2008 Volkswagen Scirocco Concept Photos

vw_scirocco_1.jpg

The Volkwagen Scirocco made it’s debut in 1974 as a simple coupe sports car based on the A1 platform shared with the Volkswagen Jetta and the Volkswagen Golf. It was the replacement for the Volkswagen Karmann Ghia coupe. The original Volkswagen Scirocco was designed by Giorgetto Giugiaro. It’s generations were sold up to 1992, and was replaced by the Volkswagen Corrado. There are now plans to bring back the Scirocco name in 2008.

vw_scirocco_2.jpg

The new 2008 Volkswagen Scirocco will once again share a platform with the Volkswagen Golf. The Volkswagen Scirocco will use the Volkswagen Golf Mk5’s platform, which is also used by the Volkswagen Jetta. The structure will be pretty much the same, except for the height. The Scirocco will be 10cm lower than the Golf.

Engine options will be the 1.4 litre 170 horsepower twin-charger TSI from the Golf GT, the 2.0 litre turbocharged 200 horsepower motor from the Golf GTI, and the normally aspirated 3.2 litre V6 making 250 horsepower from the Golf R32. Note that by the time it is launched, the R32 might have been replaced by an R36 moniker, which means a 3.6 V6 instead of a 3.2 V6.

vw_scirocco_3.jpg

Previous artist’s impression of the Scirocco:

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Jason (Member) on May 26, 2006 at 4:33 am

Looks good. What's the point? All we can do is drool. Btw, it does look abit like Alfa Romeo Brera.

• no_nickzz (Member) on May 26, 2006 at 4:35 am

it is jus a dream 4malaysian

• amir (Member) on May 26, 2006 at 4:40 am

look awesome. check out the side view, it looks like volvo's hud n light…

• jtshin (Member) on May 26, 2006 at 4:50 am

The Previous artist impression looks nicer… but lights looks like New Civic… hehe… but the first picture… the front looks a bit like Aston Martin + Audi… hmmm… overall still not bad… a twin exhaust tail pipe… looks nice… not like savvy single tail pipe… looks strange….

• StingRayINC (Member) on May 26, 2006 at 5:39 am

This is a good looking car, a very nice looking 2 door car. Looks more stable and the cooling system is better. very nice car

• acbc (Member) on May 26, 2006 at 5:40 am

The front looks like the concept Mitsubishi Evo X.

• mystvearn (Member) on May 26, 2006 at 6:36 am

hopefully we can get a P1/P3 version of this car. Looks like an audi…

• i'm run (Member) on May 26, 2006 at 6:54 am

The last pic looks like the new Honda Civic 2006.. The headlights look a bit similar… anyway, just my opinion …

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on May 26, 2006 at 7:00 am

fierce looking……grrrrrrrrr

• Initial D (Member) on May 26, 2006 at 7:11 am

the car is vry broad…i think the width is >2000…….

the front dun look too nice to me…..

Cheers!!!!

• aksMs (Member) on May 26, 2006 at 7:28 am

I like the previous artist impression better than the current one. Btw, will VW bring back the Corrado?

• Dogster (Member) on May 26, 2006 at 7:32 am

the front seems to be a peugout……… fish mouth or shark mouth

• raptorclans (Member) on May 26, 2006 at 4:45 pm

If they could revive the Karmann Ghia it'd be really nice… love that car…

• ka_one2000 (Member) on May 26, 2006 at 5:16 pm

The front looks like Fiat Punto Grande…..

• goingberserk (Member) on May 26, 2006 at 7:23 pm

definately a boomer !!!! wonder if anyone in Bolehland can afford it ?

• motorhead (Member) on May 26, 2006 at 7:26 pm

As most of msian.. we only can be admirers.. look only la… but lucky we have this blog to see what’s goin on in motor industry…

How great it's 1.4 engines can produce 170hp.. compare to Bestari only 74hp… now we know how sucks Bestari's engines.. And we oso can know most of cars in msia have outdated… When we can expect this car arrive in msia??.. donno.. maybe next 10 years…& overprice some more..

I wish when AP is over.. they will stop manipulate us & cars for the cronies to make profit.. pls stop & let the people fulfil their dream… our market is worse then china.. shame to msia.. it has turned into new type of country.. Capmunist = Capitalist + Communist.. special term for Malaysia…. Some people might be angry when I say this, but tell me why I cant said so… I guess many frens here wud agree oso… Malaysia mmg boleh.. & very good in making new terms in dictionaries.. MSC la, glokal la, infotainmen la and now CAPMUNIST…. New English term for new ideology and market behaviour in Malaysia…

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 29, 2006 at 6:32 am

look like brera a bit…but quite okla..