Toyota reveals Valvematic technology

Toyota Valvematic

Toyota has something new up it’s sleeves – Valvematic, an evolution of the VVT-i mechanism which now incorporates continuous valve lift control together with VVT-i’s existing valve timing control. Valvematic also eliminates the need for a throttle valve, instead controlling the volume of intake air using valve lift instead.

According to Toyota, an improvement of 5% to 10% can be seen with fuel efficiency, as well as an improvement of 10% with the power output on a similiar engine displacement comparison. Toyota also mentions reduced CO2 emission as well as improved acceleration responsiveness.

The first Valvematic-equipped engine will be a 2.0 litre model, most likely a replacement for the 145 horsepower 1AZ-FE engine which has been pretty much slotted with different tune levels into all Toyota cars in the C-segment and above. The trademark “Valvematic” was registered by Toyota a few months ago, so alot of people have been expecting this. One of the first few cars to get the new Valvematic 2.0 litre engine are the 2.0 litre versions of the recently launched twin sedans Toyota Allion and Toyota Premio. The 2.0 litre variants are set to debut in Winter 2007.

The new Toyota Valvematic 2.0 litre engine will most likely be christened the 3ZR-FAE, and will put out 158 PS at 6,200rpm and 196Nm at 4,400rpm. Being part of the new ZR engine family, variable valve timing features will be the same as the 2ZR-FE’s Dual VVT-i system – valve timing on both intake and exhaust valves.

Honda also recently announced an engine with continuous valve lift control combined with variable valve timing, a technology it calls AVTEC.

Check out a patent application filed by Toyota in March 2007 by clicking here – I think it is the patent for Valvematic. Be warned though, it’s pretty long.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 12:43 pm

i tink i need to take my annual leave jus to finish reading the whole thread ! all i knw is the output is actually comparable to similar 2 litre engines from honda,vw n othrs…so as usual with toyota ,noting special….even the perdana v6 has 150hp…

• Tommy Peters (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 1:44 pm

Come to think of it, the collective gasps are about an auto industry fine tuning a century old invention – the 4 stroke internal combustion engine – still operating on fuel derived from crude. I hope Valvematic and Avtec etc. are marketing cards under their sleeves and that the industry is actually focused on setting aside the ICE.

• drgn86 (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 2:02 pm

too lazy to read all of this really…… well, paul, can u tell me what would be the difference between this new piece of technology and the vvtl-i ones? (variable valve timing and lift with intellingence – correct me if i'm wrong)…..

• normaluser (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 3:43 pm

e-nabilll, the perdana's engine is nothing to shout about. Its actually 149hp and 178Nm Torque, got no VVT, lack in performance plus high fuel consumption.

This engine produces 158hp and 196Nm. For a 2.0L normal aspirated engine, that would make it on par with european 2.0L engines, namely Alfa and BMW.

• kington (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 4:18 pm

I agree with normaluser, you can't just look at the output figures. Besides, engine figures are all quoted wihtought taking into consideration the car's weight and etc. Run a car on a dyno and you'll see why no less than 30% of the engines' quoted figures are usually irreflective of what engine can perform in the particular car.

• mits27 (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 6:17 pm

I really hope this engine can soon replace on current camry 2.0L engine, maybe next camry facelift…

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 6:28 pm

wow. the longest Paultan.org post ever.

by the time i finish reading the post, cars would've been flying and running on water.

heh, no offense Paul, im just kidding ;-)

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 6:36 pm

Well, i think is like the i-VTEC from Honda, just it have VVT on both Intake and output cams, while i-VTEC only have in intake.. controlling the valve lift is technology from the celica, name is as VVTL-i.. So this technology is not new anywayz, just add here plug in that and run it, wa lah! Anywayz is this a direct injection engine? I tot Toyota is selling direct injection petrol engine in Japan already i think D-4D petrol engine. Check their new camry, mark-X and see.. if it is a direct injection engine should be more quite and more torque..

• Paul Tan on Jun 13, 2007 at 6:45 pm

LittleFire85: vvtl-i is not continuous valve lift, just switching over 2 preset lifts

• happymeal (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 7:01 pm

errr… i do not think this is anywhere as similar to ivtec. ivtec still uses hydraulic pins for VVLift , camphaser for VVT and good-old THROTTLE VALVE. this valvematic doesnt need 1, as on the first paragraph.

this is probably in the same league as BMWs valvetronic, but of course, different way of changing valve lift to replace the throttle valve. no time to read, but seems abit more complex than BMWs valvetronic.

