New Toyota Corolla Altis for Malaysians in 2008

Toyota Corolla Altis

UPDATE: The new 2008 Toyota Corolla Altis has been launched in Malaysia! – click for more details, specifications, photos and pricing.

UMW Toyota Motor Sdn Bhd plans to launch the replacement for it’s C-segment Toyota Corolla Altis sedan sometime next year, a re-entry of sorts into the current C-segment sedan market dominated by the Honda Civic 1.8S and 2.0S.

The replacement for the Toyota Corolla Altis – called just the Corolla sedan in Europe – made it’s European debut in December 2006 at the 2006 Helsinki Motor Show shortly after it’s world debut at the 2006 Beijing Motor Show. This is not the same car as the Toyota Corolla Axio and Corolla Fielder launched in Japan earlier, as that one is a smaller car than the one we are going to get.

The new car’s silver and dark grey interior takes a leaf out of Volvo’s book with a classy-looking thin floating console, and the new meter and display panel backlighting is of an goldish-orange hue similiar to the Toyota Auris.

The C-segment sedan market currently offers cars with either 1.8 litre or 2.0 litre engines, a step up from the current Altis’s 1.6 and 1.8 litre. Under the hood of the 1.8 litre variant of the new Toyota Corolla Altis will most probably be the 136hp new Dual VVT-i 1.8 litre 2ZR-FE, which replaces the current Corolla Altis’ 1.8 litre 1ZZ-FE VVT-i engine, as this new engine has been used for the new Toyota Corolla launched in the Australia market.

If UMW Toyota decides to offer a 2.0 litre variant here, the engine could be the 2.0 litre 3ZR-FE Dual VVT-i engine making 143 PS, but if we’re really lucky we could get the Valvematic 3ZR-FAE which makes 158 PS at 6,200rpm – this would make the Toyota Corolla Altis 2.0 litre Valvematic the most powerful 2.0 litre C-segment sedan in it’s class, something Toyota could shout about in it’s marketing campaigns. The more advanced variable valve timing and lift technologies in this new family of engines will also help the car be more fuel efficient.

Bear in mind if somehow cost-cutting takes precedence over state of the art, we might just end up with the 1AZ-FE (making 152hp in it’s highest state of tune, like in the 3rd generation RAV4 for example) being dumped into the 2.0 litre’s engine bay, the same engine in the 2.0 litre Toyota Wish and the 2.0 litre Toyota Camry. But I don’t think this is very likely as it wouldn’t make sense for the 1.8 litre model to have a more advanced engine than the flagship 2.0 litre, so the 3ZR-FE Dual VVT-i without Valvematic is the minimum. Of course, the worst case scenario would be no 2.0 litre model at all.

Click the related links below to see more photos of the new Toyota Corolla Altis. Additional photos are also available in this post after the jump.

New Toyota Corolla debuts in Europe
New Toyota Corolla Altis preview at Beijing 2006
Toyota reveals Valvematic technology
New flagship 1.8 litre Dual VVT-i powerplant from Toyota

Toyota Corolla Altis

An upmarket meter face with multi-information displays

Toyota Corolla Altis
Basic meter face

Toyota Corolla Altis

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments reveal mixed reactions to the new 2008 Toyota Corolla Altis, with many discussing its design, performance, and value. Some readers find the car boring and unattractive, criticizing its monotonous look and lack of innovation, while others appreciate its reliability and comfort. Several comments compare it unfavorably to competitors like Honda Civic, Mazda 3, and Mitsubishi Lancer, highlighting concerns over its styling, handling, and perceived lack of excitement. Many anticipate that despite the criticisms, Toyota's strong brand reputation will ensure good sales in Malaysia. There is also interest in the engine options, with some wishing for more powerful variants. Overall, sentiments are a mix of skepticism about the design and optimism about its proven dependability and market success.

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 8:21 pm

It’s about time

• petulance (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 8:35 pm

Already launched in Oz a few months back. The Corolla keeps getting large with every generation. It is almost like a mini-Camry. A local car magazine mentioned that the 8th generation Corolla sedan is as large (and heavy?) as a 1987 Camry.

