Proton Satria Neo5

Satria Neo5

Another photoshop by contributor Theophilus Chin. He’s whipped up a 5-door hatchback version of the Satria Neo called the Satria Neo5, inspired by manufacturers like Chevrolet and Kia who add the 5 suffix to their hatchback cars. I think the way the rear door extends onto the wheel arch is abit weird, but looks okay overall. I wonder if the Golf Mk5 could somehow have Satria Neo inspired body panels slapped onto it and end up looking like this. Click the image above to view an enlarged version.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 1:18 am

nah , the rear doors are jus way too small , n it doesnt make sence , usually the DNA starts from a 4door platform into a 2 door , not the other way round…

• jazz1011 (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 1:20 am

Couldn't really tell the difference at first glance.

But looks pretty neat though.

Either a love-it-or-hate-it affair, maybe?

Ponder … ponder.

• san_j (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 1:20 am

wow…I'm impressed…looks good with 4 doors…

more larger headlights..Overall, Thumps Up!

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 1:23 am

Actually the wheelbase is longer, or the rear doors will be smaller still. But the front overhang is shorter, meaning the headlights, though enlarged, sits back closer to the front wheel arch. I've also moved the A-pillars forward.

• osh_kosh (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 1:30 am

yeah pretty neat…

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 1:38 am

such a talented teo,

but i like the ori front,

hope can see it in estate, with crosser type, after this ..

• Paul Tan on Mar 22, 2007 at 1:40 am

protonGL: estate sudah ada

http://paultan.org/archives/2006/08/09/more-proto…

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 1:40 am

I am wondering why PROTONG made SAVVY at first?

They should focus on Satria 5 doors and Satria sedan seriously.

Savvy? For what? Look Ulgy and small not cheap at all.

Many People are looking for Friendly usage car rather than JUST a good looking style. 3 doors Car is Not user friendly especially for married people.

BTW, This NEO5 looks Okay. Thanks Theophilus Chin, good job!

• Hikaru (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 1:53 am

Convincing work Theophilus, u must be becoming some sort of a legend in the Malaysian Automotive cyberspace for your art work. As many commentor have said, Proton should employ u to draw their new car for them.

Personally, a four door neo kind of makes very weird sense because the back would look more like a hatch (e.g. golf, focus, seat). I think the sedan that u did early is a better bet for a best seller.

Also Paul, i think we would all prefer the golf as it is, whoever owns proton :)

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 2:04 am

Looks good.

But unfortunately the hatback suffers an unknown stigma here. People prefer a sedan. No idea why.

Hatchbacks are so versatile.

Proton probably lacks the resourses to come out with more modles. If VW wins the bid to buy proton, its next cars will probably (hopefully) be based on VW groups platforms, probably last generation.

• honda_driver (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 2:10 am

if theo were to come up with totally original interpretation of certain "main" proton models, rather than modifying existing ones, it would send a clearer message to everyone of his talents and abilities.

to be honest, to be a good car designer, its not just about modifying an existing car, putting a door here, a tail extension there.. another tough thing is to be able to envision what the consumer wants about 2 years down the line as that is usually how long it takes a car to go from nothing to production.

also, i think it dont make any sense to say, "build a hatchback neo".. but more sense to say, slap the neo front end unto a gen2.. and what do you have?? Voila! a 4 door hatchback Neo.

• armandd (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 2:27 am

actually, i think this Neo5 is much better looking than the current VW Golf!

• armandd (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 2:29 am

well done Theo!

• V_NoZ (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 2:42 am

great work! nice to let us see the various posibilties of converting 2 doors to 5 doors. i hope u could edit more pic for all of us to see! hope u keep the excellent work going! nice to know someone really takes the effort to do this awesome stuff! thanks teo! dont let good talent go to waste! well done!

on the neo 5.. looks great! agree with paul on the wheel arch. dont think its visible at all. anyways.. iam hoping for more pics from u!

cheers

• mrshaharin (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 2:50 am

well done theo…could u also render a more sportier version of Neo..sportier than the current design…

• Bigjoe (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 3:17 am

I have a problem with my Proton Iswara engine. Its a 1996 1.3L manual and very well maintained with only 90,000Km on it. A couple of years ago, something strange started to happen sporadically. The engine would just suddenly heat up. After it cools down, the problem does not repeat itself immediately. Then months later, it would happen again.

Anyone know what the problem is?

