Toyota Auris Space Concept

aurisspace1.jpg

After a few artist’s impressions mostly from Japanese auto magazines, Toyota has revealed to the world the Toyota Auris space concept, which will be the base design for the future Toyota Auris hatchback, the replacement for the Toyota Corolla hatchback in the European market.

“The Auris space concept is tall and spacious. The high waistline, short overhangs and forward balance of the cabin architecture ensure it retains a sense of dynamism and agility, a quality we call perfect imbalance,” says Wahei Hirai, Toyota Global Design Managing Officer, explaining the rationale behind Toyota’s latest interpretation of it’s Vibrant Clarity design philosophy.

The Toyota Auris space concept is equipped with a panoramic glass roof, which helps increase the overall feel of interior space and lighting. The Latin word for gold is Aurum, which is similiar to the Auris name, hence the new Toyota Auris space concept is painted in gold.

More photos after the jump.

aurisspace2.jpg

aurisspace3.jpg

aurisspace4.jpg

aurisspace5.jpg

aurisspace6.jpg

aurisspace7.jpg

aurisspace8.jpg

aurisspace9.jpg

aurisspace10.jpg

aurisspace11.jpg

aurisspace12.jpg

aurisspace13.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• J (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 2:59 am

Wow ! Fantastic look.. I wish it can be realise soon !

• Whopper (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 3:34 am

Simply superb !!!. Next generation Corrolla perhaps ?

• narrowband (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 4:10 am

Wow those dim lightings really teasing my senses. That's so mentally stimulating.

The overall dimensions look lower (hence sportier) and longer than Yaris!

• sarawakguy (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 4:35 am

To me…still looks very "Yarish" in shape…

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 5:01 am

looks more like the current corolla.

• geforce (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 6:52 am

Another Toyota's new concept car! Good job!

• DAN (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 7:23 am

that never end. good car for it self that bring alone it will b

• maxtek (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 8:05 am

For some reason, I hate these stupid concepts…

At first, they look like the bomb, but then, after the production model comes out, they look like shiz…

Plain stupid la…

Walao, gold exterior for what? To attract indians ah?

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 8:37 am

Err… Felt like a bit Yaris… Hei Toyota, are u out of ideas now? I tot u r going to control the world market? Anyway Yaris in Japan is called as Vitz..

• mystvearn (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 8:55 am

Looks ugly. Front lights like sutera, rear ugly/outdated. Looks ugly..

• Celicazz (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 9:34 am

outdated? I cant understand in which year are you living…

it just looks yarisish

• mits27 (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 11:52 am

Civic still looks better…

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 5:34 pm

I think this hatchback will cater for european market. Wonder how does it look like for the sedan, which i believe is a altis replacement model in year 2007. Design looks very promising but yet has some shadow of the current Yaris though…

• renyeo (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 6:57 pm

It is a Civic antidote. European pensioners will love the Auris to bits :)

• szw (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 10:25 pm

looks like yaris oni.

• BlueChaos (Member) on Oct 01, 2006 at 1:13 am

Only thing I like about this concept is the dashboard design. Following Honda's futuristic look in the New Civic, it seems that Toyota is also starting to put a "space design" in their latest models. But if blue is the way to go for Honda (see their latest Civic, CR-V and Stream), will Toyota choose… orange?!

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Oct 01, 2006 at 4:20 am

Yaris brother kar?

• albagmane (Member) on Oct 01, 2006 at 6:00 am

well… very detailed headlights and cute looking on the metre display and steering wheel…

• owaief (Member) on Oct 02, 2006 at 12:18 am

uglier than the yaris….

• Grey_Fox (Member) on Oct 02, 2006 at 4:43 am

Er…good try?. Real interesting color though. But the yaris looks better to me.

• Kaboda (Member) on Oct 02, 2006 at 5:25 pm

I like this car, a real HOT HATCH ! Cant compare it to a Civic cus its not really a sedan looking car. I think if the engine specs are good maybe a nice 2 litre supercharged engine / Turbo Charged engine we are really looking at a GTI competitor.

• DarkL1ghT (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 1:30 am

ET designed and came in this!

• miracle (Member) on Dec 30, 2006 at 4:23 am

is it released in m'sia yet?