• KL-ATR (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 7:03 pm

Wow… this is a blue print description of all the components!!! Paul, no animated video on this new engine???

BTW, I would like to suggest that you pool all those technical videos under 1 category. That way, it's easy for visitors to look through all those informative videos, especially when it touches on technical features like the BMW Adaptive Drive system. Is there a video on how the VW's DSG works?

• ganz (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 7:12 pm

good info…

BTW.. i still waiting our OWN valve technolgy from PROTON… the much awaited.. CAMPRO :P

• kanazai2001 (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 7:18 pm

comparison between BMW, Honda and Toyota:

(A) continuous variable valve lifting – BMW valvetronic

(B) cam profile switching – Honda VTEC

(C) continuous variable cam phasing – Toyota VVT-i

(B) + (C) = Honda iVTEC, Toyota VVTL-i

(A) + (C) = BMW VANOS, Honda AVTEC, Toyota Valvematic

correct me if im wrong. argument?!

latest trend is (A) + (C) because it reduces throttle loss, CO2 and toxic gas emission.

(B) – out dated. that is why toyota and honda are going for AVTEC and Valvematic.

no offend to all VTEC admirers. :-)

• floyd (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 7:45 pm

is this something new from toyota? i doubt it. They always do it later than the other giant car makers…hmmm…. but they do it right most of the time.

toyota's common rail for diesel engines are behind the others in term of tuning and power output, or did toyota make their diesel cars less powerful for reasons known only to them? Toyotas still using older common rail when others are already on 2nd generation.

• azolkipl (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 8:29 pm

miller cycle power gains can only be accomplished if you can provide more volume of air during the intake stroke, as you leave the intake valve open longer into the compression stroke (meaning air will leave the chamber thru the intake vavle). And most write-ups about it always suggest turbos or superchargers.

• fandango (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 8:30 pm

I think the main benefit of having continous valve lift and timing is the shape of the powerband, especially the torque curve. no doubt the PEAK hp and torque figures may seem ordinary, but the technology enables far better throttle response and drivability by raising the torque curve early on and keeping it there over a longer part of the rpm range. all this is coupled with better emissions and economy.

so far bmw has it (valvetronic+vanos), honda (avtec) and now toyota. not sure who else has it. as for proton's campro, i think it's just an intake cam implementation of a variable valve timing mechanism. something that toyota first served up in 1992.

• azolkipl (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 9:44 pm

Dynamic Lift and Cam phasing in ANY engine is definitely a benefit, as it allows the engine to adjust to different kinds of driving 'styles'. If you press on the pedal hard to get more power, the valve lift and cam phasing could be adjusted to allow more air and fuel in longer to give better power performance. If you are driving in 'economy' mode, the lift and phasing can be adjusted to allow optimal (minimal) amounts of fuel and air to not waste energy. Normally, a normal driving behaviour would always include overtaking maneuvers, stop-and-go driving and long set-speed drives (highway). Now, with dynamic lift and phasing engines, you can get benefits of better fuel consumption, better power delivery, better torque, AND better emissions in a single engine. That's what AVTEC, valvetronic, bi-vanos, and valvematic is all about.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 10:54 pm

I tot i read it somewhere that the new toyota valvematic is a replacement of Toyota VVTL-i engine… Valvematic*, a variable valve lift mechanism created through combining VVT-i (Variable Valve Timing-intelligent), which continuously controls intake valve opening/closing timing, with a new mechanism that continuously controls the intake valve lift volume.

You can see the toyota VVTL-i rocker arm in below.. almost the same with Valvematic..

http://www.autozine.org/technical_school/engine/v…

VVTL-i animation:

http://fr.toyota.be/innovation/technology/glossar…

• Paul Tan on Jun 13, 2007 at 11:04 pm

VVTL-i is not continuous (stepless), it just switches between 2 lift stages.

• proton GL (Member) on Jun 14, 2007 at 12:40 am

anyway it means to optimised the engine breathing through out the rev range in what ever mean to control the amount of gases, and gives best swirl effect for low rpm combustion, any acceptable design then pattened,

about the cps of proton it is said to be developed from vario cam, which is by adjusting the timing chain to alter the cam timing, but the engine design doesnt likely to fit the existing engine,

the possible machenism they might use is the one from vario plus, which is vvt with 2 stage lift, which might be as good as vvti-L

and the tunable intake could further improve lower end as is if lower valve lift in effect though not instantinously like valvetronic.

