Suzuki Grand Vitara for RM109,900

OCT 2008 UPDATE: Suzuki Grand Vitara facelift launched in Malaysia

The Suzuki Grand Vitara is now available fully imported from Japan by Suzuki Malaysia at an amazing price of RM109,900, on the road without insurance. Colours available are Bluish Black Pearl, Graphite Grey, Pearl White, Silky Silver, and Azure Grey.

Features include a 2.0 litre DOHC J20A engine that produces 138 horsepower at 5,900rpm and 183Nm of torque at 4,300rpm, mated to a 4-speed automatic gearbox. Brakes are ventilated discs at the front and drums at the rear with anti-lock capabilities.

The Grand Vitara is constructed using a monocoque construction but includes what Suzuki calls a “built in ladder frame” to improve rigidity. This so-called ladder frame is actually additional reinforcement for the body structure comprising of two longitudinal elements running the length of the body, with six cross members and two parallel longitudinal elements running in the outer sills. The suspension system uses the common MacPherson strut setup at the front and a multi-link suspension at the rear.

Other than ABS, Brake Assist and EBD, other safety features include head-impact protection built into all pillars and upper interior surfaces as well as dual SRS airbags for the driver and front passenger. This model uses a 2WD drivetrain.

There are two optional accessories packages that you can add if you like: one is a RM5,000 package that includes leather seats (standard seats are cloth) and V-Kool tinting, and the other is a carnavi Car Navigation System for RM6,888.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• wookie00 (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 4:34 pm

wa lau…. that is cheap for a CBU unit. How much was it before? 130K? forgot but it definitely was more than this. *sigh*.. made me wonder why did i bother to buy my 113k 1.8 sentra 2 years back..

• wanwnp (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 4:38 pm

monocoque body.. seems very interesting..

• nanashisan (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 4:45 pm

the price is so tempting. it looks expensive than the pcice. somemore, it has better package than honda jazz 1.5vtec too. good decision for bringing in FWD model.

• nanashisan (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 4:46 pm

btw, why the last pic is in negatve form??

• kiki (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 5:12 pm

Now RM109,900 compare to previous price of RM139,862.70 on the road without insurance (seen on suzuki malaysia website, still not updated).

Price slash of almost RM30k, now that is interesting.

One more thing, Suzuki Malaysia website cited 140hp/5900rpm, compare to Paul’s 138hp/5900rpm, with same engine code 2.0 liter DOHC J20A. Which one is correct?

• StingRayINC (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 6:21 pm

I want one please…….

• swong (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 7:08 pm

How is the fuel consumption?
    What is the advantages and disadvantages for 2WD for Grand Vitara?

Kindly share

• Paul Tan on Sep 29, 2007 at 7:52 pm

its probably 140PS but 138hp. i converted from kilowatt to horsepower and got 138.

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 9:00 pm

Hurray…
    Hope there are more to come

• Ricc (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 9:01 pm

109K for a CBU car.. Its surely cheap though..

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 10:13 pm

Last time if i not mistaken the RM130k have 6 air bags! Nissan march also follow this, they also downgrade the 6 air-bags to just 2 and cheaper. Nissan March last time also near RM120k, now RM98k. Also fully import. Paul can check the old spec? I think they got downgrade some to make it cheaper.

• ah liew (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 10:26 pm

I used to ride in those 1996 Vitara & it’s really fun but nowadays it has grown up to be a SUV just like Toyota Rav4, how come these manufacturer made things bigger & bigger like the Honda Civic. It still shows it’s agressive side (Mugen Civic) but it has lost something….. you know, those days…. EG, EK…..

• BrakeFader (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 10:52 pm

2WD would be great for fuel economy. Especially city driving. Since most SUVs hardly hit off road, this would be a economical choice in price and fuel consumption.

Littlefire, agree that they trim down on the specs too. Paul also mention is DRUM brake! The Hyundai Tucson 2WD does offer disc brakes on all four wheels.

For this price, the Kia Sportage is a better buy. 4WD somemore.

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 10:58 pm

that is cheaper than a perdana

• chanlman (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 11:15 pm

I remember I read some other blog saying this “cheap” version of Vitara is actually RWD as compare to what we will be getting in Msia. What’s the difference between a FWD and Rear Wheel Drive for SUV this size?

