Naza 206 Bestari Manual Launched

The Naza 206 Bestari is now available in manual transmission, which should make the car abit more zippy due to less transmission losses, more gear ratios making them closer together as well as the enjoyment of shifting the gears yourself.

You can get one at Naza showrooms for RM63,888, about RM5,000 less than the automatic variant, however with this manual version the ABS has also been removed. However, the twin SRS airbags for the front remain. Surveys show customers in this price range value Dual Airbags first, Reverse Sensors and Vehicle Security as priorities.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• myNeo (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 3:21 am

sweet…..compared to neo manual which one will be more fun to drive…plzzz don't say both are suck… :P

• Paul Tan on Mar 23, 2007 at 3:24 am

neo 1.6 more power.

• agnesia (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 3:34 am

this is a great car.. but how about the 3rd generation of toyota vios that had been launched at thailand…

have a look at this site : http://www.motortrader.com.my/NUS/articles/articl…

• agnesia (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 3:36 am

this is a great car.. but how about the 3rd generation toyota vios??
    http://www.motortrader.com.my/NUS/articles/articl…

• japankiller (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 3:43 am

in Ausralia that is call Toyota Yaris Sedan

• BrakeFader (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 4:08 am

Correct me if I'm wrong, but MyVi's 1.3L engine gives more punch compared to this Bestari 1.4L 8 valve sohc engine. If you got a budget for RM60K for a hatchback, might as well work harder and go for the Suzuki Swift.

• tishaban (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 4:32 am

Brakefader, actually there's not much difference between the the Myvi and 206 Bestari on the go. The Peugeot 1.4l engine is maybe a tiny bit more punchy between 30-60km/h but that's about it.

• jazz1011 (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 4:45 am

Why on Earth did they remove the ABS?

It's s safety feature – at least to most of us.

Sometimes I just wonder – things which are not supposed to be removed, are removed. Things which are supposed to be fitted in are never fitted in.

But on the whole, driving a stick shift should be rather fun in a car like the 206.

Cheers!

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 4:59 am

spot a 206 with 16 or 17 inch wheel,

or honda city 16 or 17 inch wheel

……makes it ugly,, why?

• aesthari (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 7:24 am

Manual should be fun, but with the 1.4L engine, I donno, lacks punch. And why remove ABS? I find it weird how NAZA decides to remove safety features like they did with the Sutera Sportivo, ridding it of airbags.

• armandd (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 7:55 am

proton GL said,

March 22, 2007 @ 8:59 pm

spot a 206 with 16 or 17 inch wheel,

or honda city 16 or 17 inch wheel

……makes it ugly,, why?

————————————————-

-> because their wheel arches are tiny!

• mits27 (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 1:45 pm

RM65k, is that has similiar price with CKD suzuki swift 1.5 for RM65k ???

Around that price, I will go to Japanese car like suzuki swift, feel more reliable and more powerful since it is 1.5L.

• mits27 (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 1:49 pm

RM65k, is that has similiar price with CKD suzuki swift 1.5 for RM65k ???

Around that price, I will go to Japanese car like suzuki swift, feel more reliable and more powerful since it is 1.5L…

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 1:57 pm

The Peugeot setting for 1.4L 5-Speed MT is like this, not bad at all considering all other specs are the same as the automatic. If you want a higher spec you can get a 1.6L 5MT which I'm sure will have much higher specification. I test drove the Tiptronic System Porsche and it was SWEET!

• lowprofile (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 4:23 pm

still too expensive. its not japanese, this means heavy cost of maintenance. the least they can do is make it cheap enough to buy. not only is it expensive to buy (in its category, and it IS an old car anyway), it is also expensive to maintain. i do know my french pricing if anyone doubts my statement about expensive frence spare parts (which don't last as long as japanese parts) as i own a french make.

• hondadriver (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 5:24 pm

if you are going to buy a bestari, make sure its the manual version.

i've driven the auto version, and its horrible.. gearbox is very jerky somehow, you can feel every upshift and downshift with a vengeance. also, its very lethargic moving off from standstill.

to me, it might be an older design from peuqeot, but it still is a relatively "cheaper" way to get a taste of continental motoring. Of course, maintenance might be higher, but thats just the cost of ownership. It is still a very enjoyable car to drive as compared to the rather boring feel of japanese cars today. The closest you can get to a conti-feel currently, is in the new protons imho.

i might be a hondadriver, but i also own a continental.

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 24, 2007 at 5:08 am

I am not really sure. I still would choose the Neo since it looks better, cheaper, and bigger engine. Thats just me

• tishaban (Member) on Mar 24, 2007 at 6:06 am

The auto Swift isn't very powerful. For a 1.5l engine, it's lethargic and only slightly better than the 1.4l in the 206. I was very disappointed.