• J (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 8:37 pm

I heard it is more like OCT 2008 kind of timeframe :)

Since Toyota is ever so confident, they can slowly take their own sweet time to grab the market for this segment :)

The full spec 2.0 at RM130K will be nice !

• hyundai (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 9:13 pm

i feel that this car is not up to the nissan sylphy’s standard… so i hope to see the sylphy in malaysia!

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 9:33 pm

Lovely machine wish you will be here at 2008 jan…

• szw (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 9:40 pm

among all i still like da new lancer .

• syong888 (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 9:54 pm

Good news, hope to see it soon

• DrA (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 10:45 pm

My god this is ugly/boring/aaaaa…. want to shout!!!!
    Request: Toyota, can you pls produce a non boring car!!!!!

• mits27 (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 10:50 pm

In Asustralia, they only provide new 1.8L engine, and in China, they provide both old 1.6L and new 1.8L engine. I just hope we will only see new 1.8 engine, and no more 1.6 engine, or the better is both new 1.8L 2ZR-FE and new 2.0L 3ZR-FE. I don’t think we will get the new 2.0L 3ZR-FAE, but I might be wrong. But in US market, the corolla XRS will mostly get the 3ZR-FAE
    engine…

• kanazai2001 (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 10:52 pm

is a same car but different face n butt…
    just like the MY/TH corolla altis n SG corolla…
    wish valvematic is a standard for 2.0 version…
    finger cross…

• kimmy (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 10:53 pm

Evolutionary change rather than Honda Civic’s Revolutionary change.

Hmmm…probably suited for the older generation?!

• mits27 (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 10:58 pm

Whatever, I cannot wait to see this car in malaysia…

• mits27 (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 11:05 pm

We might get the 2.0L 1AZ-FE engine 152hp to match with civic K series 155hp engine…

• ingolstadt (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 11:29 pm

The only ‘wow’ thing in this car is how fast they copied volvo’s interior.

yawn… … boring shit..

HOWEVER as we’ve seen countless times, toyota can come out with something lousy and outpace honda in sales no matter how….since the 1.7 ltr civic … till the excellent accord ugly big butt camry… till the empty low quality vios vs the excellent but ugly city….

toyota realized one thing… make normal can pass-ish cars, and put the rest of the $$$ into advertisements …. anyone remember a honda car ad in TV ? I can remember dozens from toyota.

• nmh (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 11:41 pm

haha…’die’lah altis this time, lancer had nothing to worry

• mits27 (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 11:47 pm

Mistake, china is getting the new 1.6L Dual VVT-i 1ZR-FE engine…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 11:52 pm

the reality, not that toyota were confident of taking their “own sweet time” to grab back the market if i remember correctly as reported by paul, toyota delayed the launch of the new altis, because they were forced to go back to the drawing board after seeing the new civic.

i have no doubt in my mind that this car will sell, considering the large toyota fan base in malaysia, but looks wise.. quite disappointing. car doesnt seem to be balanced somehow.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 12:17 am

Easy.. if u want to know the spec selling in Malaysia next year… Go to Thailand and see their Altis spec.. coz mostly Malaysian selling Toyota came from Thailand, and almost same with their engine technology..

Actually the Nissan in Malaysian also import parts from Thailand+Japan… If u guys go to Thailand show room remember to compare the sentra spec+ latio spec, is the same wif NTCM in Malaysia… Toyota also almost the same, just they have more variety spec, like j,g,e,s..

• mzfnd (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 12:19 am

They can afford to make butt-ugly cars because they have reputations in reliability. And people do buy reliable butt-ugly cars…

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 12:35 am

“Is Toyota maa… :D!” (u know is reliable)

but when hear.. ” Is a Proton maa…” (u know laa…)

Branding+business reputation is good for future business… Even ur design+products sucks, wif proper service,reliable,better quality.. in long run they still win ppl back to buy Toyota’s car… That why a happy Toyota driver, will always stick back wif a Toyota…

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 12:50 am

so boring….more so than the curent one…..cars like those have no emotions la….its hard to get attached to cars like those…no soul no noting….