Btw, Paul. The last is intentionally put up in Negative film effect or some mistake there. I saw similar pictures in Motor traders, not like that one le.:)

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 11:21 pm

Wow…Escudo. The price and packages offered are rather tempting. Last time we heard from Mitsubishi and now it’s Suzuki…This is something for Japan CBU.

• ojlee1 (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 11:23 pm

Even Harrier come with many version. AWD, 2WD….. 2.2, 2.4, 3.0……..
    I think this is alternative for Malaysian to enjoy CBU car from JAPAN….
    It’s be how long Malaysian not enjoying this “VIP” feeling…… CBU seem to be very hard to reach for us………
    Anyway, SUZUKI do keep on the good work to bring in more CBU car in Malaysia.

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 11:36 pm

I think the last image is intentionally put up in Negative film effect by Paul so that the bottom side (under glove box panel and the area of pedals) is visible. If i am not mistaken, it’s dark on that area in the original image and you can’t figure out how does it look like. Well, the true reason is on Paul anyway…

• szw (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 11:51 pm

wat happen to all da car price ?

• nmh (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 11:52 pm

‘pricedrop’ war begin…start with lancer…then mitsu mpv…& then grand vitara

• mystvearn (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 12:02 am

how does the carnavi works?

• mits27 (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 12:23 am

Just recently we have CBU Lancer from Japan, now we have CBU Vitara from Japan and the pricing is good too, keep more coming…

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 1:09 am

#
    JULIANLEE2 said,

September 29, 2007 @ 10:58 pm

aiya this kid show his stupid again..perdana is SUV?

• mzfnd (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 1:12 am

That’s a somewhat low price. What’s the catch?

• mzfnd (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 1:22 am

#
    akshen_kamen said,

September 30, 2007 @ 1:09 am

#
    JULIANLEE2 said,

There are much nicer ways to say things. Using such a word wouldn’t make you sound smart anyway.

• engtaokia (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 1:31 am

good price for a CBU SUV…but the resale value..you know lah…

• _xXx_ (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 6:48 am

Stop calling ppl stupid. He was comparing the price between Perdana & G Vitara. Wats wrong with dat?

• _xXx_ (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 6:52 am

again – Malaysian mindset. Start worrying abt resale price b4 commiting anything. Tell me wat cars in M’sia have good resale price? Lancer GT/Civic? Go register one and sell on the following day. Tell me how much you will be getting.

• Gus-Gus (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 8:06 am

What a boring colour selection!!! Except for the white, the others are varying shades of silver and grey. I am so tired of seeing silver/ grey cars. Look around in any car park and you’ll see rows and rows of silver/ grey cars – so depressing. Have these ppl got no imagination??

akshen_kamen: when most people want to buy a car, they set a budget then look around to see what car they can get for that amount of money. It is not unreasonable to compare the Perdana to the Grand Vitara since they are both 2litre cars. Furthermore, the Perdana is Proton’s flagship car and the tax structure for 2litre and under cars are usually set to compete unfavourably with Protons. That there is a 2litre fully imported vehicle that costs less than the Perdana is a shocker. Thanks to julianlee2 for pointing that out because there are many who may not have realised that at first glance.

• ab (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 8:13 am

138hp is weak for a 2.0 engine nowadays. A honda accord’s can produce up to 150hp, and only 4sp auto and drum rear brakes?…maybe that’s why its so cheap being a Jap CBU

• BigFish (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 10:44 am

akshen_kamen said,
    September 30, 2007 @ 1:09 am

#
    JULIANLEE2 said,

————–

Again there is hatemonger out there :-

1. Does comparing car price for different segment of car is consider as “stupid”?

2. Does it make the person very “smart” to make this statement?

3. Does the person make the price comparison say Perdana is SUV?

Look like some one like to engage in “distructive turf war” in PT!

• farmcow (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 10:50 am

haha…nice price..pity those who bought this car previously…haha

• avanza (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 2:09 pm

>>

Got a Suzuki ERV back in 2002. Lion Suzuki lost dealership to DRB. DRB do not provide spare parts or service for ERV. Couldn’t even get the absorbers changed, NOT even oil filters! Drain plug got damaged and couldn’t find spare part; had to get one custom made. Had to sell ERV for a loss in 2006! Bloody hell !!!

