Proton Family Out For A Drive

I found this image from the Cari Chinese forums.

(Click for larger image)

It shows 2 Proton Savvys, 1 Satria Replacement Model (SRM24) and a sports car road testing on a highway. I like what I see so far on the body shape of the Satria Replacement model.

We can assume that the SRM24 will be using an engine from the Campro family as the only reason Proton used a Renault for the Savvy is because it did not have any suitable Campro for that size/displacement. But I wonder if the SRM24’s Campro will really have Campro. Also, any possibilities for turbocharged Campros? Proton has had turbocharging experience with EON Motorsports’ turbokit for their Mitsubishi engines.

If anyone has anymore information on the Satria Replacement Model, or SRM24, please drop an email or a comment.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Jo-NUT on Jun 14, 2005 at 4:46 am

Eh…Macam Savvy 'tiong' some Gallardo HaHa…Ultimate looks really diff from that angle…

• Gallen on Jun 14, 2005 at 5:11 am

Satria Replacement Model (SRM24) look much more better compare to the new lacuh proton savvy.

• Mellissa on Jun 14, 2005 at 5:16 am

I like the title of your post — "Proton Family Out For A Drive" .. ROFL.

• i like the SRM shape.Will be Myvi`s rival i hope.Should be much better than Savvy.So more option for Msian.

• cloudz on Jun 14, 2005 at 5:54 am

the SRM turns me up..its cooL..

• Wonderer on Jun 14, 2005 at 6:06 am

CAMpro Camshaft Profiling does exist !!!

• Harry on Jun 14, 2005 at 6:40 am

SRM? ultimate? what about family car?

• WINGZ on Jun 14, 2005 at 7:31 am

hehe Family car ? got JUARA MAH!!! LMAO!!!

• Wonderer: it's not in the gen2 yet.

Harry: Proton's family car is the Waja. I suppose an MPV will be coming soon. I'm thinking it might be based on a Renault Scenic :P

• akari on Jun 14, 2005 at 10:20 am

wa the SRM looks much more better than savvy, through no big different with satria only…

• cbljkkj on Jun 14, 2005 at 11:36 am

How can you put a car like the SRM as a competitor for the MYVI.Completely different class.One things for sure, Looks tonnes better than the Savvy.Last i heard, the Proton Ultimate project was scrapped.

My 2 cents

• Nice touch with the new SRM24.

Is that a lotus in the middle?

• napps on Jun 14, 2005 at 5:25 pm

"How can you put a car like the SRM as a competitor for the MYVI.Completely different class."

well-said indeed

"Looks tonnes better than the Savvy."

let's put things in perspective. the savvy is meant to be proton's baby car while the SRM is a performance hatch

"Last i heard, the Proton Ultimate project was scrapped."

it's still on. refer to other threads in blog

• The SRM is a real looker.. wonder how much it will cost? Under 50k?

• family never ajak us Iswars for drives anymore

• Vernon on Jun 15, 2005 at 11:35 pm

SRM24 is supposed to feature the CamPro with CPS (camshaft profiling system), but this cannot be confirmed. It is (or was, rather) in the initial plans.

• akari on Jun 16, 2005 at 8:04 am

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=16696…

is this one of their family? or fake 1?

btw this looks really cool!!!

• kahping on Jun 17, 2005 at 4:28 am

Please Boycott all type of Proton realease & dont believed on what so called "technology" they are having!

I hope Mahaleel & Mahatir will read my comment so that they have courage to admit their failure instead of pintpointing their competitors for selling cheap but with better quality & design.

Attached here with my unhappy experience for buying a iswara sedan at 2004. I Do agreed with beegfoot statement :

1. U will need to wait for 2 mths for ur car yet u cant get the colour u want… their delivery are sucks.Even when they claim have so much colour but till the end they only come out 1 colour only. & U left no choice… either to wait or abondend ur deposit & left with nothing.