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 3:55 am

over heating?

radiator fan dysfunction or thermo sensor itself dysfunction (plugged into the cooling system), or connection of it loose, (traffic jam-it overheats)

blown head gasket, results low cooling fluid, (caused low or empty resevoir), slight steamy exhaust, worst case engine oil turn chocolaty, chcolate color (bubbly water when look at opened radiator cap).

leaky cooling system, leaky radiator or untight water hose clip(not the case since its spring clipped), or untight drain plug under the radiator (little mistake)

or nothing happened ,justa faulty temp indicator,

check the symptom, sort it out bigjoe, (i know what u mean big joe..)

my sister had proton 7 years now , just change radiator fan once,rm70

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 5:02 am

ive own the neo for like 9 months and its so far so good, honestly, i think the quality is much better than the past, but too bad it never came out with a 4 door, it looks more practical and would beat myvi till kingdom come :D thanks

• japankiller (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 5:55 am

Bigjoe,

Check your fan relay, it might have a new one replace, cause your radiator fan basically are control by this relay, i experienced the same problem 3 years ago with my Toyota Altis, it is brand new less than a year, when bring it to Toyota workshop at Prai, the service advisor asked me register for a booking, i screwed him up.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 6:04 am

Who are the day dreamer by virtue of buying and owning Neo but already claim that it would beat MyVi! Sigh pathetic statement. Don't give "unnecessary and uncontrol emotional talking"! Enough crap is spill out!

Perodua with their master Toyota make billions form our auto sector despite it is a captive market, but P1 now bleeding out of self-inflicted wound by lost approximately 80 million a month! MyVi waiting list is 6 month, yet P1 oldstock need six month to clear!

Back to topic, the photoshop my my layman nake eye is beautiful. Unfortunately, P1 have no eye to see on all this good work!

Theo, you better start photoshop VW car like Passat, Jetta, Golf, etc, etc, including Skoda, Audi or SEAT, hopefully and definitely this German guy if spot your good work will appreciate and pay attention. If they take over P1, then it is your luck and your skill will be recognize, chances you make fortune is great. If you still continue your "patriotic" photoshop this pathetic Milo Tin on the Wheel junky, you are just like cow moving in the circle and go no where!!!!!!!!!

You talented guy, must know that great man is not born, but train and must put at the right place and the right time. Photoshoping P1 car just the opposite and wasting of time!!!!!!!!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 6:07 am

Who are the day dreamer by virtue of buying and owning Neo but already claim that it would beat MyVi! Sigh pathetic statement. Don't give "unnecessary and uncontrol emotional talking"! Enough crap is spill out!

Perodua with their master Toyota make billions form our auto sector despite it is a captive market, but P1 now bleeding out of self-inflicted wound by lost approximately 80 million a month! MyVi waiting list is 6 month, yet P1 oldstock need six month to clear!

Back to topic, the above photoshop, from my layman naked eye is beautiful. Unfortunately, P1 HP6 design team have no eye to see on all this good work!

Theo, you better start photoshop VW car like Passat, Jetta, Golf, etc, etc, including Skoda, Audi or SEAT, hopefully and definitely this German guy if spot your good work will appreciate and pay attention. If they take over P1, then it is your luck and your skill will be recognize, chances you make fortune is great. If you still continue your "patriotic" photoshop this pathetic Milo Tin on the Wheel junky, you are just like cow moving in the circle and go no where!!!!!!!!!

You talented guy, must know that great man is not born, but train and must put at the right place and the right time. Photoshoping P1 car just the opposite and wasting of time!!!!!!!!

• andyyap (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 7:56 am

How mush ? I got NEO , whice one is fast ?

• ularsawa (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 8:01 am

Joe Ooi,

Everyone has a different perspective in life. U might think and feel that the Myvi is a brilliant car but some may think that it is a silly popular choice that is just not worth the money for a car that is not that fuel effienct, not that big.

P1 did address the problems in the previous models when they launched the Neo. Its not that bad a car as the Myvi is not that good a car.

When you want to criticize, pls make sure that it is of constructive criticism. Negative criticism is so like the average minded Malaysian.

Thank you.

• armandd (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 8:50 am

i dont think the neo is a pathetic "milo tin" car..

• aesthari (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 8:52 am

Looks good, I don't see much problem with the door, just that people will have difficulty getting in if it's really made that way, the photoshop's top notch

• aesthari (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 8:59 am

Joe Ooi,

It's rude of you to say that Theo is wasting his time photoshopping a Satria NEO. He is photoshopping with an idea in mind, doesn't matter what car it is, and he probably did it in the first place because he likes the car, not with hopes some carmaker will like his idea and make him rich. You are also putting down his passion. What's with the cow moving in circle crap, and what's up with insulting people's choice? If you don't like it you can say it but don't be so extreme. Be constructive.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 9:05 am

I think we got good news! Proton has sign some agreement with VW yesterday at German!