I blame Suzuki Japan for not ensuring that whoever takes over their dealership must provide spare parts for all older models.

So, if I were you guys out there, don’t buy Suzuki! Suzuki is not a world-class auto company.

• blackhawk (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 2:17 pm

RM 109K …consider cheap !!! is it true paul…. hope not down grade one laa?…How about fuel consumption ? next year fuel gerenti naik ooooo…

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 3:24 pm

if they want to compare price, it should be in the same class because price are different in each segment.how can he compare the price of suv with sedan car?why not just compare with ferrari or lambo..lol..

• adunadun (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 4:20 pm

see, last time lancer, now vitara… CBU from Japan… (some pal really admire CBU from japan, not me lah) , but still can give ‘very good’ price.
    What they point here? they want to show to Malaysian that TOYOTO and HONDO cheat us alot, they could make price lower actually!! Hope Vitara n Lancer could trigger price war.

• jamsbong (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 4:21 pm

FWD and RWD. not much different really. both drive will be annoying and scary when the condition is slippery. There is one advantage in a RWD, launching the car from standstill is very effective. In contrast, FWD will only give you heaps of wheelspin.

I’m surprised to see that the sport utility vehicle does not have 4 wheel disc brakes. In Australia, any car over $19000 have all discs. Not that it reduces accidents or anything but certainly more value for money.

• ezralimm (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 4:34 pm

first the lancer,… now the vitara…

I think the govt is reducing tariffs or something.. or a new loophole was found.

• ezralimm (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 4:37 pm

In Australia, any car over $19000 have all discs. Not that it reduces accidents or anything but certainly more value for money.

+++++++++++++++++++++

orly… the 1.5 vti jazz is AUD20500 list (non incl tax, reg, plates and insurance) a.d only has a pair of disc brakes…

• blackhawk (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 6:01 pm

I’m agree with Avanza. I also worry about after sales service. Either
    Suzuki / DRB is better than Toyota????? I think Suzuki/DRB should learned
    from Toyota.

• feis (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 9:13 pm

farmcow said,

haha…nice price..pity those who bought this car previously…haha
    —————————————————————————————–

Not really considering it was on offer for RM118888 with 4wd, 6 airbags, remote entry/start, leather seat and 17″ wheels. Compare that with RM109.9k and we have SGV Lite. But this SGV Lite is still far better then certain full specced Korean or or ckd korean.

blackhawk said,

I’m agree with Avanza. I also worry about after sales service. Either
    Suzuki / DRB is better than Toyota????? I think Suzuki/DRB should learned
    from Toyota.
    —————————————————————————————-

They do have problems during 2002 till mid 2005. Most probably during that time there are no authorised Suzuki service centre from DRB. But Lion workshops were still running during those period. Since mid 2005, SMA(DRB) accept all suzuki cars.

• charles27 (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 10:19 pm

haiya.. dont compare this with the expensive honda laa.
    even the melaka assemble civic is selling 130k now. Really nothing to say.

Lancer gt is 25k cheaper than civic 2.0
    then now the vitara 30k cheaper than cr-v.
    vios is cheaper than city.

haiyo… time to revise the price laaa.

• charles27 (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 10:22 pm

“I think the govt is reducing tariffs or something.. or a new loophole was found.”

some comment.. wait the afta time, when import tax is gone. THose local assemble car wtih cheaper part coming in… imagine the car final price. wahaha

fully import model might be tax the different way maybe. But how the local assemble one, sure can run many lubang. So, i wait 2009 loo… thinking to get a SUV laaa.

• TopGear (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 10:32 pm

i guess this is the best value SUV (CBU) at RM109K…very tempting
    I like the Pearl White colour !!!

the diffent compared to previous version
    2WD/4WD
    1) normal kye/key less
    2) 2WD/4WD
    3) fabric seat/leather seat
    4) no fog light/with fog light
    5) 16″alloy wheel/17″
    6) 2airbags/6airbags
    7) any more???

the rest should be the same !!

• aesthari (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 11:53 pm

Huh?? Is this a cruel joke you’re pulling on us, Paul? Why so cheap??