2. The service center are SUCKS as well. No proper instrument at all, when i found my alignment are out on the 1st week of driving, i wanted to tune it back. Bt i was told by Edar staff, they cant provide tyre allignment as they have no equiment at all. this is what they called FREE SERVICE ( of coz free ,coz u r doing nothing, stupid proton! )

3. One the first 1000km i service at EDAR, i was shock RM130 !!!! with lousy Petronas 4T. I could done the same things at others workshop at RM78. Or RM98 for Shell Semisintecthic 4T. This is what they called free service! UTTERLY NONSENSE!!! Really throat cutting!

4. Their service staff are extremly lousy & arrogance. Even u told them what the problem with ur car they js pretend dunno, n when the problem are not solved. I was told by the staff “oh, tak apa la, datang lain kali baru buat”. SHIT, I M paying u ur salary to solve my problem yet u making even much more trouble for me. Really wish to scold them (”@”) . Since the 1000km onwards , i never & ever want to go back again!

5. The parts are flimsy and poor of quality. Water seeped inside the boot from both rear light for less than 1 yr i bought.

6. of coz lot more………………

Feel like im a fool who has been throat cutting. Im paying 36k for all this kind of nonsense/ suffer? IF i were in LA or AUS i can use tis RM36k (USD10k) to owned a Cheverolt with much better quality,design & service.

I love my country bt i wouldnt support blindly for those “rubbish”. I Swear i will never,ever take another proton, nt to make myself suffer anymore.Make me feel shame

I believed same things will happened on their new released. Js look their previous released on gen 2 & waja u will learn the lesson.

I cursed u Proton ; for bringing our nation the shame always!

• PC.OK on Dec 22, 2010 at 3:31 am

“I hope Mahaleel & Mahatir will read my comment ” ? you wish lah old timer. lol.

• on behalf of view on Jun 17, 2005 at 4:30 am

When somebody quoted “WAJA” as so far is okay. I would like to clarify and change their view. Thus far, my 2002 WAJA 1.6 A have changed the following manufacturing defect parts :

1) Air-con switch X 2

2) Door Handle X 2

3) Side wing mirror (Black paint peel off) X 2 sides, recently LHS side mirror black paint about to peel off again)

4) Wiper motor X 1

5) Glove box handle X 1

6) Repainted FR passenger door (Lack of 1 layer of paint)

Potential Proton owner, will you consider to buy Proton/WAJA? For me, “No turning Back”.

• enough of proton.

clean your image first

!@#$%%^^&*()__))(*&^%$#@@@!!!@#$%%^^&&*()_++||++__)(*^%

• This question was posted on the yahoo.com.my

“Should the government protect Proton from foreign competition?”

more than 65% respondence agree to “No protection please. Proton needs to compete globally or sink ”

Having to raise my children, I know we to let them learn by themselves.

Our son Proton is now 30 years old, still studying in the University, and when there was a big bully push him around, father have to make a trip to the school to inform the teacher , and look for the bully.

Poor old father is now 65+ and one will imagine how long will father still need to do this.

Our son Proton graduated and started working is a big firm, at now age 40, married and have child of his own, his manager scolded our son proton and make him do the report again, poor old father, now at age 75+, DO YOU THINK HE NEED TO GO TO THE OFFICE TO SCOLD THE MANAGER.

GROW UP PROTON

• Read the Business Time yesterday .

MyVi booking already surpass 33,000 units. Already 33,000 people are sure that MyVi is better then Savvy.

Proton…. start thinking.

• daniel on Jun 21, 2005 at 5:12 pm

why comments all the same from this blog to anuther blog? u proton haters got no more modal meh?

haiyah.. typical malaysians.. wont ever support malaysian made products.. too american and japan oriented..

• “Proton Family Out For A Drive” …?? mak & abah manee??

• Bamboo on Jun 23, 2005 at 8:00 am

yup,too many repeated commentla Paul.can u clean some? hundred messages already.tq

• bangau on Jun 26, 2005 at 7:48 am

hmmm…actually, the SRM is in the MyVi class. Check out their dimension. Those who think that MyVi is still in the Kenari/Kelisa class should go see the optometrist. MyVi is twice the size of the Savvy and yes, the MyVi is under-engined. Needs at least a 1.5 litre powerplant.

