we need one? And what about the quality? And what about their current quality issues and how it relates to their performance in the future? Let's talk about that and see if we can enlighten each other.

• Hilmax (Member) on Apr 28, 2006 at 10:50 pm

Here in BolehLand does anyone need for speed? I does need it but the need itself has limit. Lotus/Proton should have new new new sport model and with the NAP taxes structure will decrease the price because NAP is for P1,P2…

Because high petrol cost, people will resort to less consuming fuel vehicle..that the point for years to come.

Porton can build sport model that powerful and less consuming fuel thus it need technology prowness and advance..that Lotus had it.smile

If the model has all above with cost of RM 100k i buying it…

• honda_driver (Member) on Apr 28, 2006 at 11:42 pm

hi kanasai, and to the others here.

as usual, we are always complaining, its a malaysian trait i think. we complain, and complain, because we claim its our right, but do nothing else about it. I think it would be a lot better for everyone, if we contribute practical ideas and solutions to a problem, rather than ranting and raving about it all the time.

"low end lotus? we need a decent car such as Vios or City or a budget car with low petrol consumption"

You are just looking from a very narrow viewpoint of what protons md said. If any of you had read the report in entirety, the "low end lotus" was just one of many different points he brought up. He mentioned changing the company from the inside out. all the way from R&D, plant worker, vendors, to sales and distribution. Not just mentality, but business processes..etc. I think before you comment, you should show that you actually know what you're talking about. There used to be a term that was used in this forum before, its called the 'blind basher'. Sadly, i think its not used enough in the forum nowadays.

Btw, doesnt proton already have a budget car, that has better fuel consumption than the vios and city?

If all else fails, and we still hate proton, go buy another car then, i did.

• kanasai (Member) on May 01, 2006 at 8:25 pm

hi honda_driver

proton do not need practical idea or solution from the user as it is their job to think of a solution n not from us. for 20 years and proton still cannot have a solution to their problem n req our help is total shameful. we, the user only knows how to complain cause this is everything as consumer we can do. even we give feedbacks, the problem still exists and never solve in the end from proton.

about the low end lotus.. ask your self who needs a low end lotus in Malaysia and especially on Malaysia road! and i do not understand why honda term some of us as blind basher cause the fact is that proton is going for a plan to produce low end lotus which is not what we want.

the MD pointed out many other good points and plans but that's just talking. look what happen to TUV? looks like no news when proton talk about improving QC. last year, TUV is hot on the topic and on the radio and give us a new blind promise but still, no QC improvement overall.

And may I know which proton model consider a budget car comparable with Vios and City? A budget car to us means affordable car price with minimum safety feature and low or no defects at all in everything. And I m referring to a budget sedan car for family with low petrol consumption.

And talking about low petrol consumptions, which proton model has even lower compare with Vios n City?

• tltan (Member) on May 08, 2007 at 6:10 pm

Hello… all folks,

new low end lotus? another lousy design or copycat design from malaysia local car? sigh… why!!!!…. looks like Proton oredi run out of idea to create design of car. When the new design come out then all other proton car price will drop again… hahaha…

Agree with kanasai, quality and fuel consumptions is more concern due to fuel price rise and global warming nowaday.

• hansisk (Member) on May 11, 2007 at 9:03 am

hai, first timer here… why not proton and lotus try to be like toyota and lexus… lotus is higher end car and proton are lower end car… but agree on proton quality… should be improve by now… how many year their taking lotus, end up with the sporty version not cusion version… *sigh*

• Mohd Khotib Sufi on May 13, 2009 at 4:26 pm

Hello , nama saya Mohd khotib sufi . saya ada satu plan kereta ''Racing'' punya . so saya nak hantar plan ni ke mana ?