Teaser: BMW Performance kit for the 3-Series

BMW Performance 3-SeriesA lot of BMW 3-Series owners are probably waiting for this – a new BMW Performance range from BMW which joins the current line-up consisting of the tii-morphing 1-Series BMW Performance kit and the M6’s kit. With the amount of 3-Series and 3-Series M Sport models on Malaysian roads, especially with the 320i also getting the M Sport kit now, you may start to feel a little jaded with the 3, but now we have BMW Performance parts to spice it up!

I’m not sure how the set up will be in Malaysia, but in Europe all BMW Performance products are covered by BMW’s full warranty and are sold by BMW dealers. BMW has released a teaser video of what the 3-Series will get, and you can watch it after the jump.

From what we can see – a new front bumper with a really wide central air intake, an M3-ish diffuser-design rear bumper (tailpipe only one on side though), carbon fiber wing mirrors, and you can probably expect a carbon fiber rear lip as well as air intake, exhaust, seats, brake, struts and suspension upgrades that take the car one level above the kit you get with the M Sport.

The BMW Performance colour is yellow – so the BMW Performance springs and the lovely 6-pot brake calipers will be painted in that colour. The range even has its own alloy wheels which comes in either 18 inch or 19 inch sizes.

Watch the teaser video after the jump

VIDEO: BMW Performance kit for the 3-Series Teaser

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• csv (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 12:41 am

dunno if you guys notice but there’s a blue light underneath that angel eye lamp shown for a brief second.

indicator lamps?

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 1:44 am

hmm this is going to be neat. yellow bmws anyone?

• droll (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 2:25 am

aiyoh, not another bodykit slap on that is labelled as performance parts??????!!!!!!

maybe i should add a few stickers to my car and claim that it is a performance part (yeah, it adds 200hp! and makes my car more streamlined).

i suppose there must be demand for such kits since every manufacturer seems to be offering it these days. why doesn’t someone offer ENGINE and HANDLING performance upgrades in a package like the JCW kit??

• snack (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 3:01 am

Don’t bother to follow this m’sian culture
    of changing bodykit / rims / bumper / exhaust
    which Proton / Perodua is famous for.
    ie Persona SE / Myvi SE etc.

Heard that the real thing would be coming to our shores soon.
    The launch of the ’09 3 series has been brought forward to Nov.
    Perhaps our well “connected” paultan has a better insight on this ?

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 7:43 am

Where does this leave the M-Sport kits?

But then again M-Sport kits are usually just cosmetics and over here at least, comes as a complete package.

With this, I’m guessing it will allow for more customisation especially the, errrr, performance parts for Beemer owners that don’t want/cant afford those purpose build M-cars,

• IsaacVky (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 10:58 am

Any BMW is fast enough for these kits.

Better than some local 1.3L ah beng SE that takes forever to reach 200km/h (oh maybe not even 170km/h):p

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 11:03 am

sport kit, hmm…the m-sport 3 series is slower than the 3 series SE or ES

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 11:33 am

end of the day, bodykits sell.. no matter how upset the occasional real performance enthusiast is about this phenomenon.

more people buy “go-faster” bits than people who actually go fast.
    thats the facts. so as long as car companies can sell these accessories (you get fantastic margins by the way), they will.

and slapping bodykits on cars to sell them is most definitely, not malaysian culture.

• droll (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 11:50 am

BanyakMasukWorkshop: how true, how true. where there’s a willing buyer, there’s a willing seller. i suppose it’s like buying a Ferrari in Singapore. it’s not how fast they drive but how slow. :)

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 12:00 pm

i used to laugh as well together with my trackday buddies when we see expensive performance cars, with all the best parts, suspension, tyres..etc. etc. but do not go for trackdays, or even fast drives..etc.. While we were obsessed with lap times, they were obsessed with dyno figures..

but end of the day, what works for me, doesnt mean it works for them as well… so ive stopped laughing at them ;) to each his own.

btw, if anyone here going to sepang on the 30th for trackday.. see ya there.

• fastcx (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 12:07 pm

BanyakMasukWorkshop, u mean hpc? i’ll be there, but as spectator, too bad i have to miss this 1, full track…

• droll (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 2:38 pm

pity…….no performance car (not even a hint of it) else i’d be very interested to try out HPC. i know you don’t need one to try out the HPC but it’s just not fun for me without one.

• bmpower (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 2:54 pm

to be consider later. :D

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 3:22 pm

fastcx said,
    November 14, 2008 @ 12:07 pm

BanyakMasukWorkshop, u mean hpc? i’ll be there, but as spectator, too bad i have to miss this 1, full track…

———————

yup.. full track. ;)

• lchan (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 4:07 pm

What is meant by the word performance parts, are actually performance parts. Every M design kit are wind tunnel tested to provide either extra down force or improved drag. Most race divisions of big automobile companies do not release in-house kits without having them wind tunnel tested.

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 7:17 pm

lchan said,

November 14, 2008 @ 4:07 pm

What is meant by the word performance parts, are actually performance parts. Every M design kit are wind tunnel tested to provide either extra down force or improved drag. Most race divisions of big automobile companies do not release in-house kits without having them wind tunnel tested.
    ———————-
    proton and perodua only add weight only

• bmpower (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 8:58 pm

proton and perodua only add weight only
    ——
    1.6CPS is fine with bodykit like this..
    more stable on top speed.
    but not for 1.3 one.

however.. it totally stupid that 660cc with bodykit!..
    hahahaha

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 9:51 pm

other parts are still not clear except for the rim !!!! looks hot, i mean the rims !!!!!

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 11:23 am

alpina rims are the best