Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

500 horsepower V8-powered Ariel Atom unveiled

Ariel Atom

The V8 Caterham was just unveiled in the past week, so naturally we can expect other lightweight track car manufacturers to respond, but I didn’t expect it this fast!

Ariel has its own monster V8-engineed Atom in the works and it will go on sale in Spring 2008. Surprise, surprise - it’s powered by the same 2.4 liter 40 valve V8 engine as the Caterham RST-V8! The Ariel Atom V8 is available with the supercharged version of the Russell Savory bike-derived V8 engine, putting out 500 horses at 10,000rpm and 406Nm of torque at 8,500rpm.

500 horses is a big difference from the second most powerful Atom which has 300 horses. “This is an interesting project for us and an experimental departure from what we normally produce. For a few customers the Atom 500 will be the ultimate expression of lightweight performance and represents the outer limits of whats achievable in a road-registered car,” says Ariel boss Simon Saunders.

This is not the first V8-powered Ariel Atom. Sometime back, Dennis Palatov plonked in a 2.8 liter V8 derived from two inline-4 Suzuki Hayabusa engines into his Ariel Atom. It produced 400 horses at 10,000rpm.

I cannot wait for foreign publications to do shoot-out reviews comparing both the Caterham Seven and Ariel Atom powered by the same RST-V8 engine!

11 Comments »

1. WreaKing said,

February 29, 2008 @ 10:31 am

Crazy buggers!!!!
    500 horses dragging a tin can…..
    Damn…I like it!!!!

2. wildthingz said,

February 29, 2008 @ 10:37 am

wow its used hayabusa engine meh

3. armandd said,

February 29, 2008 @ 1:00 pm

wheelspin at any gears.. nice~

4. corolla_KE70 said,

February 29, 2008 @ 6:56 pm

this car is my favourite!

5. chap_de_x said,

February 29, 2008 @ 8:08 pm

if comparing this beast with its rival caterham i will definitely choose this Atom…sexy, fierce and a lotsa power….caterham is ok but its a bit like a clssic f1 car

6. jamsbong said,

March 1, 2008 @ 12:39 pm

this is fantastic! a supercharged V8. This also means that the Caparo T1 is suddenly not so special anymore! I definitely prefer Ariel Atom over the dangerous Caparo. The Atom will most likely have a better suspension setup and relies less on aero to go fast.

7. raybrig85 said,

March 1, 2008 @ 1:55 pm

i luv dis car…sweet

8. szw said,

March 1, 2008 @ 11:36 pm

so big engine ?

9. nmh said,

March 2, 2008 @ 10:58 pm

Ill prefer to wait for what KTM X-bow can offer…hey i heard the offering DSG gbox

10. mystvearn said,

March 3, 2008 @ 1:59 am

Who can drive this car? I don’t think it is safe at all.

11. mohdjiman said,

March 4, 2008 @ 8:31 am

power!!!

previous post: Supercar for Charity Photos by Leong Tik Tsin
next post: Shocking EuroNCAP Pick-Up Truck Crash Tests!

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Don't have an account?

If you do not have an account on paultan.org, please click here to register. Note that first time commenters will have to be approved before your comment appears.

Please do not submit your comment twice, the system has accepted your comment, it just needs to be moderated first. Once your first comment is approved, all subsequent comments will show automatically.

What are you waiting for? Register now!