——

anyway what i recon now is the engine become more complex but of course for good,

anyway still admire the simplicity of TSI for more gain.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jun 14, 2007 at 1:07 am

toyota always had sound, reliable engineering. whatever the technology behind it, they will definitely make it available everywhere, and at an affordable cost. now if only they could make some cars with soul like they used to.

• jamsbong (Member) on Jun 14, 2007 at 1:51 am

Looking at the design patent, this system looks really brilliant. it is much like honda's system. from the patent design, there looks like there are 3 different variation.

Toyota has elected to have a separate space away from the camshaft to do these tricks. This is much like the VVT-iL system. Honda's system looked more compact.

In terms of power output from the 2L engine. I would say the engine is tuned for efficiency and good response. With a different setup, the potential is there to make the engine go wild.

The difference between a non-vvt engine would be the response. Yes, non-vtec engine probably has about the same output or oven higher, but it will be horrible at the low end. Just have a look at some OLD porsche's engines and you'll be surprise that big HP in a small engine had been around for a long time.

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Jun 14, 2007 at 3:16 am

Woww you guys here above are really somebody !! Seems that most of you are very good and having such profound knowledges pertaining car's engines. Impressive !!

I think Proton or Perodua should hire some of you guys….really, i really mean that.

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Jun 14, 2007 at 3:23 am

Or is there any possibility that, most of you guys above are the engineers who are already working at Proton or Perodua ? Hehehe…No offence please just kidding.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 14, 2007 at 3:31 am

Well if we are the engineers of the P1/P2 i think the car industry will be even better.. but sometime is not the engineers fault, but is the management.. Louzy management..If the head is useless the rest will be useless also… Is like having good strong body but with a brain of a prawn… Haiz…

• adlanar (Member) on Jun 14, 2007 at 4:12 am

its just running the engine in miller cycle as opposed to normal otto cycle.

mazda have been experimenting with this for a long time. the old 626 xedos had miller cycle engines in japan and some euro market. now they're doin it on small engines starting with the new mazda2. running on miller cycle does give better fuel economy as the combustion gases are allowed to fully expand throughout the exhaust stroke. slight performance increase are usually gained as well.

• adlanar (Member) on Jun 14, 2007 at 4:16 am

sorry, that should read atkinson cycle. miller cycle is when the intake stroke is compressed. the old xedos used a combination atkinson-miller hence the confusion between the two. been a long time since my engine final year project.

• shooter (Member) on Jun 14, 2007 at 4:50 am

anyone seen the dyno graph for this new engine? i want to see those curves, it puts the the paper output into perspective….

• shooter (Member) on Jun 14, 2007 at 5:26 am

if its running on a modified miller cycle, shouldnt it be forced fed?

• king (Member) on Jun 14, 2007 at 9:23 am

no big deal…..other european marques already using this tech long time ago…toyota is playing it safe by letting others bcome guinea pig. then they use the same tech and make a big hoo-haa out of it. their engines have always been outdated especially the diesels in the "new" hilux ( underpowered plus high consumption)…they save the best only for lexus( but you have to pay dearly for it) while toyotas get cheap ancient motors with cekap name only.

• bmpower (Member) on Jun 14, 2007 at 5:29 pm

typically toyota , alway said "fuel efficiency".

but does it really do?. prtffffff..

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 15, 2007 at 6:44 pm

Having new technologies especially with cleaner emission is good for our environment and to our earth. However if fuel efficiency is concern, I don't think it is 100% true. It's all depends on how you drive. Usually calculations have been done on 90KM/h or 100KM/h either urban or city driving constaintly in speed. If you drive the car like turtle having this 2 litre valvematic VVT-i engine, it will cost you even more plus, you actually might spoil your engine and transmission as it always keep in low gear and engine doesn't really working up…

I've been looking many people driving like turtle even on right line.

• jamsbong (Member) on Jun 16, 2007 at 6:55 am

Hi guys,

The Miller cycle is design to be efficient. However, it is certainly not powerful on its own. Also, millar cycle does not have to be force-fed, ie. no turbo-charging necessary. Prius' 1.3L engine is an example. non-turbo and saves fuel, but no great power.

The basic principle is that if you have less volume of compress, then u need less effort thus less energy loss from the compressing stroke. Which is why valves are closed late. At the same time, the expansion stroke will travelling fully to the bottom, salvaging as much energy as possible on the power stroke before the exhaust valves are open.