• Agree, MYVI a bit smaller than wira, bigger than SAVVY, yes not same category. MYVI vs Getz, Jazz, Swift, Mini while SAVVY vs Picanto, panda, Matiz…… Test drive the SAVVY last saturday, a very, very good car indeed.

• dwan lee on Jul 12, 2005 at 2:56 am

guys,

im one of the selected people who went for the SRM evaluation 2 years ago held at proton R&D shah alam.and there's a lots of things i've highlighted to them of what a common proton buyer had trouble and some parts we really hate to see and exprience.i would agree that the car looks nicer than satria itself.but theres some part that i just dont understand is why proton kept repeating producing the same design of the front part of the car(ex. wira and satria) and interior.it does happen that they repeating the same way on Gen2 and SRM.i was commenting bout the headlight part after notice it had similiar way of looks to Gen2 during the interview.i've seen some spyshots way before the interview.

its also maintain the same interior as Gen2(dashboard,steering,inner door handle,etc) and also remain the same spacious as Satria.hope they change that part as what i've been criticism bout it except for the spacious part which i dont think they gonna redesign the whole car just because of my comment.if u guys are happy the way satria is,i could bet u guys gonna be more happier with SRM.The rear view of the car is unbeliveable.The car would only be a compatitor with Myvi if they are able to launch the 1.3 Campro engine.but i doubt bout it yet.they seems to have problem with the engine.Hurry up Proton,this is the time to kick back some ass.

• dwan lee, the 1.3 campro is already available in the gen2 but only overseas and not here in Malaysia.

• dwan lee on Jul 15, 2005 at 1:15 am

paul,

Proton ultimate are base on what model????as shown in the pics above.and thanks for the reply and the info to my previous statement.any chance u have known the 1.3 cc specs and performance details.thanks bro

• Maver on Jul 20, 2005 at 8:29 am

Uisyoo… fantastic design… This is what I call a real Car Maker. At least after a more then a year in manufacturing, at least make something new. Make a new taste, change the flavour. Make it fantastic. Or else just the old same model…

• keter ni tak mungkin bawah 50k, 1.6…. sama mcm gen2,

• They said Winner stay with Winner and vice versa.

Kinda wonder what the hell they are doing in the design centre??

Fulfiling the nitch market? funny.. Nop.. It's Proton genius roadmap..

Let's see how they waste our money like nobody business.

*Goverment will never let our Baby Proton fall into deep sh*t by saving them eventually…

Until then… let's try gueesing how much is the car

My guess–>RM48,888 (nice number huh)

• Insider on Sep 25, 2005 at 11:11 pm

5 doors version is preferred.

• Hakeem on Oct 06, 2005 at 5:59 pm

Nape proton masih kluar lagi model dua pintu nih! tak competitive la beb. Skarang jarang dah car maker buat product kereta dua pintu ni… ayuh proton…bangun segera!

• Hakeem on Oct 06, 2005 at 6:05 pm

It's so boring with this new SRM design….. rear exterior likely same to satria and interior same to Gen 2. Why? Just waste my money to buy it….arghhhh.

• its rims like "bling-bling-bling" why not use the R3 rims or any new five spoke design.

• it's so cute if it have 5 doors…….. Proton move to backstep with this new version of satria..

• mengancam gila keta nih…sesuai utk orang muda.buka dompet anda.berbanggalah dengan produk kita.ramai yg kutuk.tpi lebih ramai yg beli..tahniah rakyat malaysia.saya pun.dulu honda,sekarang proton gen2.

• If you want five doors get the gen 2, if you want 4 doors get the Waja, if you want no doors get the T bike……

• to all the proton hater,we should proud with our proton because it's our car,our technology,not like other country which doesn't have any car company

• VW and proton tie up: dream on , not in this proud country

to tell EON , since l stopped bringing my car to EON, l hgave been a very happy man.

EON is a bunch of shit with ? idea what they are doing

l know u put lousy oil in my car , now with own mechanic , each reapir rm 78 with shell oil, car doing better

remember when u charged my mom rm 1000 for 10 000 km major service, l hate u EON, you go to HELL

• ok lah……

• mcm gen 2 je?