• engtaokia (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 1:01 am

really really boring car…

• wong (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 1:16 am

Very uncle ish..Honda salesgirl told me that,I prefer Lancer,thanks

• shamel (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 1:17 am

Boring but still logical to own than empty new Vios. l love Toyota diesel from Europe.

BTW Sylphy have better value than this car.

• acbc (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 1:27 am

Anyone knows how to change the front grille? This one is fugly!

• mystvearn (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 3:53 am

looks like a mini camry

• exodust (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 4:29 am

this is totally off-topic, but i didnt know where else i could ask if there’s gonna be any news of the Lamborghini Reventon on this website

• legacy88 (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 5:45 am

Ja, it may be boring and uncle ish for most people, but it will sell well in Malaysia.

Because it is a Toyota!

p/s can you people define boring and soulless in here? I want to know also. Thanks. :)

• azrai (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 6:43 am

Lamanya nak tunggu model ni masuk Malaysia. There are gonna be big stock clearence sales for current Altis and the remaining Vios now. :)

• J (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 7:18 am

Could it be using CVT gearbox ?

Like the “Engine Start” button and the back seat floor without “camel hump” at the middle.

The speedometer a bit like toy ? :)

• wildthingz (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 8:53 am

nice but still boringggggg people who buy this boring looking car just buy the name of toyota and the proud of driving toyota nothing special about this old man car better buy lancer or persona can buy 2 persona with price of 1 boring car

• xg9 (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 9:02 am

saw this sweet thing in pj last month… DAMN NICE!!!

• xstan (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 9:10 am

Hey..its nice & way better than the present Boooring Altis. One got to gradually grow luv it design.

Well just await for its launch..see it, drive it & then comments.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 9:13 am

Who in Europe are they targeting this at? Just stop a while and think. No not Jinjang or Sibu; Europe.

I can’t think of one market segment that would buy this. You can rule out the French and Italians outright. They would not make an obvious faux pas in this…machine.

Ok, I was just hit by a thought. I know the answer. Tesco raiders.

• raverus (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 9:21 am

Yes!!!
    Good bye to ah-beng-honda. lolz…

• Mayonaise (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 9:29 am

To raverus:

Yes!!

And say Hello to the new Ah-Beng-Toyota!! LOL!

• The Unicons (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 9:30 am

Young brother of current Camry! I like the front but rear really UGLY as still like the current Corolla Altis. Persona rear even look better than this one. Is Toyota guys finished their new ideas of producing car? NO but same costs cutting maybe. Current Honda Civic is still rocks as it is totally new from previous generation but not this Toyota Corolla Altis even though known as new generation and generally look totally new but some angel for rear of this car still have a same face like current one. Boring and ugly!

• levin (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 9:43 am

I was waiting to purchase this model upon reading the article about Beijing debut of corolla but then I guess probably takes more than 1 year to replace the current altis. Thus I am now happy with my JDM (unreg recond) ALLION 2002 1.8L which I bought cheaper than second hand 2002 Altis. I’ve checked out corolla axio in toyota.jp site, sorry paul.. they are the same exterior and interior. Only slight variance here and there but I guess the major difference would be the “Q”. Stringent enforcement pollution control in Japan thus more efficient fuel consumption.
    Anyway..TOYOTA is reliable..Nuff said!

• bobdbilder (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 9:48 am

Let’s get this straight. A fact so right it should be in Wikipedia (?1?!!). Bob’s Law.

People who buy a Toyota have no class whatsoever.

• KL-ATR (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 10:48 am

Huh? Front looks like a sharper version of the new “Beetle” Vios and the rear is like a facelift of the current Altis. Toyota playing safe again. BORING!!! I’ll put my money on the Lancer.

• transformer (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 10:52 am

saw few in SG Reg plate before… some in Dark Blue, in Gray(dark) and Gold… doesn’t have any kinda of wow impact on me though…
    its just another new Corolla from T makes…

Anyway, promotion might help it to sell more…
    50″ LCD anyone ? c/w 6.1 HTS anyone ?
    Rm1K downpayment with 2.99% interest to max 10 yrs ?

I can still rember my initial encounter with Civic.. Yes, WoW!
    Lancer? WoW too!