PROTON Holdings Bhd and Volkswagen AG (VW) signed yesterday an agreement that turns the national car company and Europe's largest carmaker strategic partners in the highly-competitive industry.

A foreign partner in the VW's stature will help Proton raise its technical capability, develop more models and stem its declining share in the domestic market following recent move by the Government to remove protective import tariffs.

Analysts have said that such partnership would also enable VW to use Proton's state-of-the-art Tanjung Malim plant, which has significant excess capacity, to produce the German-designed cars to strengthen VW's presence in markets in this region.

Mail Money learnt that senior Proton officials were at the VW headquarters outside Hanover, Germany, for yesterday's signing ceremony.

While the content of the agreement is not immediately known, German daily Handelsblatt reported last week, citing unidentified people familiar with the Proton-VW talks, that it could pave the way for the setting up of a venture in which each company owns a 50 per cent stake.

Some analysts have even speculated that VW might replace the Mitsubishi group, which sold its stake in Proton this year after helping set it up two decades ago.

Source: Financial Times Information Limited and The Wall St Journal

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 9:14 am

And 1 thing, even you have new neo. I think you still loss to my little 660cc L502 kancil turbo hahaha… less then 10 seconds 0-100km/h.. RM30 can get 250-300km depending on driving style. It is really economical or not? Turbo is not that worst nowadays..

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 9:15 am

And 1 thing addyyap, even you have the new neo. I think you still loss to my little 660cc L502 kancil turbo hahaha… less then 10 seconds 0-100km/h.. RM30 can get 250-300km depending on driving style. It is really economical or not? Turbo is not that worst nowadays..

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 9:23 am

Hello andyyap dont insult daihatsu technology. Myvi is for city drive and is suitable for ladies. If u say ur 1.6 neo is so great. Let me take my old little kancil and test it with ur neo in sepang. I think even my 660cc L502 turbo kancil can kick your neo ass in 0-100km/h less then 10 seconds… And it is more economical then ur neo. I can get from RM30 of fuel to almost 250-300km acording to my driving style.. My halfcut is Daiahtsu mira L502 tr-xx manufactured at 1997, Cut at year 2000, bought 2006 at RM3300 and pass JPJ last year November. Still running well until today.. Add to my kancil price.. RM8000 for 1996 kancil + RM3300 half-cut + RM1000 foreman fees + RM1500 painting + RM1000 sport-rims wif new tryes = RM14800. Using less then RM20k, my car's better then ur car in term of performance, value and appearance. But in term of safety, well you win 1 lol!

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 9:25 am

Hello andyyap dont insult daihatsu technology. Myvi is for city drive and is suitable for ladies. If u say ur 1.6 neo is so great. Let me take my old little kancil and test it with ur neo in sepang. I think even my 660cc L502 turbo kancil can kick your neo ass in 0-100km/h less then 10 seconds… And it is more economical then ur neo. I can get from RM30 of fuel to almost 250-300km according to my driving style.. My halfcut is Daiahtsu mira L502 tr-xx manufactured at 1997, Cut at year 2000, bought 2006 at RM3300 and pass JPJ last year November. Still running well until today.. Add to my kancil price.. RM8000 for 1996 kancil + RM3300 half-cut + RM1000 foreman fees + RM1500 painting + RM1000 sport-rims wif new tryes = RM14800. Using less then RM20k, my car's better then ur car in term of performance, value and appearance. But in term of safety, well you win 1 lol!

• honda_driver (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 4:13 pm

i never bother to reply joe ooi anymore, there is only one point of view, and that is his own. no manner of mature discussion with him will ever come to a compromise. Even when he blatantly posts facts that are wrong, and when corrected, will never back down from his mistake.

and little fire, please dont challenge someone to a race in sepang with your kancil turbo unless you are REALLY PREPARED to do it. are you some sort of street racer or something? Very simple test for you. What is your lap time around sepang full circuit? and i will tell you what a standard neo 1.6 can do around the circuit.

• Paul Tan on Mar 22, 2007 at 4:17 pm

littlefire85, have you actually driven a satria neo? are you sure your aftermarket sports suspension (if any) and turbo engine can beat the neo's amazing chassis and handling?

• sarawakguy (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 4:31 pm

I think to photoshop is not a waste of time…it just another way to express one's idea.And come to think of it,Theo is good at doing photoshops…I think we should give him space to express himself…Good Work,Theo!