• fairozee (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 12:24 am

the red one is super SEXY and HOT!!!!

• maserati (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 12:33 am

109k for CBU suv i am sure going to be alot of cost cutting measures.
    138hp for 2.0 liter is definately weak.Cause i drove x-trail 2.0 which has higher hp.And the power for that also was just nice only.

Even the lancer which was sold at 115k for CBU had so many cost cutting measures.The whole car felt hollow,as though the whole body is made out of a thin piece of scrap metal..

But yeah,it looks good..Interior looks cheap though

• azrai (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 7:11 am

Maybe it is result from the FTA with Japan. Even Mitsubisihi Garandis is RM50k cheaper than previuouslt. Or I smell something about the direct AP’s for DRB right? Do you remember about it? No more third party AP. Wow, an AP cost RM20k-RM50k meh..

• alpha0201 (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 9:06 am

==============================================
    akshen_kamen said,

September 30, 2007 @ 3:24 pm

if they want to compare price, it should be in the same class because price are different in each segment.how can he compare the price of suv with sedan car?why not just compare with ferrari or lambo..lol..
    ==============================================

You still don’t get it? A better equip & bigger vehicle imported from Japan is cheaper than locally manufactured mid-size sedan with a similar engine capacity. Get it? Made in Malaysia mid-sized sedan cost more than Made in Japan mid-sized SUV. Get the picture?

• I my (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 9:11 am

Why this DRB can hold some many car brands??

As for the new Suzuki seem to be a good deal….

• KL-ATR (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 12:34 pm

Wow… I feel sorry for those poor sods who bought this at the old price! Instant 30K down the drain! But this is indeed excellent value for a CBU SUV. It is way cheaper than X-Trail and CRV who are both CKD. Amazingly, it’s even cheaper than the 2.0 Civic too. I think it’s the cheapest 2.0 car now! Heck, it’s even cheaper than some 1.8 saloons as pointed out above. And to be cheaper than a Perdana is quite incredible.

• kerelbort (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 1:17 pm

no lost laa.. different spec.. if same spec and lower price consider as lost laa… anyhoo.. toyota and honda does make very big profit and sell off their car at a very very high price… they can do this because no matter how.. many malaysia wouldnt mind the price as long they got a hold on the brand..

just calculate the commission receive by the salesman for Honda or Toyota and you could know… maybe most of us donno this… we can request lower price than the sticker price.. no need to cut the salesman some slack for this.. most of them give bad service

• wildthingz (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 1:32 pm

nice but cannot afford it for now better buy mlaysian made for those who can get this suv can u bring me jalan jalan with it hehehhehehe

• topgunthang (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 1:47 pm

thats what happens with some competition in the market. ….now only if the rm40-60k car segment wasn’t so protected then we can start talking.

• offroader manix (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 3:07 pm

Great price man !

Three cheers for Suzuki………………

• zack_keyme988 (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 3:47 pm

WHOOOA…. 109K?? nice price tag… it will killin JAZZ at all…..

• common-sensor (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 6:14 pm

If the government could allow CBU to be cheaper than comparable CKD models; then the government should also considering “chasing out” all the CKD operation in Malaysia as it carries no more cost benefit ?!

• transformer (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 6:25 pm

Good Job!

At least consumer had more choice especially those who citydriving need to buy pathethic old Kia Sportage!!

We welcome more affordable CBU !

• hoss (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 12:21 am

may i know why Suzuki Vitara will drop 30K ??? is it got problem with the car???

• feis (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 10:18 am

hoss,

Yes, the car got a ‘brand name’ problem. They used Suzuki instead of Honda or Toyota :-)

It dropped 30k because it’s a Suzuki Grand Vitara and not a Honda CRV. It’s all in the name. They could not sell well at 139k even when they have a good product with all the bells and whistles. Might as well reduce the bells and leave just the whistles. And drop some 30k off the price tag. Even with just the whistles, it’s still far better than other offerings at the same price range.

• hoss (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 7:01 pm

feis,

so, currently CR-V still hot sell ?? hm… 4×4 price range around 150K , CR-V still the best ??

• feis (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 9:29 pm

CRV is still selling well but if you ask me if it’s the best 4×4 in 150k price range, I would not agree.