Corolla Altis from Thai, Civic from Melaka & Lancer from Japan
    So which would you interested with ?

• albagmane (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 11:30 am

aiksss… the first pic angle makes me think of the Honda City… at least a bit better looking of Honda City…

• proud2BMalaysian (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 12:54 pm

wonder why are toyota cars getting uglier and uglier with their new models? ours are better design than the japs.

• kington (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 1:32 pm

Those of you who said that the Corolla is a boring car, i do hope you get to drive the car first. I mean, TOyotas these days have been quite nice and fun to drive, thanks to its new engines adapted from the F series and the Super ECT gearboxes. True, Honda will always be a manufacturer that produces interesting cars for us to drive, but Since the advent of the ES Civic, i don’t quite fancy the Civics anymore. Even the new one, with its futuristic design in and out have not been able to entice me to grab the keys every morning. The 2.0 litre’s electric Power Steering really devoids the driver off any feedback especially when you’re driving fast. the Lancer on the other hand feels too heavy next to the Civic but its handling is commendable.

For this segment, my vote goes to the Mazda 3 2.0. Nothing great to shout about, but its aesthetics and drivability are more than enough to win my vote. Of course, being a Mazda, its resale value will be no higher than the Toyotas and Hondas here.

On the issue of reliability, Toyotas do have problems but they have the least when compared to other makes. Be it an Altis, Civic or even the new Accord, I’ve heard of many ‘silly’ problems ranging from rattling noises to scratchy windows and squeeking seats.

• kei9 (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 2:22 pm

dammit..it got start and stop button!! but wished it were red..hehe

• 90125 (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 4:01 pm

Square design suits square people

• J (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 6:50 pm

I see a lot of bashing here .. .but at the end, Altis is the best seller. Go figure what’s happening ?

Can it be you are so smart and other buyers are so stupid ? :)

• Lexus-IS (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 8:42 pm

before the camry was launch lot of people also mention look ugly and uncle car but now i also saw it on the road quite more , real car and picture we see is different and we cannot judge it wait until the car launch then know . most the important of car is more comfortable , safety ,stylish and realiable .. proton can do this to our citizen ??

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 12:20 am

the hatch model looks very sporty.

there is joy in worry-free motoring. gives u time and energy to enjoy other things u like in life.

the aussie motoring press give the new toyotas thumbs up. just too bad mazda 3 is around. top selling car even without DSC as standard. though buyers have managed to force toyota to install it on all new camrys. the corolla should be next. also a turbocharged or supercharged corolla would be nice and a likely reality.

honda themselves also have thier problems….good drivers car…engine,steering and gearbox. just too bad they have very thin body panels that are prone to dings. cant beleive the amount of dings on it.

• mzfnd (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 5:03 am

It’s a Corolla guys. It’s got a loooong history of peace of mind. That alone is a big, big factor to consider.

• kington (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 8:25 am

I agree with J, some cars look much better in the flesh than in photos.

• levin (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 9:21 am

In jpn, the axio( 1.8 2ZR-FE engine) costs about 85K. Assuming a factor of 2.27(as for RAV4 JDM case), it would cost 190K. But then thats the JDM model. Assuming another factor of 1.44 (as in Camry’s case), the Altis 1.8 (siam mari) would cost around 130K. But then there is another factor – Mitsubishi Lancer 2.0 GT… Lets see what happens..

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 1:06 pm

People dont buy a Corolla for its looks.

It will still sell like hotcakes.

Those that critizes solely on how it looks, my question would be “have you drivin one lately?”

I dont fancy its looks either.

But…If I need a new 4 door reliable family sedan, I would buy a Corolla. But…i’m not that old and dont have kids to need a 4 door yet, so i’ll stick to my “fun” cars for now.

They are however, pretty nice to drive, confortable, quiet, wont embarass itself in corners and relatively torqey engine from low rpm.

However, the Lancer 2.0GT does makes for itself a very compelling reason not to get a Corolla. Only time will tell, but I suspect, Toyota would proabbly hit their targeted demographics just right…..again….