Looking forward to see many more photoshops from U…!!!

• Charger (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 5:19 pm

With the rear door extending to the wheel arch, such design can be found on Hyundai Getz. :)

• Dogster (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 5:34 pm

Good job.

Obviously u Theo could join the proton as a designer :) Its so much better than the original.!! Especially with big front lights. ;) Very well done.!

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 5:36 pm

Regardless of what car I chop, or photoshop, it's merely because i have defferent ideas on how it could look (too). And I'm more than happy to be given a chance to show my work here in paultan.org.

I have long given up the idea working as a car designer, though i graduated in UK on industrial design, designed three cars in my final year, hoping to venture into car design, I felt it's unlikely I'd be given any chance by Proton.

So now that I've been a Graphic Designer instead for five years (what a waste of the four years before in college and university studying Industrial Design), I'm hoping to be a car magazine publisher, and feature my "artist impressions" of future models through my chops and photoshops.

Anyway I thank you all for your comments, as they are mostly constructive and informative. That's what I like about this site. We have smart people's participation. And not just loud mouth liars, like some other forum.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 5:49 pm

Well i admin neo got some advantage. But i think i got a set of Titan custom made track adjustable absorber under my kancil with rocage bar in it. And the seat i think just left the front 2. Well, i can give it a try. But if neo ppl change turbo in it, i cant admin sure it will be faster then mine.

• waimak (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 6:54 pm

Bigger tiger eyes is definitely what Proton should strive for. And the rear door extends onto the wheel arch is ok, I think. I've seen on Seat LEON and a few other models. Great design Theo!

• Infinitt (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 7:17 pm

To those who own Myvi AT, just be careful. There are some cases of which when u in P gear the car still can be moved when you accelerate the pedal.What a poor transmission system.

• aesthari (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 7:18 pm

LittleFire85,

car performance is not just power, you'll need to take into account brakes, suspensions and all that, so don't diss the Satria Neo just yet. Power-to-weight ratio wise, your Kancil might be superior, but handling wise, it can be beaten. Just my 2 sen hehe.

• honda_driver (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 8:38 pm

littlefire85, its quite obvious from your posting, that you have probably never even been around sepang circuit, and if you have, you probably don't have any times.. If that is the case, why even challenge someone in the first place, to a race in sepang?

if you want to do chest beating, and to challenge who is more "man" than the other, i suggest you take it elsewhere and not here.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 8:50 pm

ularsawa, aesthari and yup honda_driver chap don't bother about my comment guy!

Look at honest and professional comment posted by Theo, neither it is debunk my remarks nor my comment is totally not valid. Of course aesthari has his valid point from hobby/passion perspective, but my comment is also "substantially valid" if look from commercial endeavor or career prospect point of view!

But definitely I disagree that I do make negative comments!

honda_driver, proof to me as you term it as "mistake" that I make but never admit or accept other person correct facts. The burden of proof is on you to proof your claim about me is truth, not for me to disprove your statement.

Anyway, I give one example that I still remembered that Paul Tan correct my initial inaccurate info about my benefit of doubt on Satria Neo chassis that I claimed is use existing Satria chassis (same length). But Paul Tan give accurate info and I accept it with "open arm" to improve my knowledge about our auto industry! You can log in below link and browse through to check it your self: –

http://paultan.org/archives/2006/06/16/proton-sat…

Also, I still remembered you mentioned the VW investment of RM 40 million is a “MISTAKE”? Ask your-self, do they make “mistake”; only you make a damn moronic MISTAKE statement, but never admit it. From professional point of view, the doctor, lawyer, architect, accountant, etc, there is no jargon for such thing as admission of “MISTAKE” in their professional endeavor. This is because the legal repercussion for “Mistake” is among other, tantamount to negligent and/or no duty of care, which in turn subject them to being sue by the other party for professional negligent!

Do you know what is the risk and consequences of you often like to use the word “mistake”? This “mistake” word may lend you in jail and/or multi-million compensation if proven that your “mistake” is leading to negligent and/or make other facing suffer financial lost. Subsequently, other may sue and claim from you in general and exemplary damages!

Luckily you are not the guy who are in-charge of VW RM 40 million investments in Bolehland, and later admit “mistake”, otherwise as refer to famous Donald Trump catch phrase – “YOU ARE FIRE”!

• topgunthang (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 9:32 pm

i can see the proton company owners laughing their way to the bank already. some body just gave thier ailing company a new lease of life. like always they just sit back and let others do the work and watch the money roll in.

another 15-20 years of day light robbery.

good work theo. hope u can become a motoring mag editor like u want.

cant be bothered with the neo. its a mediocre car thats 10 years late.