• TopGear (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 9:41 pm

there is nothing wrong with this car…just the spec different…I guess
    this is the most basic spec…no wood panel, no leather seat,
    no 4WD, no 17 ” tyre, and not Suzuki word behind the whell cover !

I am tempting to trade in my civic 1.8(06) for this 2WD Grand Vitara??
    is very attractively priced…

any comments ??

• TopGear (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 9:41 pm

any comments ??

• hoss (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 10:47 pm

i’m personally like CR-V very much ;)

• shamel (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 9:37 am

#
    TopGear said,

October 2, 2007 @ 9:41 pm

any comments ??

HOW much ya civic 1.8? my email: [email protected]

• TopGear (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 11:27 pm

should be able to get around 90K for my civic…

thinking of getting the Pearl White SGV !!!

it this car a Rear Wheel Drive or Front Wheel Drive?

• TopGear (Member) on Oct 06, 2007 at 10:11 pm

any taker?? the price is very attractive? but looks like the response not that
    great?? why ??

• amida (Member) on Feb 13, 2008 at 5:11 pm

hi all,
    can anybody please advise on the fuel consumption? will it be as much as nissan x-trail..or as minimum as honda crv?

• happy fong (Member) on Mar 28, 2008 at 6:08 pm

i plan to buy tis car or toyota Rush 1.5s any comment?

• aht-iph (Member) on May 05, 2008 at 12:59 pm

any owner of the latest Suzuki Grand Vitara? will you pls share yr comment & experience with the car performance and fuel consumption.

intend to get one but no unit in show room for viewing.

• aht-iph (Member) on May 05, 2008 at 1:03 pm

anyone has experience about the current model of Suzuki Grand Vitara?

any problem with the after sales maintenance & technical support?

• provoking (Member) on May 07, 2008 at 6:18 pm

hi there.

not sure about the performance, f/c, technical support or sales maintenance.

one thing for sure is that you might have to wait very long for the car.

booked one azure grey vitara in jan 2008 still no sign of the car arriving.

GRAND VITARA = GRAND WAIT LA.

• aht-iph (Member) on Jul 23, 2008 at 10:50 am

Is the waiting Q still long?
    Any SGV owner is willing to share the driving experience( + or – )?

• suzuki showroom add in malaysia

• chlim on Aug 13, 2009 at 12:17 am

any trade in of car before buying a grand vitara?

any idea of widely is the service network in kl?

• shakura on Sep 03, 2009 at 8:33 am

good for money n enjoy the drive….better than civic 1.8 and lancer.it looks like a steady,stylo guy with it…

• cactus on Oct 15, 2009 at 6:28 pm

anyone knows if lion motor service centre for older vitara models 2001 and below still exists? if yes, where now?? i remember it used to be in segambut but the last i found out, it had either moved or tutup kedai for good. what about an independent workshop who is an old hand at older vitara models? need one for a possible overhaul of my 2001 2-door model.

• Bobby on Feb 16, 2010 at 6:28 pm

I have had 9 sets of front pads changed in two years and a set of calipers and rotors has any one else had this problem cause I really like the car suv but the brakes are a major problem

• Allan on Apr 10, 2010 at 12:57 am

I come across this grand vitara 2006 selling at 60k, it is worth it?

• Chico on Aug 22, 2010 at 12:16 am

I bought my SGV in sept 2008. Smooth engine, pick-up just ok, suspension quite stiff, run very smooth on hiways, very spacious, n the list goes on…worth the price. no regret buying it. But if u r into sedan comfort, SUV is not yur thing…but the best thing about owning this SGV, u can park it anywhere u want w/out fear of being hijacked or stolen coz it’s not a popular car.

• Wacana on Oct 08, 2010 at 8:49 pm

Hi Chico,
    How about the fuel consumption?

• jingle on Apr 29, 2011 at 3:18 pm

i intend to get a the suzuki grand vitara, any comment if it’s still a good buy?

• Hi,ist all CBU Suzuki Grand Vitara 2.0 in Malaysia are RWD?

• TrevorTan on Jul 02, 2013 at 11:46 pm

can anyone advise,this GV is timing belt or timing chain? tqvm!