• mitlanevo (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 2:50 pm

1st choice: the reliable Honda Civic

2nd choice: the stylish Mitsubishi Lancer

10000th choice: this ugly car……

• mitlanevo (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 2:54 pm

and by the way, the current Altis is not good looking too, and the handling is not as good as Sentra, especially cornering. Don’t believe me? Just try at the Ipoh tunnel (after and before the tunnel). The design is even worse if compare with Sentra……

• zack_keyme988 (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 3:52 pm

HOH..NOW THIS ONE BETTER THAN NEW VIOS… LOOKS LIKE MINI-CAMRY… PRICE??? MUST BE REASONABLE LA YA…TOYOTA..DONT MAKE CRAZY AS IN NEW VIOS PRICE… LANCER 2.0GT PUN ABOUT 115000 SAJA….DONT DO THE SILLY MISTAKE IN PUTTING THE PRICE TAG… R U LISTENING TOYOTA??

VERDICT : ******** / 10*

• 8918 (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 10:19 pm

Sentra?Are you serious?That silly sentra has been in the market as long as the waja era….Also the pick up wasn’t there compare to altis.
    Eh by the way still remember last time when they launch altis,it’s VSC is 1st in it class ar?

• mits27 (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 10:24 pm

I will sure test drive both new corolla and civic, then decide which one is better, just hope this corolla will come with 2.0L engine, if not, I will just get the civic 2.0…

• kington (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 11:24 pm

mitlanevo,

the altis even in 1.6 or 1.8 trim handles heaps better than the Sentra. I’ve driven both numerous times.

i’m saying this from both a driver’s point of view and also as a passenger. just to avoid being subjective…

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 16, 2007 at 10:13 pm

yea biggest competitors are lancer and civic and soon maybe mazda 3 though 3 will drive better than any of these two and comes from japan.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 3:49 pm

well, maybe because I drive a Sentra more than Altis, or maybe because I’m not a Toyota fan…… but if really gonna choose between Altis and Sentra, I will still go for Sentra, nice handling and design….. (love my Sentra so much)

no offense to Altis owners….. peace!!

• ved_der79 (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 12:30 pm

I went to a toyota dealer recently, asked the bugger about the latest altis. He said ” It wont be here til 09 “

• feins (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 11:52 pm

I’ve got my confirmation that the new Altis will be in by 1st quarter of 2008. But pricing is still yet to confirm.

• yytellmey (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 11:47 am

same old boring design used by toyota over and over and over again…

c’mon….bring us something better

• Meraboy (Member) on Oct 18, 2007 at 9:00 pm

the front & rear is NOT synchronised – front is too low while the rear is too high!

• K.A.R.R (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 8:26 pm

the biggest car maker brings out boringest car ever

• jackychoi32 (Member) on Mar 22, 2008 at 10:29 pm

Cars is great but is not “Value For Money” too expensive the RSP should reduce to 30% then is sound GOOD!!!!! maybe due to their hot demand that’s why they shoot up their price. surprise me is that hyundai sonata is as good as camry and is really value for money furthermore the quality is unbelieveable.

• chuamike (Member) on Apr 01, 2008 at 5:08 pm

Forget the rest. Toyota is the best. As far as i’m concerned, Altis just got better. One would be forgiven for mistaking it for a Camry. Best-looking Altis so far.

• s.subramaniam on Sep 17, 2009 at 6:38 am

Lots of plastics and ciplak materials used compared to older model.

Toyota in CHINA already using double VVTI engines.

• s.subramaniam on Sep 17, 2009 at 6:39 am

Toyota in China using double vvti engines.

• 1Malaysia on Sep 17, 2009 at 4:30 pm

I think this new toyota corolla altis 2008 is the WORST design ever produced by TOYOTA… No wonder why this car mcm tak laku sgt kt Malaysia…rarely see it on our road! What happen to TOYOTA….

Any way, good news…I've seen the toyota corolla facelift…it's nice …At least, they learn from mistake..Watch out Honda Civic…

• alelbiwi on Oct 13, 2010 at 3:29 pm

we are looking for engine with gearbox for toyota altis 1.8cc 4cylinder gesoline. automatic

please send me price and term soon

thanks

alelbiwi