All automotive companies today are getting a lot of pressure from regulations so that less CO2 and other pollutants are produced. This is the main reason why smart valvetronic and other technology are coming up. There are other reasons, but this is the biggest reason.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 17, 2007 at 3:07 am

Does the honda A Vtec works the same way?

• kanazai2001 (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 10:10 pm

ironically, first VALVEMATIC engine of toyota found in a VAN… NOAH and VOXY (both are the same but with different trims); it is the new 3ZR-FAE:

Total cubic displacement: 1.986 L

The highest output : 116kW (158PS) /6,200r.p.m.

Largest torque : 196N m (20.0kg m) /4,400r.p.m.

• bernauli (Member) on Jan 20, 2008 at 8:42 pm

there is no throttle valve, this is the importance of this engine, can you all imagine!! if you push your gas, because there is no throttle valve the cam would go deeper push the valve and regulate the air!!! it’s not about the vtec or vvti it is the combination of those……i just imagine, are this kind of engine still need an super engine cleaner!! because most of it, just function to clean the throttle valve

• The Sabahan on Apr 28, 2009 at 7:56 pm

the primary reason for such technology is to improve low end swirl which multivalve engine suffer that is why these engine tech is coming around. apparently the highest speed the intake air travel is through the throttle butterfly choke area(i am talking normal driving conditions) and valve opening time but the problem if you have the throttle body is that it created turbulance that hampers whatever potential the air going round the valve could muster. using the valve as throttle, on low throttle application, the highest speed of air would be generated around the valves into the combustion chamber resulting in quicker air velocities into the combustion chamber for both better atomization and swirl. swirl, determines the speed of explosion (combustion) so having a good swirl for better burning during low rpm is ciritical especially with these modern 4 valve 6500 redline engine. the turbulance too would be generated in a non-critical area which would be the combustion chamber where swirl is near turbulance itself. proton should look into this and mate it with direct injection on a very high compression ratio petrol engine if proton still fail to produce any high tech turbo diesels.

to cut it short, this technology draws high velocity air even when the engine is operating on low velocity. it bring the efficientcy of both advantages together.

• The Sabahan on Apr 28, 2009 at 8:02 pm

just too add, valve throttle engines do have any throttle butterfly or flaps to control air and instead uses the cam lift. bmw's valvetronic and nissans vvel does the same.

• sahad on May 11, 2009 at 3:33 am

hi Im very like vvt-i but I need more information about valvematic

• hardy on Dec 04, 2009 at 9:22 pm

hey guys vvti and valvematics r gud but which 1 better option vvti or vtvt

• danwat1234 on Jun 20, 2012 at 6:14 am

Wow I can’t wait for Honda Adanced VTEC (AVTEC) to come out. It’s good technology and will bring regular cars close to the highway MPG of Atkinson engined hybrids.
    Pretty soon all new regular cars will come with auto start/stop so the engine shuts off when you don’t need propulsion and also electrical system reuperation, where the alternator makes the car act like a very, very mild hybrid.

• Land Below The Wind on Jun 16, 2013 at 5:47 am

study the mechanism and realize it is very clever, ahead of all other manufacturers for non high performance application, it could be used for high performance too if its reciprocate rotating mass is reduced. unlike all the others, this one is not just variable lift but also variable duration, constantly variable as well and not by stages like hondas, also, unlike bmw and nissan’s which are only variable lift. timing is handle outside of the system via cam drive. this one is very promising and probably on higher end application they might control the exhaust as well. i can also see them separating the system so to have individual valve control to induce swirl at lower rpm. one intake and exhaust valve operating at very low rpm and the second set of valve being put to use as rpm rise. of course, the gear splined shaft would have different sets as in moves inward to change.

• Mallu sonko on Sep 10, 2014 at 3:29 pm

i really like the consumption on the 2007 valvematic engine but would like to know what makes the variation on consumption on the same engine ?

• Rusmah on Nov 23, 2015 at 3:45 pm

Anyway, valvematic is outdated..
      Toyota always slow…
      Just join in the trend of downsizing turbo engine.

No matter how you play with the valve, vtec, vvti,vvtli, vanos, Neo VVL. It cant achieve the flat torque 1000-4500 rpm.

Small engine, VGT,Twin scroll, hybrid will dominates this segment.

Perhaps, NA, we may only see it install in those AMG, Brabus, Ferrari , BMW M series only….

Look at the F1, 1.6 turbo… No more V12, V10.