Next Toyota Supra to be a hybrid

toyotasupraaex.jpg

Apparently there will be a variant of the Lexus LF-A sold under the Toyota brand under the venerable Supra badge, but instead of using the LF-A’s 500hp V10, it will use a tuned up version of the Lexus GS450h’s 339hp 3.5 litre V6 hybrid engine paired with a 7-speed automatic transmission.

The hybrid powertrain, called the 2GR-FSE, is said to produce power equivalent to a 4.5 litre V8, hence the GS450h moniker. The S in the engine code represents the inclusion of Toyota’s D4-S twin injection system, which combines direct injection with traditional port injection. At low revs, the engine uses a combination of both direct injection and port injection, while at high load conditions only direct injection is used. This supposedly allows for better fuel efficiency.

The new Toyota Supra hybrid sportscar is expected to be unveiled end of 2007.

2008 Lexus LF-A at Nurburgring
Lexus LF-H Spyshots
Lexus LF-A

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• giyzmo (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 6:25 pm

Ahhhh…. the new toyota supra……really aggresive looking car!!

• protonGL (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 7:01 pm

some BMW line, tricked ALFA face,…..

OK La………….

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 7:15 pm

Probably what the Cylons would be driving if they had a car…..only thing missing are those red 'knight rider' style front lights……

You probably would see a base non-hybrid version that just uses the 3.5 V6..eventually someone would twin turbo charge it.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 7:36 pm

What's the Bugatti grill doing there?

• albagmane (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 8:58 pm

well i think the car does look the new Audi R8 supercar… hmm… toyota, really moving forward…

• motorhead (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 9:15 pm

huh, dasatnya, but too bad, i may not be able to see it on msian road for next 20 years…..

• kacman (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 9:50 pm

damn, what a nice car dude. not 20 yrs, but it'd be forever la motorhead..

• drM (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 10:01 pm

I dont know what to say actually, but I believe the Supras always stand as a benchmark of speed and agility, atleast for young guns like us. I am not that TECHNOLOGY savvy but if the engine can contribute much to fuel efficiency, than FORZA toyota!

• transformer (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 10:47 pm

Looks like Alfa + Audi + Subaru = Supra Front

but still too sharp for me…. Like a samurai swords!!!

still prefer the next gen. Skyline GTR-Proto.

Any comment ?

And most importantly, neither both reach would be able to reach Bolehland.

• msmar_453 (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 12:18 am

Omaigod!!

damn beautiful, dude!! HOT & SPICY!!

should be appears on the TRANSFORMERS movie-lah!

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 1:05 am

Why SPORT car need HYBRID?

No money to buy PETROL better use KANCIL or KAPCAI lah.

WRONG move by the way.

• KL-ATR (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 1:45 am

auctioncenter, Hybrid is a Politically Correct thing that should be done by responsible manufacturers. Most hybrid engines are not made for Kancil-land but for a single State in the US that can buy maybe 50x more cars than Kancil-land. California has one of the most severe emission control laws in the world and they are studying the possibility of imposing Hybrid only cars in certain cities. When that happens, you can have 10 Ferraries but you can't drive it into San Francisco… while your neighbour with his hybrid Supra can. Everything is going global nowadays… do you want to keep your mind only in Kancil-land???

I think this Supra looks aggresive enough to be the ultimate Toyota… but I would still love to see what the Fast and Furious boys can do to it. :-)

• topgunthang (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 2:23 am

good to know the japanese are reviving their sportscars now. all at the same time.

interesting to see what mazda does. in terms of fuel efficiency.

more competition please.

• aesthari (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 3:12 am

Very aggresive looking, and although it's way more futuristic looking, it does have similar lines to the Supra.

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 4:58 am

looks something alfa would come out with. I think it will not be like that and the front end will become more rounded like other toyota design's

• szw (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 5:02 am

hmm… looks futuristic

• AMG (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 6:00 am

Hybrid!!?? 300+hp with hybrid!!! Cool

• Maranello_575 (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 6:41 am

looks sort of wierd

• SoMeOnE (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 7:58 am

i dunno….gosh…somehow dun find v6's to be an answer coz the old supra had a high revving straight 4 and..i dunno about u guys..i stay away from v6's coz fer some reason ..i find them 'lazy'……

• Paul Tan on Nov 08, 2006 at 4:12 pm

the old supra had a straight 6, not straight 4.

• motorhead (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 5:22 pm

kacman,

Yea lor man… we still have never seen many other models on msian road.. lucky we can see them in this blog….

ps: I am 31 years old, never see a ford mustang.. yet..

• acbc (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 8:08 pm

Ford Mustang 05 is available in Australia now… RHD model! Price? It's AUD 120k!

• cbljkkj (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 8:15 pm

Well, with the current trend of V style engines on performance cars.

Eg W16 (Twin V8s) Bugatti Veyron, V8 Ferrari F430, V10 M5 and M6 as well as the upcoming GT-R with a 450hp Twin Turbo V6.

I think the perception of the lazy engine are those that are found on conventional family sedans such as the Perdana V6 or Infiniti models which are meant to be luxrious cruisers.

The V layout engines on the performance cars are modified blocks and internals. The V engine provides a smooth acceleration and great cruising speeds whereas the Inline 6 is more punchy and meaty.

• kacman (Member) on Nov 09, 2006 at 3:13 am

Motorhead

dats right buddy, until forever la we wont see those awesome machines. thx to our mr paulie, otherwise we'd better head out of the country to see em.

Hey abc, ive seen few too, of cse here la in OZ. where's you loc? i'm in laverton. The new ford GT-P looks and sounds damn good with 4 pipes behind, had a pic taken today. paulie, can i post it here, and how dude?

• BobMarley (Member) on Nov 09, 2006 at 8:09 am

Finished product probably wont look like this? I "just" hope it will be able to outperform a corvete Z06! holy crap that would be righteous mon!!!

• topgunthang (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 11:59 am

ahh man. the more the merrier. japan needs to come up with some competition.

• dawgHause (Member) on Nov 16, 2006 at 6:17 am

what on earth? a hybrid sports car? people who build hybrid sports cars are stupid and people who buy these cars thinking that they are saving the world are just as stupid.

think about it, the whole point of a hybrid vehicle is for drivers to save fuel while driving around town, through stop and go traffic, by using electic motors to power the car along slowly through cities.

who on earth buys a sports car and drives through the middle of a traffic jam? people who buy sports cars just so that they can be seen in them are plain posers. sports cars a meant to blast down a motorway lane and chew corners at ludicrious speeds. how on earth are you going to do that when you are carrying extra weight in batteries and extra onboard motors that work effectively in slow traffic?

So fine a sports car is a good step to save the environment. cool.

but how many hybrid sports cars do you think they will make compared to the amount of gas-guzzellers rolling off their other production lines everywhere else in the world? there isn't goin to be any different.

its just a marketing ploy to get those people with too much money and too little brains. what you are paying for is a terribly expensive, over-weight, over-complicated sports car that would be blown into the weeds by a light-weight, simple to heart, gas-burning Porsche.

and anyone who buys it will be branded a complete ***stick.

• darkteror (Member) on Nov 22, 2006 at 10:07 pm

WOW I WANT THAT 2 BE COME MY BABY!