• honda_driver (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 10:23 pm

i have a simple solution for you joe. why dont you start up your own blog. if people want to hear what you have to say, they will go there.

after all, you are the highest poster in paul's blog, with almost double the postings of the 2nd placed guy. im pretty sure thats more than enough to keep your blog full of content for the entire year?

at least with your own blog, you are in full control of what you want to say, and to express your views..

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 10:27 pm

theophilus ..he should be working as an entrepeuner…

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 10:36 pm

great ! proton should see what Theophilus got! he did all this by his own!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 11:25 pm

aesthari said,

"car performance is not just power, you’ll need to take into account brakes, suspensions and all that, so don’t diss the Satria Neo just yet. Power-to-weight ratio wise, your Kancil might be superior, but handling wise, it can be beaten. Just my 2 sen hehe."

——————-

Handling wise? That is the problems with P1 brand image, last time when I studied in UK during 1990s, they advertise their Pesona (Wira) as "Japanese technology, Malaysian Style". What a crap "patriotic" national car even dare not to mentioned "Made in Malaysia"!!!! And now they emphasize on the Lotus handling and suspenson thingy on current line-up like Savvy and Neo!

P1 is the only car manufacturer having "difficulties" to advertise their own thundercat logo to the public, and capitalize on advantage available from their subsidiary, technology partner or suppliers strength for certain components. How to project and gain customer confident of thundercat brand as a whole if this crap mentality still continue until today. P1 have serious branding handicap, which is continuing erode customer confident. The damage is done and "irreparable" with the exception if P1 have foreign partner!

So if my Waja power window failed, and if I behave HP6, then I may say oh, oh, …..oh, my Waja very good because the Continental tyre comfort series is German technology, very stable when run on the road, bla, bla, bla, ………

Of course there is exception as in IT sector where almost all PC maker utilize "Dell Inside" or Microsoft Window as "standard package/features". This is because these "OEM" is bigger than the PC maker as well as under IP rights.

• wuichi (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 12:42 am

looks nice! wonder if proton would consider making 5 doors hatchback like the bestari? if they would, i wouldn't mind buying one. I think proton should hire Theophilus to design their cars LOL

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 2:00 am

honda_driver, your propose solution is look simple, yes I think of it before, and now you give this suggestion, but I look to myself, this will not take place very soon in the foreseeable future!

Back to subject on "mistake", there is no intention on my part to argue with you for the sake of argument! It is just purely to share info in the spirit of blog community eventhough we are disagree on certain thing! Good luck to you and I hope you get the point, and on my part there is no intention to show that I am "genius" and/or to embarass you as well !!!!

• òmn&Ati (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 3:26 am

mates,

both of u do behave Half Past Six. take the brawl outside. you clowns not the main subject here. you are just the guest. respect the host, don't spoil a good blog here. stop bringing your past experience and make a hoo haa here. we all knw you have a lousy car with a broken window ages ago. if you not happy, sue them! else, if you have PMS (Poor Man Suffering), cannot afford other makes or refuse to pay excessive taxes, then sorry to say… grow up with ur lousy car.

one more thing, you resist on testing those new cars and accept their latest improvement, so be it. you don't have to be sandwich man telling the world the old grandpa story.

pity us spending those few precious minutes reading those comments, we could get a life to do something useful.

• japankiller (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 3:56 am

that is impossible l2 turbo beat Neo, in fact it cant even beat my Satria 1.3 export version i remember a few years back. My car was just an original with some manifold and muffler change, no K&N air filter, no tune up, no super sport rim, no lowered kit, no gimmick suspension, but i just have my air conditioned turn off while accelerate I beat that L2 on the highway after collected toll ticket. How can i so sure it is turbo?cause its come out with the farting sound…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 5:06 am

òmnícp, pity you also for talking a lot like parrot!

• òmn&Ati (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 6:06 am

o.0|||

speechless… x.x

• armandd (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 8:13 am

LittleFire85, a kancil is still a kancil la.. get a life! LOL..

• mits27 (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 3:02 pm

This 5 door is much better than the small cramp satrio neo.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 24, 2007 at 2:17 am

òmnícp said,

o.0|||

speechless… x.x

————

Very funny, can talk like parrot now suddenly "speechless"!

• Paul Tan on Mar 24, 2007 at 5:07 am

stop acting like kids

• BW (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 10:43 pm

Eh it looks better with 5 doors la… Proton should sale 5 doors Neo like this… But do it after they approved partnership with VW la… So they won't have quality probs…