While I still like the 206 design, the Satria Neo is a good looking car and a damn good value if you can live with just 2 doors.

• mrshaharin (Member) on Mar 24, 2007 at 8:03 pm

what!!…survey from customers in the buying for car at RM63,888, thinks feature such as ABS is not important…c'mon NAZA…dont la remove thing which is even though hardly use but is good to have for safety….manual tranny usually means for people who likes to drive hard and lastly whats wrong leaving the ABS together with the Airbag alone in the first place….just change the transmission lah..with that price..offering from Proton is far better…

• mrshaharin (Member) on Mar 24, 2007 at 8:04 pm

what!!…survey from customers in the buying for car at RM63,888, thinks feature such as ABS is not important…c'mon NAZA…dont la remove thing which is even though hardly use but is good to have for safety….manual tranny usually means for people who likes to drive hard and whats wrong leaving the ABS together with the Airbag alone in the first place….just change the transmission lah..with that price..offering from Proton is far more better…

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Mar 24, 2007 at 8:07 pm

Car enthusiasts and 95% of the buying public view things differently.

• nizam80 (Member) on Mar 25, 2007 at 2:11 am

The manual version will surely attract more buyers. But the removal of ABS is really unnecessary. The price is ok, but why buy this when u can get a bigger 1.6 litre Manual sedan for RM59K?….. and also get that continental feel…

• civ96110 (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 12:19 am

Abt 10 days ago, a brand new (DBAxxxx reg) red Naza 206 did an insane maneuver on the trunk road between KT and Jerteh. The traffic was heavy (school holidays) and abt 20 cars was following some slow poke car or lorry (I couldn't see because there were many more cars ahead of me). I was trying to pass (as were a Vios and a 2.0 Civic behind me) the cars ahead but it not being safe since many cars were coming from the opposite way,I decided to play it cool.

Then I saw this car barrelling down the hill from behind me. It was almost dusk so his lights were on. The downhill road had a small and short sidetrack for those wanting to take the junction at the foot into some village (I think Felcra village). To my amazement, this idiot actually overtook abt 7-8 cars on the left using this sidetrack and probably the road shoulder too, going downhill at speed (I was at 70km/hr then). He braked and stopped behind me and tailgated me until he could pass me. At first I thought it was a Peugeot Gti or something as powerful but when he passed me I saw that it was only a 206 Bestari. How insane is that?

I tell you, if I had been driving my old company Hilux (I drive a Cefiro), I'd have given serious thought to braking hard and letting him smash into my behind. That'd teach him some manners.. :)

The funny thing is, the Vios who had been chasing me since KT and the Civic (new model) probably felt insulted and pissed at the Bestari for overtaking from the left and so they gave chase after that. The Vios overtook me on a blind bend ( I actually thought some truck was going to come from up ahead and smash him and the Honda soon after.

I gave up trying to keep up after that . I maybe a fast driver and my ride can take it, but I draw the line at endangering people like that, overtaking on double lines and corners and basically being a jerk towards other road users. The sad thing is, I see this almost every week on this road.

Just as an aside, I think I would scratch that Bestari if I ever see him parked anywhere.

• J (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 5:38 am

Why nobody consider a Nissan Sentra 1.6 Manual ?

I think that's a good buy ???

• civ96110 (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 12:24 am

Ada ke Sentra 1.6M jual di Malaysia?

• bobdbilder (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 10:55 am

Why compare a Hatch and a Sedan? No point coz your base for comparison will be ?…. People buy a Hatch because of the fun factor. People buy a sedan for practicality. Therefore; practical is not fun.

In the same retrospect, Hatches should only come in Manual with an option for semi-manual/DSG/AMT or the like. Put an auto tranny on it and it becomes less purposeful. People who buy autos, would have it in a sedan. See above paragraph.

A small cylinder engine like a 1.4 would not need ABS due to the kerb weight being around 1000kg and a lot less unsprung weight than a sedan. What's the whole point? Practically tuned brake force distribution should be sufficient. And Pugs are good at that except maybee for the 104 Rallye.

• estimatopline (Member) on Jul 17, 2007 at 12:05 pm

Name: Benny Chuah
    e-mail address: [email protected]
    Model: Peugeot 206 1.6 16v
    Year: 2002

Current Cut Off but the car engine still runs after awhile the current will come
    back on.

All warning lights will start to come, example:

1. Automatic Gearbox Faulty (the gear change will go crazy)
    2. Antipolution Faulty
    3. Airbag Faulty

After stopping the car to restart, sometimes the Immobilizer Faulty will come
    out at the display and sometimes the problem just go away for couple of weeks.

Thank you.
    Benny Chuah
    Malaysia, Kuala Lumpur

Check out this site: http://www.206info.co.uk/index.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=2707